Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Model: PD9000/37
SKU: 9832597
UPC: 609585182356
Watch your favorite movies on the go with this portable DVD player that features a 9" TFT-LCD display for a clear, bright picture that allows you to watch widescreen movies in their original format. The battery lasts up to 5 hours for long-lasting use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.42 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(355 Reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 355 reviews
5 stars
228
4 stars
89
3 stars
11
2 stars
13
1 star
14
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
323 out of 355
)
Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Serves it's purpose.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Renee76
from Taylor
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Has a longer battery life.
What's not so great: Picture isn't so good, doesn't swivel, doesn't show battery life and don't charge while pluged in.
Picture isn't so good, doesn't swivel, doesn't show battery life and dosent charge while pluged in. We've always has Sony, so going to this was very disappointing. Seems cheaply made, bought 2 just in case one breaks.
This product has... pretty good battery life.
About me... parent of special needs child that uses this daily
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0397224461
My Best Buy number: 0397224461
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great DVD Player for kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jvinueza
from Tampa, FL
on 04/20/2014
What's great about it: Easy to function
We brought this DVD player for a long road trip for our 2 year old. It can be placed on the head rest as well as be used on the child's lap. Easy to use and great picture and sound.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop
About me... Budget Conscious, Need to keep kids quiet, Parent with multiple kids, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0307059466
My Best Buy number: 0307059466
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Phillips DVD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bbeef278428
from orlando fl
on 04/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture quality
What's not so great: nothing
Excellent portable playback unit. Very light weight and terrific picture quality. Sound quality is good
This product has... Viewable from any angle, Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop, Enough headphone jacks
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0208884761
My Best Buy number: 0208884761
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great for the kids on long rides

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CarlosM35
from New Rochelle, NY
on 04/18/2014
Perfect for plane or car. Keeps the kids nice and quiet.
This product has... Viewable from any angle, Enough headphone jacks
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2874629141
My Best Buy number: 2874629141
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

perfect size

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: markeymark
from union
on 04/16/2014
What's great about it: easy to use and nice video picture
What's not so great: no complaints
I bought this to go inside my car for my little boy its perfect
and the case it came in fixs just right .
I have looked at sony players and other players the phillips is hands down the
better pick and for the price, i will soon buy another one for traverling.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2024592271
My Best Buy number: 2024592271
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 2tomkats
from Bham, AL
on 04/14/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Easy to see
What's not so great: nothing so far.
I bought this portable dvd player for my husbands new truck. He loves it. Easily stored in the included case, great picture that is easily seen and love the remote. So far meets all of my expectations and made the hubby happy. Winner winner.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2708849929
My Best Buy number: 2708849929
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

solid item

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: profEP
from san diego, ca
on 04/13/2014
What's great about it: fair price and battery life
What's not so great: case is extra
Battery life was superior to other DVD players of similar size and price; all in all, a solid unit.
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2688998358
My Best Buy number: 2688998358
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great portable did playe r

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tidelwave
from chicago, il
on 04/12/2014
What's great about it: Great picture
Easy to use, great picture, needs to have longer battery l I fe
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0767226651
My Best Buy number: 0767226651
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good for price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: franco89
from Summerville, SC
on 04/11/2014
I bought this portable dvd for a last minute trip to Ohio from South Carolina to entertain my 2 year old daughter. It did the trick. The only thing I have to complain about it the dvd portion. I wish it did not have to extend out or down, but instead was able to bend backward. My daughter liked to put her feet on it when not watched. Other than that it had great picture and sound.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0565628251
My Best Buy number: 0565628251
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Nice picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: NAUb
from Phoenix,Arizona
on 04/06/2014
What's great about it: portable
What's not so great: Bulkyness
Great picture and sound but bulky. Needs to be slimmer and not weigh so much
This product has... Great DVD upconversion
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2501646503
My Best Buy number: 2501646503
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Perfect for road trips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: maggiemom2324
from Kingsport, TN
on 04/05/2014
What's great about it: Decent picture and volume, nice battery life
What's not so great: Unstable stand
I purchased this for my two year old for when we go on road trips. It's perfect for her. However, the dvd player mount that attaches to the headrest is very flimsy. If barely holds up the weight of the player.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2526788394
My Best Buy number: 2526788394
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great DVD player for traveling with kids!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bhall1959
from Rockledge, FL
on 03/29/2014
What's great about it: Small enough to put in your purse or diaper bag. Has a 5 hr. battery life.
What's not so great: Nothing
This was a lifesaver for my daughter while she traveled by air with my 22 month old grandson. It kept him well entertained and I am sure the other passengers with happy that he was too busy to disturb them.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 7001191807
My Best Buy number: 0907498801
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

High quality DVD player at a low price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Linkbo
from Kelso, WA
on 03/29/2014
What's great about it: Excellent picture quality and easy to use. 5 plus hours of battery life as advertised.
What's not so great: Could use a little more volume for use on airplanes, etc.
I highly recommend this DVD player. It is easy to use and has the features needed for expanded general use. A very good buy.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls, excellent picture quality
About me... Budget Conscious, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2827369308
My Best Buy number: 2827369308
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great DVD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Momofspecialneeds
from Birmingham, AL
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use for my
What's not so great: No problems. Wonderful
My special needs daughter needs the larger screen due to vision problems. She uses it hours on end. We actually bought a second one to charge while she uses the other one. She loves it! I would recommend the extra warranty for special needs. She drools a lot and they are not waterproof! But she can use the controls easily
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2558627128
My Best Buy number: 2558627128
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Enjoyable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dezz23
from Keansburg, nj
on 03/28/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use
I bought the DVD player before our flight so my 3 year old had something to watch & entertain her which this was a great product for it. There's no issues while playing DVDs like no skips or speed.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2625235379
My Best Buy number: 2625235379
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great DVD player for everyone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lbestbuy
from Fountain Valley, CA
on 03/26/2014
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: none
It plays everything CD-MP3. Clear screen, easy to use
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0557821080
My Best Buy number: 0557821080
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good for road trips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: philsrule
from philadelphia, PA
on 03/24/2014
What's great about it: Durable & good battery life
Dropped it & still works. Son asks for it as son as we get in the car. A big hit with him.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0960788116
My Best Buy number: 0960788116
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Excellent size and great picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: shaz
from Point Pleasant NJ
on 03/21/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use and good picture perfect price
What's not so great: Makes a running noise if volume is too low
This dvd player is exactly what I wanted to watch movies in the car.
the battery life of 5 hours is great
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1011742972
My Best Buy number: 1011742972
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Awesome TV for the Kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Artbo00
from North Hollywood, CA
on 03/17/2014
What's great about it: Battery Life
What's not so great: Nothing
Bought this TV for a road trip and now my daughter carries it around all day. Great picture quality and the battery lasts more then 4 hours per charge. It's pretty durable, but I don't recommend letting a rough child carry it around. You can't beat the price.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2349763523
My Best Buy number: 2349763523
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Skips at the slightest jiggle. Awful!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: AMM925
from Raleigh, NC
on 03/16/2014
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything. Skips if the wind even thinks of blowing. Awful.
I bought this for a long car ride and the product box indicated it was anti-skip. After seven hours in the car, I can tell you it is anything but anti-skip! Awful and will never buy another product from them again.
This product has... Slow load time, nothing good!
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0745758792
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>