Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Model: DX-42E250A12
SKU: 2928153
UPC: 600603142024
This Dynex™ 42" HDTV features 1080p high-definition resolution with 300 cd/m² brightness for vibrant images and two 7W speakers with simulated surround sound technology for immersive audio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.758 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 66 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
7
74% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
49 out of 66
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Two months and counting!!! Love the TV for the ...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Alexander2012
from New York
on 05/17/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Love the Picture and the price ...
What's not so great: features like: HDMI only 2, NO pc connection and sound is just OK
But overall, the LCD TV is really nice for the price for 399.00 + tax and a 4 years geek protection warranty .... I should hope this is a good buy. So far, my kids are happy playing their games in their WII console, etc. I've played some HD movies good picture quality, but the sound no so good. I decided to upgrade to a sound bar which is PERFECT for my needs.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Technically savvy viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Amazing Value for the Money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stumpgunner
from Northern VA
on 04/27/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, Sounds, Footprint
What's not so great: For the money? NOTHING
This is a $399 dollar television that absolutely rocks. The picture is indistinguishable from my $2,000 dollar Samsung and the speaker sound is actually better. I bought this TV for my bedroom and watch it almost every evening and have zero complaints. It's not a whiz-bang set by any stretch, but it's easily worth twice what I paid for it. CRYSTAL clear picture, very clear sound with lots of power to hear from 25 feet away, easy set up.
If you don't need the whiz-bang stuff and are just looking for a TV that delivers amazing picture and sound, this TV is for you.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control, amazing led picture for a tv at any price
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, loves stuff that just works
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

amazing tv for the price....1 day deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: silkysmooth
from plymouth,ma
on 04/25/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture and volume are fantastic. features are endless.
What's not so great: trouble getting the mute button to work. will look that up
The tv is everything I wanted and more. The picture is crystal clear and all the features this unit has are very easy to follow. I really got a great deal. Very happy.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... this tv is my sleeping medicine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Lorex - LIVE Snap Baby Monitoring System
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Internet content most enjoyed: just hooked up,haven't connected to the internet yet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Just the basics

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: KaraokeChris
from North Charleston, SC
on 04/20/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Clear picture, lightweight, easy setup
What's not so great: Glare/reflection on screen, missing some features I'm used to on an older tv
I bought this TV for my bedroom and originally planned to buy something smaller than the one in the living room. When I saw this was so inexpensive and a brand I trust (my 20" Dynex LCD has been dropped and beaten up in DJ setups for 2 years), I decided that my bedroom could use a better TV than the 2007 720p Samsung in the living room.
It's great for connecting the computer to watch web videos, and looks fine watching DirecTV. Unfortunately, there are a few drawbacks that I didn't expect since they aren't present on the Samsung. First, the glare and reflections from light in the room make it difficult to play some video games on it. Not a big deal, but a little annoying. Second, I keep trying different codes, but I can't get the DirecTV remote to change the input. It also treats both of the seperate "off" and "on" buttons as just "power."
Another annoying thing my older tv doesn't do... When cycling thru inputs, you have to pass all five of em. My older tv won't let you select an input if nothing is plugged into it, so it's faster to switch between them. Lastly, this is something that's becoming more common on all tvs, there's no analog audio output (not even headphones).
To sum up, I'm happy with the TV, but I'm also aware that I sacrificed a few things to get the cheapest 42" 1080p TV in the store.
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Will work better with HDMI cable & correct box

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: 2012TV
from Southwest, FL
on 04/20/2012
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good price, Can move it myself, Large cc letters
What's not so great: Sound could be a lot better. Not much control over volume.
I do not have High Def service on my satellite box. Hoping when it's connected properly the sound will be better. Would like to be able to change channels with the Dynex control. Nuisance to use 2 controls.
For a 42" TV, I think the sale price was reasonable.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, neighbor set it up for me
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Picture quality is good (not great).

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: king661
from Los Angeles, Ca.
on 04/18/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Speakers are louder than my Sony Bravia.
What's not so great: Picture quality is not what you would expect for an LED TV. But you get what you pay for.
I had to return the first one I bought because the power didn't work. The picture quality is ok but not what you would expect from an LED tv. For the size, it is an excellent value though ... Not enough HDMI connections!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Best $399 ever spent!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MayDG
from Clermont, FL
on 04/18/2012
What's great about it: Has the best picture!
What's not so great: Can't find anything we don't like.
We wanted a tv this size for a "sorta-outside" patio. We didn't want to spend a fortune, but we wanted LED. This was the best purchase we have made in a long time. We knew nothing about this brand, but we took a chance (There wasn't even one on display) It is only 1.5" thick, fits on the wall mount beautifully, and the speakers produce great sound. We are both so glad we did! Out of all the TVs in the house, this one has the BEST picture of them all.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great TV, easy to use!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drumhead99
from Illinois
on 04/18/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great clear sharp picture! GREAT PRICE!!!!
Awesome TV with a good price! Dynex has a good TV, the picture quality is very very good!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Sony - PlayStation 3 (160GB)
4.6 out of 5(185)
 
 
 
Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.5 out of 5(519)
 
 
 
Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - PlayStation 3
4.8 out of 5(85)
 
 
 
 
 
Internet Connectable?No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

picture is terrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: nicepaducahguy
from paducah, ky
on 04/16/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: it was the cheapest 42" lcd led
What's not so great: the picture is terrible, black is gray, people's faces fake looking
this dynex 42" LED LCD TV was the cheapest 42" they had.
when i connect to digital cable, it is very ugly. their are large gray pixels where it should be black areas while netflix movies.
when i hook up my security cameras the video looks too bright and even the picture adjustments will not correct the problem.
while watching the news, when its usually more high definition, the people's faces look almost like they are peach colored clay, and very fake. no matter what i do to the color enhancements, i can not fix the picture quality.
i am going to return this to bestbuy before my 30 days is up.
This product has... not as many connections as u would like
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Worked for 4 months only

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: moviezz123
from hickory,nc
on 04/15/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Worked 4 months without trouble
What's not so great: No service after one month
Bought 12-20-2012. Worked great until 4-15-2012. #0425-020-1867-122011,#42e250 Dynex @ $399.99. NOW it will not turn on. Geek Squad does not repair on site from Friday to Sunday, my ONLY days off. Didn't realize 4 month old TVs like this had to be thrown away if you don't spend the extra money for "Extended" warranty.
I purchased many hundreds of dollars worth of stuff at the same time as TV purchase and couldn't afford service plans for all items. That's where Best Buy screws you. Never get my business again.
This product has... Easy to set up
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

The picture and sound are perfect.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: XMXMXM
from Tampa
on 04/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
The TV works great. Only issue was the sales associate, who did and said anything to upsell me on a more expensive TV. She said they did not carry this TV, checked the computer, did not have any in stock. Told her that the Best Buy Web site shows and availbility at this store. She advised that you cannot believe that information. Getting ready to leave and all of a sudden they have one in stock. She took me over to the stock and their were many of these TVs right in front of the TV service desk. Good product but watch the sales game and pushy approach to the warranty.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Ok TV

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Shopper758
from Atlanta, GA
on 04/13/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Picture in HD
The first TV we picked up was defective. It would turn off by itself and then would go to the loud snowy screen I used to see when I didn't have cable and turned to a channel that did not exist. We exchanged it and it works fine now. Not the best TV we have in the house, but for the price, it works well for a bedroom TV. Would not use this TV for playing video games or in large rooms with out sound systems.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, Gamer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ksame
from fresno
on 04/13/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything.
worse tv. bad picture and sound. don't even think buying this tv. and another dissapointing about best buy fresno river park. they don't have nothing in stock. after returning this tv I asked the employe for diffrent tv he said it's discontinue and they still have it in the display. he wasn't friendly. there was other costumer asking about tv he said also it's out of stock. I don't recommend this best buy go the one in clovis. most the worker in river park best buy are not friendly. they don't help. finaly I went the one in clovis and they even match price with walmart. I will allways go the one in clovis.
This product has... junk
About me... Love to stream movies
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Abesolutely the best HDTV!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: robox1187
from Sacramento, CA
on 04/03/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Real LED-LCD picture and easy to use
What's not so great: It only have 1 component input, so I have to alternate my dvd/wii since they are not hdmi
So far, this is the 3rd Dynex I've purchased. I absolutely love this brand and its quality. Super easy to install and turn on. Real high quality picture. I don't have cable, so I only watch local tv and even then everything is awesome. The only downfall is that it only has 1 component connection, so I have to alternate it between my Wii and DVD player, since they are not hdmi, but other than that its amazing!
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

You get what you pay for.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Idaho Falls, ID
on 03/20/2012
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: the picture, the sound, the lack of connections, the quality.
I purchased this TV thinking it was a good value. WRONG! I got it home and turned it on, it had a dead pixel right out of the box. Also, the speakers are AWFUL. They make everything sound super flat and the 1080p looks like garbage even at the highest settings. I own 2 Samsungs and 1 vizio for my home and this Dynex doesn't even come close. It was going to be used primarily for my business. Glad I didn't let any of my client see it.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies, photographer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Awesome LED HD TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cybermax19
from Fl
on 03/15/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture and Price
What's not so great: Not A Thing..........
Great set for quality at an awesome price. Perfect picture, good sound, easy to set up and use. I highly recommend this set to friends and family. If you want to connect to the internet buy a blue ray player that does it for you and save alot of money.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Technically savvy viewer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great picture, but viewing angle is too narrow

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: backtomiami
from Ashburn, VA
on 03/10/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price, nice form factor
What's not so great: Small viewing angle
PROS
Picture was great, but only if you're sitting right in front of this TV. Form factor (black bezel) looks great for a minimalist setup. Fast moving images were not blurred or pixelated.
CONS
Picture becomes too bright and washed out when sitting off-center, sitting at the end of the couch.
OVERALL
I noticed other LCD TVs on the market with much wider viewing angles, so I returned this TV. Unless the only chair you sit in is a lazy boy planted right in front of the TV, I would consider other TVs.
This product has... Easy to set up, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Technically savvy viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great TV for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Customer8375
from Fairfield County, CT
on 03/08/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price, Picture Quality
What's not so great: Only 2 HDMI Ports, No VGA Ports, No optical audio out
This is the second Dynex TV that I have bought. The value you get with Dynex is great. The picture quality on this TV is amazing. When I bought this TV in December, it only cost me about half of what it is listed for now so make sure to wait for the sales. My only complaints are with inputs. It only has two HDMI inputs, no VGA input, and only coaxial digital out, not optical. If you have a computer, make sure it has HMDI output, but even then this TV does not have enough HDMI inputs.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, not enough connections, no vga input
About me... Technically savvy viewer, Casual viewer, Gamer, Love to stream movies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?No
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

OK TV for the price

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mes1957
from Montclair, NJ
on 03/08/2012
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Good Price
What's not so great: Sound is pretty bad, video quality is so-so.
I was looking for a 2nd TV for the big game without having to spend a lot of money. This was the cheapest. While the video quality is decent, the audio is not. I am planning on adding some speakers if I can.
This product has... Easy to set up, Easy to use remote control
About me... Casual viewer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Internet Connectable?No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

Great product for the money.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: walleyehunter
from Sioux falls, SD
on 03/08/2012
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Sound
This is a great buy for a limited budget. Lacks a little in sound but is adaquate for me.
This product has... Easy to set up, Great value and features for the price, Right number of connections, Easy to use remote control
About me... Sports enthusiast, Casual viewer, retired
I would recommend this to a friend!
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>