Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Model: PL-3602
SKU: 9888998
UPC: 708056537074
Available in assorted designs, each sold separately; design selection chosen at random. Add some fun to your Xbox 360 gameplay experience with this glowing controller. This controller features three Afterglow modes to fit your gaming mood. A hardcore gamer control layout gives you the competitive edge over your opponents. Prepare for exciting gameplay action when the lights go down. This glowing controller gives you the competitive edge over the opposition, and features three Afterglow modes to fit your mood. Active Vibration mode illuminates the controller only when the rumble action is activated, adding even more excitement to action-packed gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 120 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
14
82% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
98 out of 120
)
Customer Reviews for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360
Review 1 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Great Controller

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: meltyblood913
from Clementon,NJ
on 06/05/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lights up,Fast Responce,Nice button layout,Comfortable,Vibration,Long Cord
What's not so great: PC Drivers were hard to install if you want to use it on a windows PC
Very Please with the controller.
This controler is very comfortable and very responsive and the lights are a very nice touch at night.
Vibration feedback is good.
Feals solid.
I bought this considering i needed a controler for PC
If you are going to use this on a PC. You might need to go to microsofts webpage for the driver download for windows 7 to get this to work. Or to the manufactors page.
After that its all good.
Its a pretty good price considering the regular xbox controler is expensive.
Has very long cord makes it reach very far from tv.
The lights are realy cool
Overall This controler is a great bang for the buck and performs well..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

It'd be cool... if it worked!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ZJ15
from Chicago, IL
on 06/07/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Shuts down mid-game, sometimes won't respond to console
A controller that lights up caught my attention and I figured for 29.99 its 10 bucks cheaper than the regular 360 controller w/ cord. First one I got worked for about 15 min before it started randomly shutting down on me. Took the cord out and plugged it back in but the console wouldn't respond to it. Returned it for a new one.... same problems. I have the regular one with a cord, no problems.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

waste of money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CursedSins
from Santa Cruz, CA
on 06/14/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Lights up
What's not so great: Right stick no longer works right (drifts to the bottom and right constantly)
Have had this controller for just over a month, now my right stick doesn't work and will not reset itself. Do yourself a favor and just spend the extra money on an Xbox controller. At least then you get something that works most of the time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

It SUX's

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Happycamper505
from Albuquerque, NM
on 06/24/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Fun
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: It lights up
What's not so great: works worse than a regular controller
the speed on the sticks very from really fast to really slow. There is no consistance on this controller. It lights up great. If it work better than one of my 4yr old controllers it would be even better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

i actually got this product at gamestop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: darrylkm125
from Loma Linda CA
on 06/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: it glows and the active
What's not so great: that i like it so much
well its same thing. i didnt get a faulty so mine works perfectly and doesnt act up like other consumers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Horrible for fast action games

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: broncosac
from Augusta, GA
on 07/07/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Lighting is intense
What's not so great: Not good for competitive gaming in games like COD and Halo
Bought this simply based on the lighting. Luckily I didn't need a controller, because then I would've been even madder. I play COD MW2 competitively and right from the start the joysticks are laggy and stick. You can't control looking speed or precise aiming. Maybe this controller will work for sports games or others that don't require precise stick movement. Control feels good in hands, looks good, and seems durable. Don't buy if playing fast paced games with joystick movement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Works well, cool lights

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chack
from Wichita Falls, TX
on 08/03/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Flashy lights
What's not so great: Has a cord.
Pretty much just a standard control unit. Has the see through body and the cool flashing lights. I wish it was cordless, but the batteries would probably not last as long. Can't gripe too much and don't really have anything to say as a negative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Awesome Controller

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrJr
from Texas
on 08/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lights Up And Great Performance
What's not so great: Not Sure Yet
This Controller Is Pretty Awesome, Not As Laggy Or Sucky As Some Reviewers Say. I Also Play COD MW 2, Halo, Bad Company 2 And I Don't Have Any Problems With It. I Would Recommend This Controller To Anyone Who Wants A Better Controller Than The Regular One.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Solid 3rd party controller.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ensoul
from Braintree, MA
on 08/25/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Feels solidly made, functions well, looks slick.
What's not so great: Analog sticks are tough to press down. You have no idea what color you are getting.
I have been looking for a corded controller because I am sick of replacing batteries on my cordless one. Best Buy advertised this controller in their ad last week and I noticed it had received decent reviews so I deiced to pick one up.
As any gamer knows it can be a roll of the dice buying 3rd party accessories, especially controllers. Usually with a 3rd party controller there is something off, the buttons are loose, the triggers feel funny or the d-pad feels cheap. The after glow controller stacks up pretty well overall against the Microsoft one.
The controller feels solid and it is lighter than the cordless one because it has no batteries. All of the functions work well save for when you have to press the left analog (which I will go over below) stick down. The buttons, sticks and triggers work well, feel well, and function as they should. I played MW 2, NBA 2K10 and Read Dead Revolver and I have zero complaints about the function of the controller. As for the glowing aspect there are three functions which can be used. The first is on, meaning the controller glows at all times. Off, which means no lights at all, and effect, means the lights are off until the controller vibrates.
There are a few cons though. The left analog stick is much tougher to press down than the Microsoft one. This is not a big deal in most games but when playing MW 2 it is a big aspect because you need this to run. My thumb was actually getting sore after about an hour. However I am hoping after the controller breaks in a little it will be easier to press the stick down. While the controller itself is solid the plastic they used is super smooth making it feel like at times it may slip out of your hand; especially if you get sweaty palms during long gaming sessions. The last point, which may not be a con to most, is that when buying this in the store the colors are random. I received a blue controller which would not have been my first choice. I don't know how bright the other colors are but the blue is super bright and is almost a distraction in a dark room.
Overall I am pleased with this controller. While the hook of the product is that it glows and that you can see the insides it is 10 dollars (at the brick and mortar stores anyway)cheaper and it functions and operates as it should.
Rating:
8/10
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gamerMW2
from Jackson, MI
on 10/11/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This controller was the first wired one that I bought and I am still using it and will be buying another one soon to have a total of 4 controllers. I like the price of it because it is cheaper that the ones by Microsoft.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Terrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ScreamBloodyGore
from Chicago
on 10/13/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Fun
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Lights up, looks sick, feels like original 360 controller
What's not so great: joysticks have bad response
I bought this controller because it looks awesome. The blue LEDs made it look really sick. It was also a nice cheap price of $30. Same shape and design as Microsoft's 360 controllers, besides start and select buttons, so it felt great.
It really only had one issue to me, but let me tell you it was a huge one. They joysticks have terrible response. I move them a bit and no movement of my character, then a bit more and he moves too much. This controller isn't accurate or at all responsive. Maybe it isn't as big of a deal if you don't play shooters like me, because that is about all I play. I play a lot of COD and Halo, both in which require good accuracy to stand a chance in a battle, but this controller doesn't want to cooperate. Your cross-hair will no go were you want it easily.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

go for the wireless controller

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pungentbutters
from New York
on 10/14/2010
What's great about it: zip
What's not so great: bright, annoying
This stays lit up too much and is terribly annoying.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-21points
5out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Not worth it

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Gasaraki
from Champaign, IL
on 12/03/2010
What's great about it: Cheap looks nice
What's not so great: Cant even plug my turle beach mic in
I bought this controller because it was cheap and my one friend liked it. The joy stick aren't as sensitive as other controllers and is bad if you play games like cod or halo. I just turned the light off since can be distracting at times. My turtle beach mic couldn't even plug into the controller since doesn't have slot for the 2 plastic pieces to help hold it in place. The controller is cheap and looks nice but should spend money and get actually Microsoft ones since knock offs are even worse.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

bad joysticks and connectivity

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: TAVII
from Portland, OR
on 12/23/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The blue L.E.Ds
What's not so great: everything else
this controller is absolutely horrible if you play shooter games. The joysticks are not sensitive at all for shooter games. The worst of all is that it disconnects itself out of nowhere whenever it wants and it messes me up while playing. You're better off buying the regular Xbox controller. Because you bought your Xbox to have fun and this controller ruins it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

GARBAGE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Wetzelll
from Milwaukee WI
on 12/26/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: it has a cord
What's not so great: everything else
I literally signed up on best buy JUST to write a review on how TERRIBLE this remote is. You bought your XBOX to play games. With this remote all you'll be doing is yelling because you cannot aim whatsoever. The joysticks are garbage, the buttons stick, the lights are too freakin bright, the whole design and every last thing about it sucks. If you buy one, you're wasting the money. Go buy one of the Microsoft controllers, they're 100 times better, and that's not even joking.
I think the only good thing about it, is you don't ever run out of battery power since it's corded, but even then, sometimes I've had issues with THAT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

OK IF U NEED SOMTHING QUICK AND CHEAP

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Mondow25
from Tampa, Florida
on 12/27/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Fun
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Quick and cheap
What's not so great: Not for hard Core Gammers
Hi, Gammers
This controler is good if u need somthing for temporary or having a gamming party, but as for shooters games it sucks the aiming on Gears Of War 2 not so good it sucks, all the button have slow reaction. On Street Fighter 4 and Mortal Kombat vs DC, if you try to do super moves or any combo's it don't act on time, You are batter off using your old sticks then using this sticks. Some times in co-ops mode when the stage load up the player that is using this sticks its take about 15se to move or it might not recognize, so then u have to stop and get up unpluge the stick and repluge it back into the xbox360.
THE GOODS: The lighs are cool, long cord, $20.00
THE BADS: Schooter, Fighting, Sports, and Adventure (suck, suck suck suck)
NOT FOR HARD CORE GAMMERS
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
5out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

no problems

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: riotearp
from salt lake city, UT
on 01/15/2011
i like the ability to change the glow settings. it handles as good as microsoft controller
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

it lights up

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bbaeza
from jersey
on 01/16/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Fun
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: cheap
What's not so great: a lot
uhh my turtle beach mic doesnt go all the way into the hole thing so i cant talk, the joy stick move too quick so i suck at cod now, the wires are always tangled but dont worry it lights up but that sucks 2 because its distracting
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
2out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

Not That Good of Controller

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: OldCheese
from Parlier
on 01/22/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Bad A__ LED lights !!
What's not so great: NOT quality built !
I had to take my controller back two time before i got 1 that acutally worked good and both times it was the right analong stick that went out on me. Good contoller looks and lights but bad in quality build.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PDP - Afterglow AX.1 Controller for Xbox 360

nice...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: parcero
from tampa FL
on 01/24/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I bougth for the kids.. they like it , specially when they play a night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>