Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Model: s5510y
SKU: 9974673
UPC: 885631163450
This compact desktop features a double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive with LightScribe technology so you can create custom DVDs, CDs and direct-disc labels. The built-in network interface allows for a fast wired connection to the Web.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about LightScribe technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
82% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
23 out of 28
)
Customer Reviews for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory
Review 1 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Just ok

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: BaileyBoo
from CA
on 03/09/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reliability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Sleek design
What's not so great: Performance is just ok.
Had to buy a cheapie computer b/c my old one (probably about 7 years old) just died. I expected more from this computer considering my old one was so old and did a great job up until it finally died. Got a good price since it was on clearance for the newest model to come out. Programs it comes with are just ok. Also wish there were more USB ports in the front of the computer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Great Compact Computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DLSharp
from Angleton TX
on 01/15/2011
What's great about it: Easy to get started.
This computer replaced an e-machine with Vista operating system. I am very happy with this HP slimline. The program to watch videos is great. There is also a picture program to help organize all your photos. This HP has everything that I need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Good for someone with limited space

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MBHK
from southern Illinois
on 11/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Small, takes up less space. Lots of storage capability
What's not so great: CD/DVD player seems fragile
I chose this tower because it was smaller than the others, and it was on sale. After using it for a while, I'm very happy with most of the features. However, when making my backup discs, it wouldn't take the CDRW disc. It wanted a DVD. Hopefully, this won't continue when I back up my files and folders the next time.
The CD/DVD player seems a little fragile, so I'm hopeful it will hold up over the long run, since I tend to keep a computer until it just won't go any more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Just what I needed at a good price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: christopher631
from Long Island, NY
on 11/07/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good, consistent performance.
Helps me to accomplish everything I need to do for work, plus allows me to do everything I'd like for fun purposes too. Very quiet operation and takes up very little space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Superior Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hartwx
from Bellingham, WA
on 11/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works intuitively.
What's not so great: Too much junk software installed.
Easy switch from previous CPU. Easy to set up and get going.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

I am very pleased with the HP Pavilion Slimline.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Carmichael, CA
on 11/01/2010
What's great about it: Good price, easy to use.
What's not so great: Haven't found anything.
The size of the Slimlne Pavillion is perfect for use on my desk. It is a breeze to use and the price was extraordinary.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Good Computer for the Money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bolt
from North Carolina
on 11/01/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact, fast operation, single SD card reader
What's not so great: Not easy to add additional hard drives, not enough USB ports
Compact size will fit it into small places, however, too small to install additional hard drives inside the housing and there are no power sources available for the extra internal drives. Keyboard and mouse are USB connections so there are 2 less USB connections for accessories.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Great Replacement or Great First time Computer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JamesL007
from Phoenix, AZ
on 10/26/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size, speed, price
What's not so great: came bundled with Geek Squad software
I have to say I only use HP products with my computers. This is my third HP one after my last one died after 7 years of 24/7 running and in Phoenix how hot it can get it never failed only had to replacement power supply once on it.
I since I first saw this computer I was in love, It may be smaller but packs a punch. It has all the things you need in a smaller box. You get amazing power and speed in a small box with a reliability and stability of the HP name. I have had this computer running now for about month since purchase and had not a single problem with it at all.
Upgrading a simple feet too, as anyone with a little knowledge of PC's and how to can upgrade the R.A.M. or harddrive in a single action to get more of this system with out spending a lot of money.
I am glad I did get this one over a more expensive one at the time, pound 4 pound this one does the job and will last with easy upgrading you can have this computer for a long long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Not Bad

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: meandi
from California
on 10/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It's small size fits better and takes up less room
What's not so great: The CD drive is vertical and my mini dvd's fall out unless I lay the computer sideways.
My husband and I both bought one of these. His for business and mine for whatever. I had a HP Media Center Edition before which had a few extra features, but I don't miss them with this one. It's compact and perfect for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Space saving

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wavrunr
from St Louis, MO
on 10/14/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size
If you looking to make room as everyone else is this would be an ideal replacement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Value and price a plus

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: currencyladder
from Lakewood,CO
on 10/06/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up and Lightscribe Technology
What's not so great: outdated Motherboard, no HDMI output, Graphics no good
I was drawn by three things with this purchase, the price was appealing to me and the thought of much higher memory and larger Hard drive, product was easy to set up out of the box, however I found numerous problems, I bought this computer after my original gateway stopped working and i needed a computer right away. First advice is look up different model numbers on CNET and see what others are saying, what I found out about the HP Slimline Desktop s5510y, many things outdated on this model, my monitor wasn't functioning properly, I assume that the graphics card was just not working correctly, my screen had this ugly green tint, although this model did not work for me, Best buy was happy to take back the lemon before the two weeks were up for returns and I purchased what I know best, I replaced my old Gateway with another gateway slimline and am very happy, although I thought the HP lightscribe was very cool and the system was quiet, in the closing, I am happy with my second purchase at Best buy. beware of the HP s5510y! currencyladder.com
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

HP 3Gig Desktop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bestbudbuyer
from Houston TX
on 10/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Overall performance
Great computer with great features! Great amt of memory for running many applications at once.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Needs more memory

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ccpatrick
from Minifee, CA
on 09/30/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: windows 7 home premium
What's not so great: 3.00 phyical memory
the internet service is slow I donot think it's the computer.
windows 7 is a great step-up from vista.
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

I love this computer!! No problems at all.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: handicapper
from Brighton, MI
on 09/29/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed to boot up, great features
What's not so great: I haven't found any yet.
I had a Windows XP computer and was concerned Windows 7 would be hard to get used to. Not at all. I had it set up right away and using all the features. I have had it for a month with no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Great PC

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AJ999
from Goose Creek, SC
on 09/26/2010
Great PC, Great Performance, Great Price, Just plain great!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Perfect computer for my daughters internet school

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HockeyFan1
from Home
on 09/19/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use & affordable
What's not so great: No problems as of now!!!
My daughter is the primary user of this computer & loves it's versatility.
she uses it for her internet schooling, research, videos, social networking & gaming. We have had no problems using any of the programs we have tried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Dissapointment

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Akela1
from Acworth, Ga
on 09/18/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price was ok, availability was good.
What's not so great: Ease of set-up, no blue-tooth & slow compared to my laptop.
Computer is not "blue tooth" compliant and we have had numerous problems connecting to the internet. Connected one day and dropped the next. I would not recommend this HP model to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

good basic computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Zeke420
from nixa, mo
on 09/11/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: screen size
What's not so great: best buy service
It performs basic functions for daily use. Although the screen freezes once in a while and it has locked up a couple times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Crashed in 1 month

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: birdz
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 09/09/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and get started.
What's not so great: System crashed 1 month after purchase
I bought this machine on August 11, 2010 and it worked great up until yesterday. Yesterday, for no apparent reason, the system crashed and is now dead. I was just reading an e-mail when I got an access violation pop up, then the blue screen of death, then nothing. However, for the month it was up and running, I thought it was great. Set up was easy and fast, system was responsive. If it hadn't crashed, I would have rated it a 4.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Slimline Desktop / AMD Athlon™ II Dual-Core Processor / 3GB Memory

Good basic computer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ACBC
from Dixon, IL
on 09/06/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I am very happy with this computer, it works great for the necessities. I can track my finances and surf the web. It does pretty well with games but can get a little "jumpy" if you use high level settings on games. Still a great computer for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>