Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Model: PD9000/37
SKU: 9832597
UPC: 609585182356
Watch your favorite movies on the go with this portable DVD player that features a 9" TFT-LCD display for a clear, bright picture that allows you to watch widescreen movies in their original format. The battery lasts up to 5 hours for long-lasting use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.43 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(519 Reviews) 519
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 519 reviews
5 stars
325
4 stars
139
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 star
16
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
480 out of 519
)
Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good portable DVD player

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Phiferj1738
from Melissa, TX
on 10/01/2014
This is a good portable DVD player. Overall good picture and sound. Only one drawback, I had to buy a new power cord 34 days after purchasing this player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2023892327
My Best Buy number: 2023892327
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Its a great video for kids easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DJROCKO
on 09/30/2014
Its a great video for kids easy to use and very easy to carry everywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2341905372
My Best Buy number: 2341905372
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

GREAT DVD PLAYER

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: poppy
on 09/29/2014
Watched three movies on this player with the grand kid on a rain soaked camping trip and we enjoyed it. made the rain time pass .
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1055974810
My Best Buy number: 1055974810
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Dim, cannot see screen in daytime.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: adaacer
from Houston, texas
on 09/29/2014
Bad screen settings, would have returned to store, but opened while on vacation in mountains, time ran out. Cannot watch except in very dark room.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0040444444
My Best Buy number: 0040444444
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Did the job

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: bestman
on 09/27/2014
I needed entertainment at night or during rainy days while camping. The player provided that but took too long to recharge the battery through the car connnection. It appears that it's a one to one ratio - one hour of charging equals one hour of playback.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2847685150
My Best Buy number: 2847685150
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Exellent Portable DVD Player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JunDD
on 09/27/2014
This is a 2nd Phillips 9" Portable DVD Player in our family . The 1st one, the Phillips 9" PD9000/37 has been heavily used by our little granddaughter. She uses it since October 2011 at home, in a car during long trips, at cottage. And so far, - no problem. It is easy to use. The quality and durability are excellent (even for a kid).
So, when we needed a second DVD Player, we bought the same again. But it looks like the screen quality is much better, and the sound is improved.
Cons: Not supplied anymore with a soft cover c/w straps to attach to the back of the car seat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good quality and easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jays
on 09/27/2014
Sound quality is excellent and picture is clear. The weight is perfect. Not too light, so it is sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2919387869
My Best Buy number: 2919387869
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great Player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JayDragon
from Grand Rapids, MI
on 09/26/2014
Player works great. Very nice screen and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0405104211
My Best Buy number: 0405104211
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

DVD player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Vincent
on 09/26/2014
Good DVD player for anyone looking for such a device.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2834637209
My Best Buy number: 2834637209
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great for long car rides

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lisa
on 09/26/2014
It was easy for my eight year old to use in the car when we drove cross country. The holder for the back of the seat was terrible, but the dvd player worked great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1038884297
My Best Buy number: 1038884297
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great for 3-year old

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Guinness
on 09/24/2014
I bought this for a road trip and it was perfect and easy. Came with the carrying case that strapped on the head rest easily. My child also loves to use it in the home and it actually keeps a charge after its detached from the charger. Great product just wish the screen had better resolution. But for the price perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1021546331
My Best Buy number: 1021546331
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

My granddaughter loves it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lilbit
on 09/24/2014
The movies shows clear. I can hear it well without head phones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

great for the kids...and for travelling

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Betty
on 09/22/2014
We purchased this item because we travel and camp alot. It has been a true blessing. Especially for the todlers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2548831221
My Best Buy number: 2548831221
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

It does its job

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Jazzy
on 09/20/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
It does its job wouldn't expect less or more for the price I paid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1043544797
My Best Buy number: 1043544797
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good for the road trip

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Minnie73
from San Antonio tx
on 09/19/2014
What's great about it: Easy to manage
Great device I used it for a road trip. Easy to set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2854545683
My Best Buy number: 2854545683
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

THis the 2nd DVD player I purchased

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dinky
from sparta, KY
on 09/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the picture is large and clear. Easy to use
What's not so great: the sound needs to be louder for in the car.
This was a birthday present for a little boy traveling with his grandparents on a long car trip.The DVD player was easy to use, has a remote and pretty sturdy.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0420286985
My Best Buy number: 0420286985
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

My 6 year old used it for road trip to FL.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JaySed
from Brooklyn, NY
on 09/17/2014
What's great about it: The battery lasted and it was perfect for our long road trip
My 6 year old was nice and quiet for the entire trip down to Florida minus the time that he was sleeping.
About me... Budget Conscious, Need to keep kids quiet, Parent with multiple kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2815312613
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Perfect for all situations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Peglil12
from Louisville, Ky
on 09/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality for price
What's not so great: Battery charge isn't long enoguh
Perfect for when the TV is not available; Nursing homes to share that family video or give to someone to watch movies if they don't have access to TV in rooms. Children would love. Not good if you want to play a movie and only have the length of the battery. THe battery runs down sometimes before the movie finishes. That is bad and is the only thing I hate. LOVE, the ease of use and surdibiity of it.
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Enough headphone jacks, nursing home use, car w/adapter
About me... no tv available
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2369637491
My Best Buy number: 2369637491
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great product for journeys

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rajath
from Peoria
on 09/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Screen size,case provided with the product
What's not so great: navigation controls
Got this product for use in travels. The product works perfectly for my family. We get entertained on the go.
Best part is the carrying case and car charger adapter.
Navigation controls and volume control are just about OK but does not bother us much.Overall we are satisfied with this product
This product has... Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop
About me... Budget Conscious, entertainment on the go
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1018012016
My Best Buy number: 1018012016
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great For Kids

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kat54
from Central Coast, Ca
on 09/13/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Price & Perfect for travel
This portable dvd player was purchased for a long road trip. My daughter is 10 yrs old & this was for her to use in the car & for her & her friends to watch movies in her room. Weight wise is was perfect to carry in a back pack to & from hotels. Great lap size for personal use. At our local Best Buy this product was only sold in white. Which was fine for my daughter. Though I would imagine w/ a younger child or a messy one, this would need to be cleaned or covered. Battery wise, it was perfect to get a full length movie including watching extras & bonus features. With proper cords, plug into your car for unlimited viewing pleasure. Picture quality was great for the price. Please note this DVD player , will NOT play blue-rays.
This product has... Viewable from any angle, Right screen size for my needs, Smaller than laptop, Enough headphone jacks
About me... Budget Conscious, Need to keep kids quiet, Tech savvy
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1025154433
My Best Buy number: 1025154433
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>