Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Model: TC-P50C2
SKU: 9788583
UPC: 885170003170
Sharp dynamic 2,000,000:1 contrast and a 600Hz refresh rate combine in this plasma HDTV to deliver thrilling visuals for movies, games and TV shows. The VIERA Image Viewer makes it easy to view digital photos on the big screen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 130 reviews
5 stars
99
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
6
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
120 out of 130
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
Review 1 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Matt11607
from Marlton, NJ
on 02/27/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, menu, 3hdmi, $800, 600hz
What's not so great: sound, obnoxiously heavy
I have had this tv for about a year now. I have used it for HD DVR, PS3, 360, wii, ect. The picture quality is amazing. You may be thinking well its only 720p...that doesnt really matter. It can downscale everything I throw at it. I used my computer at 2560x1440 and it downscaled it and looked great.
This TV's sound is decent, but I would recommend a legit sound system. The speakers in this tv really arent ment to be used, they are just there so you have something to listen to until you get your sound system hooked up.
I have this tv mounted above a fireplace, so it was very hard to put up. It is very heavy for a flat screen
The one thing about this tv that you should think about before purchasing is the fact that its plasma. If you lay this tv on its face, it will break under its own weight, and it will dim after about 40,000 hours of use.
I did have one problem with this tv: the power went out and i did not have it connected to a surge protector so the tv died...luckly i got the replacement plan and had it replaced for free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rayrose
from Columbia, SC
on 03/23/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great picture
What's not so great: nothing
This is the 2010 version of this set. I've had it now for about two weeks.
I bought it at BB for $680 with free delivery and set up. When the delivery guys hooked it up, they told me that in order to get the same picture that I saw in the store that I needed to switch out my direct TV dish to HD. After
doing so, WOW!! what a picture. Everything looks great no matter how much
light there is in the room. There is a window directly beside the TV and there
is no glare or fading of the picture. This is a big TV with a big picture for
a pittance of a price. It's not surround sound, but when you turn up the volume, it's loud enough for me. BB had this set and the Samsung version next to it. They were very close in picture quality, but the panasonic seemed
to be a little better, that's why i bought it, and I have NO regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Wow!! thats a big tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bajabeef
from Philadelphia, Pa. C.C.
on 03/24/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, low price, awsome picture
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I was doing about 6 mos. of homework, it was down to a Samsung B450 or Panasonic C2, since Panasonic is the leader in plasma tech. the choice is obvious.
It just got into the store that wekk Marlton, NJ, I bought it for $800.00, I thought it was a great price for a 50" plasma, The salesman was very knowledgeble and helped me choose the Panasonic over the Samsung.
The next week it went on sale, BB hored the lower price and we got it for $720.00.
The 1st reaction after the friendly delivery people left...Wow, thats an awsome tv, great color, BIG,
You know everyone complains about the sound its not so bad, but we did get a home theater system, sorry BB got it from your neigbors, I had a credit for them, I wont say who but it rhymes with D.C. Prichards.
The glare is ignorable, besides you need a glass panel for plasmas, and all my old DVDs will be new again on the big a@* tv. Cant wait to watch Star Trek on it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

What a great tv!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mac24seven
from Perry, Fl
on 03/30/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 50" Tv = HUUGE, Crisp picture, 720p is excellent, looks great connected to HDMI.
What's not so great: Some ghosting.. I'll explain
I purchased this TV from Best Buy in December 09 as a semi impulse buy. I've always wanted a HD TV. Well I finally got one and I'm thrilled with it.
Coming from having a CRT TV all my life, no bigger than 27", this TV was a monumental upgrade. I absolutely LOVE the size. People walk in the room and "ohhh, ahhh" and they all comment on how big it is. It's awesome!
Picture quality - I went back and forth between 1080p and 720p. Doing lots of research and comparing in store models (there was a Viera 50" 1080p next to the 720p) I could tell no difference.. at least none that mattered. To me, the extra pixels wasn't worth several hundred dollars. I could have bought a smaller TV, with 1080p, but where's the fun in that?
I game a lot with my 360 and while I do not have one with HDMI, I do use the component and have done lots of comparisons between HDMI (1080i) and component: Not enough difference to matter. And when I mean not enough difference, I mean I was up close to the TV, counting bumps on a pistols grip close. Such a minute amount of difference it's barely worth mentioning.
720p is just fine :)
The picture is bright and crisp. Geometry Wars looks insane on it. I will say it's not as crisp/bright as my in laws 1080p Sony Plasma 47".. but the difference is still not enough to matter (to me anyway).
I have the TV set up at the correct distance (right at 9 feet) and I will say my eyes had to get use to it. When I was gaming, my eyes kinda hurt and were watery, but that went away. I think I had to get use to the giant wall of awesomeness that was in front of me :) Also too, my eyes are super sensitive. The new TV didn't bother my wife at all.
Sound - People talk about the speakers not being too great... They seem fine to me. Really, with a TV like this you need to have a surround system to enjoy the awesome picture!
The only problem - Ghosting. Not "burn in", that doesn't happen anymore. But this TV will ghost a static image for a while. It goes away, but say you play a game for a while (an hour or 2) and you turn it off, you can see the image (while the TV in still on, game off). It scared me real bad when I first noticed it, but it goes away so I'm not worried. Ive even read it's normal so again, I'm not worried.
Once more though, I did not notice any ghosting on the Sony plasma after hours of continuous play. Perhaps that TV costing over double what the Viera did has something to do with it.
Overall, I love the Tv. The ghosting isn't a problem, 720p looks awesome, up-converting to 1080i looks great too. The TV seems to be well built and sturdy, the remote is fine too.
9.75 out of 10, only because of the ghosting.
Cliffs
- TV is awesome
- 50" is a HUGE TV!
- 1080p isn't worth the money: 720p looks virtually identical.
- Screen is crisp and bright, no blur.
- Some ghosting, but it goes away: Nothing to worry about.
- Buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

not a horrible tv depending on your needs

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: bodyman5001
from henderson nevada
on 04/10/2010
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: seems well built
What's not so great: picture quality is not the best
I bought this tv as a replacement for the Samsung 450c that is the same price. I returned the Sammy as it had a pretty bad buzz when the volume was really low. The picture on the Sammy was amazing for a cheap 720p tv.
Now, the C2 Panasonic was very quiet at low volume levels but the picture quality just doesn't hold a candle to the Samsung. Out of the box the colors were very bland, I was able to adjust the color to get close to what I remembered that LIFE program with Oprah had looked like when they showed this amazing colored chameleon.
However, the lack of pixels of this screen compared to the Samsung was very apparent at my viewing distance of 15 feet or so. The Directv menu looked blocky compared to the Samsung, I would equate the C2 with a Super Nintendo and the Samsung to the PS3. It was that bad. I tried to talk myself into keeping the C2 but just couldn't do it.
If you want an entry level Plasma that you are going to play at higher volume as far as sound goes, go for the Sammy.
I also should mention that neither of them are great in a well lit room, and both seem to suffer from IR more than my 2 year old 1080p warehouse special Plasma.
If you need a decent looking tv to watch sports on at low volumes so as not to annoy your significant other then this C2 might be for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: go54blue
from Indiana
on 04/11/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very large TV
What's not so great: Nothing so far
DO NOT LISTEN TO BODYMAN! It seems he or she likes to return things. Anyways, I just finished up my 100hr break in period and finally turned this baby up. WOW! The colors are amazing and the detail on my PS3 while playing God Of War is simply AWESOME!
I see now why Panasonics are rated number one by everyone as far as plasmas go. There is no burn in or IR on this TV. It has a built in Pixel Orbiter which shifts the pixels every so often to prevent such things. The black levels in this tv are very dark and really bring out the details in everything. The 600hz sub drive makes Transformers 2 look liquid smooth.
All in all, I would tell anyone that is on a budget to purchase this tv.
Uh oh, time to watch the SOX...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Excellent TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Steve4036
from Boston
on 04/17/2010
What's great about it: Excellent picture. Very good sound. Great extra features
What's not so great: Nothing
Great TV for a great price ($720). Very good picture, Better than my son's 42" Panasonic 2 yrs old. No problem with the sound. I can't find anything to object about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

GREAT TV!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: karenp1220
from greensboro nc
on 04/17/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: PICTURE AND PRICE
What's not so great: I HAVEN'T FOUND ANYTHING
GREAT TV FOR A GOOD PRICE, I WOULD ADVISE ANYONE TO PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

great tv!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tam1960
from newton
on 04/18/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great price,699.00,great picture...nice picture quality.very vibrant colors.
What's not so great: sound could be better.
this is a great tv for the money!wonderful color!we read all the reviews before we bought it and they were good.my husband loves playing games on it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Our living room gets much more attention

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TarheelJ
from Truckee, CA
on 04/19/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, picture and price
What's not so great: channel 306
We did a little research and came to the store expecting to buy a Samsung. When we saw the Panasonic was the same price and spent enough time comparing the pictures and hearing from the Best Buy guy that Panasonic had been making plasmas ever since they came out; that cinched it. We took it home and have spent more time in the living room the past few weeks than we had in the previous months. Even watching commercials and shows I don't care for is so much better in HD with that 50 inch screen. Can't wait til Avatar comes out for rental. The HD channels are amazing, and the regular channels are still quite good. For some reason, the only channel we have trouble with is Fox Soccer Channel, but most of those game come in from other countries and are not in HD. For some reason the picture is a bit blurry when the action speeds up, fine otherwise. We're soccer fans so I really wanted that channel. I still watch it, just wish it was as good as ESPN in HD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Good TV Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RHolder
from McAllen, TX
on 04/20/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The price - got it for $699 with 3 yr financing
What's not so great: Would like more connections like computer input
Our old Samsung DLP projection TV finally failed (for the third time - you're out) and we needed a good big screen for a budget price. We caught this one at BB for $699 with 3 yrs no interest. The picture quality is great - 720p not 1080 but still great or at least, good enough for our budget. I wish there were more connections, like a PC input port, either SVGA or DVI but with an adapter I got around that. We got a Sony BD player (BDP-N460) later and the two coupled together with the Internet access from the BD player provides a lot of new entertainment alternatives and a great picture.
Would I recommend it? Yes, especially if someone needs a large format screen at a budget price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tim1422
from Findlay, OH
on 04/21/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Picture for th price
What's not so great: Sound
Great TV. I couldn't be more happy with the purchase. One thing to know is that there is a setting that adjusts the brightness of the TV to the lighting in the room. This feature is horrible and should be turned off. The feature is called C.A.T.S. and can be found in Picture menu. With this feature on I noticed the TV brigtness changing frequently...and it was way too dim.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great 720P Plasma TV, Blu-Rays Look Gorgeous

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: michael24
from Baton Rouge, LA
on 04/26/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Pristine picture for a 720P
What's not so great: CATS Feature should always be turned OFF
This Panasonic Plasma is amazing. The 720p picture could give any 1080p LCD a run for its money. Blu-ray movies look stunning on it and I couldn't be happier with this TV. Panasonic really knocks it out of the park when it comes to plasmas.
The one thing that I should say though is that the CATS feature in the picture menu should always be turned off. CATS is a feature that dims or brightens the picture according to the room's lighting, and if it is turned on the TV does nothing but dim or brighten about every 5 minutes. Just stick with the preset CINEMA settings and you should be fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

great tv for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wbcr125
from Riverside Ca.
on 05/09/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: sound
this tv is very good for a plasma i owned i plasma a few years ago and was not happy with it because the old ones had bad viewing angles and bad glare
this plasma is awsome can view from any angle and the glare is not that bad hope who ever buys on enjoys it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Love this TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LIN1293
from San Antonio, TX
on 05/10/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great sound. Beautiful clear picture.
What's not so great: I haven't found anything that I don't like.
Great TV. I wanted a 50 inch TV and I bought this one for the price. I had read the reviews and it seemed like a good buy. We love it. Beautiful picture and sound. No complaints at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Panasonic 50" Viera Plasma TV-GREAT!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GT112
from Rochester, NY
on 05/10/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Outstanding video quality
What's not so great: screen reflections
Outstanding quality for price! Easy setup-clear instructions. Ordering on-line and pickup at store excellent. Best Buy pricematched to sale price-Customer Service excellent! This unit displays awesome video @720p & 1080i far exceeding my expectations. Built-in sound is more than adequate but am using Sony Towers surround system making the Viera a superior audio/video viewing pleasure. I looked at many plasma tv's finding the Panasonic Viera value for price the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

More than I expected

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 1artdealer
from Vegas
on 05/13/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cheap with a very good Picture
What's not so great: no VGA, no picture in picture
This TV is really, really good. I went to the BB thinking to buy an LCD but the ones I really wanted were more than I wanted to spend. I found this one on sale and decided to try it just for the size and the price. After hooking it up I was simply blown way. This television has an excellent picture, it is easily as good or better than my 42 inch 1080p lcd. My only complaint is no VGA but overall I could not be much more happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

excellent product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sriehl
from gordonville, pa
on 05/17/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: for a 720p set, the hd is great
I also have a 40" HD set that has a better picture, but I assume that is because of the increase in size to 50"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Awesome HDTV!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jman1993se
from Greenville, NC
on 05/19/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Amazing Picture at an Amazing Price
What's not so great: Could use some more outputs in back. ie: an RCA audio output
I was in the market for an HDTV for my the Massive Living Room in the home my wife and I just purchased. Wanted to go atleast 50" and this one just jumped out at me while looking in my local Best Buy. I literally stood in front of this TV in the aisle for 20 minutes just watching it. Could not believe the quality at that size for only $699. Ane It's a Plasma!! Definately the right pick as We love watching Action Movies and I love playing Video games.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic VIERA / 50" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

GREAT TV FOR THE PRICE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tasia1
from Atlanta, GA
on 05/19/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture is great for 720p, especially if you have HD cable or satelite
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I wasn't planning on buying a 50 inch until I saw this TV, and the great price. This is my first plasma and I love it. Since it is only 720p you may see a little slowness when watching sports without HD, but if you have HD you will have no problems. The pictue is AWESOME with HD! You definitely can't beat it for the price. Great purchase!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>