Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Model: UR55
SKU: 9936229
UPC: 021299176597
These lightweight headphones feature deep bass and an open earcup for hear-through sound. The earcups also fold flat for easy storage when you're on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 25 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
19 out of 25
)
Customer Reviews for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones
Review 1 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Worth choosing

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: elscoho
from Colorado
on 08/25/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: nice sound
What's not so great: no sound isolation
These phones have a nice, warm Koss sound that I found pleasant. Compare these with Sennheisers to hear two different approaches to sound reproduction. The open earcup means that sound will be heard by those around you. For that reason, I did not keep these. If that's not a problem, give these a try.
Best Uses: At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Its pretty awesome for its price in sound quality.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: donrocks
from boulder
on 04/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: genral sound and comfort
What's not so great: bass quality
Highly recommended.......
comfort is really good and sound is pretty decent! Enjoy.......v:)
Best Uses: When I travel, At work, At home
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shalla
from San Fransisco, CA
on 04/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Bass, Appeal, Design,
What's not so great: Comfortness
For only $50 these earphones pass the SSS Bass test @ 10 Cycles and vibrate my ears when equalized playing dubstep =D These earphones have excellent bass and have great quality sound and appeal. The only thing is that after about a hour it starts to hurt my ears, isn't the most comfortable headset but a excellent choice for only $50.
Best Uses: At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Audiophile
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Great buy, decent price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lkcubsrule
from Saint John, IN
on 04/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Appearance, Sound Quality
What's not so great: Ear cushions
These are decent headphones. Obviously they only cost $50 so you're not going to get studio quality. But for all practical purposes, they do what they're supposed to. The sound quality is really nice, they fit well and look quite stylish.
The only con I find to they is their ear cushions. They are circular (not oval) shaped and are foam. They don't fit completely over the ear, but that doesn't really matter. My only issue is that my ears get irritated over long periods of usage (e.g. more than an hour). If I frequently take them off, they're fine, but the longer I wear them, the more they hurt.
Overall, they're great though.
Best Uses: At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Most Important to Purchase:Price
How Often Used:1-2 times a week
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

good sound quality, bad overall quality

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: giantsfan28
from Connecticut
on 03/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Good bass
What's not so great: poor quality, uncomfortable
I got these about a month ago and the left headphone already started to not work. But it does have good bass if you listen to rap.
Best Uses: When I travel
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Good sound for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: psherry23
from Viola,WI
on 02/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: sound quality and its looks
What's not so great: needs more padding around the speakers
I honestly think these are the best headphones ive ever had. I got the Beats solos by Dr.Dre and the bass was too muddy. so i tried these headphone and they are amazing. very clear sound,good bass and very comfortable.
Best Uses: When I travel, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:3-5 times a week
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Best heaphones I've owned so far!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: UDWRocks
from Philadelphia
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound quality, comfort
What's not so great: Others can hear audio even if audio level is not at an obnoxious level.
I'm so glad I chose these headphones. I find many uses for them in my day-to-day.
Best Uses: When I travel, At work, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Audiophile
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Quality headphones for $50

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dissent24
from Austin, TX
on 01/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Sound for price
What's not so great: Rotating ear cup, style is so-so
I just purchased these headphones today and am currently listening to them on my laptop. For $50 these headphones sound amazing! I owned a pair of Studio Dr. Dre's before these and they finally gave out on me after 2 1/2 years (R.I.P.) and really didn't feel like dropping another $300 on headphones. Now don't get me wrong these DO NOT sound like the beats by dre, its not even fair to put them in the same category. But for 1/6 of the price these headphones sound good. Can't say much on durability as I've only had them a day, but the design seems pretty sturdy.
Only thing I dislike is them advertising the rotating ear cup, its really pointless as it only turns 90 degrees one direction. Also they don't look as cool as the Dre's but I was willing to sacrifice that for the price.
And if your wondering I wear these walking around campus, and in the library (although you need to keep them down as sound DOES leak through), and even though they aren't noise canceling, cranked up these things drown out a lot of noise.
Best Uses: At home, school
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Really good sound, ok bass

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: xJxAxKxEx13
from Dearborn MI
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good price, good sound, VERY lightweight
What's not so great: cord is kinda small
so i just got these yesterday and all i can say is there great. For me comfort wise they are just fine but for some people it may be different because they do not extend much. The sound quality is great but the bass is ok (that just me being picky). The durability seems fine just don't throw it...
Best Uses: When I travel, At work, At home, school
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

AMAZING QUALITY! But...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: calaveros
from Artesia, CA
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound and construction+ price
What's not so great: Comfort is so-so+ Not good for large heads
Alright, there are at least three people here who don't have a CLUE. You get what you pay for in this world, get used to it. Well, these are the exception.
I broke a set of JVC Headphones I had... I was deeply saddened. They lasted me over five years!
Anyway, these things are amazing, the bass quality is AMAZING. The clarity is great too, even in the old Seriously RETRO music I listen to (Which is already hissy and poppy.)... the quality is amazing. I already knew that they were open, because I READ THE PACKAGING.
I was blown away, "These things sound better than my JVCs!"
Construction looks durable, and that is a BIG factor for me. I'm a bit rough with my things (I don't mean to be, that's just how I am) so things break more easily than with most people.
The ONLY drawback is the comfort. They are comfortable, don't get me wrong. Comfortable for the first half hour or such. But because of my large head, they don't even fit! Even when fully extended, they don't fit properly, leaving the cups higher on my ears than they should be. That equals PAIN and soreness. So that kind of bites.
But if you have a smaller head then BY ALL MEANS GO FOR IT.
Best Uses: At work, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Avid listener
How Often Used:Daily
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Great sound for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: hm2rn
from Black River, NY
on 01/16/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Cost
What's not so great: Sound quality at high volume
I just bought these today and am impressed with them so far. I have to agree with many of the other reviews in that the sound quality is great for the money. The headphones feel solid in construction and fold flat for travel. It would have been nice if they had come with some sort of travel case. The sound got a little fuzzy at the highest volume on my iPhone.
Best Uses: When I travel, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Casual listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Fantastic.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: grivad
from Portland, OR
on 01/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fantastic natural sound, great price, lifetime warranty.
What's not so great: Possibly comfort, open cups reduce isolation making these not so good for loud environments.
I picked these up after doing extensive research on over-the-ear headphones. I was looking for some headphones for work and I read several rave reviews on other headphone-specific sites, so decided to give these a shot. I was a little hesitant to purchase Koss headphones as I've always been a Sony/Senn fan and didn't know much about Koss besides that they were "affordable", but I took the plunge banking on Best Buy's excellent return policy.
I'm glad I did. The reviews were right.
These headphones blew me away -- very neutral, natural sound. Not too heavy anywhere. Vocals sound amazing. Soundstage is great. These headphones are very, very pleasant to listen to, and I actually look forward to listening to them whenever I get a chance. My girlfriend prefers these to the other three pairs of headphones I have at home. I liked these so much, I bought myself another pair for home, and a pair for my sister to replace her Sony MDR-V150's.
I also had a pair of MDR-V150's, and the UR55's blow them away sound-quality wise. The MDR-V150's sound incredibly muddy.
I was so impressed by the UR55's that I went and purchased myself a pair of Koss Pro DJ100's to replace my Sony MDR-V6's at home as well. I thought the MDR-V6's sounded good until I threw on the DJ100 cans. Wow.
I'd say the downside to the UR55's are that comfort is questionable, the cups are open, and the cord is a little short. The cord is self explanatory, but for the open cups, you don't really get a lot of isolation. In this sense, they are great for work so you can still hear the outside world but not leak a lot of sound, or great for casual listening, but not so great on an airplane. Regarding comfort, I have a large head and these fit comfortably over my ears, however the foam around the cups is a little stiff, so it can get a little uncomfortable and need adjustment every now and then (just a nudge). That being said, I have listened to these for four hours straight without an issue.
Plus, Koss's excellent lifetime warranty, in comparison to Sony's 90 days. Hmm. How's that for standing behind your product when you know it's quality?
Highly recommended. Give them a shot, and if you don't like them, take them back and get some Senny's or Sony's.
Best Uses: At work, At home
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Koss - Portable Stereo Headphone - Black
4.0 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
 
 
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:3-5 times a week
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

I expected something better.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: LanceVT
from Burlington
on 12/27/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Comfort
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Poor sound quality. Uncomfortable to wear.
I thought I was buying a high quality headphone. Instead it sounded like a cheap $10 headphone: Weak bass, no presence, muted highs, not very loud even when cranked up, too small to fit comfortably over my head. I'll be returning these.
Best Uses: At home
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Type of Listener:Avid listener
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Great headphone!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gbreezy
on 12/17/2010
Awesome heaphones! Worth every dollar!!! I would recommend this to everyone! This will keep up with beats by dre.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Durable, comfy, but a little distorted

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mrhappyface
from denver,CO
on 10/31/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: durability, bass, vocals
What's not so great: comfyness, guitars and drums
For 50 dollar headphones i am extreamly impressed. They arnt noise canceling headphones, but they do a pretty good job without the function, even with the hustle bustle of school. They are extreamly durable as well, owning these for over 6 months and they haven't weakened in any way. They most likely will not break as well since the frame is made of some sort of metal. The cord seems to be braided nylon, but that shouldnt be a problem because the cord is 2 times as thick as any other cord i have seen, thats including studio headphones.The pads on this particular pair of headphones are not that great though, they seem like they are steirofoam, so they do feel a little weird around your ears, and they do hurt a small amount around your ears but nothing major .Now they dont isolate sound, which can be a problem, but dont worry about it if youre at the office or at school since those places are ussually to loud for people to hear it. Now for sound quality, these are extreamly good for vocals and bass, which make these headphones good for rap, hip hop, techno, etc. Now one problem i have with these is the guitar and drums, im a listener of slower rock up to death metal, from reggae to alternative, and i must say i am disapointed in the quality of drums and guitar. Also you can tell there is a large amount of distortion in it, cheaper pairs of headphones will have less It feels empty as if the note is being played off a distance, so unfortunatly you would be disapointed if you listen to anything of the like. These come with the headphones, the cord, and the gold plated 3.5mm jack. The features include the cups to rotate, but only in the direction towards yourself which dosent really make sense to me. i must say for 50 dollars this was more than i expected, but still not great, save 20 more dollars and youll have a much better pair of heaphones, no matter who makes them.
Best Uses: school
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Type of Listener:Audiophile
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

shocking all around performer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: droido256
from South California
on 09/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything really
What's not so great: nothing
I am a VERY picky listener, and have failed many headphones that people rave about. The Koss UR-55 Stereophones as Koss calls them, really took me by surprise.
1: most important to me is the quality of the sound. These really excel at audio reproduction accuracy. The vocals are balanced, natural, and seem alive, both female, and male. Out of every headphone I have used, I've never heard a headphone accurately reproduce Anette Olzon's voice before(Nightwish- escapist). Other headphones either muddy her voice up, or make her sound too screetchy, or tinny. Instruments are clear, again accurate. In Angelique Kidjo's Macumba I heard a few more instruments that other headphones missed. The sound stage is over all alive, it doesnt just stay confined to your head, it moves out beyond, and gives a very good 3d effect, a good example is Deep Forest's White Whisper. The bass is good, nothing compared to the Sony X-bass line, but they can get low, and punchy when the song calls for it. Bass drums get a natural sounding punch, the tom drums natural, and accurate, you can hear, and almost feel the drumstick hit the drumhead(song used Nightwish-Over the Hills, and far away) Treble is very accurate too, and not harsh, cymbal crashes, and electric guitar riffs just shine. Over all the frequency response is accurate, and smooth.
2: These are very light, and comfortable, I wore them for hours no ear, or head pain. The ear pads seem a lil stiff, but once you find the sweet spot on your head, they feel great. the headband pad is very soft and comfortable. The foam can get a lil warm, but even in 90 degree weather no sweating. They are a little tight, but I like that, they plant themselves where I need them, and they stay there, rocking out, or moving around doesnt cause them to slide.
3: durability: these seem very solid, even tho they are very light. The headband is made with a very large piece of steel, wrapped in the pad. On top of how solid and well built they feel, they come with a lifetime no questions warranty.
In review, these are simply stunning for the price. the sound quality, the fit, and the durability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Type of Listener:Audiophile
Most Important to Purchase:Sound quality
How Often Used:Daily
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

save your money

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: acetheface954
from coral springs, fl
on 08/15/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Comfort
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the sound quality
What's not so great: no gain (loudness)
these things suck on all levels minus durability. the hear throughs are super low, the phones make you hot and they to are super low. sound quality? crisp but...its not LOUD. i thought to myself maybe there's a volume switch but sadly no. there was not! save your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-22points
6out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Great Sound & Design

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SergeantFox
from Lakeville, MN
on 08/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Design, Size, Quality of Materials, Fit, Amazing Sound Quality
What's not so great: A little tight on your head but just open them up a little and problem solved.
Well i was in the market for a set of headphones and I personally am sick of in the ear and on the ear headphones. So i looked into an over the ear pair for around $30 but there where very mixed reviews on quality of most the products in that range of price. So i increased my price range slightly and found these. I'm not disappointed.
I feel the design and size of these are perfect not to big or to small. They fit over the ear nicely and the sound quality is great. The plastic feels nice and strong, the foam isn't to irritating. The only downside is that they are a little tight on your head but i have owned many gaming headsets over the years including Turtle Beach x3, x31, x41, and headsets typically don't stay tight for too long. I personally opened them up a little to take some of the bend out of the steel and they feel better already. So dont be afraid to open them up a little like i said the quality of materials are very high, it isnt flimsy at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Uncomfortable

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: cupcake1975
on 08/09/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: the sound is okay
What's not so great: shape and size of ear-cups
These headphones are incredible uncomfortable to wear. Don't buy them. The shape and size of the ear-cup is horrible. The open ear-cup design which is suppose to allow for hear-through sound cause the cup to press painfully against your ear. I can't even wear them for 20 minutes without my ears starting to ache. No matter how I adjust the headphones they won't sit comfortably on my ears. Do not buy these headphones!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
3out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Koss UR55 Studio Headphones

Outstanding value for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mrkato
from madison, wi
on 08/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Lighweight, great sound, warranty
What's not so great: Cord is a little short
Wearing the UR-55's while writing this review. Hardly even feel them on my head, very comfortable. Sound quality is outstanding. Separation is excellent. Hear a lot of things I never heard in my music before. Koss is an outstanding product, especially for the money. I have had a set of Pro 4AA's for 25 years and just sent them in for repair/replacement under the no questions asked lifetime warranty
Outstanding product, you won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>