Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Model: NS-55E560A11
SKU: 9896008
UPC: 600603132117
Watch your favorite movies, TV shows, sports games and more on this LED HDTV that features 1080p resolution and a 120Hz refresh rate for clear, crisp images. The slim design allows for wall mounting for a sleek look in your home entertainment area.
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 175 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
22
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
133 out of 175
)
Customer Reviews for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great Television

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BJohnson82
from Portage, Michigan
on 06/20/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Color, Sharpness, Sound
What's not so great: Nothing in the past six months I've had it
There were a lot of complaints listed when I originally bought this TV. There are just as many now.
My personal opinion is that if you want the best TV in human history, that never blurs on a fast moving golf ball, has color that is enhanced to be 1000x more real than real life, and provides surround sound without the speakers from a product right out of the box, then open your wallet and get ready to swallow the $3,000 - $8,000 pill.
This TV is great in all honesty. I had a fantastic Sony rear projection TV for several years (one of the most expensive early HD TVs) and loved that TV - this one blows it away. The technology is obviously better now, but the color on this TV is fantastic, the sharpness is incredible (even on video games like Skyrim) and the sound is very good (even better if you feed it through a receiver and actual speakers around your living room - which is very easy to do...even for a non tech person like me).
Finally, you can't beat the price point. I paid $850 for my 55" back in January of 2012, and it has been more than worth the expense. Those with a laundry list of complaints are in my opinion picking the fly stuff out of the pepper. Video and Audiophiles really should note themselves as such before leaving a review of products, as their opinions carry much less weight to us lay people.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MeMaRudy
from South River, NJ
on 06/04/2012
What's great about it: picture, price
What's not so great: nothing
My husband and I brought this TV about a month ago and couldn"t be more pleased. We took a chance on an unknown brand because of the low price and were not disappointed. The TV has an awsome picture and all of the features of TV's costing up to twice what we paid, and it even comes with a two year warranty.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Works much better with the HDM cable. Good TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ChubbyHubby
from Philadelphia, PA
on 06/03/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great value for the price and easy to set up
What's not so great: Sound quality is not the best
Good TV for the price and the picture is sharp using the HDM cable.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

poor picture

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: dominique414
on 05/05/2012
I purchased this tv after my 55 lg was stolen, big difference in picture quality. It looks as if you're watching it through water. I've had techs out from bestbuy and my cable company to no avail...we adjusted the settings that helped a little, but the lg was much better
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Not a bad TV. Good sale price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: reuwin
from ME
on 05/02/2012
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Linking remotes to other brands
Works good no issues at the moment. I wish my other components/remote sync'd better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great Picture, but be careful of HDMI

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Wccsr
from Cerritos,Ca
on 04/21/2012
What's great about it: Lots of inputs and audio output is awesome
What's not so great: Speakers, and Geek Squad Help
This tv replaced another HD tv, that died. Overall a very good tv, but I had some audio issues with my Fios Box. The Geek Squad got close but couldn't do an exact fix. The audio would go out after changing channels several times. They correctly diagnosed the issue correctly as and Hdmi communication issue. I had to do my own research on the web, but came up with the fix. You need to change the Hdmi audio input from auto to L-PCM. Now the audio is perfect. And this model has been discontinued. And you will need to some major customizing of the picture, but after that the picture is beautiful. If you can get this tv for less then the published $899. I would definitely suggest to get it, a good value for the dollar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

great price point, almost the perfect tv.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ar15Heathen
from Bel Air, Md
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: price, samsung parts
What's not so great: initial settings cause bad motion blur
I got this tv a few months ago for my gf and son to use. When I initially set it up I noticed some horrible motion blur. She didnt notice but I do. I emailed Insignia and got a response pretty quick with some options to change. I wound up setting the tv to "game mode" and turned off motion blur settings. Looks great now. Tv shows and movies dont look fake anymore and its closer to what I'm used to watching. Insignia isnt the well known brand like Samsung or Sony, but contains alot of Samsung parts. Its a great buy, just dont forgot to set the picture quality to game mode and turn off the motion blur.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Absolutely awful

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Iamkyle
from Milwaukee
on 03/13/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
The picture on this is terrible. I put a football game on an old tube tv and compared it to this one, and there is no difference. Yes, I had the hd connection set up and I was on an HD Channel. I returned this the next day. The sound quality is poor as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-26points
2out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

I really love this TV and have no regrets!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: littnel
from Atlanta, GA
on 01/26/2012
What's great about it: color - picture
What's not so great: volume is not super loud but added surround sound and we are rockin and rollin
I think this is one of the best purchases I have made in a very long time. If you are looking for value and greatness - this is your TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Excellent TV for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JJ84
from Oxford, AL
on 01/10/2012
What's great about it: picture quality
What's not so great: power on & channel changes are slow
I have had this TV for about 3 months. The upgrade from my old RCA flat screen is awesome. It is a little slow in powering up & is slower on the channel changes than my old tv, but that is my only complaint. Picture quality is excellent. LED is awesome. So far, this has been a great purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

IT IS A BEST BUY

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from BOSTON
on 01/08/2012
What's great about it: CHEAP!
What's not so great: It is bare bones but has superior picture to SONY
It is truly the best buy I have realized on a HDTV and I have bought over a dozen in the past three years. We use them in our conference room and offices and they are great. This model is a "bare bones" model with a picture I believe superior to the two SONY sets I have.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: ROKU APPLETV
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great HDTV for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HDBrian
from Menifee, ca
on 12/12/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Clear Picture
I love the look and picture quality of this HDTV. It is so clear and responsive it seems as if it is happening in real life right in front of you! This realism bothers my wife though and I have seen other reviews stating that it is a bother to them as well. Spend some time checking HDTV's out at the store and just don't jump on the LED bandwagon if you are unsure. Audio on this HDTV is what I would expect. Who doesn't have a surround sound system these days anyway?
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Don't waste your time

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NoThanksInsignia
from Scotch Plains, NJ
on 10/30/2011
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, price
What's not so great: Shoddy parts, sound
I read the reviews and and said, "Why not?" The price was great, the reviews were OK, and I figured that Insignia was a Best Buy house brand, so it should be of good quality. Well, the picture was great (yes, it's no Elite TV) and I love the touch controls on the set itself...but the first one I brought home was diagnosed with a busted sound board. The sound would go out as I changed the channels, or switched to watch On Demand. I knew the sound quality was going to be poor (as most LED sets), but my home theater would fix that. Not quite...left and right channels would work fine on their own, but try to get stereo sound...that was another issue. Luckily, the store was willing to work with me and have a replacement to my house in a few days. Two weeks later, I had the second set. Home theater issue was fixed, but I was still losing sound upon channel change. Mind you, I tried two HDMI cords and was using the same HD FiOS box from my last set (Vizio, which is still excellent, just a bit smaller). Plus, every so often when a different commercial comes on, or even while I'm watching a show, the sound will cut out for a split second, and the input status box will flash on the top of the screen. I'm not going to try a third set. I'm off to the store tomorrow to exchange for a name brand. The extra few hundred I spend will probably be well worth it to avoid the headaches with this set. I guess you get what you pay for...too good to be true. I hope this helps with your purchases!!!
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+15points
22out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

First LED TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Askwiggy
from Sanford, NC
on 10/22/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy Set up and great price
What's not so great: Sound
So far I am pleased with this TV. My hubby was about to drive me crazy for a bigger tv and this 55in LED went on sale for a pretty decent price so we went ahead and picked it up. I can't seem to get the color right for all pictures but for the most part it looks good. Only once in a while skin tones look odd but nothing alien looking. The sound isn't great but then again you are buying a TV. I paired it with a Panasonic Blu ray player surround sound and it's pretty nice set up.
This product has... Useful Internet-enabled features, Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:Yes
Internet content most enjoyed: Netflix and Pandora
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Defective

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Formysister
from Sycamore, IL
on 10/20/2011
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Its 55" & LED
What's not so great: Sound and picture goes in and out...defective.
The sound randomly works and doesn't work. The cable box has been replaced and its not that or the HDMI cable. It was a gift for my sister and she cannot fit it into her car to take it back for a new one. The picture also randomly goes in and out/flickers for a few seconds.
This product has... Right number of connections
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Best bang for your bucks!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: famous
from Brea, CA
on 10/12/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture and Price
What's not so great: sound
The picture quality makes the tv worth the price alone. The sound as pointed out in previous reviews is as advertised (horrible). However for sporting events. and movie nights with the family I could not be happier. I think most TV's on the market are overpriced. At 999.00 and under (depending on if you are able to catch this tv on a better deal I've seen it as low as 799.00)This purchase was easy on the wallet.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Horrible Sound

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DaveSFromDenver
from Denver, CO
on 10/05/2011
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Sound quality and overall picture quality
I had a 50" Samsung Plasma that died so I was looking for a new TV. I liked the price for a 55" LED. I brought it home and hated it from the moment I turned it on. The sound was very week and had not bass to it whats so ever. I had a home theater system so I wasn't to concerned but then the picture started getting to me. There was a lot of ghosting where all the images didn't move at the same speed and it hurt my eyes. This didn't happen on everything and SD shows it was fine but if you were looking at a a 1080i picture it was noticeable. I returned it in less then a week and went with a Samsung LED and I am so happy with that purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

This is an EXCELLENT tv for the money!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MinnesotaRealtor
from Orono
on 10/05/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture.
What's not so great: Nothing.
This is an excellent tv for the money. My first one was a big lemon and I had to exchange it. It had this annoying buzz like sound. At first I assumed it was "normal" but later found out it was not. I exchanged it and the new tv is perfect. It clearly is what it is and that's it. The tv has an exceptional picture. The picture is so good...I thought they accidentally gave me the 3D tv. The pictures are so lifelike they almost jump out at you. The sound is just fine. No worries there. No internet, who cares my Blu Ray has it. I paid $799 on sale, WOW! Super TV, I love it. I should have bought two and replaced my stupid DLP.
This product has... Great value and features for the price
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DeRon
from Dallas, TX
on 10/05/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The Thin profile
What's not so great: nothing
I am really pleased with the 55" LED,LCD display. After setting up my cable for the 1080P this TV blasted out the pixles with a beautiful picture. Amazing quality for the price. will do this again and again.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great tv for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Arias
from ft. lauderdale, fl
on 09/28/2011
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
The only complaint I seem to have is the sound quality. But honestly, if you turn up the volume more than you're accustomed to, it's not really a big deal. Plus, I paid $759, and for that price, you can't complain!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>