Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Model: B75-00113
SKU: 9883948
UPC: 885370145427
Learn more about Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse. (Flash demo) Take your gaming action to the next level with this optical mouse that features a tracking system to minimize interruptions and skipping for a smooth performance. The 5 customizable buttons let you set up the mouse to fit your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 11 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
73% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
8 out of 11
)
Customer Reviews for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black
Review 1 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Great Mouse for Autocad users

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tashbyh
from suwanee, georgia
on 02/28/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: See above.
I bought this mouse specifically for Autocad or Draftsight. I'm an old Mircrostation user & back in the day the right mouse button was the "escape" button. In Autocad or Draftsight you have to hit the escape keyboard key to get out of a command. With this mouse I can program the mouse buttons to do as I wish for specifc programs.
It works great. This is my second Intellimouse explorer 3.0 that I have purchased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

My first and only mouse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: misslanny
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/19/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, feels good in my hand
What's not so great: The latest version is a dull light grey color...not the most attractive. Previous ones have been silver and dark silver.
First off, let me just clarify. I am not a gamer. I am a person who uses the computer for ordinary things like shopping, reading, watching movies and TV, social networks, emailing, playing solitaire. This is the first mouse I purchased when I bought my first computer and it is the only one I have purchased since. It is fast, feels good in my hand and works on (almost) any surface, just not on my glass dining room table. I have used other people's mouse's so I DO have a comparison. Hands down, I like mine best. My only fear is that they will stop producing it for some reason. Maybe I should stock up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Don't Bother

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KJBB
from Mt. Shasta
on 10/12/2011
What's great about it: Looks nice and has nice shape.
What's not so great: Side buttons hyper sensitive
I have used this mouse for 2 plus months. And I thought I would eventually get used to it's shortcomings, but I have not. The rear side button is extremely sensitive and I find it virtually impossible to use the mouse, without activating the button. Which I have set to "Back" It has caused me allot of lost time. The spring in this button needs to be stronger, so it is not activated, without being pressed.
I have the Microsoft-Comfort Mouse 4500 on another computer, and it works much better. I am buying another one of those.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

A disgrace..

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KnopTix
from New Orleans
on 08/20/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
For those of you that were fortunate enough to own one of the original Intellimouse Explorer's, you will be excited to see this mouse. That excitement will quickly come to an end after you start using it. This is, at best, a cheap knock off.
First off, the quality has really gone down. The original mouse was an absolute joy to use. And when I say original, I'm referring to the 10+ year ago model, not the several they have tried to pass off since. The tracking on this mouse is marginal. The large side button on mine is extremely soft, you have to press it in really really far to get it to click. And the scroll wheel feels cheap and has a hollow echo when scrolling.
All in all, this mouse feels fantastic in your hands, and that's it. Performance wise it is an absolute con job on Microsoft's part, and I'm extremely disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Great mouse! but I'm having to buy a new one.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: codo
from Texas
on 06/10/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fits my hand and has great precision
What's not so great: short in the mouse(not the cable) after almost 2 years of gaming.
I bought this mouse about a year ago for gaming. The 4 and 5 buttons are not too low, and very easy to press. the mouse has a great feel to it. The left and right buttons are not the same piece of plastic as the hand rest, so you don't accidentally click.
BUT, after a year and a half of some hard core gaming, there is a short somewhere and it cuts out randomly and i get killed. It still works well for normal use. SO off to buy another. over all:GREAT mouse:!!
Also, I bought this mouse soon after it came out. I'm sure they fixed the problem in the new mice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Makes video games and work a bit easier.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: consumer68
from co. springs
on 06/05/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Is everything that I expected.
What's not so great: ?
I don't have a great deal of experience with gaming mice although this mouse makes it much more fun. There is a lot of ease programming the mouse to fit your needs. I have found that my best use is working with autocad. The only problem that I have encountered is that the mouse wheel seemed to skip weapon options in bad company two. Not sure if this is the game or the mouse. The fact that it is corded brings me the satisfaction of not having to charge the mouse. You might be able to do better for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

I love this mouse

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kasmira42
from St. Louis, MO
on 03/26/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything! Well except for one thing...
What's not so great: Two mouse buttons at the thumb made one of them harder to access.
I was purchased an Alienware computer for a Christmas gift several years ago and it came with one of these mice and I fell completely in love with it. I'd always used the cheap little ten dollar ones in the bargain bin and thought all mice were created equally, but it is not so. This mouse fits comfortably in the hand and is very easy to move and has precise accuracy. I used it for everything that I did.
The only thing I did not like about this mouse was that there were two buttons at the thumb, one was very easy to get to but the other one you had to reach past the other button to click. I found myself completely ignoring this second button for how inconvenient it was to press.
This mouse lasted me SIX YEARS! Well worth the price. I am about to purchase this mouse once again, though I will definately miss the nice Conspiracy Blue color of the first one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

I Don't like it.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Hhawkman69
from Oxnard, Ca
on 03/03/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Black and silver color, precise movement tracking
What's not so great: Everything else
First of all, who was the brain trust that put both side buttons on the same side.?
I was used to my old 5 button intellimouse with buttons on opposite sides. Thumb takes me back a page and ring finger takes me fwd when web surfing. On the new mouse thumb still takes you back if you can get the button to travel far enough, And button toward the front takes you forward if you stretch you thumb forward in the most uncomfortable manner. (usually right-clicking the top button at the same time)
The top Right-Click Button on top is extremely sensitive. all I did was touch it and it right-clicked. I didn't even press down on it.
Apparantly MS has discontinued the old design, which was a mistake in my opinion.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Great for gaming,media, everything.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Seth14
from Pittsburgh
on 02/27/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, improves gaming expierence
What's not so great: big, not for small hands, not good for to much non-gaming use.
Since I play a lot of pc games like Team Fortress 2, Counter Strike:Source, and Left 4 dead, I need a mouse to help with my aim. This mouse was perfect! This mouse has a lower DPI than most other mouses(or mice) out there.This may seem like a draw back, but it helps with aim and gives you more control. I do warn you though, It will take some getting used to. It takes more effort to move in game or browse the internet with this mouse. Use it if you game more on a competitive level. (ESEA, e-sports, LAN parties, etc)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Can't believe I didn't get this mouse sooner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: naisanza
from College Park, MD
on 06/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price, size, fit, color
What's not so great: back/forward buttons might be too sensitive for some
I have been through the MX518, G7, G5, Deathadder, Ikari, and the G1. None of the previously mentioned mice fits as good as the Intellimouse. There's a reason why this is the mouse of choice of many and I am just glad that I picked it up. It fits in the hand better than the G5, which gives a more solid hold. This will probably be the last mouse I will get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 Optical Mouse - Silver/Black

Solid Gaming Mouse

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Vestal, NY
on 05/17/2010
What's great about it: Good price, Programable all around, Great feel, Glides like butter
What's not so great: 2 side buttons a little high for my liking
Pretty solid and easy to use mouse. Its an Optical mouse but its quick like a Laser with the 9000FPS. Its pretty sleek and one of the most comfortable mice I have ever used. The curves of the mouse fit almost perfectly in my hand with a decent mousepad, it glides and moves pretty good. deffinately a great mouse for an MMO player or FPS. You wont be upset when you buy this. Great buy for 40 bucks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.