Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray

Power your computer with this power supply that features 520W of output power for enhanced performance and a 140mm low-noise cooling fan to help ensure efficient operation.
Overall rating:
4.319 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
90%of customers recommend this product. 
(
82 out of 91
)
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Review 1 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Great

on January 6, 2016
Posted by: Z3r0d4z3
Can't beat the price. 5 months later and still runs perfect. Desktop i5, 16gb ram, gtx 750 ti.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Used in a new PC build

on August 7, 2015
Posted by: 1tallM
I've used these power supplies in a few PC builds over the years. They have all been reliable and have included plenty of connectors for all my cards and internal devices.
My Best Buy number: 0212389207
My Best Buy number: 0212389207
Mobile Submission: True
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Powersupply replacement

on July 15, 2015
Posted by: Lhyla429
No problems installing! works perfectly out of the box
My Best Buy number: 3776191712
My Best Buy number: 3776191712
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Great powersupply

on July 4, 2015
Posted by: Newman
from Blacksburg, VA
Good balance of power provided and power used. Enough power for most video cards.
My Best Buy number: 2130411671
My Best Buy number: 2130411671
Mobile Submission: True
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

power supply 520

on April 11, 2015
Posted by: mk786
works well with any mid/full size tower. would defintely recommend this brand.
My Best Buy number: 2931990962
My Best Buy number: 2931990962
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Works great so far

on January 16, 2015
Posted by: Oldradioguy
from Annapolis, MD
This has worked fine so far in my multimedia quad-core system. The continuous output is less than 520 watts - that's the peak power. But it's super quiet, has lots of plugs, and the price was right.
My Best Buy number: 0745697404
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Good and cheap

on January 16, 2015
Posted by: someguy
You don't want to go too cheap on a PSU. This is kind of a sweet spot for a computer that is lightly used or just for everyday tasks.
My Best Buy number: 2750134707
My Best Buy number: 2750134707
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Has my computer working like new.

on December 31, 2014
Posted by: MareBear
Very pleased with my purchase. I would recommend it to anybody that has to replace their power supply.
My Best Buy number: 1050214003
My Best Buy number: 1050214003
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Not bad for a quick pickup

on December 29, 2014
Posted by: BenJ
We have had some computers go down at the office and needed a quick power supply and picked up a couple of these last minute. I think at least two of them have ended up going out a little over a year, but they definitely do the job for a cheap-o power supply.
My Best Buy number: 2366466537
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Wish it had an additional 4pin connector

on November 11, 2014
Posted by: freqency
Used this to replace an old power supply that went bad from just sitting around in a storage unit. I haven't kept up with the times and the machine uses all older eide drives so I could have used some additional 4pin connectors. This power supply just showed me it might be time to update before there are no legacy replacements left. The supply itself is well put together, the chord insulators on each connection are awesome and the fan is surprisingly quiet. A good buy.
My Best Buy number: 2674707490
My Best Buy number: 2674707490
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Quiet power at a great price.

on November 8, 2014
Posted by: OriginalShoNuff
from Upstate, NY
This unit replaces an Antec 380 watt unit that failed after about 10 years. It works properly and quietly. It provides a little more power than the basic system in which is is installed, but it's better to have too much than too little. The power supply was on sale or being closed out @ Best Buy for 24 dollars which was an excellent price.
My Best Buy number: 0311861468
My Best Buy number: 0311861468
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Great product for computer repairs

on November 4, 2014
Posted by: Computerfix
I thought that I would have to purchase another complete computer tower, but this replacement power supply part did the trick, for one-tenth the cost. The Best Buy Rep was very helpful to explain what was required & which product was best.
My Best Buy number: 0024824767
My Best Buy number: 0024824767
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Excellent low-cost PSU

on September 23, 2014
Posted by: Gooberwiper
from Beavercreek, OH
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
Bought to replace a factory Dell unit. Worked like a champ, extremely quiet.
My Best Buy number: 0420614580
My Best Buy number: 0420614580
What's great about it: Low cost, works great
What's not so great: Nothing (at least in my application)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5
Features
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Quality of power supply is average at best.

on August 13, 2014
Posted by: Pops1939
from Georgia
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
This purchase was a replacement for the same item which only lasted about 6 months. Item replaced under warranty.
My Best Buy number: 2128914894
My Best Buy number: 2128914894
What's great about it: Output is smooth.
What's not so great: Lifetime is short.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

a good starter

on July 29, 2014
Posted by: jt73
from marquette mi
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
bought to add to my list of parts of my gaming computer
My Best Buy number: 2817869092
My Best Buy number: 2817869092
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

does the job

on July 14, 2014
Posted by: nell
from las vegas
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
had to replace old power supply. this one works fine. no problems yet, easy to install. fair price.
My Best Buy number: 1038956413
My Best Buy number: 1038956413
What's great about it: easy to install, works
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Compatibility
4 out of 5
4
Features
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Installation
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Great buy

on July 4, 2014
Posted by: Lucky
from San Diego, CA
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
Great buy, easy to install and use and easy to explain use to newbies.
My Best Buy number: 2028236508
My Best Buy number: 2028236508
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5
Features
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2

returning

on June 23, 2014
Posted by: badbuy
from jax
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
after needing a quick psu replacement, i ran to bestbuy and picked up 520 dynex, the only one of the shelf. installed it easily and started it up. just minutes after running it i hear this noise that sounds like two objects or rubbing or a bad bearing. sound got worse, returning product asap. not to mention this product is 20 dollars cheaper online on other sites.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Value for Price
1 out of 5
1
Compatibility
4 out of 5
4
Features
3 out of 5
3
Ease of Installation
3 out of 5
3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

A good buy

on June 8, 2014
Posted by: Stuward
from Chesapeake, VA
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
I could have purchased online for a lower price and a higher watt rating, but I would have had to wait. The product seems to be well built and sturdy, and is working great in the machine it is in, but doesn't allow for a lot of upgrades to the computer if they draw too much power.
Still a good buy and I'm glad it was available.
My Best Buy number: 0955690011
My Best Buy number: 0955690011
What's great about it: It was available and I needed it right away.
What's not so great: It was the highest watt rating of the power supplies in the store. I would have liked a 650 watt but I needed it then.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
3 out of 5
3
Compatibility
4 out of 5
4
Features
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dynex™ - 520W ATX CPU Power Supply - Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Nice

on May 23, 2014
Posted by: ciscobigtruck
from Detroit, MI
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
Needed to upgrade one our workstations so we could replace the video card. Works great!
My Best Buy number: 2105006857
My Best Buy number: 2105006857
What's great about it: As advertised
What's not so great: None
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5
Features
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Installation
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Showing 1-20 of 91 results 
1 2 3 4 5 >>