Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Model: UN37C5000
SKU: 9883775
UPC: 036725233706
This LED-LCD HDTV features full high-definition 1080p resolution and a Wide Color Enhancer Plus for brilliant color and clear, detailed images. The Touch of Color design provides a stylish look. Have questions about this product? Ask Mr. Samsung, fellow shoppers and Best Buy staff. Share your answers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
18 out of 23
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Expensive but overall very good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sundowner
from Texas
on 01/19/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, integrated media player
What's not so great: Cost, audio, some missed features
The 37 inch class LEDs weren't very common in most stores I looked. 32 and 40+ inches seem to be the popular sizes. We needed to fit a TV into a TV hutch, so this model was the right size for us although it was easily the most expensive of the 37 inch models Best Buy had.
Pros
- Outstanding picture quality. I'm not an audio-video-phile, so take my observation accordingly, but the LED is very clear and sharp and the brightness is adjustable. HD TV, BluRay, DVDs all look really great on it. The only thing that looks bad are the low res movies from YouTube, but they'd look rotten on any HD TV.
- 4 HDMI jacks. Can't have too many of these in today's HD-crazy world. There are a couple component jacks too, and I believe a jack or two for traditional RCA hookups.
- Feature set. This can be so much more than just a TV if you want it to be. Read on.
- Built-in media player. This is an excellent feature that will save you money elsewhere since you won't have to buy an add-on media player like the WD Live. It'll play most digital video formats, so just hook up your USB hard drive and go to town. The player has a clean and easy GUI for navigating the drive and selecting movies or picture files or music. There are other nice touches: if you have to stop to go do something else and can't come back until later, the player remembers where you left off so you can resume play. My WD TV is an older media player that can't play certain audio codecs, but the Samsung handled newer formats fine. However, the player seems to be missing a few features too: see cons.
- Internet capable. The TV does not include a USB wireless LAN adapter, but there is a USB port for one, and you'll probably be able to do the usual with it (Netflix, Hulo, YouTube, etc). I haven't tested this out because I already get that through another device.
Cons
- Long boot-up time. From the time you click the power button to the time the TV finally comes to life, it can be 8 or 9 seconds. What's running this thing? Windows?
- Cost. Yes, Samsung is generally considered one of the best TV makers. And as I said above, the picture quality and overall feature set are nice. But this TV was a hundred bucks more expensive than the LCD version, and a couple hundred more bucks than the other still-competitive brand names. A truly competitive price doesn't make me wonder if I should get a Sony instead! That said, I will probably not replace this TV for ten years, so an extra couple hundred bucks was ok for me.
- Audio is just mediocre. I've read lots of complaints about the audio on other reviews. It is true, the audio is not great for a TV of this cost. Of course, you'd expect an expenditure like this to be paired with a good A/V receiver, but if you aren't using it that way, then you'll find the sound can be hollow and not loud enough to overcome other ambient noises. Disappointing, especially considering how expensive this TV is.
- Documentation. The basic features and operation are discussed, but I'm sure there's a lot more information Samsung could have given about the media player, for example. Does it support subtitles? If it does, I can't figure it out and the manual is useless.
- Legacy connections. If you have some older DVD players or gaming systems with S-video jacks, you'll need adapters or some other way to connect if you don't want to have to fall back to the crummy standard video jacks. Samsung built this one for the modern age.
Summary
For the cost, it ought to be closer to perfect, but overall, I am happy enough to keep this TV. If Samsung can do something about letting me improve the media player with updates, that'd be great, but even as is I'm generally pleased. If you've got workarounds for the audio or don't need the TV's speakers to be really loud, and you want a great picture or don't want to spend extra money on a media player, this is a good unit.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Very clear picture even in a Sunny Room

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: constable
from Naples, Fl.
on 01/18/2011
What's great about it: Small thickness of screen and minimal length & width
What's not so great: Price is a little high for a 37" tv
I think this may be the best tv I ever bought. It definitely has the most striking picture in terms of color and contrast which is maintained in both dimly lit and bright rooms.
Best Uses: Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Good TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Palito
from Miami, Florida
on 01/16/2011
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's not so great: Connectivity to other components
Good Picture & Sound. Hard to work with some other components.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: None
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Excellent Hi-Def qualities

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Juanwaye
from Los Angeles, CA
on 01/14/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: HD qualities, sound, ease of operation
A great HDTV. Very pleased with the color and the image given when in hi def mode. Sound quality is very pleasing to the ear. A very wise choice!
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great picture quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TonyaL
from N. Cal
on 01/13/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Sound could be a little better
We purchased this TV to watch DVD's on. The picture is excellent. We love this product and would reccommend it to our friends.
Best Uses: Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great Picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dwess
from New Jersey
on 01/12/2011
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: sound could be better
Samsung has by far the best picture quality of all the TV's I looked at. I just bought my mother a 32" Samsung.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Worth the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chris02
from Queens NY
on 01/12/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture and features
What's not so great: It takes a few seconds to turn on after pressing the on button
I have enjoyed this TV . It has the best picture quality and it even tells you when it is on or off with a sound that it makes. I would buy this TV again and again
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great Picture, bad audio

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Hoosierguy
from Bloomington, In
on 09/23/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture, ease of set up
What's not so great: Audio
Have tried about everything to improve the sound. I have basically decided I have two options, one go to the Samsung or similar soundbar, two, take the TV back and start over again. In defense of Samsung, I have two of their sets, this was my third and the others were superior in every category. Have trouble believing they let this sound get out as it will definitely effect their reputation..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: netflix
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: justmilo
from Indianapolis
on 09/09/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up
What's not so great: No problems
This is my first led tv, and it is amazing. the picture and sound quality are better than i had ever anticipated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Perfect size. Great deal.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: msdeena
from Easton, MD
on 08/11/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The price was great. Good financing, too.
What's not so great: Screen reflection.
Size was an issue for the location of the TV. We were delighted to find this 37" set. We had not been able to find anything between 32" and 40". Our only complaint is that the screen is a little more reflective than we would like. The TV is in a room with a lot of natural light and the reflection makes viewing difficult from certain angles. The set was delivered promptly by UPS. Set-up was easy. We were able to return the old set to BestBuy without a problem......great program!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Looks: 10 Sound: 0, Zilch, Nada

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ladd
from Chicago
on 07/22/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Picture quality & price
What's not so great: Sound, so get the Sound Board, okay?
Okay, here's the deal. This unit looks great. Great price. Nice picture quality, but the sound sucks, no matter how you tweak the settings.
Sound is metalic, tinny, & hollow. And I see others have commented on this too.
HOWEVER, and this is important, this product needs the almost $500 Sound Board component with a woofer. And catch this -- the woofer is WIRELESS.
The price of this LED-LCD HDTV is great, but you must, must, must buy the Sound Board & woofer to complete the package. THEN, you've got something to be proud of. Go for it !!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
21out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Disappointed with quality of this TV

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Tigert
from Cedar Falls, IA
on 07/22/2010
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture and style.
What's not so great: Terrible sound....
Bought this tv for my wife's tv room replacing a 32" Sony LCD. We also have a Samsung 26" LCD in another room which we have been satisfied with. I find the sound quality of this LED is terrible. It is tinny and hollow sounding no matter what you do to the settings. The picture quality is great. Not the kind of product I would expect from Samsung.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Nice size for bedroom or studio apartment

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: QVCmaniac
from Chicago
on 07/17/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: HDMI connection and poor sound.
Price is incredible!!! Wow. And beautiful picture quality too. Also, the LED HD TV's don't generate the enormous amounts of heat regular flat screen HD TV's do. Uses less electricity.
However --
1. Power cord is too short.
2. Sadly, the HDMI connection is RIGHT AT THE EDGE of the unIt. HDMI cords are thick, so the cord bows out from the side of the TV like a big ear. Cannot hide THAT cord!!!!
3. No matter how you finesse the sound settings that are available, there is still an annoying, TINNY HOLLOW sound. Thought I'd eventually get used to it. But no way.
Would not, not, not recomment this LED HD TV.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Far better clarity than I had imagined!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Lakeland, FL
on 07/12/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: See above.
What's not so great: I'll let you know if I find something.
I had no idea that HD would make this kind of difference. I have FIOS service and when I switched to it, I didn't think anything could make mypicture better. I was wrong. I can see the mustach on the beautiful women that didn't quite get their make up right. It is GREAT!
Geek Squad installer was informative & Knowledgible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Great picture, BUT

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: tuppens
from Menomonee Falls, WI
on 06/29/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Sound
A bit pricey for that size.... Great picture, but poor sound quality. Adjustments don't help much. 2nd Samsung, first one shorted out after only five years, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Yes, the picture is beautiful, but...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Sunman, IN
on 06/26/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The picture is terrific and it's easy to set up.
What's not so great: The sound quality is terrible.
The sound quality on this TV is terrible. We just bought one and set it up, and I'm so disappointed with it that I'm considering returning it. The picture is beautiful but the sound is so tinny and hollow that I don't even want to be in the same room with the TV, which is really unfortunate. On a TV of this price and quality, the sound quality should be good enough that we can at least watch the news without using external speakers, and that is not the case with this TV. If you want to use your TV without external speakers, be sure to check out the sound quality before you buy this model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

WOW!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: menmm
from Home
on 06/24/2010
What's great about it: Picture Quality, colors and clarity
What's not so great: audio output needs adapter for my Bose speakers, still worth it.
Very simple, never new what we had been missing. Absolutely amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Incredible television

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dmahan
from greensboro, ga
on 06/18/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Color and clarity
What's not so great: I had to drive two hours to Bestbuys.
I bought a cheaper television and the color was horrible but Best Buys took it back with no problem and I bought this 37inch Sansung.
Took it home, set it up, turned it on the it is the best color/picture television I have ever seen. Sound is good but the picture is incredible. Don't cut corners. The LED televisions make such a difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

Slight upgrade from prior Samsung TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chav
from La Plata, MD
on 06/10/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality and Style
What's not so great: ummm, it's awesome
I sold both my Samsung's, a 50" Plasma & 32" LCD so I can get an LED. I almost changed to LG or Sharp but I can't get enough of Samsung's picture quality. I was going to purchase the 120Hz but I'm gonna get that one later. Samsung, you do me right and I don't think I'll ever buy a different brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 37" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LED-LCD HDTV

A good LED From Samsung

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Chicago,IL
on 05/22/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The design, Pictures,and Colors
What's not so great: The price is bit costly.
The Samsung 37" LED T.V. is the best one for my bedroom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>