Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Model: 55LX6500
SKU: 9791696
UPC: 719192578678
Take your home entertainment system to the next level with this flat-panel LED-LCD HDTV that features an astounding 5,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio and 1080p resolution for a crystal-clear picture. A 16:9 aspect ratio lets you enjoy your favorite movies in cinema-style fashion. This 3D-ready HDTV can deliver amazing 3D content into your home. Learn what else is required to get the full HD 3D experience. Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. Netflix YouTube Picasa
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 51 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
44 out of 51
)
Customer Reviews for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV
Review 1 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

great picture and 3D is unbelievable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Los Angeles, CA
on 06/14/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 3D
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet
I love the television but when you put on the 3D you're blown away!
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Youtube
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Appears to be working great.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Spud11
from Collegeville, PA
on 05/18/2011
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Speakers
A big improvement over my old projection TV. I actually enjoy watching TV now.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Excellent TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gonnzo50
from CO
on 03/30/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good price, great picture, nice features
What's not so great: Have to go into the menu to set the sleep timer
I replaced a 65" DLP with this 55" LED-LCD and am surprised at the difference. The LG looks better at all viewing types than my older Mitsubishi. Particularly in HD, but also in standard def. I haven't tried gaming or 3D on it yet but plan to soon. I'm expecting great things.
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Great TV but get a soundbar

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Muadib395
from Chattanooga, TN
on 03/24/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
TV is great in every way except for sound. Speakers are not powerful enough and it needs to hook up to some kind of sound system.
Best Uses: Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix and Vudu
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Great TV for the price / competition

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: VegasYFZ
from Las Vegas
on 03/23/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 240hz - Video quality
What's not so great: sound - Poor audio quality. Vizeo was Much better.
Overall, Great LED! I can hook up my external hard drives to it, Xbox, Receiver, etc. It has a Fiber Optic out for audio which works great! I wish it had HDMI out, though not many do. The remote is programmable so you can have multiple models on a wall and control them individually. Does not have Pandora! My power went out and my video setting were still there after the power being out for 30 mins. Remote control works good, not the "prettiest" and useful like the Vizeo. I had 3 of the Vizeo XVT55SV from Dell.com. The first unit shut off and would take 5mins to restart, the second unit came damaged (looks like a factory defect) and the last unit would not sinc up to the Bluetooth remote. The LG is MUCH more reliable then the darn Vizeos! I was a fan of Vizeo too until I sunk 1500 dollars into one (or three for that fact)
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
LG 3D Glasses for LG 3D Flat-Panel HDTVs
3.9 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Gotta luv iT

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: the52eighty
from DENVER
on 03/23/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality
What's not so great: wifi not built in, need adapter
Everyone comments on picture quality however just digital audio out hurts, speakers are positioned awkward leaving a distant and low sound with making you need a surround sound to enjoy movies. Overall LOVE THE TV, first LCD/LED HDTV to own and am very much loving it, it also doesn't get hot after being on for hours a day, and very easy to set up!!!!!
O yeah its 3D built in no need for any adapters or converters!!!!
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: NETFLIX
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

LG 55" 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chrisandjeff
on 03/17/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I like the TV. THe 3D is not bad as well. The picture is clear and the color is brilliant. I am glad I purchased the TV.
Best Uses: Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix, Pandora
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

My first 3-D tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Thunderdell
from Nazareth,pa
on 03/17/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Almost everything
What's not so great: Can't hook up to old surround that I know of.
I love learning about electronics.I had a mitsubishi 65' high def tv ,but with the use that my tv gets,buying lamps all the time was getting costly.So I got a great deal at Best Buy with a bundle of this tv and 4 3-D glasses. I must say it was a great choice. The only reason I give it a 4 on sound is because I am use to surround sound and this doesn't have a audio out I can use with my very old surround sound.Just means I will have to get the 7.1 surround soon,lol. The volumn works fine,just enjoyed the old surround,When I get the 7.1 surround sound,this will freak me and family out,lol.The 3-D effect is better than the old way of those colored glasses.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies, the 3-d shows
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Widgets so far.My family love the trivia game.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Great 3D T.V

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lee314
from Eau Claire, WI
on 03/10/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture quality, good price, easy set up, light
What's not so great: the 3D gaming settings
Love the T.V and it's picture quality. The only complicated thing is the setting in 3D while gaming; after existing the game from playing in 3D the settings for the hardware changes.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

WOW! Gotta love the 3D and the Picture Quality!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from johns island, sc
on 03/09/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: its BIG
Big TV! Big Features and Watching it 3D has been killer! Easy to set up and start watching the movies!
Best Uses: Movies, 3d movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netfilx
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Fantastic!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jerry259
from Virginia Beach, Virginia
on 03/06/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I had it set up and watching in about fifteen minutes!
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet!
This TV is fantastic! I actually catch myself thinking, "This picture is great!", when I watching something and get distracted! It can connect to the internet for Netflix, but I havn't used it for that yet. The 3D imagery is Great! You think things are right there in the room with you! I would recommend this TV to anyone!!!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Awesome TV awesome Price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: b18122
from Spokane, WA
on 03/04/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: 3D movies are a little expensive, but we don't watch the 3D all the time.
Easy to set up, easy to use, Couldn't beat the price at any other store. I looked. Came with four glasses and a blue ray 3D player. Hard to beat. Very happy
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

The best for your dollar

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BoricuaChica626
from Buffalo New York
on 03/02/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quality of everything
What's not so great: can cause headaches if you play in 3d to long
I love this tv. My husband and I bought it and the quality of the picture and sound is amazing. The glasses are not that badly priced compared to some others. i would recomend this tv to anyone. We play alot of black ops in 3d and the glasses are great.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
LG 3D Glasses for LG 3D Flat-Panel HDTVs
3.9 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
LG 1100W 5.1-Ch. Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Home Theater System
3.7 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Very good 3D TV, even though it is cheap in price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Laguna81
from Ridgewood, NY
on 02/24/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture in 2D, 3D
What's not so great: Needs a wifi adapter to use internet - sold separate (go figure)
Bought an open box one to use primarly with 3D movies, 3D gaming on ps3 and then TV lol. Picture is awesome with satelite tv. 3D gaming is fairly good and 3D movies look great....but-some movies have considerable amount of ghosting in them. I dont think it has that much to do with TV itself though. I tried The legend of the Guardian or something and it as lots of ghosting (I am a bit picky with it though). Then with Resident Evil 3D-nothing, picture of 3D was better than in the theater. I researched thgis phenomenon and it confirms that different movies have different quality 3D. Use good HDMI for it!!!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies, 3d
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Steller 2D and 3D TV!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Drewski25
from Chicago
on 02/23/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: 3d, picture, gaming
What's not so great: not enough apps for internet.
This is a great buy for anyone looking for a resonably priced 3D TV. I got it with 4 pairs of glasses which is pretty cool because those glasses are very expensive. There isn't a whole lot of movies or TV shows out right now in 3D, but I think there will be a whole lot more in the near future. This TV gets a great picture and can be seen from all angles in the room. I have experienced some ghosting with the 3D, but it's not too bad and hardly noticable sometimes. The only downside to this TV is there aren't very many internet features. There are currently 7 apps including netflix, cinema now, youtube, and a couple more. There's no Hulu Plus. I'm sure they will create more apps and have a firmware update, but they need to soon! All and all, a great purchase that no one will regret!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies, 3d
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Awesome TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mrdata71
from Houston Texas
on 02/22/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This tv has excellent picture quality for all it can do. 3D is the best with the glasses. I use a PS3 to view 3D and it rocks! Easy to use, easy to set up. Just remember one thing, the HDMI cable MUST be V1.4 or better or you will not get 3D to work . I found this out the hard way. I got the cable and its all good from here! This tv is a MUST for 3D users out there!
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
LG 3D Glasses for LG 3D Flat-Panel HDTVs
3.9 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
Samsung - 1000W 5.1-Ch. 3D/Wi-Fi Ready Blu-ray Home Theater System
3.4 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Pandora
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

The Absolute Best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BestBetter
from Nevada
on 02/19/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything - phenomenol
What's not so great: If you want to hook it up to wireless internet you have to buy an adaptor (just use blu ray player wireless instead).
This 3D TV would be the best one on the market even at full price. With 4 free 3D glasses and another $1500 off, this TV is beyond belief. It's the best picture I've ever seen on a TV; the 3D is mind blowing. The entire TV design is phenomenol, including the swivel stand. TruMotion 240 Hz delivers beautiful motion. With my LG 3D blu-ray player the 3D is mind blowing. The opitical out produces astounding stereo sound. The TV has lots of feautures and a fantastic ligted remote. It would be impossible for anybody not to be happy with this TV. I would be extactic even if I had paid the full retail price. I can't believe this TV is on sale at all! I recommend this model over the LG 480 Hz which costs much more. You will not have any blur on this TV whatsoever and unlike the 480 Hz, this TV does not have any glare. I hope they built it to last a long time, because I have no intention of ever buying another TV during the lifespan of this one! You can not find a better TV than this one at any price. It is the absolute Best Buy!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

great tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mastiffsmoocher
from milford pa
on 02/18/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This TV has a picture that constantly amazes you with its clarity and color. The close up pics of people make it seem they are sitting next to you, We use it in a well sunlit room with no problems and can veiw it from any angle.
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Great product great price..

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lary
from college station,tx
on 02/18/2011
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything is very clear...
What's not so great: n/a
It took me a long time to choose a television and boy am I sure glad I took the time to choose the right one picture quality is second to none,and very user friendly.....
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix,yahoo widgets
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG 55" Class / 1080p / 240Hz / 3D LED-LCD HDTV

Best T.V. Ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GAMERDUDE1019
from Fort Irwin, CA
on 02/17/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Gaming and Blue-rays
What's not so great: Nothing
WOW!!!! This T.V. is amazing. Watching blue-ray movies is just unbelievable. Everything looks amazing. Seems like your right there in the movie. Watching Blue-rays like toy story and other animated movies is impressive. And with a 8M:1 Dynamic contrast ratio looks very good. Best Buys specs are wrong saying 5M:1 Dynamic contrast ratio. Watching 3D movies are pretty good, still needs some improvement but impressive. Havent had any problems with the 3D. Playing my PS3 is AWESOME!!! Call of duty, battlefield, Dead space is sweet, and when i play them in 3D its even better. I havent had any problems with this T.V. when i play my games in 3D. There are so many picture options you wont be let down if you buy this T.V. The built in speakers are good for such small speakers but not theater sound quality, still they are decent. Normal SD television looks good. And HD television looks even better.
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
LG 3D/Internet Connectable/Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Disc Player
4.2 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Widgets
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>