Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Model: DX-MP3MT
SKU: 2365344
UPC: 600603138652
This bicycle and car mount holds most MP3 players and mobile phones for hands-free use on long drives or rides. The suction cup mount and thumb screw clamp bracket allow flexible installation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.294 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 17
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black
Review 1 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Decent Mount

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ZenMaster2000
from Oklahoma City
on 08/24/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Doesn't grip phones with cases well
Works alright for most phones but if you have a phone with a case, look for something with a better grip. I have used the base to build mounts using the for the OtterBox Defender cases
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0024896146
My Best Buy number: 0024896146
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Great Product for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Peshal
on 08/08/2014
I got this car mount on sell for less than 10$. Its definitely worth the value. I use it once in a while for my phone when I use it as a GPS. Haven't had any problems so far!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Works well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Roni
from Muncie, In
on 08/01/2014
Works perfectly as a golf gps holder on my push cart
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0308023916
My Best Buy number: 0308023916
Mobile Submission: True
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

it's cheap and good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sammy
from New York NY
on 06/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Nothing
Great for Car and Bike. for using your Phone as a GPS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0966311950
My Best Buy number: 0966311950
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Good but the padding gets in the way

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Davidhkii
from Portland, or
on 05/10/2014
What's great about it: Hasn't broken yet like my other two
What's not so great: Difficult to open, the padding is getting in the way of it lodging securely
I like this one better than my last two but I wish someone would make one that opened without it sounding like I'm breaking it. And with all of the padding built into the holder itself my phone sits cockeyed in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2724484050
My Best Buy number: 2724484050
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

great alternative to a cell-phone holder

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chicksicle
from Corpus Christi, TX
on 05/04/2014
What's great about it: sturdy
What's not so great: the grips should be reversed to hold phones better
we use our cell-phone for its GPS & the Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount is a great way to hold your phone right where you need it.
should the grips ever be manufactured differently, as stated in the "What's not so great" section, then this would be perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0046903938
My Best Buy number: 0046903938
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Do not buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: WalkK
from Burnsville
on 11/11/2013
What's great about it: The idea of a universal mount
What's not so great: Suction goes bad fast
Worked for a couple weeks now won't suction to window
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Mine Works Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lschnook
from Texas
on 07/17/2013
What's great about it: I now have phone on bike rides. Easy to use. Holds phone securely
What's not so great: It lowers the phone volume
I found this easy to attach to my bicycle and my iPhone 4s fits perfectly. I do check that the mount is secure to the bike before each ride because I read reviews where people have problems with this with all bike mounts. I am not a competition cyclist though. I ride 7-10 miles almost every day and mainly just around the neighborhood. I like that the rubber side grips have ridges that hold the phone securely, and two levers at the bottom that seem like added security.
A small complaint I have is that when I put my phone in and squeeze the mount to hold the phone, it turns the volume all the way down. I fix this by going into settings and raising the volume back up. Not a big deal really. I never thought to put the phone in vertically as another reviewer did.
I love having my phone right in front of me so i can see how long/far I ride with Mapmyride. And I can listen to music now because I would not wear earphones while riding. I did a little research and I could not find a product like this that had all 5 star reviews. It seems that for every mount, someone had their phone fall out and break. So i am cautious and check the stability of it a couple of times each ride. No problem. And much cheaper than buying an $80 Lifeproof case and $50 Lifeproof mount.
I haven't attached the car part yet, but the reviews on that part are pretty positive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Broken Phone and Damaged Bike

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BrokenPhone
from Las Vegas, NV
on 03/25/2013
I too bought this specifically for use on my bike and the part that attaches to the mount will not stay on. I am now the proud owner of a phone with shattered glass! Not happy at ALL!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Horrible product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Seawise
on 01/04/2013
My husband got this for me so that I could use it in my car and out on my daily bike rides, main selling point. I installed this according to the directions and triple checked it before my ride. To my horror ten minutes into my ride, the base fell off my handle bars crashing into the street. I quickly picked everything up and noticed that I had a 3 inch crack in the glass of my iPhone. It wasn't until after this happened to me that I discovered that another had the same problems with the bike mount. Looks like not only do I have to return this defective product but also fix the damage it has done to my phone as well. This is not worth the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

It's pretty good I must say ....

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: linoox
from Chicago
on 08/25/2012
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It has both the car and bike mount. Strong suction cup.
What's not so great: The rubber grip doesn't work that well for certain phones.
I like that it has both bike and car mount in the same box. The goose neck mount is really stiff and strong. The suction cup is really strong too. So, it should stick really well to the windshield. Unfortunately, I can't say really good stuff about the rubber grip. It's just weird. It doesn't have a great grip on the phone, even if you pressed it real hard. Therefore, I'm not surprised that some of the reviewers here felt that the phone might just bumped out of the cradle. I felt that way too. That said, after playing with the grip for a while, I realized that if you placed the phone horizontally, instead of vertically as shown in the picture, you get an extremely good grip. It works for my iPhone. I turned the mount upside down, flipped it to the side, and yet the phone stays firmly in the cradle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Nice grip

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shenku
from Boise, ID
on 07/16/2012
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: grip, ability to use in car and on bike
What's not so great: nothing
Not sure why this has a low rating. It works great for me. Also it's one of the few mounts that will hold onto a Samsung Note smartphone.
I ride as well as driving. I love being able to take this one on both. I was quite nervous the first time I used it on my bike, but it held onto the phone even at freeway speeds. Your mileage may vary, but I haven't had issues with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Does exactly what I expected

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: budman4life
from chicago
on 06/21/2012
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: fast and easy to mount
What's not so great: clamping takes a second to secure phone
Im not sure what everone is expecting from this device. Its $20 and a simple design. I wanted one to clamp to my bike so I could track my route and mileage(and of course listen to music). It only took a minute to attach to bike handles. I found it easier to lock side clamps down in correct position and then slide my phone into rubber sides. Phone was secure, it was easy to position phone to where I could see it best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Good overall

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SassySissie
from Bend, OR
on 06/18/2012
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Strong suction to car window
What's not so great: Getting it to close on my phone
It fits my car really well. I have it stuck to the windshield on the far left corner. It does not interfere with my view of the road. The down fall is that it is hard to get it to grip my phone. It needs a ratchet type button to help clamp down on the phone. You have to squeeze it with your hands to get it to grip the phone. If my hands are tired or if someone without a good grip tries to get it to work, it might not. The release button is tough to get to if you have it attached to your windshield. The release button ratchets it open. I don't understand why they don't have a button to ratchet it closed. The grippers that hold the phone are well padded. The suction cup to the windshield is very strong. I have not used the bike attachment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Piece of garbage

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NYDoug
from Albany NY
on 05/26/2012
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Does not hold phone phone securely
I used this on my bike, not my car. In less than 2 miles the phone fell off the mount three times. The first time I felt it might be because I did not have it attached properly. Not the case. The way the unit is designed it will not remain secured to the clamp during even the smallest agitation.
I am disappointed that Best Buy sells this device. It is garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Design of the grips not very good...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: DrXenon
from Gardendale, AL
on 03/13/2012
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Good price, holds to the windshield well, gooseneck is just right length
What's not so great: Build quality feels fragile, ratcheting action of the grips is annoying, rubber grips not designed well
The concept for this holder is nice. I like the length of the gooseneck, it is just right in my opinion. The suction cup seems to grip very tight. The one thing that I dislike is that the rubber on the grips was not properly designed. It almost wants to push my iPhone 4S in an Otterbox Defender case out of the holder. It would seem to me that the raised portion of the rubber should be towards the front of the grips, not towards the back. The other thing is the ratcheting action of the grips. It takes quite a bit of effort to adjust them because of how that was designed as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - Bicycle and Car Mount for MP3 Players - Black

Adequate for my purposes

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: McDonald
from New Orleans
on 01/25/2012
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Durable
What's not so great: Bulk
It is a bit bulky, but it holds my iPhone safely as I listen to music and take calls over the radio
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.