Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Model: U52F-BBL5
SKU: 9963892
UPC: 884840624677
Create customized CDs or DVDs with this laptop that features a double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive. Video chat with friends and family with the built-in webcam and 15.6" high-definition display.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 55 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
49 out of 55
)
Customer Reviews for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy
Review 21 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Overall a great laptop!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gpadick
from Vancouver, WA
on 10/02/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Speed
What's not so great: No user manuals come with it.
Very fast with the I3 core processor. Quick on start up. Very good sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Good for Linux

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LispHax
from Boston
on 09/30/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Reasonable price for what you get.
I needed a Linux laptop for a project and was able to get this from stock at a local BestBuy. The price was not bad and it had all the features that I would need. I wanted to preserve the Win7 install and the only option is to burn your own set of four recovery disks. I assume that they are copying the information in the recovery partition to DVD and verifying it. That takes several hours. After that, wiping the hard drive and install openSuSE Linux was relatively fast.
A few hundred dollars more, will get you an i5 processor and a few more will get an i7. By then your talking real money... For what I needed, a portable Linux system this works quite well.
Haven't seen any compatability issues with the hardware (only had to figure out in software how the get the builtin webcam to display right side up...) and with the 11.3 kernel it seems plenty fast.
Also like the "rubberized" shell. I have A shiny Samsung i5 based laptop running Win7 and it is a fingerprint and dust magnet... This shows some dirt but I don't feel the need to get a polishing rag every time I touch it..
Pros: reasonable price
Cons: no dvd/cd backup included
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Microsoft - Comfort Mouse 4500 - Black
3.7 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bubulubu001
on 09/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
I owned a HP laptop that one day wouldnt come on. This is a good buy I had a hard time choosing between this and a sony they were the same price but the Asus had a lager hard drive. I am pleased with my new Asus.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

O-ver-rated.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mortalkonlaw
from Austin, TX
on 09/24/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Price, resolution
What's not so great: Typing IMPOSSIBLE. Headphones = FAIL. WTF.
TL; DR version: You cannot TYPE effectively with this laptop. QED, ditch it.
So I'm a law student, which means my laptop is practically an appendage. And that appendage needed amputation, so I went out and picked up one of these.
It's horrible, and I'm taking it back.
Before I get into the problems with this machine, let me first say that I realize a lot of you people out there reading these product review are going to make a decision based on the volume of positive versus negative reviews. I URGE you NOT to do this. While an aggregate of negative reviews is probably a good sign that something is to be avoided, a lot of positive reviews with only a couple negatives mixed in is really no guarantee that the product is any good. What happens is a lot of grinning idiots will gush simply because their computer is 1) new [and thus better than whatever they've replaced] and 2) runs very rudimentary programs (Word, iTunes, etc.) with no problems [news flash: ever computer should do this]. My complaints about this computer go to design flaws that make the machine practically unusable for its intended purpose.
OK. On to the problems.
1. Main issue: the touchpad is not centered between your hands.
This may seem like nitpicking, but it actually makes *typing* on the laptop VERY frustrating. The touchpad is placed far enough to the right that while typing my right palm constantly hits the thing, which in turn moves the cursor and completely screws up what I'm writing. This has happened like ten times so far in this review alone. IT GETS OLD FAST.
"But what if your hand posture is just bad?" you might say. Well, it's not. The only way to type with this ... thing is to scrunch your right hand into some kind of awkward, carpal-tunnel-inducing claw. And even that doesn't always work.
2. There's only one audio jack, so if you've secondary speakers you use to pay music, SURPRISE! You can't use them.
3. The headphones jack DOES NOT WORK, except intermittently. That is, when you plug in headphones, sometimes there's sound, and sometimes there's none. And yes, I've checked: there isn't any wacky hidden mute setting that's turned on: the computer is just made of FAIL.
4. Despite having 4GB of really good RAM, a great display, and a respectable i3 processor, this computer cannot play any recently-released games on anything other than the lowest settings. Yeah yeah, laptops aren't for gaming, ... except a lot of them are. I mean it'll play, for ex, Dawn of War II, but very choppily, and really not at all in multiplayer. Oldie-but-goodie stuff like Warcraft 3 works fine though.
4 & 1/2. I haven't tried out the bluray player.
5. The built-in camera has TERRIBLE resolution. The old Dell m1330 xps I was using before had a camera that had about 4X better picture. F.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

DO NOT BUY ASUS PRODUCTS

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: UNHAPPYASUSCUSTOMER
from Greenville, SC
on 09/22/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Display
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Convenience
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Worst Customer/Tecnical Service
I purchased this Asus Notebook during tax free weekend. Recently I started having blue screen issue intermittently. I contacted Asus for support and was advised of several trouble shooting steps that did not work. It has been alomost three weeks now and still have the computer. It has taken that long to receive a RMA. I received a email stating I would receive a email with a FedEx shipping label I was to print off. I never received the email. Called Asus for the fith time and was told that the eamil was a mistake and I would have to pay to ship the notebook back. This is by fare the worst customer service and support I have ever received from any company. The company as a whole dont care once you have purchased their product. I received a email from Asus wanting to know what I thought about my experience, I explained my dissatisfaction and never heard anything back. If you do your research this seems to be a common complaint that anyone who has to send back the Asus experiences.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Great laptop!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kirteen
from Round Rock, TX
on 09/21/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: so far, everything!
What's not so great: nothing
I had a 17 inch HP laptop previously. It was heavy and a pain to carry around and the battery life was terrible. When it died I started researching laptops. I knew I wanted a 15.6 because it would be more portable and still have a ten key. I was told by several people, including a Best Buy employee, that Asus was a very good and reliable laptop. I found this one on-line. It has amazing features for the price. I was concerned that the keyboard would be cramped but it is actually very comfortable to use. I only had my previous laptop for two years and am shocked at how much faster this one is. I am hoping it will last longer than my previous laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Great laptop for the first timer.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Chevy66
from TX
on 09/19/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great graphics and keyboard setup.
What's not so great: No manual for computer operation.
I like the number key pad on the right side of the keyboard. Keys are very quiet and easy to the touch. It also has a power save feature that you don't have to run the operating system so the battery life will last longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Logitech M505 Wireless Laser Mouse - Red
4.3 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

nice for a new laptop user

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pursedog
from Grand Haven, MI
on 09/16/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The size of the screen, the number keypad and the ease of use.
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet.
I got this for my husband to use so I could have my desktop back. He is not really comfortable with computers yet but he loves it. Very easy to use. I would recommend this to anymore. My folks just bought one after they talked to us. They are very pleased with theirs too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Good for starter laptop

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: farfrompuken
on 09/16/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: speed is good
What's not so great: not backlit
Easy to start up and go. seems fast enough. Wish the keyboard was backlit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Best laptop in this price range.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mockness
from Princeton, NJ
on 09/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Reliability, speed, professional looks, sturdy keyboard
What's not so great: Hinges, cannot disable touchpad, powercord
ASUS laptop U52f BBL5, with Intel Ci3 15.6 in screen, 4GB memory, 500GB, Web-cam ,facial recognition, 3 USB ports, 6 hour battery, HMDI port, MPEG, simple and professional looking for $680 add on 2 year warranty and 2 years virus protection and from Best Buy for about $1000 total. September 2010.
Did a lot of hands on and online research and ASUS is the best laptop in this price range. ASUS ranks highest in reliability (repairs) while MAC is ranked fourth. This powerful laptop opens programs and even very large files in seconds and can easily handle multiple Office applications, browsers and professional programs at the same time without bogging down which is the why I bought a new laptop.
Paid Geek squad to remove bloatware and install virus protection which took one day. There was no owner’s manual except online, and it covers little on basic operations like how to use the keyboard. The left power button turns on the computer and ASUS Express Gate comes on. To me “Gate” is nonsense and shouldn’t be there and you will wonder where Windows 7 is. When you get into Windows 7 then Best Buy’s Software installer automatically comes on now. (Easy to remove from startup file). Next the computer will ask you make back up format disks. You will need 4 DVD’s and it takes 3 hours but was easy and very necessary. The geeks will do this for $99. I bought my own copy of Windows Office Pro 2010 very cheap from work. You only need the “KEY code” but I bought the version with the KEY and disk. Setting up the wireless may be hard for the novice, but all I needed was the router key number which is written on the bottom of the router. Added a wireless mouse and it configured itself quickly. Typing function (fn) and f9 should disable touch-pad but it does not. This seems to be a common flaw.
The power cord kinks and seems flimsy and the heat from the laptop blows on it. It takes two hands to open or adjust the screen. Hinges are weak and designed to collect lots of dirt. The first thing to break will be these cheap hinges. Top portion or the screen feels somewhat flimsy but picture quality is excellent. The base and full keyboard and keys looks professional and seems very sturdy but lacks back lighting.
Best laptop in the $600 to $800 range.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Love my Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MCT8711
from Prairieville, LA
on 09/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: LOVE it, especially the numbers keyboard on the side !
What's not so great: Keys are "hard", but I'm sure after use will get easier
Recommended by my son who was familiar with the ASUS name.
I was a faithful HP user and switched over - happy with my choice
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Comfortable and user friendly

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stopplight
from Georgetown, TX
on 09/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Keyboard is easy to type on...even with long fingernails!
I generally don't like laptop keyboards, but this ASUS is easy and comfortable to type on. I also like having a keypad on the side. So far we have really enjoyed it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Best screen quality in it's price - Fast computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: VegasRealtor1
from Henderson NV
on 09/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Screen quality- Fast - excellent elegant and stilish look
What's not so great: Runs too hot. -actuall battery life it's half than what advertised
I found this Asus having by far the better screen quality with a superior definition and color accuracy than any of it's competitors. This is a very important factor if you, like me are going to sit infront of your laptop for several hours everyday. The mouse accuracy is 8/10 after calibration not the best but more than satisfactory, the keyboard feeling during typing is OK but at this price point you would hope for a back lighted feature.
This computer is very fast and can handle several programs open without slowing down a bit (typically several web pages + multiple emails etc..some PDF files and a Word file).
Battery life is NOT what advertised but more than satisfactory. With the above mentioned use and a broadband modem connected I can get this Asus to last for a little bit more than 3 hours. This lap top is very quite but all are nowadays . On the negative side I noticed that this ASUS gets substantially hotter than most laptop. Comparable Dell/Toshiba/HP get only luke warm but this thing heats like a toaster. It's not a pleasant feeling having a constant hot air flow under the palm of the left hand while typing.
A last note about the finishing of this laptop that I find having a georgeous look, when competitors even over 1K still look like a bare piece of cheap plastic. The blu navy rubber finishing is abolutely top notch and very elegant giving to this lap top a tasteful and pleasantly stilish look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

So much more then HAPPY

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Qusie
from Florida
on 09/11/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Pretty much everything,crazy price
What's not so great: suseptible to scratches,I have to learn Windows 7
I recently bought a refurbished laptop.I still have alot to learn about computers,but I am thrilled to call myself a new owner.I love the LCD display.It has everything I need.Media card reader,USB ports,HDMI port,webcam,cd/dvd player/burner & incredibly light-weight.This is my 1st new laptop.I always had rebuilt 5 + year old laptops.When I opened it & started checking it out,I yelled in joy.I know it does so much more then I expected.I look forward to exploring new things I never could do with my other laptops.WAY TO GO & HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Great for a student

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HeidiJo
from Fargo, ND
on 09/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The ease of initial setup. Keyboard with 10-key.
What's not so great: The mouse pad needs to respond better when I try to double tap. I feel like I am pounding too hard.
I purchased this laptop because I went back to school. I love the keyboard and the built in 10-key. I opted to skip Best Buy making the backup discs and was glad I did. The computer takes you through setup process step by step, including how to make you own back discs for free!
I also want to thank the Best Buy sales staff for taking the time to hear my needs and reccomending this laptop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

A solid performer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BigGuido
from Simi Valley, CA
on 09/08/2010
What's great about it: Keyboard and battery life
What's not so great: overly sensitive touchpad
A great machine with good speed, display quality, and excellent battery life. The added bonus is the included numeric pad on the keyboard. Makes my life as an auditor much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Terrific!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lbarrati
from NY
on 09/07/2010
What's great about it: Easy; to use. Good price and value.
What's not so great: Nothing to report.
So quick and easy to start using. It walks you through everything you need to do including backups etc. I have been nothing but happy with this computer and would recommend it whole-heartedly. I've added a new wireless printer and am very satisfied with my purchases.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

I Am Electronically Impaired

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LNMC
from Eddyville, KY
on 09/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's so mobile, I use my computer at my picnic table!
I am not a computer geek! I thought I would get home & not know what to do with this new computer (my 5-1/2 year old Dell finally bit the bullet). I paired this computer with the Verizon Mi-Fi (not Wi-Fi). I absolutely love it. I bought a wireless mouse also. I got rid of my home phone with DSL Ultra for $54.00 per month & now I pay $60.00 for the wireless Verizon (that I can use anywhere)! I am completely wireless now. The Geek Squad set up everything I needed to go home, turn it on & load up my data.
(My Asus is black, not navy as stated above)
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Logitech - Mouse - Black
4.7 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

nicely set up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: silver17
from pa
on 09/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good value performs well
What's not so great: nothing yet
very happy with this one. equipped very nice. functions perfect. wish it had the ability to add some ram memory if you desired. however fast the way it is with my current uses
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Asus Laptop / Intel® Core™ i3 Processor / 15.6" Display / 4GB Memory - Dark Navy

Great all around computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Kyle1337
from Rotterdam, NY
on 08/30/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Display
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Convenience
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Battery seems decent, not overly heavy or awkward, does everything I use it for.
What's not so great: Keyboard is a little weird, and it puts out alot of heat. For all I know it's a normal laptop thing.
I bought this laptop for school, and could have spent alot less but I wanted something that could last for a few years. So far, I'm extremely satisfied with it.
The keyboard layout is a little awkward to me, but this is my first laptop...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>