Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Model: PD9000/37
SKU: 9832597
UPC: 609585182356
Watch your favorite movies on the go with this portable DVD player that features a 9" TFT-LCD display for a clear, bright picture that allows you to watch widescreen movies in their original format. The battery lasts up to 5 hours for long-lasting use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.428 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(421 Reviews) 421
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 421 reviews
5 stars
265
4 stars
112
3 stars
17
2 stars
13
1 star
14
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
388 out of 421
)
Customer Reviews for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great for on the go families!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PurpleHaze75
from Carrollton, GA
on 08/01/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Everything!!!
We love this little miracle. On trips it keeps our daughter who is 9 entertained!!
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2762074909
My Best Buy number: 2762074909
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

great for kids

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gator07
from AZ
on 08/01/2014
What's great about it: easy to use
What's not so great: he cords are sensitive andmy turn it off
Thanks for a great DVD player for trips with my kids. It sure saves us In the car.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2724889787
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good picture

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Gigi
from Elgin, South Carolina
on 07/31/2014
What's great about it: Easy eset up
East setup and great picture quality. Keeps the grandson entertained on long trips
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2173326291
My Best Buy number: 2173326291
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Good picture

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: CEO13
on 07/31/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Works great but it will not charge in the car. It comes with a car charger but it does not work:(. So would not be good for long road trips. It does stay charged for about 4 hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0541681010
My Best Buy number: 0541681010
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

long battery life

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ratso
from bridgewater ma
on 07/26/2014
What's great about it: keeps the kids quiet
What's not so great: nothing
I have 3 kids and have bought this product for all of them. My 4 year old handles it rough at times and it takes it well. This is an easy way to keep kids busy on those long trips.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0306334878
My Best Buy number: 0306334878
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Plays good,

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: dano
from kingsport, tn
on 07/26/2014
What's great about it: good picture
What's not so great: no one button controls, hard to understand set-up.
Overall, not a bad dvd player, but the Phillips I wanted and the store was out of is a much better product for a little less money..
This product has... hard to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids, Avid movie watcher
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1035288890
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Pretty Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hkteeta
on 07/25/2014
It works great, and I got it at a good price. I used it quite a bit for a trip, and the kids were happy. There was a moment the first evening where it wouldn't stay closed, but has been working fine since. I do wish it came with straps for the car, and a better case (my last one did), but all in all, I'm happy with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2787652816
My Best Buy number: 2787652816
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Love this thing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SEATA
from Montgomery, AL
on 07/25/2014
What's great about it: The screen is perfect size and battery is great
What's not so great: N/A
This is a great DVD player. I am looking forward to watching a movie on a flight in a few weeks without the battery dying.
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Easy to use controls, great battery
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2583127266
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Just what I was looking for

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mikeylikesit09
from Honolulu
on 07/25/2014
What's great about it: Good price, good quality
What's not so great: so far so good
I was looking for a portable DVD player and found this. I have been using it once in a while and find it to be a good player.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2343758976
My Best Buy number: 2343758976
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Works Adequately for Minivan

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: newdad
from Alexandria, VA
on 07/23/2014
What's great about it: Easy to set up, battery and AC power options
What's not so great: Carrying case is flimsy, hard to change disc in case
We bought this portable DVD player for the minivan for our kids, and it works well for this purposes. Some down sides on the functionality: Strapping the case to the back of the front passenger seat was fairly easy, but the carrying case started to tear. The remote control is line-of-sight, so you have to point the remote control at the player--a little challenging if you are driving. Additionally, you can't change the DVD when the player is strapped in the carrying case.
About me... Budget Conscious, Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2858847967
My Best Buy number: 2858847967
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

great DVD for long car rides

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: becca
on 07/18/2014
My son used this for a 14 hour drive we did for vacation. Great picture and easy to use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

GREAT FOR GRANDCHILD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DAISYMAE
from CENTERTOWN, MO
on 07/18/2014
I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY GRANDCHILD TO HAVE ON THE ROAD AND LONG RECREATION TIMES
This product has... Great DVD upconversion, Easy to use controls
About me... Avid movie watcher, grandma/ for grandchildren
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2012232875
My Best Buy number: 2012232875
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

good dvd playerr

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ramonag
from olympia, wa
on 07/17/2014
What's great about it: large screen, how light it is
What's not so great: nothing so far
Much lighter and less expensive, newer technology. My old one needed to be replaced.
About me... Budget Conscious, Casual movie watcher, Parent with movie watching kids, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1030634531
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great portable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lizaboo
from Wells Maine
on 07/16/2014
What's great about it: 5 hour life
It a good little portable DVD ... My kids loved it .. It did what it supposed to do.
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Casual movie watcher
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0307660563
My Best Buy number: 0307660563
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great for road trips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mommy2012
on 07/14/2014
We had an 8 hour road trip to Destin,FL & it kept my 2yr old daughter entertained & happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2108049189
My Best Buy number: 2108049189
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great overall quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Navyforever
from St. Louis, MO
on 07/12/2014
What's great about it: Picture Quality
What's not so great: Price was a little high
Easy to use and great picture quality, easy setup, instructions easy to understand, quiet operation, loaded quick and easy
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0213458728
My Best Buy number: 0213458728
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great DVD player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: momofjandt
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: Easy to use, works well
What's not so great: travel case
I got this for my son for our vacation. He watched all the way down and back with no problems. The car case is really flimsy but other than that it was a good purchase.
This product has... Good connection options, Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0322733501
My Best Buy number: 0322733501
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

great dvd player. love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Susan
on 07/11/2014
Love it. I love everything about it. Buy one for your self.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0905850601
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

great price, great product!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Attridge
from SF, CQ
on 07/11/2014
What's great about it: easy to use, remote controlled and priced well
What's not so great: Nothing
Bought for my autistic daughter. By a portable DVD every year. But this one not only practical -it's pretty!
This product has... Easy to use controls
About me... Parent with movie watching kids
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0782789445
My Best Buy number: 0782789445
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips - 9" Widescreen TFT-LCD Portable DVD Player

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: blacklily
from midland, tx.
on 07/11/2014
I have been purchasing Phillips brand DVD players for over 8 years for my children and I love them they are easy for my little ones to adjust to. I will continue to buy them at best buy as long as I need one and my customer service with best buy has always been great. Thanks again RS
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1033152902
My Best Buy number: 1033152902
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>