Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Model: TC-L42D2
SKU: 9809905
UPC: 885170003675
Watch movies and television shows in stunning clarity on this LED-LCD television that features a 2,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio, a 120Hz refresh rate and 1080p display capability for crisp images and fluid action sequences.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
97% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
32 out of 33
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock
Review 21 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great Buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: trainertwo
from Nashville
on 11/29/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, easy of set up
What's not so great: Nothing
Have had the unit for only a couple of weeks but picture is great. Very easy setup and easy to understand / use controls and settings. Input is over air ( no cable or sat) and HD is perfect. Get all local channels with great picture.
Have hooked up with Pansonic Blue Ray player with internet access and Surround sound receiver with great results. Vivid picture, great sound - great buy.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chisss
from CT
on 11/17/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality, energy consumption, iDevices support, price ($899)
What's not so great: Haven't really found anything yet. if I do I'll post it here
I bought this to replace a 4 year old Panasonic Viera 42" Plasma. The main reason is because I just wanted to upgrade to 1080P and the higher refresh rate.
My Old Viera still works great and that tells you about the quality of Panasonic products. 4 years not a single problem.
Now onto this TV:
It's colors are much crisper, the image quality is much better than the Plasma. The only thing is that out of the box it has a setting to auto adjust brightness depending on room lighting so it looked weird, very dark with the lights on. But after turning that off it got much better.
The sound I can't really review since It's attached to an Onkyo receiver.
I put ToyStory3 on Bluray and it looks amazing... I think I even made the sound that the 3 little green space guys make (i don't know their names) but I went "whoooooooooo"
Now don't be confused, this is an LCD with LED backlighting, it's not a FULL LED but it's super thin and it produces no heat. My old Plasma used to get warm on the back and it used 390w of electricity, this one is generates no heat at all and it only uses 70w. It's amazing.
The docking for the iPod/iPhone is a nice option, you can even charge your phone in it even when the TV is off! I haven't really tested to see how it works but I'll give it a go today.
All in all for the price ($899) is a very good value! you will not be disappointed.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

clear as clear can be

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zzzzzzzZZZZZZZ
from Tehachapi, CA
on 10/25/2010
The picture is so clear and so real. It's like the folks on my tv are in my livingroom.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

I'm Finally Keeping this my 7th TV . . .

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joseangel4293
from Mission, TX
on 10/14/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: No game Lag, Great picture and Sound
What's not so great: Price, spend more than I planned, and Screen is glossy not matte. Will see some light on well lit rooms.
I do a lot of watching movies, and TV, sports and Gaming with Xbox 360 Live, cartoons for my daughters. Using as laptop screen through hdmi of my Sony Vaio. I started with LCD proscan 32" purchased @ Walmart. Returned it (too small and hum on speakers). Then a Viera 32", then 37" samsung, then 40" Sony, then 42 Proscan, then 42" insignia. I really took advantage of Walmart's 90 day return policy. There was always something i didn't like about them. Some of them included Video Game lag ! And speakers that were a joke on some of the LED's I've tried (of course they're so thin they can't fit good speakers on them). I finally decided to spend some extra cash and get something worthwhile.
I really need one of those TV's that can do it all. (tv, satellite cable, xbox, Dvd's, and screen for my sony vaio laptop!)
This TV is a keeper ! Very good speakers even when it's so thin (LED). No game lag, and image is like looking through a window when I watch DVDs through my xbox360 using HDMI. You do have to play around with the menus to find your best image for the equipment you're using but you're given a lot of tools. Menus and features a great also, Not too extensive like the Sony I've tried, but has everything I need. I didn't find a Game Mode on this tv, but I guess it's already incluced since I haven't noticed any lag. Remote is great, immediately noticed the superior quality on the remote and on tv fabrication itself. .
I wasn't too crazy about the only 3 HDMI and 1 component even through I won't be using that many connections. It also has an SD card slot! and Ipod Dock nice !
Another FYI, the screen itself is glossy like some of the older plasmas, so I hope you don't plan to install it where there's a lot of light rf a window in front. You won't be happy, Other than that, I'M KEEPING THIS BEING MY 7TH TV!
In conclusion I would recommend this TV, Take an advise from me. I've tried 6 other Tv's LOL, Returned all of them of course I'm not a millionaire. . .
Best Uses: Sports, Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Very Good HDTV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JLube
from Knoxville, Tn
on 10/03/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture quality, Easy to use
What's not so great: Haven't found one
Good picture and sound quality. So far this has been a very nice TV.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

The Best 42" I've found

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JuSteve
from Central Pennsylvania
on 09/27/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Even backlighting/Great blacks/Wonderful Picture
What's not so great: It won't stream video from your computer
I arrived at this model after not being thrilled with two "other brand" similar sized televisions. The picture quality, as best as i can describe rivals a plasma, only better.
There is no background bleed or flash lighting. Black levels are excellent. There is an overall smoothness of tones and there are literally no unpleasant video artifacts like i found on other brands.
I did have to do some tweaking to get the best picture. The "out of the box" settings had much too color, not enough sharpness and was a bit too dark. This TV does not have an extensive adjustment menu or remote. In fact both are rather basic. It is not internet connectible and does not have a USB port.
I wanted a beautiful, natural looking picture. Being a bit more particular than most and spending a lot of time, I got exactly what I was looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

So far so good with one caveat.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CLIOLovesTechnology
from NJ
on 09/13/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture; menu; features; and slim design.
What's not so great: Only one hdmi port on the side; ipod dock connection poorly placed
Great LED tv, stylish, with nice features. However, one should take note that if you plan on mounting this flush to the wall (say over a den fireplace like we did) you will be disappointed because basically you get one HDMI connection on the side of the TV and all others including the IPOD dock connection are on the back. When we mounted the TV the ipod dock connecting cable did not fit with the mount we bought (it was pushed upward). I guess one has to buy only the mount sold on Panasonic's website for this TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Above the crowd

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Skatedog
from North Carolina
on 09/05/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, build quality
What's not so great: no USB port
I purchased the TC-L42D2 after returning to the store three times to compare televisions. I was considering Samsung C6300 or LG5400 but to my eye the TC-L42D2 picture quality was better. The shadow detail is definitely superior and the blacks seemed slightly deeper than other LCD or LED TVs I considered. I was considering TVs less than $1200. Color reproduction appears true and accurate. Sound quality is good. Connectivity is lacking with the TC-L42D2-- no USB port. One complaint I have about the individual set I took home is a very slight gap (1 to 2 mm) between the the screen and the TV bezel at the top of the TV--this is probably only a "cosmetic" defect with TV I took home. I have not had any issues caused by the gap. The overall construction of the TV is solid and appears well built. I would recommend this TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

TV does what it claims to do

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gbetoho
from Riverview, FL
on 09/02/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price is a winner
I purchase two of this TV for friends who live overseas. They both have nothing but great things to say about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Very good tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cuttyr8
on 08/22/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture
With blu-ray it is amazing. With movies on premimum channel, due to the magic motion feature, it is like watching movies live... very please with purchased. works great... great picture as its lcd led
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Great HDTV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jokester1one
from Whittier, Ca
on 07/27/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price. Great picture
What's not so great: sound
I bought this tv about 45 days ago, and I love it. It has great picture quality. I'm not to excited about the internal speakers but I really don't care too much about that cause it sounds great with my bose system. I play video games and watch movies and sports without any motion-blur. It looks beautiful from every angle and i love the thin design. The Ipod dock is a plus cause I can hook my Ipod touch and watch my favorite videos. This tv looks good at home like it did at the store display.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
20out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

The very best TV I tried!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Thatswhathesaid
from Roseville,CA
on 06/24/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy Set Up, Picture Quality, Sound, Very Thin Profile, Clean Modern Look, Nice Looking Functional Remote
What's not so great: No Negatives, after first three weeks
I looked at four TV's before deciding on this one. I did not like picture quality on the Vieza, the LG had bad build quality, plus the sound began to hiss and go in and out, after just two days. I really liked both Sony Bravia LCD TV's I tried; however they do not manufacture a 42" model. The 40" was too small, and the 46" a little large for the area.
The Panasonic LED/LCD 42" is perfect. It looks great with the silver/grey swivel base. Most importantly, I really enjoy the picture quality. After some simple tweaking; the color, clarity, sharpness and sound are all excellent. I have not tested the ipod dock out yet, but I am looking forward to, as this is a nice bonus.
Here's the think; I don't have HD, just coax cable and I still love this TV! Even though I did go over my budget a little by spending $1149.00, I am currently VERY happy with this TV purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
46out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Panasonic VIERA 42" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LED-LCD HDTV w/ Apple® iPod® Dock

Nice , but not quite there yet

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BaySide
from San Mateo
on 06/20/2010
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice over all look to the TV
What's not so great: Pixilation on moving scened , detail on the picture isnt quite there
The first initial look of the TV is quite nice. Not overbearing like some of the other TV.s with the brushed nickle .
Got it home and noticed that the colors were vibrant , almost too vibrant, with some adjusting , we were able to tune it down. How ever we noticed when a large group of red roses over a casket it looked like a red mass. Unable to distinguish rose from the next .
I noticed during a walking pace , the screen had trailing pixels . for a 120hz , you shouldnt get pixels from a brisk walking pace .
The detail isnt there either , on our older Samsung model you could see the blades of grass without having to max out the Sharpness setting . You just dont get the detail as you would with the LED/LCD
Im not yet sold on the Technology , they have some tweaks still to make befor I would buy another LED/LCD.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-29points
24out of 77found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2