Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Model: TC-L42D2
SKU: 9809905
UPC: 885170003675
Watch movies and television shows in stunning clarity on this LED-LCD television that features a 2,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio, a 120Hz refresh rate and 1080p display capability for crisp images and fluid action sequences.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
97% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
32 out of 33
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock
Review 1 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great price, great picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: thumper24
from Austin, TX
on 02/01/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, # inputs/outputs, easy to use, integrated iPod dock
What's not so great: n/a
Did a lot of shopping around. For the size and price range, this Panasonic had a lot of good reviews so I went for it. Been very happy, great quality and, if you're a picture nut like me, there's plenty of options to adjust the picture with.... plus you can turn the soap-opera effect off if you want. The ipod dock that comes with it is a nice bonus. Highly recommend this unit.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Polk Audio - SurroundBar 3000 2.1-Channel Instant Home Theater Speaker System
3.9 out of 5(140)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great Quality and Energy Efficiency

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GreenMountainGlenn
from Vermont
on 01/30/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price , picture quality, energy effieiency
What's not so great: sound system
Very pleased with this set, the picture quality is outstanding and it uses less than 80 watts of power. The onboard audio is a little weak, but adequate for a smaller room or very quiet area. Intuitive controls make it easy for the non-tech-savvy to use.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Excellent LED-LCD TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: davcl
from Southern Maryland
on 01/29/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: sound and optputs
Excellent Picture, poor sound however, most will not buy this type of tV to only play through its own speakers but through an A/V system.
Only recommendation is for more audio outs other than one digital/optical.
Not all external sound bars support optical only.
Best Uses: Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

All Good Even the sound

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FirstPlaceOils
from Chicago
on 01/24/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture!
What's not so great: It may not fit in your car :)
I have a good surround sound system, That is why I went ahead and purchased this TV even though some of the reviews were negative towards the sound.
Before hooking it to my home theater, I used the TV speakers for a few days, I found nothing wrong with the sound.
Great picture!
Great TV
No Regrets!
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great colors, super slim cabinet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lowertownfred
from Saint Paul, MN
on 01/20/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Color + slim contemporary design
What's not so great: sound, connect it to your home theater system
The best of LCD & plasma TV using LED in a appealing slim design, we like this set.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies, streamming internet content
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Perfect fit to my cabinet

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: twofold
from West Olive, Michigan
on 01/17/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: sound and screen not always full
Very nice TV, TV controler and Cable controler work very nice together and do not cause any proplems for members of the family. The DVD player controler works very easly in combination with the Reciever surround sound does not cause famil;y members problems getting anything goofed up.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Good buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: animaca
from Martinez, CA
on 01/17/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I got this 42" Panasonic LED HDTV on sale and like it a lot. Easy connections and great picture.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies, internet content via blu-ray player
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Awesome Picture!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Eagle007
from Madison, AL
on 01/17/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture!
What's not so great: Nothing!
I have 4 flat screen TVs (52" Samsung LCD, 42" Panasonic Plasma, 27" Olevia, and 42" Panasonic LCD/LED) and this one has the best picture! HD TV shows, HD Sports, and Blu-ray Movies all look great. I've had it for 2 months withn no issues. Best TV Decision Yet!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great T.V. for a first time HDTV buyer!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NYCGIRL1117
from New York, NY
on 01/15/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: sound
The television is fantastic, was very easy to set up and connect to all my other devices. The only down fall is the sound on the tv, but it is expected. I plan on buying a sound bar sometime soon. Other than that movies show beautiful on the television. I'm very happy with my purchase. Panasonic is a great brand.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

GREAT LED TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: igrins
from FORT WAYNE, IN
on 01/15/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I CAN'T GET OVER HOW CLEAR THE PICTURE IS. THE IMAGES LOOKS SO REAL THAT YOU COULD REACH OUT AND TOUCH IT.
Best Uses: Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

We're pretty happy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LadyDi22
from Elgin, IL
on 01/15/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Football action
What's not so great: Sometimes picture is too dark.
Thought the picture would be sharper. Certain programs lack clarity. We have cable, but CBS isn't always sharp. Good price for an LCD-LED.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great TV for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BWayneR
from Victoria, TX
on 01/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Picture
I would highly recommend. It has a great picture. I would definitely look at Panasonic when buying another TV.
Best Uses: Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Very good picture.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from slc
on 01/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very good picture, reasonable set-up
The TV came up as expected. The picture is excellent for HD TV broadcasts. The monitor is driven by an HDMI cable from an AV Receiver, so the sound from the TV speakers isn't used or evaluated.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

GREAT VALUE AND QUALITY!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dustydent
from Texas
on 01/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture!
What's not so great: Nothing.
Got this TV last month and it is superior in every way! Got the Panny BD-65 Blu-ray player and the Panny soundbar (on sale for $139). Unbelievable clarity and precise picture! I found I had to play a bit with the color settings (easy to do!) to get it right for my bedroom. THis TV is a GREAT value! TOTALLY recommend it and I am a techno geek... :)
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Excellent Picture & Tech at a Reasonable Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: shoof
from St. Louis, Missouri
on 01/12/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: On screen menu adjustments, HDMI & Great Picture Quality
What's not so great: Can't think of one!
I have this TV hooked up to Direct TV and a Blu-Ray with wireless LAN and I am very impressed with the overall picture quality. On-screen menu allows tweaking for personal preferences. Internal speaker system is adequate. Connected to an A/V receiver w. a 7.1 surround speaker set-up. I have had several guests ask about the TV--specifically over the astounding picture. Strongly recommend. Big bang for the buck!
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies, hd& blu-ray
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix & Amazon Streaming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great Picture, Gaming and Value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BamParents
from Kew Gardens, NY
on 01/12/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture and value
What's not so great: sound quality and remote
This is the first flat screen I have actually purchased but I am very happy with the results. Great picture and good viewing angles. Lots of inputs and easy to use menu controls. The iPod dock works great too. Others have complained about the color but I have not had any issues, tested in low light and direct sunlight as well.
The sound is the only area that could really be improved on but I am using only the built in speakers. It does have optical audio output so it may be better when used through a receiver.
I purchased this at the store. I had an ad for the same product priced slightly cheaper from another store and BestBuy matched it. Great customer service and they helped me get it in the car.
If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive TV with great picture quality, ease of use and an ability to easily view photos and videos from your iPod then this is a great choice.
If you are purchasing this with the intent for watching a lot of movies I would suggest you research the sound options.
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies, ipod viewing
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Quality in the box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: planetrj
from Los Angeles, CA
on 01/12/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Realistic Picture Quality, Value, Appearance, Simple Setup
What's not so great: tiny speakers (not an issue)
This product was fairly easy to set up in comparison to my last flat screen. The general appearance is up to par with the most expensive ones in the same class level, maybe just a slight bit thicker, but not much to be concerned about. This being the first LED/LCD I've had, I can completely see the huge difference in the backlighting and contrasts. Being 120Hz made a huge difference as well. Maybe taking 1 week to adjust to the real-time motion, now when I go back to a 60Hz, I feel like I'm watching old time movies, so it's like seeing what I missed before.
Colors are vivid and crisp. The controls are phenomenal, yet the buttons on the humble remote don't appear as so, because many perform multiple jobs, and the menus are vast. I like the simplicity of screen and video setup. The best part of the fine adjustment was getting the Geek Squad Service to Align and Tune the set after about a month. It now has nearly real-life picture quality and I couldn't be happier.
The only downfall on this set was the speakers. I didn't buy it with the intent of using them at all, but they should have not included speakers as they are poor, and could have rerouted the controls on the remote for the cable switch box instead, if not laughable (sounds like small laptop speakers). However, with the excellent surround sound system, it's not an issue whatsoever for me.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Panasonic VIERA 42" Great for Family Room

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tommyb1a
from Mich
on 01/05/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: doesn't make the popcorn (Kidding)
The color and clarity of this set is very good. Sound is very good as well if its near a wall.
It was recommended by the rep who works for panasonic and I am glad I listened
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Wow, Wow, Wow

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sanger13
from Bay Area, Ca
on 12/22/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture, Features
What's not so great: Speakers and No Headphone Jack, but not a dealer killer.
I just picked up this TV for $749 at Best Buy and I'm totally impressed. The sound is OK, not great but what can you expect from such little speakers, but will work in a smaller room. The only other item missing is a headphone jack, but other than that, this TV is Amazing for the price. The Picture is vibrant, blacks are deep black and with the 120 hz refresh rate, very little if any pixilation.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

awesome picture!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mtoomb1
from nashville,tn
on 12/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture, sound and looks
What's not so great: nothing so far.
I have always owned Panasonic tv's for the past 10 years and like alway's outstanding picture. Just as good if not better than plasma!Good sound for small room. They got it right with there first led-lcd tv. After tweaking picture awesome!!! We have a small living room so the sound is perfect. Also got dmp-bd65k blueray player--great picture!! we tried the 37 d2 but had a lot of problem out of the sound with static sometimes and a lot of motion blur, called panasonic and they said it needed an update to the firmware----so i exchange thanks to bestbuy exchange no problem--got the 42 d2 and so happy we did!! Very thin but not that light.Looks great with everything on or off.Can not find anybody like cnet or consumer reports that had review this tv, but my review is 5 out of 5!!!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>