Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Model: NS-55E560A11
SKU: 9896008
UPC: 600603132117
Watch your favorite movies, TV shows, sports games and more on this LED HDTV that features 1080p resolution and a 120Hz refresh rate for clear, crisp images. The slim design allows for wall mounting for a sleek look in your home entertainment area.
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 175 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
13
1 star
22
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
133 out of 175
)
Customer Reviews for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
Review 161 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great visuals, poor sound and easy to tweak

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA
on 12/02/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Visuals and easy setup
What's not so great: Poor audio
The screen is beautiful. I have watched Up, Avatar and a few other Blu-Ray movie and was blown away. Funny how it looks 10x better in my living room than on the wall at Best Buy. Bigger too.
We had free delivery. The guys that delivered offered to take it out of the box and put it on our TV stand. I wish that they payed attention that there was a protective sticker that they should have peeled off before putting the TV on it's base, oh well. Not the TV's mistake, more ours. Just a note to others incase they make the same mistake. They also the the box pretty badly.
Picture:
Wow. Just wow. Watching movies in 1080p @ 120Hz is something to behold. I would suggest turning the 120Hz mode to off or low when gaming and on low to medium when watching TV or a movie. The reason to turn it off or on low when gaming is because the framerate might dip while in-game, so the 120Hz may make it seem like it's dipping more than normal. I noticed it look funny on the games Assassins Creed Brotherhood and Fallout New Vegas. Both of those games are known to have their framerate dip. Picture looks great. You should change the video settings to Standard and tweak it from there to your likings.
Sound:
Poor audio. It sounds like it's echoing and it distorts when really low or really high. If you can, get your audio from a sound system. They aren't to expensive these days.
Overall, it's easily worth the price of $1,200, especially if you have a PS3 or blu-ray player.
Best Uses: Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 162 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Pretty awesome LED-LCD!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: filmmakermc
from Oklahoma
on 12/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture
I had buyers remorse on this TV when I read some of the bad reviews on this TV and I believe I was just trying to find problems wrong with it but I haven't found any. I have almost had this TV for a week now and I love it. I currently do not have an HD box for my cable, so, I just use my Sony Playstation 3. Standard Definition look absolutely horrible on HDTVs but the HD on this TV especially is FLAWLESS. Of course, the sound is average like most HDTV but as people will tell you that is usually (but not always) a given. Hence, why they make home theatre sound systems. I bought a Sony home theatre sound system on Black Friday with this TV and it make the TV that much better. Overall, this TV works for me very well, so, don't be discouraged by other reviews about this TV. I would definitely recommend.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 163 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

the bang for the buck!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: loccy1234
from mpls mn
on 12/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: picture,cheap
What's not so great: sound-feature
i like it alot it the bang for the buck picture is great ,sound is ok and the features is average,but overall i like it alot
unless u wanna spend an extra 5-6 hundo and gt sony or samsung
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 164 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Im Glad I bought this one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Spring Valley
on 11/29/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Every thing
What's not so great: none
We have owned this model for just over a week now. And wow what a buy. I did a lot of research before buying this model reading all the reviews I could find. Very easy to set up and a great picture. Movies and sports look fantastic. At this time we have not touched any settings as we are happy with the look. We are so happy we had to go out and buy a new home theater with a blue ray payer. Now we cannot stop playing movies at night. The up converting makes our large library of DVDs so much better. We own 4 flat screens now and find the whole family watching the same TV. You could say it has brought us together. NOW that’s a good TV.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 165 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Informative Review & Tips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Swagger24
from Green Bay, WI
on 11/29/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Price, Excellent Picture.
What's not so great: Couldn't catch my local Digital Channels.
Ok well I haven't written much reviews but they are a plus for anyone to read and know before they buy so.. I recently bought this TV about a week ago. I wasn't very happy with the picture at all also it didn't capture the HD Local digital channels unlike my other HDTV toshiba 32" inch. I hooked it up the same way using basic cable from my APT. My best guest is either getting some kind of Cable provider that gives HD channels. I hooked up my Playstation 3 and first thing I notice was the lag that even Game Mode could not take away but I found out in the Picture settings there's advanced setting which had DCM (Digital Clear Motion) on low I simply turned it off and the picture was crisp and clear Excellent Quality. It's not the TV that has the bad quality I know that for sure. I would still buy it even after I know the pro's and con's there easy to fix.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 166 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Very disappointed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: fireman756
from new bedford ma.
on 11/24/2010
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: the picture is terrible
I guess I should have listened to the few bad reviews on this tv. Everything they said about blurry pictures is true. I set it up last night and will be returning it as soon as I can for a better tv. The picture is horrible when watching anything that moves. It gets blurry and very jumpy. If all you do is watch say talk shows and news stations all day then this tv may work for you. If you watch sports or anything with action forget it.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 167 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Not for sports viewing

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: esri
from houston, texas
on 11/23/2010
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: picture is terrible
Fine for casual viewing but terrible for sports viewing. We tried all the different settings and even called insignia and comcast with no luck. My other HD is fine but this one is blurry when there is any movement in the background. Would not recommend this TV. Returning it and getting an LG.
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), casual
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 168 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

bang for you buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PUMA41510
from THE BAY AREA 650
on 11/20/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: size u
i love it, insignia ftw! bough the matching blu-ray with the insignia hdmi cable. its ridiculous how thin this tv is, for those complaning about the sound, the thinner the tv they have to use thinner speakers its only Obvious. i have this tv connected to a bose 3.2.1, a perfect match in heaven. out the box set-up was a breeze the color just vivid and super clear especially @ 120hz can't complain. in fact i just cant find anything wrong with this tv..i tried.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Insignia™ Internet Connectable / Wi-Fi Built-in Blu-ray Disc Player
4.0 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
Xbox - Refurbished 360 250GB Console
3.8 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
Insignia™ 9' HDMI Cable
4.3 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 169 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Best Picture & Quality for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dmasman
on 11/16/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture & Profile
What's not so great: Default picture settings
This is by far the best picture and quality for the price point. Extremely clear picture, good sound for a flat panel TV, and a great design. What I like most about this TV is how small of a profile it has: Virtually 3 times as thin as my old LCD, and the frame around the screen is very attractive, not too bulky, and has a smooth attractive appearance on the wall. The only downfall is that the standard picture settings arn't great. I was able to easily adjust the picture settings to what I consider perfect. After I did so, it was like my digital cable was real life. I would even say that this LED TV has a better picture than my 1 year old Sony Bravia LCD.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 170 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Took it right back to the store...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: lostboys28
from Brookhaven, PA 19015
on 11/13/2010
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The features and size.
What's not so great: Screen Quality and the remote.
I went to Best Buy yesterday and purchased this TV. The TV looked great in the store. When I took it home and set it up, it looked horrible. All of my HD channels with Comcast looked like they were filmed on a home video camera. The background was fuzzy whenever there was any movement on the screen. I called Isignia customer service and we went through every picture adjustment setting on the TV. The screen quality still looked bad. I'm taking this TV back today and paying for a better brand name.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-9points
8out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 171 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great BIG TV for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tonyg035
from Columbus, OH
on 11/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, size, ease of use
What's not so great: if you don't know the difference between plasma and LCD ratios it can throw you off at first!
I read all of the reviews before I bought this tv and was very skeptical. I must say though this is one of the best Tv's I have ever had. Okay at first I didn't know that I needed a Upgrade on my DVD player so that made me worry. Got an Insignia Blue Ray player, Amazing! HD channels a must they look great! Games look awesome. I really didn't have to tweak too much to the video as everyone else is saying about their settings except trial and error testing to get the best picture but it doesn't take long and if you can read an instruction book you'll be fine for your preference. As far as choppiness in picture as I have read one little tweak in the settings menu and you are good to go! Sound is Sound on this tv, nothing astonishing but good stereo that you can hear that is all i need ( did hook up a 5.1 to it though, good theater!). Great TV worth bragging about!
Best Uses: Casual User (mostly watch TV shows)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 172 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Great TV for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sprinky
from Minnesota
on 10/13/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price, Picture
What's not so great: Factory settings
I am more than pleased with the price and quality of the TV.
I must admit at first, I was less than impressed. But, after I made some picture adjustments, it was like a completely different TV. I had a Samsung Plasma before this TV which I loved but it went out. I was going for Samsung again until I saw this TV on sale. I was able to get a 4 year extended warranty with the TV for far less than I expected. I got an open box and sale priced for a little over $ 1,100.00
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 173 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Insignia 55inch 1080p 120h

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sparky123456
from New Orleans, LA
on 10/01/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture and Clarity
What's not so great: sound
Hooked up the tv and it looks great. Color is amazing clarity is amazing. The HD channels are clear and bright and with the LED in it it lights up the whole room. The only problem i have with it is that the standard cable channels have a fuzzy tint to it. Its probably just the cable company, but the HD channels are great. Its great for watching HD movies at home.
Best Uses: Sports, Casual User (mostly watch TV shows), Gaming, Movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 174 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Not what I expected

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Techlover54
from Laguna Niguel, CA
on 08/28/2010
Picture Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Cheap price for a 55" LED LCD flat screen
What's not so great: Choppy blurry picture with any movie motion
When we received our Insignia 55" LED-LCD HDTV we were excited to try it out with several Bluray movies on our Bluray player (and try out our HD cable box as well). At first we were amazed at the color and hi def picture, but our amazement quickly turned to disappointment when we saw the motion blur whenever there was any motion in the movie (walking, action scenes). At the store it looked fine, but when you see it up close in your home it is different.
We originally bought the Insignia because we thought it was a great deal for a 55" LED LCD HDTV. But the big problem with the TV is that the video engine in the unit stinks. Movies not only looked like they came from a cheap video cam, but any movement (like action scenes or any movement) looked choppy or blurry. The specs on the TV give you no indication what the response time is, only the 120hz refresh rate (which tells you nothing). Its like an expensive computer with no video card for gaming, poor performance. Overall we were very disappointed with the picture quality. If you were watching a news broadcast where no one was moving, it was OK. But we bought the TV to watch everything in Hi Def LED.
Also the sound on the unit leaves lot to be desired. I wasn't expecting good sound to begin with, but this unit definitely sounds cheap. I was planning on using a surround sound amp anyway, but it would be nice to just turn on the TV and be able to watch with a decent sound.
Insignia is Best Buys TV store brand that usually sells for less than the name brands. But now I know why it was cheaper. Do your self a favor and bite the bullet to get a name brand for a little more investment. You will be happy that you did.
I ended up replacing the insignia with an LG 55" LED LCD HDTV that was on sale for about $500 more than the Insignia. Boy, what a difference! The extra money was more than well worth it. Beautiful, clear, picture with no blur or choppiness during motion. Movies look stunning as well as regular HD TV shows. We used the same cable and Bluray equipment by the way. The sound was much better (not great but better). I love this TV. It does everything it says. I think this is even a better picture than Samsung for the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+21points
64out of 107found this review helpful.
Review 175 for Insignia� - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Gorgeous Television, especially for price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AnonymousPensacola
from Pensacola, FL
on 08/21/2010
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture, quality, price, just about everything.
What's not so great: Lacks Internet features built into "high end" sets.
Out of the box I was not too impressed with the picture. I did some research and found that TVs are not set to their optimum quality out of the box. As soon as you get a TV most people assume that the "vivid" would show the best picture and this is incorrect. I didn't find many of the presets to be useful. After tweaking for a while I found the picture to look perfect set at the following settings: Brightness 48, contrast 45, color 50, tint 0, sharpness 2, color temp cool, adaptive contest OFF, dynamic contrast ratio OFF, motion blur LOW.
Now the picture is perfect. As far as the audio goes, you can't expect a TV this thin to have surround like qualities but it was decent. However, I have heard slighty better so I gave 4 stars. The only complaint about this TV is something that I knew it lacked before purchasing is all those new built in Internet, netflix, etc features that are built in higher end sets.
Overall this TV is amazing and I have no regrets going for the "lower end" TV. What people need to realize is that, not only is best buy trying to turn insignia into a premium brand (unlike the TRUE low end brands like dynex), but insignia is built by LG so you are getting a quality set. Couldn't ask for more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+101points
112out of 123found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9