Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Model: PD9000/37
SKU: 9832597
UPC: 609585182356
Watch your favorite movies on the go with this portable DVD player that features a 9" TFT-LCD display for a clear, bright picture that allows you to watch widescreen movies in their original format. The battery lasts up to 5 hours for long-lasting use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(507 Reviews) 507
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 507 reviews
5 stars
319
4 stars
136
3 stars
22
2 stars
15
1 star
15
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
469 out of 507
)
Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

great for the kids...and for travelling

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Betty
on 09/22/2014
We purchased this item because we travel and camp alot. It has been a true blessing. Especially for the todlers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2548831221
My Best Buy number: 2548831221
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

It does its job

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Jazzy
on 09/20/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
It does its job wouldn't expect less or more for the price I paid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1043544797
My Best Buy number: 1043544797
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good for the road trip

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Minnie73
from San Antonio tx
on 09/19/2014
What's great about it: Easy to manage
Great device I used it for a road trip. Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2854545683
My Best Buy number: 2854545683
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

THis the 2nd DVD player I purchased

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dinky
from sparta, KY
on 09/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the picture is large and clear. Easy to use
What's not so great: the sound needs to be louder for in the car.
This was a birthday present for a little boy traveling with his grandparents on a long car trip.The DVD player was easy to use, has a remote and pretty sturdy.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0420286985
My Best Buy number: 0420286985
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

My 6 year old used it for road trip to FL.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JaySed
from Brooklyn, NY
on 09/17/2014
What's great about it: The battery lasted and it was perfect for our long road trip
My 6 year old was nice and quiet for the entire trip down to Florida minus the time that he was sleeping.
About me... Budget Conscious, Need to keep kids quiet, Parent with multiple kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2815312613
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Perfect for all situations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Peglil12
from Louisville, Ky
on 09/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality for price
What's not so great: Battery charge isn't long enoguh
Perfect for when the TV is not available; Nursing homes to share that family video or give to someone to watch movies if they don't have access to TV in rooms. Children would love. Not good if you want to play a movie and only have the length of the battery. THe battery runs down sometimes before the movie finishes. That is bad and is the only thing I hate. LOVE, the ease of use and surdibiity of it.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Enough headphone jacks, nursing home use, car w/adapter
About me... no tv available
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2369637491
My Best Buy number: 2369637491
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great product for journeys

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rajath
from Peoria
on 09/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Screen size,case provided with the product
What's not so great: navigation controls
Got this product for use in travels. The product works perfectly for my family. We get entertained on the go.
Best part is the carrying case and car charger adapter.
Navigation controls and volume control are just about OK but does not bother us much.Overall we are satisfied with this product
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop
About me... Budget Conscious, entertainment on the go
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1018012016
My Best Buy number: 1018012016
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great For Kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kat54
from Central Coast, Ca
on 09/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Price & Perfect for travel
This portable dvd player was purchased for a long road trip. My daughter is 10 yrs old & this was for her to use in the car & for her & her friends to watch movies in her room. Weight wise is was perfect to carry in a back pack to & from hotels. Great lap size for personal use. At our local Best Buy this product was only sold in white. Which was fine for my daughter. Though I would imagine w/ a younger child or a messy one, this would need to be cleaned or covered. Battery wise, it was perfect to get a full length movie including watching extras & bonus features. With proper cords, plug into your car for unlimited viewing pleasure. Picture quality was great for the price. Please note this DVD player , will NOT play blue-rays.
This product has... Viewable from any angle, Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop, Enough headphone jacks
About me... Budget Conscious, Need to keep kids quiet, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1025154433
My Best Buy number: 1025154433
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great portable DVD player for traveling!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: becurious45i
from Oshkosh, WI
on 09/13/2014
What's great about it: Easy for kids to use!
We own a couple of these DVD players and they have traveled back and forth across the US.. very sturdy and easy to use.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop, Enough headphone jacks
About me... Parent with multiple kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2140183575
My Best Buy number: 2140183575
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Bought it for my 89-year-old mother - loves it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Studebiker
from Athens, GA
on 09/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple, easy to use, good picture quality, long battery life
What's not so great: No negatives to add here
I wanted a simple but good-quality video player with a long battery life to maximize the convenience and minimize the difficulty for my aging mother. This did the trick. She loves it and prefers it over using her rather complicated TV/cable service to run the DVD player hooked into that system.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop, simplicity, long battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2360300127
My Best Buy number: 2360300127
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

My daughter loves it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lindseyb19
from San Antonio, tx
on 09/12/2014
Great price, cord for car and outlet. Unlike others I've bought this one came with a carrying case.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0547202998
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

If I only knew....

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: CPAonTheGo
from Westmont, IL
on 09/12/2014
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Picture quality is acceptable, and it is very easy to use.
What's not so great: Sound quality could be better, and the plastic it is made out of isn't durable at all.
I bought this as a last minute purchase before going on a 2 day car trip with my 2-year old granddaughter. The product itself is easy to operate, and the picture quality and size are okay for the price paid,, but the sound and looks of the unit leave a lot to be desired. The white plastic case does not withstand even minor drops, but cracks quite easily. However, this hasn't caused any deterioration in the play quality of the unit. Just cosmetic I guess. If I had known about the bad sound and cheap look, I would have upgraded to a more solidly built Blu-ray player instead. I also wish it came with a carrying case.
This product has... Smaller than laptop, no carrying case
About me... Budget Conscious, grandpa in training
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0084844972
My Best Buy number: 0084844972
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good first DVD player for a child

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: professor
from long island ny
on 09/08/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: works well
Reasonably priced, easy to use, durable, and has long battery life.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop, Enough headphone jacks
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with multiple kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2631812700
My Best Buy number: 2631812700
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Awesome product.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RoadWarrior
from Augusta, ME
on 09/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use
What's not so great: Connecting cables for TV not included
Transferred easily from vehicle to hotel room, and home. Children can easily operate the system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2944644791
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Easy to set up and use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Denise459
from PA
on 09/06/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durable and easy to use. Holds up to a 2 year old viewing during car rides. Good battery life.
This product has... Viewable from any angle, Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop, Enough headphone jacks
About me... Need to keep kids quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2544381560
My Best Buy number: 2544381560
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

super great player for a good price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PJ200
on 09/06/2014
Its super convenient & personal.i enjoy watching dvd in my own comfort.its a perfect size for travel & has a plug for my car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3300535838
My Best Buy number: 3300535838
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great DVD player for kids

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: C2smallwonder
on 09/06/2014
I buy this product almost every year. My autistic son loves to watch movies wherever he goes and this DVD player is the perfect size and price. He scratches his cd by not keeping them in their cases but the DVD player manages to read them. He gets real good use out of it. It's a great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Very clear and durable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drupp5456
from Denver
on 09/06/2014
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
Great DVD player. I was looking for something affordable with a good picture and long battery life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Easy to use and good picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Louise
from Westerville, OH
on 09/05/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Long battery life
What's not so great: Sound without headphones
I like the size and weight. Should be easy to travel with. Good picture
This product has... Smaller than laptop
About me... simple to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2923045380
My Best Buy number: 2923045380
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Sound

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Daviddreamer
from Fort Worth tx
on 09/05/2014
Has no power to raise sound level. You have to use an aux cord to b able to hear it even over minimum car noise. Picture not very bright v
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0908046506
My Best Buy number: 0908046506
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>