Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Model: MC497LL/A
SKU: 9811319
UPC: 885909397945
Introducing iPad. It's the best way to experience the Web, e-mail, photos, and video. All on a big, beautiful Multi-Touch screen. With just the touch of a finger.
Average Customer Rating:
4.309 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 81 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
4
84% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
68 out of 81
)
Customer Reviews for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB
Review 1 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB
  • Featured

Incredible!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RobertSF
from Washington, DC
on 08/21/2010
What's great about it: The software, design, screen and overall quality
What's not so great: No camera
I am aware the general consensus is that the iPad does not replace a notebook, but since I picked mine up from Best Buy a month or so ago, I hardly ever use my laptop, except to occasionally synch my iPad. it's like my laptop is now my back up drive for my iPad. Here are some things the iPad does incredibly well:
1. Great for reading news papers and magazines. The way Safari fits the web page into the ipads screen definitely beats the user experience on my laptop.
2. Email and calendar apps are great. I love the email interface and the ipad is perfect to open attachments etc.
3. I got a GPS navigation app for $5 and the iPad screen is awesome as a GPS device. I use it all the time now. The GPS chip is also very fast in locking in on a signal, and unlike a cell phone it doesn't need to be connected to a cell signal to work.
4. Media. I now do a lot of casual video viewing from Netflix and ABC etc on my iPad. The screen and navigation is excellent for watching TV shows and movies. I end up watching a lot of shows on my iPad. I never thought I would ever do that. I never used to watch video on my laptop because of the poor battery life and the amount of time it takes to boot up etc. The ipad is instant on, just like a phone or iPod touch.
The battery life is just incredible on the iPad. It goes around 20 hours for me easily with continuous use.
There are some really good iPad apps that look great on the iPad.Even simple games like Solitaire, Scrabble and Chess are great on the iPad. the combination of a touch screen and the way Apple has tuned the user experience is fantastic.
OK. What about Flash? The only flash apps I used on my notebook were Pandora, Youtube and Hulu. All three have iPad apps and fhe apps are a LOT smoother on the ipad than it is on the laptop.
OK so what laptop do I have? It's a Sony Vaio F Series with Intel core duo, windows 7 pro and 4 GB RAM. I really like it and it's great for work. But for entertainment and everyday general use, the iPad is a killer product. I never liked Macs but I really like the iPad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+531points
764out of 997found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Brilliant hardware crippled by Operating System

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Spazkillfellow
from New Jersey
on 04/09/2011
Ease to Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Screen Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Watching movies. reading books.
What's not so great: Browsing the web, trying to sync with iTunes
What's good:
Great for watching movies on the go. I'm a big fan of digital copy and the battery life is excellent.
Good electronic book reader, since you can download apps to use all the major electronic book formats.
What's average:
Document reader. PDF files have to be downloaded to the specific app you're going to use them in. Do to poor file management, if you switch to a different reader app, it can't see the files already on the iPad. Have to download everything again through the new app. no easy way to save a pdf you're reading from the web.
What's bad:
Web browser doesn't support flash. This means alot of online content is not browseable, especially video like movie trailers.
Everything has to go thru iTunes. I've been waiting for iTunes to recognize my iPad for ten minutes now.
No file management. Can't even delete a picture you've synced from the iPad itself. Have to sync again.
Wirless is buggy. Randomly forgets my network.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Great device... Email, videos, Sirius XM

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rx5900
from Atlanta
on 03/16/2011
What's great about it: email, watching movies, and streaming radio
What's not so great: no USB port
I love my IPAD. Great for checking emails in 5 seconds, I can stream videos from Netflix and listen to Sirius XM as I work over 3G with no pauses. Love reading books on it. I do not have cable TV, so I watch television shows from ITUNES almost everynight. I never miss a show and can watch it at anytime!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AppleIpadOwner1
from Cypress
on 02/12/2011
What's great about it: Plenty of free apps.
What's not so great: Accessories is an arm and leg!
As of December 2010, this was gifted from Santa to our daughter for Christmas and she loves it.
It allows us parents to do what we will only allow her to do and access, plenty of free apps (games) and with no complaints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
18out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Loving the iPad

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sofia83
from Savannah,Ga
on 02/12/2011
What's great about it: Easy to use,kid friendly,Everything!Battery life is awesome.
What's not so great: No complaints
I just bought my iPad,had it for a day and I have been loving everything about it.My 8 and 2 yr old also love it.I downloaded so many educational games for them. I've read many reviews from people about iPad not having flash,true but just download SkyFire and problem solved.
I think is worth the money I paid.i just wish I can buy 2 more for each of my kids,they fight over it a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

An excellent product, easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: paul1011
from Fremont,CA
on 02/09/2011
What's great about it: Features, User friendly, Overall design
What's not so great: None
iPad is very easy to use and the loading various info from the web is fast. The screen display is excellent and it is a joy to navigate thru various programs. The 64 GB memory is adequate to store programs, music, video, etc.
Design of iPad is excellent and alow the user to use all the features in very short time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
22out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Great for work or play

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Aakj
from Monroe,La
on 02/08/2011
What's great about it: Apps for almost anything
I have had my IPad for a month now and absolutely love it. Like the 3G option because it allows me to have service almost anywhere I go. Worth the extra money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Good for apps and some internet use.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jeyc
from PA
on 02/03/2011
What's great about it: the ease of use and transportability
What's not so great: not able to use html flash
I am not very techy, so this is not a professional opinion. I got it for the ease of transporting within and outside of my house, which is so nice. It is also good for apps, but internet use seems to be limited. Apple does not allow html flash, so this is a serious downfall and almost enough of one to regret the purchase. If I had realized that, I am certain I would no have made this purchase. Other than that, very handy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
18out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Customer Service without equal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wintersong
from Vermont
on 01/31/2011
What's great about it: it's the Ipad--what more could i say?
What's not so great: Doesn't support Flashplayer
I had had a glitch in the shipping, with all of the products from Best Buy being shipped to an old address. As soon as i discovered this, i contacted Customer Service. Your representative, Vol, was without equal. He took a half hour with me correcting the addresses of all the products shipped, and then connected back over the next week to update me with where my christmas gifts were and when to expect delivery. Everything did arrive by the 24th. I have never had such a wonderful experience with a representative. He was patient, reassuring, and extraordinarily capable in handling my situation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-11points
6out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

great for the internet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rex3113
from Kissimmee, Fl
on 01/31/2011
What's great about it: user friendly
For the money it's a great value. It gets used non stop. It's great for playing games and surfing the internet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Love it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Camotley
from Georgia
on 01/27/2011
Love it, wish it wasn't so expensive & easy to scratch. But overall great purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Maybe they will get it right by generation 3

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Phila, pa
on 01/25/2011
What's great about it: Shiney
What's not so great: Doesn't interface with printers
Cannot print from the device along with other things. As usual Apple doesn't get it right with their first version. Maybe by the 3rd generation it would be something to consider.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
16out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Almost Perfect Device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TXCheng
from Plano, TX
on 01/25/2011
What's great about it: Ease of use, battery life, OS, Apps, size
What's not so great: Price and lack of expandability
I originally bought one of these for my wife for Christmas and after using it for a few weeks I got so used to it that I ended up getting one myself. First time with an Apple device and I have to say the experience has been great. Screen is gorgeous. Seems everything you view on the IPad is so vivid and sharp. Videos look fantastic and for the traveler like myself it has made flying a much better time.
I can see why Apple is so successful.
So what I mean by almost perfect device is my desire to have more than what the IPad offers. I have always wondered why Apple restricts everything. No replaceable batteries, or expandable memory. I guess this keeps things working right since the hardware is locked.
Anyways, I highly recommend the IPad for anyone - whether you are an experienced computer user or not.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

GREAT FOR FUN

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ronnied
from salem n h
on 01/20/2011
What's great about it: EASE OF OPERATION
What's not so great: NOT GREAT FOR HEAVY COMPUTING
GOT THE IPAD FOR MY WIFE FOR CHRISTMAS. SHE IS NOT A COMPUER PERSON. WORKED PERFECTLY OUT OF THE BOX.
HAS LOTS OF APPS FREE AND FOR A PRICE. FUN ENTERTAINMENT. FOR ME ID RATHER HAVE A LAP TOP COMPUTER. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT FOR STRIGHT COMPUTING
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

LOVE it!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Petdr
from Aiken, SC
on 01/20/2011
What's great about it: Great battery life, good resolution, lots of apps
What's not so great: No camera, all add-ons cost extra (price)
I've had my iPad for a few months now, and love it! I barely use my laptop anymore. I use it for movie-watching, web surfing, game playing, storing photos, even texting. The good: touch screen is fun, good resolution, good battery life, great for travel! The not so good: no camera (I heard the iPad 2 will have two), the expense - not just the iPad itself but the cases, the docks, the keyboards etc. I'm sure I've already spent over $400 making my iPad even more awesome. I don't have any regrets. I use it everyday and take it with me when I travel. Everywhere I take it people ask me about it. When the iPad 2 comes out, get it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Rocketfish - Stand for Apple iPad
4.4 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
Griffin Technology - 9.84 ft Data Transfer Cable - Black
3.0 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
Apple - iPad Case
3.7 out of 5(63)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Great product - just love it!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gsquid
from Atlanta, GA
on 01/20/2011
So far it has done everything we have expected and more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gaberz
from usa
on 01/20/2011
What's great about it: all
What's not so great: needs usb
Great product. I onlyregret I can not connect to it an external hard drive or that th Ipad does not have at least one USB port.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Good for traveling

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DeepDiver2011
from Portland,Or
on 01/15/2011
What's great about it: Easy to setup
What's not so great: Need a computer to first start up and keep operating system current
The iPad is a very nice portable machine. I have used it everyday and have not had any issues. Books and newspapers are easy to download and read.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Can't beat it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IPUGW
from Morganton
on 12/20/2010
What's great about it: Light, Fast, Portable, Just Works, Easy to use
What's not so great: Not much realy
I have owned the 64 gig iPad with 3G for several months now and since buying it I have gotten rid of my laptop. This product is one of the best e-mail clients I've ever used. I use it on business trips and only have a desktop at home which has become more and more of a hub to sync with instead of a machine I use daily. The iPad can do anything I need and ususaly better and faster than a computer. I would recomend to anyone who needs a light travel machine or something to set on the couch and browse with. The main purpose of the desktop these days is ripping DVD's and doing long video edits, otherwise I use the iPad for everything else including building spreadsheets and creating presentations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
36out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apple - iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G - 64GB

Unbelievable Productivity Tool

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Woody17
from Champlin, MN
on 12/15/2010
What's great about it: Convenient productivity tool
What's not so great: some microsoft documents are not easily ported and manipulate with an iPad
Never realized that a tablet device could be such a powerful productivity tool for personal and professional use. Two tricky things:
#1 - a traditional PC user may struggle to understand the concept of not having a traditional windows file/folder structure
#2 - if you are a heavy user of MS-Office documents (Word, PPT and XLS) you should continue to use a PC/Laptop to manipulate those as macros and certain funtions don't always translate.
However, the ease of use and convenience of this device out weighs these two points.
Nice job Apple!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
32out of 38found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>