Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Model: FX6840-03E
SKU: 9974337
UPC: 884483177691
This desktop computer features 8GB of high-speed memory and a 1TB hard drive for fast computing speeds and ample storage space for data files, music, movies and more. The multi-in-1 digital media card reader provides compatibility with a wide variety of media cards for easy file transfer.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare. Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.689 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 45 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
98% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
44 out of 45
)
Customer Reviews for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive
Review 1 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Great computer for me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Davicito
from Lehi, UT.
on 04/17/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: its pretty fast to edit videos
What's not so great: no firewire to transfer videos from camcorder
its a pretty good computer for its prize, the only thing is that din't have the firewire but I took the card from my old computer and inserted to this one and it worked nice
This product is... Easy to set up and is lightning fast
About me... Business Professional
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Great system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: StaticReborn
from Vancouver, Wa
on 10/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Does everything you want it to
What's not so great: Rather bulky case size
I've been entirely happy with this system despite not really being a gateway fan. I've never had an issue with how it's run, it plays all of my games and doubles fantastically for my needs in school. I'd definately recommend it to anyone looking for a gaming system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Great product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dels10
from rosamond, ca
on 10/21/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed and quietness
What's not so great: nothoing so far
This desktop runs quiet. Fast, plenty of memory and disk space. Bought this desktop a month ago and have had no problems so far.
Excellent computer for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Could not ask for a better gaming computer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RangerBob
from Bluffton, SC
on 10/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Video, Ram, HD
What's not so great: Power Supply
Could not ask for a better out of the box and play gaming system. Only thing I would suggest is swap out the power supply. I dropped an 850w into mine with no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Thermaltake - 850-Watt TR2 RX Power Supply - Black
3.0 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Worth it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: airbornegamer
from fort bragg
on 10/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, majority of software was preinstalled
What's not so great: No speakers, you have to buy a seperate sound system.
Great computer for day to day business or for the all out gaming. I recommend upgrading the monitor though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Great comp at great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nick626
from Monrovia
on 10/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The look of the tower, the performance, the ability to easily expand its capabilities.
What's not so great: The installation of trial software, where you have to spend another $200-$250 to get the full version programs
I love this computer. I like the gaming style tower, with the red accent lights on it. There are many expansion bays available to add just about any hardware you wish to it. I bought this because it was about the best priced computer with the Intel I7 processor, which I am very happy with. There are tons of USB outlets so I can connect just about anything I want to it and still have some left over for things i can't even think about. The only downside about this computer, which is the same with every computer you buy now is the installation of "TRIAL" software. I just wish that you would get the full version of Microsoft Office, and a 2 yr. subscription of Anti-virus. These companies just nickel and dime you to squeeze as much money from you as possible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Great processor. Great monitor.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DJWolf
from Pierre, SD
on 09/28/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Processing Speed
I have owned a number of compters over the years. This one far exceeds my expectations as far as processing power.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Replaced a 64bit XP

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: marsh16
from St. Louis. MO
on 09/27/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: multi-tasking
What's not so great: No operating system disk with having to re-populate the computer
I've had this machine for 2-1/2 months and its the first Gateway product I have ever owned. This is a replacement unit due to a lightning strike at our house. This i7 configuration was suppose to blow the Mac's away and I don't see it. This unit has been reliable except for the clock. It looses time on any power failure that occurs. And frankly I can't see the speed everyone is raving about. I had an XP 64bit with 2GB RAM, 750GB Hard Drive with 500watt Power Supply, running on 24Meg U-Verse Internet with the same bussness anti-virus on both systems. Gateway support can't tell me if the 1TB Hard Drive is Solid State or what size the Power Supply is suppost to be.
I realize the OS is partitioned and I think I can make a copy, but I would have to scrub the drive to accomlish this task. I dont like the fact that I paid for a Windows 7 OS and didnt get a CD.
This machine is OK but I did spend more than twice as much as my old CPU. I will keep it but really had higher expectations out of a i7 860 processor. This machime handles photos and video's a lot faster and the games operate semi great.
I guess I've become hard to please but still 70% happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Good machine

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 72lespaulcustom
from Olympia
on 09/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quad processor never bogs down when playing around while Trend Micro is scanning...multitasking is definitely much bette
What's not so great: not as fast as I expected but it's still REALLY fast
I was mistakenly under the impression that an i7 Processor, with 8Gb of DDR3 memory would be a lightning machine....it isn't. It's more like warp 7 instead of warp 10, which is what I was expecting.
It takes just as long to load from start up as my old p4 XP machine did.
When I open Outlook, it's at least 90 seconds before it's up and running. (This might be because it's still a trial of Office 2010 and all features aren't installed but are called from the M/S site)
When first opening a browser, it takes a while to initalize but once it's up, getting from site to site is way fast.
My expectations for this computer weren't met, but then again, I didn't know what a reasonable expectation was...
For the money, this machine, I think, will compete with Alienware.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Costly but can be worth it.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: piyu
on 09/22/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: speed
What's not so great: cost
so far it is only one month. With IT help put it in place of server.
Needed some modification in Window 7 but it is doing better job than previous server.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

If you have a need for speed you got to have it:=)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Crappie
from Benton Harbor, Michigan
on 09/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Faster. I set it up and had it running in a few hours.
What's not so great: haven't found out anything yet....
I do a lot of printing, for a long time I thought my printers were slow, not so. Now with the 64 bit path way, it's like getting struck by lighting. Love it.
Had to get use to the new ways that the old programs worked ( Photo gallery, photo download ). After having it for 3 weeks, I'm in love. I have a mac and several pc's, I love this one. I enjoy a good game of starcraft, with the FX I can watch it in 1080 i and enjoy. No lag time or mess up. Just kill & build, this is how you have fun. Add 10 usb ports, I just get tears. Now I got to try out the slide in hard drives. I'm looking at a nice 2 GB.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Very Good Computer.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: moetown
from Erie, PA
on 09/15/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set-up.
What's not so great: Internet Explorer as Noted Above.
Love the computer but my Internet Browser takes 5-to-10 seconds just to open up from double-clicking the icon to appearing on my computer screen (let alone going to look for connectivity). I have DSL at home and the other computers that have a much faster IE response time just to get the window to pop-up & then connect (set-up on the same network). Therefore, is anyone else having this problem, and if so, please share the fix!!!!
Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Awesome Choice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PLOP
on 09/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excelent quality and pretty much everything else.
What's not so great: That it took me so long to get it.
This computer is mainly my school computer, and so far, I have absolutely no complaints. Some of the unique attributes (the red lights turning on and off, or the removable hard drive trays) make this a really fun computer. When I'm avoiding homework, every game I've played on this computer has had no problems either. An excellent computer for the full time student, and the part time gamer. :P
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Good Computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tom7412
from Woodbridge, VA
on 09/13/2010
What's great about it: Good speed, good graphics, great operating system
What's not so great: Keyboard, Mouse, low watt power supply for upgrades
This Gateway computer is a fast computer which will please all but the most serious gamers. The core I7 processor is very fast, the 8 GB Ram is more than adequate and Windows 7 64 Bit is the best OS available today.
Setup is quick, and junkware is minimal and easily uninstalled. Mine came from the factory (sealed box) with headphones set as the default for audio, so before you return it for the audio not working, check this in the control panel.
This is my second Gateway, so I am relatively pleased with the brand. Having said that if you are a serious gamer, you will find the keyboard and mouse substandard for gaming. And as with my other Gateway, the power supply (500 watt) is barely sufficient and would likely have to be replaced when upgrading video cards / hard drives or optical drives.
Still I like this system, there are very few over the counter computers that can touch its speed. Not quite excellent in my view, but a very good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Great Gaming Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SPT5362
from Concord, NC
on 09/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Performance for the price
What's not so great: installed program with "memory leak"
This is an excellent gaming computer at a great price. There is a small glitch with an installed program called "photoframe" that sucks up memory until the machine will not function. However, there is a easy fix for that (remove the file from the startup folder). Once that was fixed, this computer has worked flawlessly. As with all the other reviews, this computer is extremely quiet after initial startup. I would recommend this computer to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Awesome computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tommy1525
from Irving,TX
on 09/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good price for good performance
What's not so great: Need more slots for add on's.
I love my new Gateway desktop. It out performs than one I purchased 5 years ago from Alienware, for which I spent over $3,000. The Gateway was less than half that price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Blazing Speed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Las Vegas, NV
on 09/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, Speed, Speed
What's not so great: Nothing yet
I use this PC primarily for high-end computer animation. Complex modelling and rendering with speed are critical and this Gateway passes with flying colors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

Fabulous machine for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Johnnyflash
from MA
on 09/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: drive bays, video card, case design
What's not so great: nothing yet
I think this overall machine design and component combination can't be beat for the price. The HUGE deal maker for me is the two SATA drive bays right in the front of the case allowing adding of additional drives as easy as plugging them in (with power off.. not hot swappable but what do you want for < $1200)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

So far so good.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Emmay
from NP, Nebraska
on 09/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This computer is all I expected and more. Very happy with the look and performance!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gateway Desktop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 8GB Memory / 1TB Hard Drive

this gateway fx is good, but too pricely for some

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: techasain
from los angeles
on 09/01/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: i7 processor, ati HD 5770, and 8 gb ddr 3 memory
What's not so great: the keyboard "minor flaw".
I just got this computer today. it work great and fast but the only features I like about this computer is the power of I7 processor, the graphic from ATI HD 5770 "which need a HD Monitor", and the 8 GB of DDR3.
This computer is built for gaming and heavy designer like photo edition with photoshop cs5 and video editing with premier pro cs5. I already own a gateway computer "Gateway DX 4831-01e with the intel core I3" I use this computer for some gaming and vdeo editing "SD video". I can upgrade to i7 when the price drop.
over the gateway fx is a good computer and highly recommend the bundle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>