Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Model: RM475e
SKU: 9948357
UPC: 844149031439
This DVD-ROM/CD-ROM drive allows you to watch DVD movies, listen to music on CDs or access data stored on compatible media. The slim design measures just 0.9" thin for easy portability, and the drive's top-loading design makes it easy to swap discs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.414 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
8
66% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
19 out of 29
)
Customer Reviews for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive
Review 1 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Great Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ferrellpeople
from Gaston, Oregon
on 10/17/2012
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: no software needed
What's not so great: cord really short
easy to use, plug and play. I got it to down load several disks to my computer and it was easy.
This product has... Short connector cord, Included software is not useful, Quiet
About me... Budget Conscious, Need to install software
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

The first one I bought was defective.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JJSAN
from POWAY, CA
on 09/26/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works great with a notebook computer or a device that doesn't have a CD drive.
What's not so great: NA
This is a must to have with any device that doesn't have a CD drive as there are going to be times when you want to install software and this device makes it a lot easier than taking it somewhere to have someone install it for you.
This product has... Short connector cord, Quiet
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Great portable!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Tooele, UT
on 09/05/2012
What's great about it: size is fantastic
What's not so great: too short of cord
got this because I do not have a cd/dvd drive on my netbook and I like it but only wish the cord was longer....works great!
This product has... Short connector cord
About me... Create/manage photo discs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

It's Cheap - But It Does The Job!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Intrigueme
from Raleigh, NC
on 08/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price
What's not so great: Noisy
I just bought a Dell laptop without an optical drive. I just needed an external drive to install software & rip CDs. I knew I wouldn't use it often, so I didn't want to spend alot of money. This one was on sale for $34.99 and had pretty good reviews overall - so I decided to try it. I just plugged it in to my laptop & it worked perfectly. There is software included, but I haven't even looked at it. It's obviously not needed. It is a little noisy, but it works perfectly. I would definitely recommend this one.
This product has... Short connector cord, Included software is not useful, Reliable/durable, Burns fast
About me... Need to install software
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Didn't work!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: poppie
from Wisconsin
on 08/05/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Easy to install.
What's not so great: Didn't work
I was so excited I found a portable DVD/CD burner for my new notebook. My excitement was short-lived; I got it to read one cd and that was it! Couldn't even burn a cd! Thought I installed it wrong, kind of hard to do seeing as it pretty much does it all on it's own, but reinstalled it anyway. Still no luck. Installed the Nero cd that came with it. Thought I had it figured out because now I could at least burn a cd only to find out it still couldn't read the cd. Needless to say I returned it and bought something else. I'll let you know how that works!
This product has... Short connector cord, loud
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Works great.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: emilysdad729
from Kenosha, WI
on 07/11/2012
What's great about it: Lightweight. Very portable.
What's not so great: Short cord
Did everything I expected. Short cord not an issue - I already had an extension for it. Could have left out the software dvd - it's virtually useless.
This product has... Short connector cord, Included software is not useful, Reliable/durable, Quiet, Burns fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Create/manage photo discs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

awesome little laptop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: edugeek
from edegeek
on 04/04/2012
What's great about it: size,weight and awesome battery life
What's not so great: it does not make coffee?
I use the laptop for lessons daily and is has handled everything with flying colors. Don't expect to game on this little gem - expect what it is meant for and you cannot go wrong! Over 8 hours of battery consistantly!
This product has... Reliable/durable, Quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
5out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: glyna
from San Jose, CA
on 03/14/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works.
What's not so great: Software that came with it didn't work.
I needed this to load software on my Net Book and it works great.
This product has... Short connector cord, Included software is not useful, Reliable/durable, Quiet, Burns fast
About me... Need to install software
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Junk, but only current "quick & easy" option.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: OneThriftyone
from Morehead city, nc
on 03/02/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Meeeh nothing really
What's not so great: Over priced
(short) plug & play easy install.
Noisy.
$44 is over priced.
Gets the short term goals done.
Cheapest one of two models Best Buy has to offer in store.
Best Buy is slipping in its item selections!!
Will make a good paper weight or weapon to throw at zombies
This product has... Short connector cord, Included software is not useful, last as long as 24 shot disposable camera
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Simply doesn't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SensibleTag
from USA
on 02/24/2012
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Does not manage to perform it's sole purpose in life.
After I bought this it worked for a week but only if I reloaded the DVD or CD several times until I got lucky and it finally took. Now it won't work at all. It makes a few annoying noises and just gives up. Also, the connector cord is ridiculously short. I had to put a box under it so it doesn't hang sideways off of my computer.
This product has... Short connector cord
About me... Need a simple backup solution
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Works fine for my netbook.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Idontdonicknames
from La Mesa, CA
on 02/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plug and play, Simple and Small, Cheap
What's not so great: Short Cord
I needed a simple cheap dvd rom for my netbook... I wanted something that would work on a slower computer and was simple to install... This was all of that... I plugged it in and it worked... Thats the best kinda device for me. Runs very well and had no issues at all.. I just wish the cord was longer.... My netbooks usb slots are on the sides and it gets a little in the way with the short cord... But thats very minor.. It will work well for what I need... If i need to burn stuff or anything like that, I will use my laptop...
This product has... Short connector cord, Reliable/durable
About me... Budget Conscious
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Awful..could not get it to work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TNRedneck
from Kingsport, TN
on 02/12/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: We installed & uninstalled several times, never got it to work on the computer at all. Took it back.
Took it back. Could not get it to work. Would not recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Average
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Works as expected (no issues to report)

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: slipperbippers
from Pacific Northwest
on 02/08/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
At the outset I should say this is my first external disc drive. I have not had any issues with it. I also didn't have the experience others have reported of being prompted to install a ton of stuff to make things function.
Purchased for use with an ASUS Slate B121, does what I need it to do.
This product has... Short connector cord, Burns fast
About me... Budget Conscious, Create/manage photo discs
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Great external drive, very dependable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: POD19303
from Sun City West
on 02/08/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Woprked great for my older PC's without DVD drives. The only draw back was the short USB cord but it will just hang on some units and doesn't withdraw from it's performance.
This product has... Short connector cord, Reliable/durable, Quiet
About me... Need to install software
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Just didn't work well - returned it the next day!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ScubaJack
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
on 01/12/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Just didn't work well - returned it the next day !
About me... Need to install software, Create/manage photo discs
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Excellent on all counts

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: westbuyer
from Gresham, OR
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Does what it's supposed to do, easy to use, store, and transport.
What's not so great: Nothing I can think of.
So easy to use and install that I didn't even need a manual. I just plugged it in, the needed drivers were automatically installed, and it was ready to use. I ripped music from CD's to my netbook with this drive and it had no problems at all. Also, I like how easy it is to store and transport. The USB cord fits into a bent slot on the bottom so the whole thing can be stored and carried as one piece. It fits into a slot in my netbook case perfectly. Also, it is very lightweight.
This product has... Short connector cord, Reliable/durable, Quiet
About me... Create/manage photo discs, create/manage audio discs
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Lightweight w/ short cord fast & easy install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jennshon4
from Phoenix, AZ
on 12/08/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small, inexpensive, good for netbook
What's not so great: short cord, very lightweight
Only reason it got 4 out of 5 stars is the USB cord is VERY short so its limiting where it can be used. I was primarily using it to install software on a netbook so it worked fine but it had a tougher time reaching the PC & it kind of had to dangle in mid air. Not good. The unit is fairly light so klutzy me is a little afraid of dropping it & watching it smash to bits on my tile floor. Otherwise its fast, loaded easily, and worked like a charm for exactly what I needed it for.
This product has... Short connector cord
About me... Need to install software
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hught
from 91232
on 11/08/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
This product is awesome with laptops. It does what it needs to do and does it great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Great accessory

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bear1998
from Norcross, GA
on 08/12/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple
My CD Rom Drive became inactive and this product enabled me to keep my computer working without having extensive downtime or expense.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP - Slim 8x External USB 2.0 DVD-ROM/CD-ROM Drive

Great bang for your buck

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bwhite
on 07/23/2011
I use this product to install Operating Systems on netbooks and small pc's without internal cd drives. I've never had a problem with a computer not recognizing it. It's just easier in most cases to install from a cd instead of a flash drive and this dvd rom gives me that ability. I've also used it on 3 or 4 linux computers without any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>