Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Model: VM220NTKIT
SKU: 9919286
UPC: 836182001593
This mobile hotspot connects up to 5 mobile devices at the same time and provides a 3G wireless Internet connection from up to 40' away for convenience. It is PC and Mac compatible for use with your existing computer.
Average Customer Rating:
2.891 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 110 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
16
1 star
37
49% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
54 out of 110
)
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Get Internet service

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MiniVanmom
from Oxford AL
on 06/20/2012
What's great about it: It has a great monthly price.
What's not so great: Gets really hot
This is the second one I have bought. I have one at both my house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Slow

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SlowSpeed
from Louisville
on 06/14/2012
What's great about it: It's small
What's not so great: It's slow
I've had a 3G miff before (on verizon), so i know how they work. this was very slow. also, when i plugged it in (while it was off), it came on. so, over night all of my bandwidth was used. i had to call and ask for a refund. which they gave without a hassle. i returned this and upgraded to their 4G wifi. i'll see what that's like...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Absolutely Horrible!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MKer
on 06/08/2012
This mifi is a good concept, especially when it has worked it seemed good. However, whenever I've tried to use it on a trip, we spend several hours trying to get it connected. We have spent many frustrating hours waiting to to talk to a customer service rep. The reasons they say it doesn't work and solutions have varried from "you need a paper clip" to "the system is down so check again in 24 hours". After not using it for many months because of all the problems, I was told I have no account anymore. Just Horrible!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

MiFi is so handy!!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SunshynZee
from Augusta, GA
on 06/07/2012
What's great about it: It's a portable wifi
What's not so great: Sometimes the signal is strong, but I can't download
I am a virgin mobile fan, so getting the mifi to power my tablet just seemed like a great idea.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Does what I need while on vacation

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mfwsf
from San Francisco
on 06/02/2012
What's great about it: Cost and Convenience
What's not so great: Setup a little difficult
I am using the MiFi 2200 from Virgin Mobile for the first time. I am using it on vacation in Times Square in a hotel that offers the worst wifi due to plaster walls (I cannot get connectedto the hotel's free wifi in my room but outside in the hallway it screams#.
I purchased this to be able to connect to wireless internet while vacationing 3 times a year in NYC. I use it on my laptop, iPad and iTouch and have had nothing but good connection and fairly fast response. I signed up for the #I think new) $55 monthly charge at 5GB download limit at up to 4G speed #although this is a 3G unit# with no threshold limit on the dowload speed. There are other price options - the one I was originally going to select charged $50 and has unlimited download capability at 3G speed up to 2.5GB download. BUT once you go over the 2.5 GB download threshold amount I understand it goes SLOW SLOW SLOW. I have been on the internet quite a bit in 5 days - in that time I have used a little less than half of my 5GB limit. I am on probably 4 hours a day at least. Even though I am on vacation, I try to keep up with work emails and spend some time in my room cruising the infernal internet.
I was surprised at the performance given the negative things I have read here and other places. I am surfing the web, downloaded some songs on iTunes, watched some streaming videos on YouTube. Nothing too stressful to the system. I have not tried to download a LARGE video file from iTunes or stream my Hulu Plus.
It suits the needs I have here on vacation and keeps me connected. I was even able to carry it around and connect my iTouch while outside my hotel room. I use VirginMobile prepaid cell phone - for my convenience and not a HEAVY user of the phone as I dont have many friends and dont like to be on the phone constantly.
The unit did not get overly hot which is a common complaint and the battery lasted long enough for my use - short 45 minute connections while in a coffee shop to check emails and surf the web.
The activation/setup was my main issue, it directs me to connect to a site that continually could not load. But I tried several times and finally got through. I activated while visiting at my sister's house - and they have wifi through their cable so I could have connected to the VirginMobile site through her wifi and activated it #I think). My suggestion is to activate the unit while you are home and have a backup wifi to get to their activation site if needed as I think you can.
Overall, very satisfied. DONT expect this to be the replacement for your "real" home wifi, expect it to be a way to stay connected while on the road.
Before anyone criticizes me, I am NOT a VirginMobile rep - I AM an individual who doesnt need to spend a lot for this as I only use it about 30 days out of the year on my vacations. Too many people voice a negative opinion because they expect home wifi from this little device. Use it for what it is intended and this will not disappoint. You do have to spend a little for the service, but look at all options and pick the one that best fits you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Horrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 05/26/2012
This thing is horrible. Overheats constantly and keeps dropping connection. I regret ever buying this piece of junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Great for work or gaming!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Talli
from Worcester, Massachusetts
on 04/11/2012
What's great about it: Easy to set up, great price
What's not so great: N / A
This WiFi device works incredibly well and the best part is you can use it 24/7 if you want and it only costs $50.00 a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Great Service for internet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: williamsr4
from Memphis, TN
on 03/19/2012
I have really enjoyed using the mifi hotspot. I love its portability. I can use it at work or home. Basically it can be used anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Great product for travel

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: eddieb208
from Plymouth, MA
on 03/09/2012
What's great about it: Compact, fast, reliable, easy to activate
What's not so great: Unit generates a lot of heat.
I bought this Virgin Mobile Mi-Fi through Best Buy so I would have Wi-Fi wherever I travel. I'm not disappointed! The product was simple to activate and easy to load enough Wi-Fi capacity to last me a month for $50.
I read other reviews and was a bit leery about buying the item but am glad I did. It never dropped a connection, the speed is adequate for my needs, and the unit is very compact.
Because the Mi-Fi unit got quite hot, I gave it 4 stars, rather than 5.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Great solution for me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HelmutB
from Guatemala
on 03/07/2012
What's great about it: Keep cash balance, easy to use, light
What's not so great: Speed, Short Battery life
I live in Guatemala but I have to travel a lot to USA. There is no decent plan for data roaming in Guatemala (not a single one of any of the local providers) so I decided to buy this product in order to have service in the United States. I just turn off the data roaming in my Smartphone and connect it via WiFi with the Virgin MiFi. I have access to my email, whatsapp, Softphone, Twitter, etc for just $10 or $20 depends of the time I'll spend in the states.
About the internet service, I know that it can be better, but Virgin MiFi Solve my problem.
Another good thing is that if you can buy a plan and keep a balance in your account. Others operator don't. You can buy $50 TopUp card and add it to your account and Virgin will keep that money as Available Cash Balance and you will use it only when you need it and you can choose any plan you want.
Just for the record, 1 week of data roaming via my local provider in Guatemala in the USA (only using for email, Whatsapp and VoIP calls) was almost $3,000 bill just for data roaming. They charge you $0.01 per kb that is $10 per MB
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Convenient hot spot to run your laptop or tablets

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Monkeymom46
from Batavia, OH
on 01/12/2012
What's great about it: It's convenient, small, and light.
What's not so great: Short battery life, and frequent disconnects from network. Bad support and interactive website.
I guess I was expecting more, but this hot spot has left me disappointed. On a full charge it has a very short battery life. If traveling, it runs out of juice before my tablet. If driving, you can't charge it up without the car charger that is not included, so when it's done, your're done. You have no idea of where the battery life is. It glows yellow for a few moments, then red, then done. I keep it in my purse so it doesn't get lost, and even though I check it frequently, it turns up suddenly dead.
Also, even after you plug it in, it doesn't want to act like a hot spot until it charges up. What's up with that? So when you plug it into electric you still have to wait. There are constant disconnects where the signal is lost either between the hot spot and the device, or the hot spot and the network. It gets very hot.
The first one I got didn't work right at all, so this is my second product. The first one was bad right off the shelf, and to exchange it, they expected me to pay and exchange fee! The Best Buy technician got right back in their face and demanded it be done at no charge, or I am sure I would have been paying for that.. My plan is month to month as I only need it in months I travel. You you are supposed to be able to go to the website and load the payment for next month easily, however it is very confusing and you can't be sure when you are done. Just have to wait to see if it works.
I would not recommend this product. And since they wanted to charge me for exchanging the first one, I would not recommend the support either. If you get a defective product, you shouldn't have to pay an exchange fee to get one that works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

terrible....slow....overheats...awful

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: rak1
from Los Angeles
on 11/23/2011
What's great about it: Absolutely nothing
What's not so great: Slow, overheats badly, shuts off, slow
This is the worst product I have recently purchased. It is slow...SLOW..it cannot even stream low bandwidth you tube without stalling, and I live in a prime Virgin Mobile reception area. It OVERHEATS and goes even slower and then even powers down and you have to wait for it to cool off.
This is junk, and I paid half price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
20out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

great mifi

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fishing1
from keymar, md
on 11/04/2011
What's great about it: ease of use
Have had unit for over 6 month works great. Faster than verizon 3g mifi. Have had no problem. What i like best about the product is if I don't want to use it this month I don't have to pay for this month (as long as you don't sign up for automatic bill pay). I just by the cards at best buy so I get the rewards benefits
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

constant headache

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Chipper241
from Missouri
on 10/29/2011
What's great about it: Faster than dial up
What's not so great: every thing else.
We were set up on the automatic withdraw. Every month, they hit our account twice for $50. Every call to get it straighened out went to a different country (Brought to mind the credit card commercial of the call center with the man named Peggy). They lied to us constantly and made promises that they never kept. We constantly got "account not activated" messages and I a few times, it took me 45 minutes to get the thing to work properly. We have been unhappy from day one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

it don't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Oldmandtr
from Columbus Ohio
on 09/11/2011
Had device for 2 months and all at once it quite working. Since then I have been thru 3 devices and support can't seem to get it to work. It says it is activated and it sends but does not recieve. Not connecting to internet.
My advice is don't buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Stay far, far away

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: krazykatt
on 09/06/2011
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: reliability, support
The instructions for setting this up are terrible. Phone support is even worse -- attempting to speak to an actual person requires jumping through multiple hoops -- after calling several different numbers I finally got to a Virgin support person who was able to tell me that to speak to a real person I should answer 'I have no number' (I had set one in an account but the device did not work) then press '0' to actually speak to a person (this is not made clear when you call the Live Advisor which attempts to route through phone menu hell). After working with the technician over an hour I was finally able to connect with my laptop to the internet, however I could not get my table to stay connected to the MIFi. Stay far, far away from this piece of junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

I like the Mifi

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Chevella
from Greenville, NC
on 08/11/2011
What's great about it: Fast and reliable
What's not so great: Device is extremely hot, battery life
I can't believe all of the negative reviews I see about this product. I have been using the MiFi as my full internet provider for about 3 days now. I must say for me it has been AWESOME. The pages load super fast and I always have a full signal. The only bad things I have to say about this product would be that the MiFi tends to get extremely hot, the battery does not last a long time, and I feel that it should have come with an low battery indicator. Like beeping or something other than flashing because I am never near the MiFi device to know that my battery is low. Other than that it is wonderful. When I am using it with other electronics I don't experience any change in the loading patterns.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Great Service So Far..... :)

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tigergirl2010
from Killeen, TX
on 08/06/2011
What's great about it: The signal and fairly good speed.
What's not so great: the battery life and how quickly it overheats.:(
Hmmm.....I sure have been reading several reviews about poor service. I just got my MiFi mobile hotspot on Friday. So far its been pretty great. I get great signal. Its always on 5 bars. :D The only setbacks to it are the battery needing constant charging....I have just been leaving it plugged up any time I am near an electrical outlet, plus how hot it gets(like everyone else has been complaining about). The speed has not been the fastest, but its been great. I can play games, but streaming movies does have a lot of buffering. Set up was also fairly simple, although it was a bit confusing at first. Luckily, I did not have to call the customer service line for assistance, it sounds like its been an extreme hassle for those of you who have had to call them.
Another downfall would also be how the battery does not have a meter on it, whatsoever, which leaves me clueless on when the battery is going to run out. :( Sprint could definitely fix this aspect of the mobile device.
Overall, since I have only had the product for 2 days, I think it is working very well. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Dont Buy

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Chaits
from Richmond, VA
on 08/05/2011
What's not so great: User Manual, Speed, user friendly
I bought this yesterday as this was cheaper of all the other products that were available at Best Buy and had the option to buy it without a contract. Big mistake! Set up is not straightforward as they make it sound. The user manual is useless. I was talking to tech support for hours. Finally when I got it working, it was really slow and once I exhausted my first 100 MB that I had paid for, I got disconnected without any warning. I refilled some more as I was desperate stay connected to the world, but I just couldnt go online. Called tech support after almost an hour of getting no where, he told me there was a problem with my device and I should get it exchanged. I will get it exchanged, but not go for Virgin again. On the positive side, they reimbursed additional MB that I had purchased and not used.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile - MiFi 2200 Mobile Hotspot

Better than dial-up but has issues...

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: grannydee
from Dallas, Tx.
on 08/04/2011
What's great about it: Monthly rate...
What's not so great: Battery gets too hot! Runs slow with more than one using it.
First, the battery overheats and we constantly have to turn it off and let it cool down. We can tell when it overheats because it slows to a crawl on the internet. Also, if two are more are on, you can hardly maneuver. Very annoying, but like I said, it is better than dial-up and is still worth the $45 a month. If we had other options where we live, in the country, we would go with something else. It is great for travel though!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>