Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Model: XPMP3H1
SKU: 9825703
UPC: 884720012013
Record up to 100 hours of your favorite programming with this portable Satellite Radio that features TuneSelect and GameSelect technologies that let you find your favorite artists or sporting events on any channel.
Average Customer Rating:
2.844 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 64 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
25
52% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
33 out of 64
)
Customer Reviews for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit
Review 1 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Don't waste your money!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from New Jersey
on 04/20/2012
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Looks pretty
What's not so great: Quality, durability, warranty, service, reception,controls..etc.
I wanted something for the patio during the warm months and saw this receiver. It sounds too good to be true. Well, it is. The reception, as noted by previous reviews, is substandard for the device (and I do understand satelite radio). Even with clear line of sight, it doesn't receive well. The controls are sluggish at best and the way it is layed out does not make for easy operation. The cradle for the house is awkward at best, the cables cause the unit to be unstable and tip. After 6 months, it stopped charging on the home cradle and the car cradle. Battery was replaced and it turns out, the unit is bad. So, I am stuck with a box full of accesories I cant't use. As you will read, there are some that work but most won't.
About me... Avid listener, Audiophile
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Looks good and works fine.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bob33912
from Fort Myers
on 04/02/2012
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Have had no problem with this item. Use it most in the house with outside antenna sounds great thru my stereo system.
About me... Avid listener
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Better than my last XM radio but...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Camperjoe
from St. Paul, Minnesota
on 03/26/2012
  • Top 500 Contributor
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: small size, easy to use, good reception
What's not so great: sluggish response to commands at times, can seem be picky about what it needs signal wise.
This replaces a Nexus 50 that simply and suddenly stopped connecting with its external tuner module.
The XMp3i powers up quickly and performs all functions well though I consider its response times to commands sluggish in this age of dual core cell phones.
The built in tuner and antenna are a marked improvement over the Tao XM ToGo and I can get decent reception subject to infrequent drop outs while in the car w/o using the car kit. However, using the car kit is the way to go if you want nearly 100% guaranteed reception.
The unit does not seem to buffer the incoming information much at all so you want to be sure to not let anything get in the way of the antenna's clear view of the sky.
Overall, a good product with the latest firmware. However, I would not have bought it had it not been on sale as I consider the suggested retail price too high. But being a long time XM radio subscriber I was bound to get this unit sooner or later.
About me... Avid listener, Frequent car commuter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zabelb
from Buffalo
on 03/01/2012
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Portable and easy to use.
What's not so great: MP3 function is hard to sort.
This product is great, You can take it with you anywhere you go and as long as you have a clear shot at the sky you will have reception. Anyone who rates this as a 1 or 2 dosent understand how satilite radio reception works its not like a normal radio. I take mine to work and I have a speaker system at home. Couldnt live with out it. I also love how I can record any programs I want and listen to them when I dont have reception such as when I am driving.
About me... Music is my life, Avid listener, Sports is my life, Audiophile, Installed myself
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Should be named the XM P0S

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: tyme4juice
from green bay wi
on 02/26/2012
What's great about it: If best buy takes it back that will be the only thing great about it.
What's not so great: any function it has
Normally I wouldnt waste my time writing a review but this unit is so bad I had to. I used to have the xm Inno. It lasted 5 years and the only problem was recently the battery just died and thought it was time to upgrade.. Huge mistake. It looks great on display and when you take it out of the box. After that you might as well just throw it in the toilet because this unit is truely a piece of cxxp. It turns itself off, when it does work for an hour it will suddenly stop and say "loading" , you never know what you'll get when you record, or if it will even be there, if it's there it may not play, many steps to do what you want it to do, keep it in the vehicle because it does not catch a signal... my inno didnt either but i would listen to recorded. The list goes on, but i have to get this junk back to the store.... ugh and now another 15 bucks to xm for some other model to connect..
About me... Music is my life, Avid listener, Frequent car commuter, Audiophile, Installed myself
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Stuck with a second class product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: FJRTouring
from Dallas
on 01/22/2012
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Portable
What's not so great: Too much to list
Any of the stilleto series were far better units than what this is.I have no idea why they were discontinued.Now I am stuck with a second choice.I need a good portable unit.This one aint it!My unit is erratic and unreliable now that six months have past.Reception drops when riding my bike which is frustrating.It shuts off for some unknown reason. Thank goodness this was a gift and I didnt spent the bucks it cost at retail.I have been an avid satellite radio fan since its inception.I have three accounts with SiriusXM.My original Sportster is still jamming out with zero problems with a lifetime subscrition but unfortunately its not portable.Also be prepared to take a valium if you have to call for SiriusXM customer support.They are truly a nightmare now unlike five years ago.My suggestion is if you can find one of these preloaded with a subscription on an internet auction site cheap or to use your smart phone if you have an unlimited data plan.I have been told the SiriusXM smart phone app works great.The subscriptions are rediculously expensive now.IF you are a NASCAR fan like me then be prepared to pay for the PREMIUM service.For now I think I will now just stay on Pandora or Slacker Radio with my Sprint phone when I take a long distance ride or a trip.My contract with Sprint allows unlimited use of all services and data use nationwide.
About me... Avid listener, Frequent car commuter, Installed myself, motorcycle touring
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Great but flawed

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: mkinma
from Boston, MA
on 01/20/2012
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I have to say that CONCEPTUALLY this is the greatest music product ever! It could take over anything apple has if it ONLY worked properly. It plays live satellite music, recorded satellite, recorded programs, AND your own music (with your card) BUT it is seriously flawed.
Mine shuts off for no reason 1-2 times per day. The music just stops.. you look down and it says “powering up”. And you have to wait 2 minutes (which is an eternity when you are watching the screen). Very frustrating! Also it sometimes freezes. You can’t do anything except remove the battery. This has happened 4-5 times since I own it.
Regarding others reviews:
1. I have no reception problems in the places I have used it (Boston, Philly, NYC, LA, Vegas) except for some loss of service driving thru rural PA which seems reasonable. I live in the city and walk everywhere and take this with me.
2. It only records programs when it is docked which is perhaps why some report recording problems.
I would probably be very unhappy except I purchased this in November at half price during a sale. Since I saved 99 dollars I am not as bothered. Also Sirius seriously needs to get rid of the installation fee! That alone made me irate and I almost returned it. Hidden fees like this lose customers!
IF they could perfect this radio it would be amazing and they would be flying off the shelves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Find something else

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: rudy45342
from Chicago, IL
on 01/16/2012
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The concept of a portable satellite radio with recording capabilities.
What's not so great: A LOT! Battery, built in signal is weak, vehicle dock system is messed up, etc...
I've had 2 of these. I had the 1st one for a few hours, the battery was pre-fried.. The 2nd one worked well until I started vehicle docking it. Then the battery went from working all night (listening to LiveXM# while driving pizzas #turning it off when not in car) to lasting 30-40 seconds. The PowerConnect killed the battery and eventually the PowerConnect just stopped working. The 2nd PowerConnect was defective out of the box. The 3rd one works now but for how much longer.
The concept of this radio is definitely worth $200. However the quality in which XM and Audiovox put into it makes this radio pretty worthless. Judging at how half of the comments on this product are bad to horrible, I take that and my own experiences and tell you confidently NOT TO BUY THIS NOW.
The new one#the Lynx) looks like the next generation of this model.. Hopefully they spent more than $3 to make that one. But I'll wait to hear what defects it has before considering. They owe Howard Stern and others a ton of money so they cheapened the XMP3i to maximize profits. Don't be surprised if they did the same with the Lynx.
After this PowerConnect breaks I'm going back to the cheapest, most bland radios they sell. Because those actually work and if they do suck I won't feel let down and ripped off.
About me... Frequent car commuter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

I did not like this radio

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 1HowardSternFan
from Santa Rosa
on 01/11/2012
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's the smallest satellite radio availible
What's not so great: It's operating system / slow & bad design
I have owned sirius SL10 & SL 100 both real good radios for recording content and operating. This one does not record all the time and when it does, Its hard to scoll thur your recordings and see the date recorded. You have to wait till each title scrolls by to see the date.
and if you want to fast forward thur your content you have to go very slow so the radio can keep up. On my old radio when you recorded say a 4 hour show it would show you all four hours at glance so you could see as you fast forword and you could go very fast, as fast as you could push the button. Their are a few other things that I did not like but to much to list. Now since this radio is an Xm/Siruis radio they will charge you an additional $ 3.00 for Howard Stern channel which I used to get with my standard subscription.
About me... Music is my life, Avid listener, Audiophile, Installed myself, howard stern fan, i have owned six sirius radios
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

good little radio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from california
on 01/11/2012
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: small
I like this radio since I don't have to listen to commercials. It has recording capabalities and it can be pluged into your car stereo auxialiary. it sounds good for being a little satellite radio. it was worth it when i got it on special.
About me... Music is my life, Casual listener, Frequent car commuter
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

OMG

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KJPocala
from Ocala,FL
on 01/06/2012
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I have had Sirius for years and I wanted to try a portable unit. I like the idea of being mobile and using it like an Ipod. Well I was very disappointed. The sound is horrible even with full reception. This product needs alot of work. I should have listened to other reviews.
About me... Music is my life, Avid listener, Audiophile
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Please my fellow buyers, read this first.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: nomuyvivo
from Miami, FL
on 12/15/2011
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Portability
What's not so great: Durability and SiriusXM Warranty Policy
I have been a XM Client since its inception, I was a very happy DELPHI ROADY XT user until the unit died after 6 years of service. Back in '09 I bought the XMP3 which happen to work for 2 years until all of a sudden a problem began. Well...I bought a brand new XMp3i in BB somewhere in september. In about 50 days the unit died. I can't complain about BB since the 30 days return-to-store period was over, so I call SiriusXM Warranty Dept and they took my claim and offered to send a replacement unit. This unit arrived as planned with a BIG CAVEAT, you bought a brand new unit at Best Buy and SiriusXM sends a REFURBISHED ONE. And this will always be like that. Well guess what...??? After 2 weeks the unit began to act crazy to access MP3 files and once you are playing'em, random noises will pop every now and then, not to mention how slow the unit may be accessing the files.
I'm seriously thinking to send the old XMP3 to a Pioneer Service to get it fixed since I'm guessing the problems with the XMP3i will continue. I really don't know what SiriusXM was thinking when they change from Pioneer to Audiovox.
Dear reader I've never bought an extended warranty, for any product but if you are planing to get this unit, do so, I shall be confident, you will have problems with this model and you, like me, will be regretful whenever you have to call SiriusXM for a replacement and after you paid for a brand new unit. You will end up with a refurbished one.
One final note, it is a fact, this unit will not have the best satellite reception when you are walking around the city, even if you have the new headphones with the antenna on top. This unit is practical because allows you to switch from one car to another, or to your house and finally the MP3 playability. Up to 8 GB MicroSD memory, there is a lot of music you can carry around.
About me... Music is my life, Avid listener, Frequent car commuter, Audiophile
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Great radio. Very happy so far.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JHJr
from Jacksonville, Fl
on 12/07/2011
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: All in one auto and home music player. Lots of storage.
What's not so great: Can't figure out how to preset stations
So far so good with my unit. It's a really great little gadget. If you have had satellite radio before and understand the limitations, you will love this radio. No problems like what I've read here but I do see alot of non working ones being sold on eBay. I did buy the 4 year warranty with it. I would recommend a professional install for the car kit to get the best reception while in the car. The micro SD slot is great as I was able put almost all of my music on it to listen anytime. I haven't had any issues with poor battery life but listening to live XM does seem to drain it faster. If you are going to use it outside for a long time off the charger, try recording your favorite channels first then play them back later and skip
the songs you don't want. I think you can record up to 10 hours of a channel at a time, maybe more One downside to this is the music
manager software that comes with it. It is not supported by Mac or
windows vista but if you are good with a laptop you can figure out how to
get your content on it. Hopefully they fix that soon. If your vehicle doesn't
have built in XM and even if it does, I can't think of a better device. I'm
extremely happy. It comes with a nice remote that takes a few days to
figure out.
About me... Avid listener, Frequent car commuter, Audiophile
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Portable, yes. For on the go, NO!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: tendragon
from Southern Oregon
on 12/03/2011
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Somewhat portable that allows flexibility of using my own speakers
What's not so great: Reception. User interface.
I bought this for my wife who likes to listen to XM while in the kitchen as well as working in the garden. I expected that we could have nice speakers inside and she could just slip in her pocket while working outside. As a portable device the XM service continually drops out while moving around with this even in clear areas outside. Pretty disappointing from that perspective. We have resigned ourselves to just moving portable speakers with the item and the attachable antenna outside when we are out there. Totally inconvenient. Looking for a boombox attachment for it now.
Also, interface leaves a lot to be desired. Not intuitive. Many restrictions with remote control-ability while the item is/isn't docked. Honestly hard to believe anyone did any usability testing with this item. Love XM offerings though.
About me... Avid listener, not picky but have reasonable expectations.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Terrific except . . .

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Abenaki
from Des Moines IA
on 11/23/2011
What's great about it: User friendly, easy to read
What's not so great: On/off should be designed to turn off w/t interfering w/volume on opposite side
Antenna connection is not as good as my old antennae, both of which fit much better than the new one that came with the XM Radio. Volume buttons are on the opposite edge of the unit where power button is making it way too easy to accidentally turn the volume up or down while tOther than that part of quality control, it's very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Don't waste your money!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Matt1962
from California
on 11/01/2011
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing!!
What's not so great: reception untolerable!
I very much looked forward to using this product on the go. It has such bad reception that I just shut it off and felt ripped off!!!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Great radio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SiriusXM
from Manalapan, NJ
on 10/27/2011
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I have read some of the past reviews and have had none of the problems stated. The radio works as advertised. I have noticed that the signal from "Sirius" is stronger than the signal from "XM". I have more signal loss with an XM device than with a Sirius device. That includes this device as well as XM in my car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Good concept but unreliable product

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: 1XMlistener
from Central Texas
on 09/18/2011
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: portable.
What's not so great: Only worked less than 3 weeks.
The radio stopped working less than 3 weeks after purchase. I was disappointed in the reliability of the radio. It is a good concept to have XM portable but XM should have a different manufacturer of the radio.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Poor software engineering

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 1JIMBO
from Lompoc, California
on 09/18/2011
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reception
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: concept and attempt
What's not so great: reliability, recording consistency, user interface
I am on my 4th radio in the last 9 months. Each lasted about 2 months. The first couple quit recording. Had them set to record every day 6:00 am to 9 AM. Worked for about a month then quit. Reset everything and still was not reliable. Like it had a mind of its own! The 3rd one seemed to work OK but after about 4 months the screen just went white and was never able to program it again. Also on all of them I had to remove and reinsert the battery many times to get things going again. I am on my 4th radio now (about a week) and all seems to be OK except it has already failed to record the morning show 2 times!!! On radio #2 the battery died after about 1 1/2 months. Had to get a new one---would not charge anymore. Thank God I had the 2 year warranty from Best Buy and they replaced it each time. Each time the radio seemed to have a new softare version--1.28,1.31,now 1.32, maybe improvements are slowly coming along. Pretty poor. If I could find another portable Sirius XM radio that recorded, I would get it and leave this one alone!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for XM - XMp3i Portable Satellite Radio with Home Kit

Very Disappointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Cleveland, Ohio
on 09/09/2011
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: ALL ASPECTS OF PERFORMANCE
My previous XM radio, a MyFy was the best piece of electronics I ever bought. This is the worst. It was bad from the start, with the tuner wheel unresponsive half of the time. Playback would skip from track to track randomly, instead of playing sequentially as desired. And the short warranty served the company well, as the radio failed completely after the warranty expired, though the company previously failed to honor the warranty anyway. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>