Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Model: 915-000132
SKU: 9939314
UPC: 097855066862
Replace up to 4 remotes with this remote that features programmable buttons for simple operation and easy setup via a computer with an Internet connection. Over 5,000 entertainment device brands are supported to ensure wide-ranging compatibility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 196 reviews
5 stars
109
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
14
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
162 out of 196
)
Customer Reviews for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote
Review 1 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

One Remote to Control them all

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: socalsurfbum
from San Antonio, TX
on 05/22/2010
What's great about it: Simple Easy Programming
What's not so great: Number keys are on the small side
I dont know how many times i would have upto 3 remotes sitting on the couch next to me, those days are gone. This is the budget minded remote. It does only 4 devices but that was exactly what i needed. TV, U-Verse, Blu-Ray, and AV receiver all programmed in a matter of minutes. the software is loaded directly from the interent and had no issues with Mac OSX.
Key fetures is the ability to remap function in the software. If youre home theater has 4 devices it's a defintie buy otherwise move to one of the other Harmony remotes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Does everything I wanted it to

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HappyInNJ
from New Jersey
on 07/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, looks almost just like the comcast remote
What's not so great: If you have more than 4 devices, you will need pricier models
The set up is fairly easy, using the web. I had 3 devices and could not get any universal remotes to work all 3. I programmed the Harmony online and almost everything worked except for the button to change TV Inputs. So I did the "teach command" and put the 2 remotes together. After you do that, you have to pick the new command from the list and drag it to the button you want to assign it to. I missed that originally and could not get the new remote to work until I realized you have to assign the button. I am very happy, this remote solved my problem. I now have one remote to work all 3 in my bedroom, and the wife is not screaming about having to use 3 remotes to get a dvd to play!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Amazing price for simplicity

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Candelaria
from Avondale, AZ
on 12/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Functionality, Ease of use
What's not so great: Nothing
This remote is amazing. The quick set up guide was written with the k.i.s.s. ideology(keep it simple stupid). Just plug it in to your computer with the supplied usb cable fill in some model numbers and you're good to go. This remote is only for 4 devices and that's all I have. A Sony Blu-Ray, a cable box, a 42" LCD Sylvania and the surprise; an old JVC audio receiver from the 90's. The website found all of my devices with ease and to be able to customize the buttons to do what you want them to do is fantastic. Another amazing feature was to be able to hit a command from a devices original remote into the bottom of the logitech remote and the logitech remote will learn it. Outstanding buy if you have a few devices and just want one remote. Oh and another thing there's a 300 and a 300i version, the 300i version just has a shiny finish, my Dad found that out. Other than that no difference between the two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Awesome!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: naty510
from Rochester, NY
on 05/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Soo easy to set up!!
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I bought this remote today and it was so easy to set up and extremely easy to use finally got rid of my other remotes!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Performance Exceeded Expectation - Terrific Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Electron11
from Pennsylvania
on 09/18/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great Performance, Excellent Price, Works As Advertised
I use this remote to control a new Vizio HDTV, a new Roku XDS, a Sony BluRay Player, and a much older (@1999) Sony Receiver. After going online to the Harmony website, I registered the remote, and updated the remote's software, via the included USB interface cable. Then I began to input my devices into the Harmony extensive database. The initial programming left several controls of each unit unassigned, but you can quickly and efficiently add the controls to each button, for each device, via a simple drag and drop interface. Button operations can also be easily "taught" to the Harmony Remote by interfacing it with your individual device remote. With this one remote, I can now effectively and efficiently control my home theater setup. This remote has been a very bright spot in a technical world too often filled with substandard products, that don't work as advertised. This remote does everything for all four devices; extremely pleased. Did not grade reliability, as the remote is new, and has not established a reliability record.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Excellent Remote

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TeeRay
from USA
on 07/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Computer connection to program devices
What's not so great: Doesn't vacuum or dust the house
OK - so 30 bucks seems steep for a remote that looks like every other $10 or even $3 remote out there. WRONG.
The key is the USB plug. After downloading and installing the software (quick, easy, problem free) and plugging in the USB cable, my computer recognized the remote. From there, you simply enter the model number of up to four devices.
For the buttons that don't work or don't do exactly what you want, it's simple to manually program. For example, it defaults to the TV for volume control, but I run everything through my stereo receiver. It was simple to reprogram the volume up and volume down buttons to run my receiver on each device.
I love this remote. I've had it probably 2 years and have never had a single issue. Can't ask for more than that for 30 bucks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Excellent Remote

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Garlando
from Silver Lakes, CA
on 03/04/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to program & works great!
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
After returning 3 remotes to Best Buy, I had my doubts about finding one I could program. I thought I would just live with 3 Remotes.
This remote is so easy to program! Just plug it into your computer, then enter the brand & model number of the devices it is to operate. Then within 15 minutes it is up and working great.. It was so easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Slick PC Based Setup that covers lots of devices

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PBDetroit
from Detroit
on 02/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sturdy, easy to set up, fast to set up.
What's not so great: A little more money, not as pretty as it could be. However "what's great" makes up for these.
I already had this remotes bigger brother for several years that has the programmable faceplate. This simpler, cheaper version is for my mother-in-law. I orignally bought her the Sony RMVL600. Because it did not know her TV or her samsun dvd player, the sony proved too painful to set up. I learned my lesson and went straight back to logitech.
Key Points:
*You can validate existance of your devices online before you buy.
*Bring it home, plug it into your pc and tell it what devices you have.
* Her TV was new, and the wizard in Logictechs software asked for two bottons to be pressed on the original remote, and figured it out.
* To validate those buttons, all I had to do was aim the existing remote at the logitech, push the requested button, it took care of the rest.
* It downloaded the resultes via the usb cable in a minute or two
* You can create custom macros if you want, I have done that on my personal logitech, but in this case it knew what to do and no customization was needed
This really is the clean way to do it. If I ever have to make changes for her, I can just plug it back in at her house, review the settings, make changes and reload. N
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Great remote

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hgjj
from Cypress, Texas
on 02/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Quick and Easy Setup, Able to map controls to serve needs
What's not so great: Only 4 Devices
Bought this remote so I won't have to juggle 3 controllers for TV, Comcast, and Xbox (Netflix) any more. Set up was a breeze, took about 5 minutes to have all devices hooked up and buttons set to exactly how I want them. You are able to set what each button does for each device using the easy-to-use setup on the computer. If there is not a command available for something you want to do, the remote has the ability to learn IR signals and store them for use. Great remote for the money if you are only controlling a few devices. If you are setting up a more complicated system the Harmony One or Harmony 900 will be the way to go. But for bedroom TVs, or Kid's rooms this is hard to beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Stop messing around with cheap remotes

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: catfuzz
on 11/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works with ALL my stuff!!
What's not so great: Can't think of anything bad.
I have bought more than a few, so-called, universal remotes. None of them have ever been easy to set-up or actually control all my devices properly. I finally resigned myself to spending a little more money. The extra money I spent on this is more than worth it! I was up and running in under 5 minutes with the easy on-line set-up. No more searching for codes for hours on end only to find out it doesn't support all your devices commands. This thing truly works. The set-up program shows a picture of the remote, and then you simply select a device from a list you created and you can drag and drop button assignments. You can program buttons for your favorite channels and it even works with my DVR/Cable box and my older RCA surround system. I can FINALLY put away all these other remotes and just have ONE! ::snoopy dance::
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Does what I need and then some

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Danbo68
from Minneapolis, MN
on 08/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Does what it says, easy to program
What's not so great: I bout it on sale, but I think that that regular price is a bit high.
I have had other Harmony Remotes, and I really liked them all, as did my Golden Retriever. Not having a huge home theater system, and getting tired of paying a lot for my dogs favorite chew toy, I figured I would give this little beauty a try. Programming this thing is really easy. If you are at all computer competent. Plug, Search, and sync. That's pretty much it. Right now I have it contolling my LG LCD TV, my memorex Sound bar, my phillips blue ray dvd player, and my xbox 360. Works like a charm. Programming certain buttons to perform tasks is straight forward, although I can see where it could be a little tricky for those not too savy computer people, but if you read the on screen diections, you shold have no problem.
I like the fact that it doesn't have an lcd screen myself. The others that I have had did have an lcd screen and i think they were more distracting than they were helpful. I want to watch my TV or Movies, not the remote. Personal preference I guess. It's not gawdy, and isn't a piece for conversation, but it does what I want/need it to do. Best part so far is that the dog isn't drawn to it the way the others drew her in. Maybe I'll get to keep this one a while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

skip it and get the 650

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: gatorsrule1
from gainesville FL
on 09/22/2010
What's great about it: basic remote
What's not so great: you have to switch between amp and tv for sound control.
Basic remote. Skip it and get the 650 then you can do more without having to switch back and forth between tv, amp, etc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Love it, despite Logitech web connectivity

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PDXfella
from Portland, OR
on 12/28/2011
What's great about it: The web ui for setup is awesome
What's not so great: Web UI server overload (right after Christmas, temporary issue)
I love this remote. I received this as a Christmas gift (as did millions of other people apparently) and experienced problems with the web interface the remote uses via your computer. Turns out, when all of us log on at once to setup our new toys, the Logitech servers can't handle it. I finally got mine to sync and it works great. You might read some mean reviews aimed at Logitech due to this server overload issue....understandable as it was frustrating for a while....but the idea of syncing to a continuously updated database with every remote/component you can think of is fantastic. I was able to quickly add my components and customizing a few buttons to my liking was a "drag-and-drop" technology wonderland. I wish I would have known this existed a long time ago. Before I bought this I wasted (at least) a few hours trying to plug "possible" codes into an OEM remote....no more. If it wasn't for the server issue, I would have gone 5 stars for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Better than other remotes I've purchased.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pjmillion
from Iowa
on 12/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It does everything the original satallite did. I love the one-button shut-off/on.
What's not so great: What do you recommend cleaning with, a Q-Tip? Ha!
My satellite remote died a long ago, and I've had several replacement remotes. This Logitech remote is the first one that does everything the original remote did. I had a little trouble setting up at first, but once I inputted the correct model/serial numbers it worked perfect. I'm sure the problem was me and not the remote.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Good features.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BlessedinTexas
from Texas
on 11/26/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Programming
What's not so great: Location of channel buttons
It's easy to set up for tv and dvd player, your computer does all the work. I only have two issues, one being, "Who decided to put the number buttons on the very bottom of the remote?", very awkward. Second, with tech support, couldn't get the preset channel buttons to work without it working the menu screen of the tv at the same time. Not allowing the preset channels to change. I guess it had something to do with the Sony tv we have, disappointing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Great replacement for broken remote.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bgmoma
from Avondale, AZ
on 09/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use.
What's not so great: Don't have a bad thing to say about it.
Anyone can use this remote. There are many members in household of various ages and all of us are able to use it without any problem. I appreciate the Best Buy staff for helping me choose the best product. The price was not that expensive and the instructions walked me through the process with no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Good for price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dgssushs
on 03/26/2011
Nice remote for the price. Had to add functions for my blue ray player, but that was easily done on my computer. Super easy to program.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Actually have only 1 remote in the living room

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GooseCalifornia
from California
on 03/03/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Actually can use just one remote
What's not so great: could use more than just a "watch tv" macro button
Controls a media center PC, TV, stereo, and DVD player. Software is great and in the event there are functions it doesn't have, you can teach with IR learning.
One thing I found was my media center remote needed the code for the actual remote, not just Microsoft as the manufacturer. Found that quickly through google, reprogrammed the remote and was good to go.
I would like a remote similar to this with additional macro buttons or more devices supported. Still, no complaints about this one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

Excellent product for the price paid

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: adidaphat
from Fountain Valley, CA
on 02/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, good price. Replaces all the four devices as it promises.
What's not so great: Not fully automated (but it's expected at this basic level)
This is my first experience with the Harmony 300 and it has been a good one. For the price paid, the product delivers what it has offered. It replaces all of my four devices: Samsung LED TV, Timer Warner Cable box, Samsung Blue Ray Player, and the Onkyo A/V receiver. The setup is straightforward with the computer connected. For the operation, it's fine for me since I was used to navigate with the four device controllers individually; it's now so much simpler with just one. You just have to know which device you are now in control and operate upon. Beside that, all the logics are the same. The watch-TV button (TV, Cable, AV/receiver) works at turning on/off all the three devices but appears to be not always consistent. I have to selectively operate on the missing one to make it work. It's fine for me but it has caused some troubles for my wife (and guess) occasionally. Once you passed all that and get used to, the harmony 300 indeed works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Logitech - Harmony 300 - 4 Device Universal Remote

You gotta get you one or 2 of these!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mtnview
from Colorado Springs, CO
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup and program, great price
I recently bought a new HD TV and for some reason I could not program my Comcast cable remote to work with it. I purchased several inexpensive remotes that said they can work with any brand, but they didn't. So, I looked at the Logitech Harmony 300, and the info said it would definately program for my TV, and sure enough it did. The programing for my three devices (Cable Box, BluRay/DVD, and TV) took not more than a few minutes after I plugged it into my computer and downloaded the harmony software. We finally bought one for me and one for my wife (Cause we like to mute the commercials). We've had them for about a month and we're delighted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>