Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Model: G72GXRF-RBBX05
SKU: 9835955
UPC: 884840608127
Enjoy video chatting with friends and family using this laptop's built-in 1.3MP webcam. An Intel® Core™2 Duo processor provides advanced dual-core multitasking with breakthrough power efficiency.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel. This product has been refurbished by the manufacturer. Learn more
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
80% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 15
)
Customer Reviews for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black
Review 1 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

great video card for a games

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: twista
from Rehoboth Beach, DE
on 11/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Big display, great price
What's not so great: nothing
very nice laptop. big harddrive. big display. good condition!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Great Laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MegaPixel
from State College, PA
on 11/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything.
What's not so great: [Not product related] Asus' customer service is questionable.
Overview:
The Asus G72GX-RBBX05 Refurbished laptop is an excellent product to consider for individuals who are limited in money to invest in a gaming laptop. However, the customer support of Asus and BestBuy was a little troubling.
- Product Review -
Price
The price for the laptop is very reasonable for a still very competitive gaming laptop (in a sense that it could still handle newly released games). The brand image of Asus in my opinion, is still very unnoticed which is a good thing; unlike Sager, Alienware, etc. gaming laptops, they need to be expensive because they need to keep up a reputation for their brand name while Asus can develop a brand name that targets consumers that do not need or want such expensive products.
Display
The display is 1600x900 pixels and it's good enough for a laptop. If individuals want a full HD (1080p) display, then the laptop can easily be hooked up to an HD TV through the laptop's HDMI port; not much of an experience on getting full HD through a 17" laptop screen anyways is there?
Performance
Everything is as good as it can get for a gaming laptop at this price. However, it is to note that the hard-drive (HDD) is by far the least performing hardware within the laptop. Also, at certain times, I feel like the central processing unit (CPU) cannot keep up with the graphics processing unit (GPU, graphics card).
Convenience
For a gaming laptop, it feels lighter than my HP Pavilion (dv9000 series), and that's not even a gaming laptop. The heating unit on the laptop is excellent, even when the fan is at max speed, it's still a lot more quiet than my HP laptop and produces far less heat as well; I can play games on the Asus laptop all day and both the palm rest and keyboard would stay cool at all times.
Other
I've read some reviews on the laptop stating that the keyboard gets really hot when gaming or how the laptop just completely overheats, but no product line will ever have 100% guaranteed "non-failure" rates, that's what warranties are for right? Since there is only a 3 month warranty and it cannot be lengthened, I would highly suggest that any potential buyer will do some extensive testing of the laptop once purchased (for obvious reasons).
- Service Review -
BestBuy
The service of BestBuy was fairly good this time. I ordered the laptop online with a ship to store option. The thing that I don't get is why do I not get any notifications on whether if the laptop is shipped out or not. I just got an e-mail confirming my payment and another e-mail that the package has arrived at the store a week later. It got me worried that they're just going to charge me and not ship me my order; BestBuy came through in the end.
Asus
The laptop did not come with both the recovery (and/or driver) discs and the power adapter. I called Asus after having a very hard time on even finding the customer support number and asked if I could get a replacement recovery disc and a power adapter. The customer representative said that I still had to pay for the recovery disc due to Microsoft's licensing issues (which was weird when I called HP and asked for the same thing, they shipped me the discs for free). It's fine, I'm not in need of discs anyways, and when I asked about the replacement power adapter, I still had to buy it from the Asus store. That's not cool, it should have came with the power adapter in the first place. I was almost ready to just return the laptop, my friend/roommate let me borrow an power adapter (that's surprisingly compatible) and I fell in love with the laptop and never looked back. Instead of buying an power adapter from Asus, I bought a generic adapter from ebuybatteries.com, which was cheaper, so why not?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

This Laptop is still the best one you can get!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TotallySatisfied1
from Cincinnati, Oh
on 10/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Excellent gaming video card. Best gaming laptop available in the under $1100 category.
What's not so great: Short battery life, but you should already expect that like I did.
I was scoping this one out since it first was first put out about a year ago. When I was in the market to get one last month, I could only find a refurbished one, which was ok because of the price. I comparisoned shopped with other newer sub $1100 laptops and this one is still the best, video performance-wise. I have played Dragon Age, Oblivion, Fallout 3, and now the new Fallout New Vegas on it and they run and play excellently. This laptop, on highly taxing video settings, will start to heat up a little, but ventillation is always important so I use a lap pad with an additional vent fan which assists the cooling of the laptop. I recommend this for all laptops, just because cooling is majorly important for extending the life of your computer components as well as keeping your legs from getting toasted. This laptop is weighty, but still portable, and I like that.
The display is excellent and a good size. I have only used it indoors, so I do not know how it would do in full sunlight. The battery life is short, but I expected that with this beast. I still get about an hour and a half out of it before needing to plug it in. The backlit keyboard is great.
If you can still get your hands on one of these, I would recommend it. For under a K you are still getting the best performing laptop, for games, available.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

cool

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gamer20001
from tx
on 10/21/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: graphics and screen
What's not so great: had to use the back up disc 1st thing
just got this laptop omg it can play crysis on very high only thing is i cant find a head phone jack if u know were it is help me its great as soon as i got it i had to use the back up disc it came with though y couldnt they do that at the store
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Thought It Was Good...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Anderson, SC
on 10/20/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing Really
What's not so great: Not a functional laptop.
At first when I received this laptop, I thought it was great. I booted it up and made sure everything was functioning correctly at the store and then I took it home. When I got home I opened the laptop and booted to a blue screen error and it shut off. I turned it back on, blue screen error again. And then again. I let it sit for about 5 min then booted it back up and everything seemed normal, and then I started to play a game. The game was running great for all about 20 minutes and then the frame rate dropped from 50fps to about 2fps. Graphic card failure and does it every time. It wasn't the driver, for they been updated to the most recent. I looked online on different sites and everyone who had bought this laptop had the same problem I did and Asus couldn't fix the problem, so I decided to return it. I wouldn't recommend this model to anyone and it's not like Asus to put something like this out on the market. If I were to pay that price, it should at least be fully functional..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Black
4.3 out of 5(160)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

great for gaming

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ross3
from nyc
on 10/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: speed, screen size, and price
What's not so great: can't fit in my school bag
i brought it for over 3 weeks now. i am amaze by it performance. running everything i throw at it .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Avoid at all cost

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from wichita,ks
on 10/11/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Awful
Avoid this company like the plague. I sent in a faulty laptop and they sent it back without my battery. 2 months and 50 calls later, i was told that I would need to pay to send the whole unit back again. Giving this up as a lost cause on a $1050.00 laptop. Amazing incompetance.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Good for me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: walkinstick
on 10/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great starting platform
What's not so great: Nothing.
This machine rocks out of the box. Download speed very acceptable for me (2.5 GB DL 7.min on a very busy network). As for warranty and ASUS support I could care less as I purchased this platform to abuse and if it breaks I will upgrade the hardware till it becomes a rock star.
This machine is well worth the price IMHO. Also the keyboard has a backlight. Those that need a manual easy download at Asus support.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Buy a Compaq

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Zoniejay
from Cibolo TX
on 10/08/2010
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
This product is the worst I ever owned, save money and go cheap with a Compaq. At least I recieved a few years of use before it took stopped working. That is alot better than 20 days and the run around you recieve from this company trying to get something resolved . I have spent over 5 hours trying to resolve the issue which has resulted in a $700 paper weight. Will keep you posted. By the way this is all about backing there product and them providing a $30 backup disc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
3out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Amazing Laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gilby83
from Houston, TX
on 10/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Performance, Build Quality, Backlit Keys
What's not so great: Does not have a 1920x1080 display
I bought this laptop last Nov. and I paid much more than this refurbished price but this laptop is a BEAST! It is amazing, I can run all of my games without issues and the quality of the build is great. This laptop went to Iraq with me and came back functioning like the day it left which is quite the feat in the dust and sand over there. I would suggest this laptop to anyone that is looking for a great laptop.
The one thing that really bothers me about this laptop though is that the max screen resolution is 1600x900. That was a big dissapointment coming off of the 1920x1080 I had on my Gateway P7811FX. That is really the only issue that I have with this computer, I think that the video card could push the higher resolution screen without an issue so I marked the display down one star for that.
Overall I would say this has been the best laptop that I have ever purchased and I would certainly look to ASUS again for a good budget gaming laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Great gaming & desktop replacement

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Blackbeard
from SC
on 10/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Backlit keyboard & overall spec/feature level
What's not so great: No bluetooth built-in
Been shopping for a desktop replacement for a while, this is the best bang for the buck at $729. The refurb arrived in excellent condition except for a scuff mark on the front edge of the lid.
This is my first Win7 64-bit machine, I've had 2 old apps & 2 old games lockup on installation which needed the power button held down to restart . This appears to be software related not hardware so you need to check compatibility (or look for workarounds) if you have older 32 bit programs to load. The power brick is huge and has a 150W rating. Best battery life so far is 1h 50m on power saving mode, so you can't venture to far from an AC outlet. Fan noise is acceptable even when the CPU is stressed. At 8+lbs it's typical of similarly spec'ed machines, so if you think that's heavy you better look for a smaller screened laptop. The warranty is a bit of a gamble so I plan to push it to the extremes for the 90 days. The finish is a fingerprint magnet but its also easy to clean. The lid has a blue LED bar & ROG symbol, nice touch when gaming in the dark but it blinks on & off in sleep mode and can be a pain if kept in your bedroom as it lights up the ceiling, most nights I cover them up.
So far extremely pleased with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

great deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: customeroutwest
from Utah
on 07/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything but the weight.
What's not so great: Only the weight.
Spanking fast! I've opened ten windows at a time on this with no slowdown. Perfect for gamers and would surely run any business or engineering program you'd ever want. It's a beautiful machine to look at and built like a tank. The only possible drawback is, as others have mentioned, the weight. It's not a laptop you'd want to lug around in a backpack but perfect if you don't move it much. Really a bargain and I'm surprised they haven't sold out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Works GREAT for CAD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CDGoin
from Midlothian, NY
on 06/06/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: FAST... GREAT Video and ability to do 3D AutoCAD on the road...
What's not so great: Heavy and BIG.. but beats carrying a desktop around
Has a top of the line Nvidia Video CARD w/ 1GB of Video RAM, not some cheap Intel chip or ATI chip built into the motherboard and it SHOWS.. ! Add to that to the 6 GB Of Ram its SUPER FAST and performs better than most Desktops for AutoCAD.. While there are better Laptops and/or desktops for 3D AutoCAD out there, the video cards for those machines can run you over $2000. So, the ASUS is hands down the best BANG for the Buck out there.. I have CAD stations with Quadro FX 3500 cards that are only marginally faster doing 3D Modeling. It's unbelievable that a Sub-$1000 laptop can out perform 2 year old desktops that we paid over $5000 for but it can.. ! As for gaming its smoking fast, haven't found anythign it doesn't run well. Another great feature is that it has huge built in heat sinks and venting so it has a ton of raw power but it won't burn your laptop or the desktop and helps make it run extremely stable. I have been using mine for 4 months and have no regrets at all.. I HIGHLY Recommend it to the Gamer or the CAD Professional looking for a Laptop to take to job sites, etc..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+54points
61out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

Bang for a bang laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ymy72579
from ORANGE COUNTY, CA
on 04/21/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: big screen, good price, and performance
What's not so great: no instructions were included nor did it have program.
it's fantasic computer for gamers and advanced user. price is awesome. only bad about this is that it's size and weight. it's not for new computer user because it doesnt' come with instruction. due to size and weight, it's also for not someone who someone who like small laptop.. other than that.. it's probably best computer for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Asus Factory-Refurbished Laptop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor - Black

like a boss?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Asus4Pres
from Youngstown,OH
on 03/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: GFX card runs smooth, processor is smooth, nice overall lappy for gamers.
What's not so great: Warranty??, bat life(duh), bulky(ew)
the price drop because of factory refurbs always make me happy :) but honestly... only having a 90 day warranty on a 850$ item, not a fan. other then that i was pretty happy, the size makes this hard to lug around, but its more of a desktop anyways. the warranty is my big issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
41out of 52found this review helpful.