Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Model: DX-520WPS
SKU: 2658156
UPC: 600603140457
Power your computer with this power supply that features 520W of output power for enhanced performance and a 140mm low-noise cooling fan to help ensure efficient operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 63 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
56 out of 63
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply
Review 1 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

simple install and very quiet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mojojc
from marine city mi
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Very easy to install and works great. Only took short time to install, beginners came do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0558073495
My Best Buy number: 0558073495
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Excellent choice for upgrades

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HospitalITDept
from Florida
on 04/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great product, great price.
A great replacement for the stock 400 watt power supplies found in most PCs. Have been using these power supplies for a while now with no issues at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0571016813
My Best Buy number: 0571016813
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Good Product, Good Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Stumpman
from Wilmington, NC
on 04/07/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Surprisingly Quiet, Dependable, good price and available in the store
What's not so great: N/A
Ice Storms = Power Issues = 1 dead power supply. I needed to get up and running quickly. The local store had the Dynex. It had the right wattage, enough connectors and the price was competitive with online vendors. Plus I was able to drive down the road and pick it up. After installing the power supply I was surprised at how quiet it was. It was quieter than the original Rosewill that cost 2/3 more. It was a win-win.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 0407700312
My Best Buy number: 0407700312
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Works Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Concreter012013
from Portland OR
on 03/30/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, serves the purpose
What's not so great: Average Quality
Installed in Minutes, worked great, until the motherboard went out. 520 watts works well enough for my wifes' constant Sims playing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0966395691
My Best Buy number: 0966395691
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

easy install and good power

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PcGuy
from spartanburg, SC
on 03/29/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of installion.
The pc this was purchased is older and my power supply needed a little more power for the upgrades I have made over the years. This power supply gave me the boost I was looking for to supply two disk drives and video card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 0742896756
My Best Buy number: 0742896756
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

simple easy install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Talonsil
from Massachusetts
on 03/21/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy swap in
What's not so great: lesser known brand
Purchased along with a video card that needed more power. Simple install. it simply works. what more can you ask for?
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 0569754246
My Best Buy number: 0569754246
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Hard Worker

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gypsy2013
from Auburn, Ca
on 03/15/2014
What's great about it: Easy to install
Bought this because I had to upgrade my video card. It works well and didn't take long to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 0551230444
My Best Buy number: 0551230444
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

poor didnt last more than 3 weeks

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: msm903
from texas
on 03/14/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
upgraded a pc that had a 400 w one and this one died in less than 3 weeks ... wound up putting the 400 W back in
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 0305625076
My Best Buy number: 0305625076
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Easy install

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gochtdk23
from green bay, wi
on 03/09/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Pretty easy to install if you any pc building knowledge.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2642480622
My Best Buy number: 2642480622
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Powerful and quiet.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: whitestar53
from OKC
on 03/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Airflow design, ease of installation and output stability.
What's not so great: None encountered.
This power supply was easy to install and the performance is great. Since I have a mini-server with liquid-cooled processors, my tower has four fans (including the one in the power supply). Of the three power supplies I've had in this beast over the past 8 years, this is by far the top performer. A must consider when you need a power supply.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0205751301
My Best Buy number: 0205751301
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Good power supply; easy to replace

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mchristino
from Baltimore, MD
on 03/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: ease of installation
What's not so great: nothing
had to upgrade my power supply due to a new graphics card requiring a larger power supply. This one was a perfect fit for the OEM power supply. Suggestion for easy replacement: do NOT disconnect existing cables from original power supply right away. Instead, remove it from the case, move to the side. Install the new power supply in the case. Then one by one, take off the current power supply cables from the peripherals (hard drive, mother board, CD-ROM, etc.), and replace them with the exact same power cord from the new power supply. There are lots of options on the cables, and it's easy to confuse them. Make sure you know how to identify the #1 pin to prevent you from installing the cable backwards. Also, make sure the power cables are pushed all the way on. If you get an error message on boot-up, it's probably because a cable isn't seated fully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 0747365622
My Best Buy number: 0747365622
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Good all around power supply

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CWST
from San Antonio, TX
on 03/07/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: very good variety of connectors
What's not so great: price, no power switch on the back.
Good all around power supply with a great selection of connectors to fit most motherboards and component configurations. I prefer a physical power switch on the back which this lacks and the price is a bit high for a 520w power supply. On the other hand it's construction is solid and the over-sized fan is quiet and appears to cool sufficiently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2644770189
My Best Buy number: 2644770189
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Works Good!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dana54321
from Nashua, NH
on 03/03/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice big fan, Fit right in the my old fans spot
What's not so great: None
Fit perfectly into my HP Pavillion m9600t. My old one had some bad capacitors that were obliterated and bulging. This caused my computer to shut off constantly a few to several seconds after turning it on. It would repeat this over and over. Finally, I replaced the power supply and it hasn't happened since. This one has higher watts too! My old one was around 420 or 460 maybe? Any how, it works great and I have had no problems with it thus far. -Dana
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2369403942
My Best Buy number: 2369403942
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Power supply

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jamesgang88
from Colorado
on 02/28/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Installation
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Nothing
It ended up being a little bigger than the average supply and didn't fit the standard Dell case.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 1024189054
My Best Buy number: 1024189054
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Install was easier that I anticipated

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mjb60
from Ft Worth TX
on 02/22/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good instruction
In store help was great in finding a solution to my problem without trying to up sell me something I didn't need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2699053916
My Best Buy number: 2699053916
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

good replacement power supply

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BrocktonPaul
from ma
on 02/21/2014
What's great about it: cooler and quieter fan, nice braiding cable covering
What's not so great: a hair larger in physical dimension than the original power supply
Had all the necessary connections,HD(large molex),FD(smal molex),SATA,CPU(2) and braiding to keep things neat.
Worked out of the box the first time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2582692390
My Best Buy number: 2582692390
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Works Great for Older PCs

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PCPOWER
from Savannah, GA
on 02/11/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Has two Power to PC board connectors, resulted in good easy install
Tried Many other brands but they did not work for my older PCs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2202906791
My Best Buy number: 2202906791
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Easy power supply to replace.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dusty322
from Austin, TX
on 02/07/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Replacement easy, works better than old power supply
Fan on old pwr supply went bad. Needed to replace pwr supply, but never had done such computer repair before. Instructions with pwr supply were precise. Replacement completed in 30 mins. Make sure you mark where the replacement connections are to be made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2552772039
My Best Buy number: 2552772039
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Solved my power problems.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Endersgamer
from Winfield, IL
on 02/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It works like it is supposed to.
What's not so great: A bit tricky to install.
My only issue with this item is the installation. The manual is not very detailed. Going online doesn't help much either. Fortunately the Geek Squad was able to help me where the manual couldn't. I did everything right except for a couple tiny cables that went into some tight areas on the computer. Geek squad guys helped me get everything hooked up properly. Happy computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2102610163
My Best Buy number: 2102610163
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

power supply works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: seagall45013
from Hamilton, Ohio
on 02/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quiet
Went in with computer not powering up and within thirty minutes the Geek Squad had the problem figured out and a new power supply installed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
My Best Buy number: 0543491723
My Best Buy number: 0543491723
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>