Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Model: DX-520WPS
SKU: 2658156
UPC: 600603140457
Power your computer with this power supply that features 520W of output power for enhanced performance and a 140mm low-noise cooling fan to help ensure efficient operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 86 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
90% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
77 out of 86
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Review 1 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Works great so far

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Oldradioguy
from Annapolis, MD
on 01/16/2015
This has worked fine so far in my multimedia quad-core system. The continuous output is less than 520 watts - that's the peak power. But it's super quiet, has lots of plugs, and the price was right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0745697404
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Good and cheap

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: someguy
on 01/16/2015
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
You don't want to go too cheap on a PSU. This is kind of a sweet spot for a computer that is lightly used or just for everyday tasks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2750134707
My Best Buy number: 2750134707
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Has my computer working like new.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MareBear
on 12/31/2014
Very pleased with my purchase. I would recommend it to anybody that has to replace their power supply.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1050214003
My Best Buy number: 1050214003
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Not bad for a quick pickup

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BenJ
on 12/29/2014
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
We have had some computers go down at the office and needed a quick power supply and picked up a couple of these last minute. I think at least two of them have ended up going out a little over a year, but they definitely do the job for a cheap-o power supply.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2366466537
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Wish it had an additional 4pin connector

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: freqency
on 11/11/2014
Used this to replace an old power supply that went bad from just sitting around in a storage unit. I haven't kept up with the times and the machine uses all older eide drives so I could have used some additional 4pin connectors. This power supply just showed me it might be time to update before there are no legacy replacements left. The supply itself is well put together, the chord insulators on each connection are awesome and the fan is surprisingly quiet. A good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2674707490
My Best Buy number: 2674707490
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Quiet power at a great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OriginalShoNuff
from Upstate, NY
on 11/08/2014
This unit replaces an Antec 380 watt unit that failed after about 10 years. It works properly and quietly. It provides a little more power than the basic system in which is is installed, but it's better to have too much than too little. The power supply was on sale or being closed out @ Best Buy for 24 dollars which was an excellent price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0311861468
My Best Buy number: 0311861468
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Great product for computer repairs

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Computerfix
on 11/04/2014
I thought that I would have to purchase another complete computer tower, but this replacement power supply part did the trick, for one-tenth the cost. The Best Buy Rep was very helpful to explain what was required & which product was best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0024824767
My Best Buy number: 0024824767
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Excellent low-cost PSU

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gooberwiper
from Beavercreek, OH
on 09/23/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Low cost, works great
What's not so great: Nothing (at least in my application)
Bought to replace a factory Dell unit. Worked like a champ, extremely quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0420614580
My Best Buy number: 0420614580
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Quality of power supply is average at best.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Pops1939
from Georgia
on 08/13/2014
What's great about it: Output is smooth.
What's not so great: Lifetime is short.
This purchase was a replacement for the same item which only lasted about 6 months. Item replaced under warranty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 2128914894
My Best Buy number: 2128914894
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

a good starter

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jt73
from marquette mi
on 07/29/2014
bought to add to my list of parts of my gaming computer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2817869092
My Best Buy number: 2817869092
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

does the job

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nell
from las vegas
on 07/14/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to install, works
had to replace old power supply. this one works fine. no problems yet, easy to install. fair price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 1038956413
My Best Buy number: 1038956413
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Great buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lucky
from San Diego, CA
on 07/04/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Great buy, easy to install and use and easy to explain use to newbies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2028236508
My Best Buy number: 2028236508
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

returning

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: badbuy
from jax
on 06/23/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
after needing a quick psu replacement, i ran to bestbuy and picked up 520 dynex, the only one of the shelf. installed it easily and started it up. just minutes after running it i hear this noise that sounds like two objects or rubbing or a bad bearing. sound got worse, returning product asap. not to mention this product is 20 dollars cheaper online on other sites.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

A good buy

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Stuward
from Chesapeake, VA
on 06/08/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It was available and I needed it right away.
What's not so great: It was the highest watt rating of the power supplies in the store. I would have liked a 650 watt but I needed it then.
I could have purchased online for a lower price and a higher watt rating, but I would have had to wait. The product seems to be well built and sturdy, and is working great in the machine it is in, but doesn't allow for a lot of upgrades to the computer if they draw too much power.
Still a good buy and I'm glad it was available.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 0955690011
My Best Buy number: 0955690011
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ciscobigtruck
from Detroit, MI
on 05/23/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: As advertised
What's not so great: None
Needed to upgrade one our workstations so we could replace the video card. Works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2105006857
My Best Buy number: 2105006857
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

its quiet and good buy for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bjoh
from Fayetteville, Ar
on 05/17/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: its quiet lots of fan space
What's not so great: a bit big for some fits
needed to replace a power unit that did not cool well. this one has pleanty of fan opening and is powerful. Was suprised at how quiet it was.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2698739446
My Best Buy number: 2698739446
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Great value - excellent price for lots of power

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BamaORSA
from Huntsville, AL
on 05/09/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: highly competitve price
What's not so great: takes some effort to replace original power supply
Best price for this quality of product and power output. Likely will require minor wiring re-routing in small PC towers. Should seriously consider this PS if you need an upgrade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2037982908
My Best Buy number: 2037982908
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JMCZ
from Hammond
on 05/03/2014
What's great about it: economical
What's not so great: NA
power supply, not much to say. works great. no problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2869225693
My Best Buy number: 2869225693
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Easy as pie

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PCbreaker
from North Carolina
on 04/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: More power and still fits
What's not so great: All good so far
Installed an upgraded video card in my desktop PC and it wouldn't run with the old smaller power supply. Best Buy Geek guy picked this out and installed it for me while I waited. Only took 5-10 minutes. Now I have a new card and more power. Upgraded PC should add a couple of extra years to it's use for very little money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0775563687
My Best Buy number: 0775563687
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Worked just as it should

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fred
from Branson mo
on 04/26/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Everything it should be
What's not so great: Nothing
Replacement power supply in pre built hp machine. Install was easy no problems whatsoever ever. Has been working like a charm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2345893682
My Best Buy number: 2345893682
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>