Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Model: DX-520WPS
SKU: 2658156
UPC: 600603140457
Power your computer with this power supply that features 520W of output power for enhanced performance and a 140mm low-noise cooling fan to help ensure efficient operation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 78 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
69 out of 78
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply
Review 1 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Quality of power supply is average at best.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Pops1939
from Georgia
on 08/13/2014
What's great about it: Output is smooth.
What's not so great: Lifetime is short.
This purchase was a replacement for the same item which only lasted about 6 months. Item replaced under warranty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 2128914894
My Best Buy number: 2128914894
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

a good starter

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: jt73
from marquette mi
on 07/29/2014
bought to add to my list of parts of my gaming computer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2817869092
My Best Buy number: 2817869092
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

does the job

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nell
from las vegas
on 07/14/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy to install, works
had to replace old power supply. this one works fine. no problems yet, easy to install. fair price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 1038956413
My Best Buy number: 1038956413
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Great buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lucky
from San Diego, CA
on 07/04/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Great buy, easy to install and use and easy to explain use to newbies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2028236508
My Best Buy number: 2028236508
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

returning

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: badbuy
from jax
on 06/23/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
after needing a quick psu replacement, i ran to bestbuy and picked up 520 dynex, the only one of the shelf. installed it easily and started it up. just minutes after running it i hear this noise that sounds like two objects or rubbing or a bad bearing. sound got worse, returning product asap. not to mention this product is 20 dollars cheaper online on other sites.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

A good buy

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Stuward
from Chesapeake, VA
on 06/08/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It was available and I needed it right away.
What's not so great: It was the highest watt rating of the power supplies in the store. I would have liked a 650 watt but I needed it then.
I could have purchased online for a lower price and a higher watt rating, but I would have had to wait. The product seems to be well built and sturdy, and is working great in the machine it is in, but doesn't allow for a lot of upgrades to the computer if they draw too much power.
Still a good buy and I'm glad it was available.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 0955690011
My Best Buy number: 0955690011
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Nice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ciscobigtruck
from Detroit, MI
on 05/23/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: As advertised
What's not so great: None
Needed to upgrade one our workstations so we could replace the video card. Works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2105006857
My Best Buy number: 2105006857
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

its quiet and good buy for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bjoh
from Fayetteville, Ar
on 05/17/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: its quiet lots of fan space
What's not so great: a bit big for some fits
needed to replace a power unit that did not cool well. this one has pleanty of fan opening and is powerful. Was suprised at how quiet it was.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2698739446
My Best Buy number: 2698739446
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Great value - excellent price for lots of power

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BamaORSA
from Huntsville, AL
on 05/09/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: highly competitve price
What's not so great: takes some effort to replace original power supply
Best price for this quality of product and power output. Likely will require minor wiring re-routing in small PC towers. Should seriously consider this PS if you need an upgrade.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2037982908
My Best Buy number: 2037982908
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JMCZ
from Hammond
on 05/03/2014
What's great about it: economical
What's not so great: NA
power supply, not much to say. works great. no problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2869225693
My Best Buy number: 2869225693
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Easy as pie

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PCbreaker
from North Carolina
on 04/28/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: More power and still fits
What's not so great: All good so far
Installed an upgraded video card in my desktop PC and it wouldn't run with the old smaller power supply. Best Buy Geek guy picked this out and installed it for me while I waited. Only took 5-10 minutes. Now I have a new card and more power. Upgraded PC should add a couple of extra years to it's use for very little money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0775563687
My Best Buy number: 0775563687
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Worked just as it should

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fred
from Branson mo
on 04/26/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Everything it should be
What's not so great: Nothing
Replacement power supply in pre built hp machine. Install was easy no problems whatsoever ever. Has been working like a charm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
My Best Buy number: 2345893682
My Best Buy number: 2345893682
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Easy to install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HAWAII1006
from CALIFORNIA
on 04/26/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to Install
This was an upgrade. Only took minutes to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0558547187
My Best Buy number: 0558547187
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Perfect for a home theater pc setup.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ron420
from Hastings, Mi
on 04/25/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: plenty of power for what I needed.
What's not so great: nothing
Great budget power supply. Has all of the connections you will need and has the cables wrapped to help with air-flow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 2117158278
My Best Buy number: 2117158278
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Quick Power

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: williammh
from Bradenton, FL
on 04/23/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: Nothing
A power supply was needed quickly and an on-line check showed my local Best Buy had a compatible unit. It installed quickly, easily, and I was back up and running in short order.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 2143145181
My Best Buy number: 2143145181
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

simple install and very quiet

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mojojc
from marine city mi
on 04/21/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Very easy to install and works great. Only took short time to install, beginners came do it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0558073495
My Best Buy number: 0558073495
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Excellent choice for upgrades

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HospitalITDept
from Florida
on 04/12/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great product, great price.
A great replacement for the stock 400 watt power supplies found in most PCs. Have been using these power supplies for a while now with no issues at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0571016813
My Best Buy number: 0571016813
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Good Product, Good Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Stumpman
from Wilmington, NC
on 04/07/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Surprisingly Quiet, Dependable, good price and available in the store
What's not so great: N/A
Ice Storms = Power Issues = 1 dead power supply. I needed to get up and running quickly. The local store had the Dynex. It had the right wattage, enough connectors and the price was competitive with online vendors. Plus I was able to drive down the road and pick it up. After installing the power supply I was surprised at how quiet it was. It was quieter than the original Rosewill that cost 2/3 more. It was a win-win.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
My Best Buy number: 0407700312
My Best Buy number: 0407700312
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

Works Great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Concreter012013
from Portland OR
on 03/30/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, serves the purpose
What's not so great: Average Quality
Installed in Minutes, worked great, until the motherboard went out. 520 watts works well enough for my wifes' constant Sims playing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
My Best Buy number: 0966395691
My Best Buy number: 0966395691
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply

easy install and good power

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PcGuy
from spartanburg, SC
on 03/29/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of installion.
The pc this was purchased is older and my power supply needed a little more power for the upgrades I have made over the years. This power supply gave me the boost I was looking for to supply two disk drives and video card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
My Best Buy number: 0742896756
My Best Buy number: 0742896756
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>