Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Best Buy
All Flat-Panel TVs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV

This Dynex™ 42" HDTV features 1080p high-definition resolution with 300 cd/m² brightness for vibrant images and two 7W speakers with simulated surround sound technology for immersive audio.
Overall rating:
3.758 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
8
1 Star
7
74%of customers recommend this product. 
(
49 out of 66
)
Customer reviews for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Review 1 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Two months and counting!!! Love the TV for the ...

on May 17, 2012
Posted by: Alexander2012
from New York
Internet Connectable?No
But overall, the LCD TV is really nice for the price for 399.00 + tax and a 4 years geek protection warranty .... I should hope this is a good buy. So far, my kids are happy playing their games in their WII console, etc. I've played some HD movies good picture quality, but the sound no so good. I decided to upgrade to a sound bar which is PERFECT for my needs.
What's great about it: Love the Picture and the price ...
What's not so great: features like: HDMI only 2, NO pc connection and sound is just OK
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4
Features
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Amazing Value for the Money

on April 27, 2012
Posted by: Stumpgunner
from Northern VA
Internet Connectable?No
This is a $399 dollar television that absolutely rocks. The picture is indistinguishable from my $2,000 dollar Samsung and the speaker sound is actually better. I bought this TV for my bedroom and watch it almost every evening and have zero complaints. It's not a whiz-bang set by any stretch, but it's easily worth twice what I paid for it. CRYSTAL clear picture, very clear sound with lots of power to hear from 25 feet away, easy set up.
If you don't need the whiz-bang stuff and are just looking for a TV that delivers amazing picture and sound, this TV is for you.
What's great about it: Picture, Sounds, Footprint
What's not so great: For the money? NOTHING
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5
Features
5 out of 5
5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

amazing tv for the price....1 day deal

on April 25, 2012
Posted by: silkysmooth
from plymouth,ma
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
The tv is everything I wanted and more. The picture is crystal clear and all the features this unit has are very easy to follow. I really got a great deal. Very happy.
Internet content most enjoyed: just hooked up,haven't connected to the internet yet
What's great about it: picture and volume are fantastic. features are endless.
What's not so great: trouble getting the mute button to work. will look that up
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Lorex - LIVE Snap Baby Monitoring System
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5
Features
5 out of 5
5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Just the basics

on April 20, 2012
Posted by: KaraokeChris
from North Charleston, SC
Internet Connectable?No
I bought this TV for my bedroom and originally planned to buy something smaller than the one in the living room. When I saw this was so inexpensive and a brand I trust (my 20" Dynex LCD has been dropped and beaten up in DJ setups for 2 years), I decided that my bedroom could use a better TV than the 2007 720p Samsung in the living room.
It's great for connecting the computer to watch web videos, and looks fine watching DirecTV. Unfortunately, there are a few drawbacks that I didn't expect since they aren't present on the Samsung. First, the glare and reflections from light in the room make it difficult to play some video games on it. Not a big deal, but a little annoying. Second, I keep trying different codes, but I can't get the DirecTV remote to change the input. It also treats both of the seperate "off" and "on" buttons as just "power."
Another annoying thing my older tv doesn't do... When cycling thru inputs, you have to pass all five of em. My older tv won't let you select an input if nothing is plugged into it, so it's faster to switch between them. Lastly, this is something that's becoming more common on all tvs, there's no analog audio output (not even headphones).
To sum up, I'm happy with the TV, but I'm also aware that I sacrificed a few things to get the cheapest 42" 1080p TV in the store.
What's great about it: Clear picture, lightweight, easy setup
What's not so great: Glare/reflection on screen, missing some features I'm used to on an older tv
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4
Features
3 out of 5
3
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Will work better with HDMI cable & correct box

on April 20, 2012
Posted by: 2012TV
from Southwest, FL
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
I do not have High Def service on my satellite box. Hoping when it's connected properly the sound will be better. Would like to be able to change channels with the Dynex control. Nuisance to use 2 controls.
For a 42" TV, I think the sale price was reasonable.
What's great about it: Good price, Can move it myself, Large cc letters
What's not so great: Sound could be a lot better. Not much control over volume.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2
Features
4 out of 5
4
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Picture quality is good (not great).

on April 18, 2012
Posted by: king661
from Los Angeles, Ca.
Internet Connectable?No
I had to return the first one I bought because the power didn't work. The picture quality is ok but not what you would expect from an LED tv. For the size, it is an excellent value though ... Not enough HDMI connections!
What's great about it: Speakers are louder than my Sony Bravia.
What's not so great: Picture quality is not what you would expect for an LED TV. But you get what you pay for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4
Features
2 out of 5
2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Best $399 ever spent!

on April 18, 2012
Posted by: MayDG
from Clermont, FL
Internet Connectable?No
We wanted a tv this size for a "sorta-outside" patio. We didn't want to spend a fortune, but we wanted LED. This was the best purchase we have made in a long time. We knew nothing about this brand, but we took a chance (There wasn't even one on display) It is only 1.5" thick, fits on the wall mount beautifully, and the speakers produce great sound. We are both so glad we did! Out of all the TVs in the house, this one has the BEST picture of them all.
What's great about it: Has the best picture!
What's not so great: Can't find anything we don't like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Great TV, easy to use!

on April 18, 2012
Posted by: drumhead99
from Illinois
Internet Connectable?No
Awesome TV with a good price! Dynex has a good TV, the picture quality is very very good!
What's great about it: Great clear sharp picture! GREAT PRICE!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Sony - PlayStation 3 (160GB)
4.6 out of 5(193)
 
 
 
Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.5 out of 5(521)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4
Features
4 out of 5
4
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

picture is terrible

on April 16, 2012
Posted by: nicepaducahguy
from paducah, ky
Internet Connectable?No
this dynex 42" LED LCD TV was the cheapest 42" they had.
when i connect to digital cable, it is very ugly. their are large gray pixels where it should be black areas while netflix movies.
when i hook up my security cameras the video looks too bright and even the picture adjustments will not correct the problem.
while watching the news, when its usually more high definition, the people's faces look almost like they are peach colored clay, and very fake. no matter what i do to the color enhancements, i can not fix the picture quality.
i am going to return this to bestbuy before my 30 days is up.
What's great about it: it was the cheapest 42" lcd led
What's not so great: the picture is terrible, black is gray, people's faces fake looking
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2
Features
1 out of 5
1
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

Worked for 4 months only

on April 15, 2012
Posted by: moviezz123
from hickory,nc
Internet Connectable?Yes
Connected to the Internet:No
Bought 12-20-2012. Worked great until 4-15-2012. #0425-020-1867-122011,#42e250 Dynex @ $399.99. NOW it will not turn on. Geek Squad does not repair on site from Friday to Sunday, my ONLY days off. Didn't realize 4 month old TVs like this had to be thrown away if you don't spend the extra money for "Extended" warranty.
I purchased many hundreds of dollars worth of stuff at the same time as TV purchase and couldn't afford service plans for all items. That's where Best Buy screws you. Never get my business again.
What's great about it: Worked 4 months without trouble
What's not so great: No service after one month
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1
Features
1 out of 5
1
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

The picture and sound are perfect.

on April 15, 2012
Posted by: XMXMXM
from Tampa
Internet Connectable?No
The TV works great. Only issue was the sales associate, who did and said anything to upsell me on a more expensive TV. She said they did not carry this TV, checked the computer, did not have any in stock. Told her that the Best Buy Web site shows and availbility at this store. She advised that you cannot believe that information. Getting ready to leave and all of a sudden they have one in stock. She took me over to the stock and their were many of these TVs right in front of the TV service desk. Good product but watch the sales game and pushy approach to the warranty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5
Features
5 out of 5
5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Ok TV

on April 13, 2012
Posted by: Shopper758
from Atlanta, GA
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
The first TV we picked up was defective. It would turn off by itself and then would go to the loud snowy screen I used to see when I didn't have cable and turned to a channel that did not exist. We exchanged it and it works fine now. Not the best TV we have in the house, but for the price, it works well for a bedroom TV. Would not use this TV for playing video games or in large rooms with out sound systems.
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Picture in HD
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3
Features
3 out of 5
3
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

junk

on April 13, 2012
Posted by: ksame
from fresno
Internet Connectable?No
worse tv. bad picture and sound. don't even think buying this tv. and another dissapointing about best buy fresno river park. they don't have nothing in stock. after returning this tv I asked the employe for diffrent tv he said it's discontinue and they still have it in the display. he wasn't friendly. there was other costumer asking about tv he said also it's out of stock. I don't recommend this best buy go the one in clovis. most the worker in river park best buy are not friendly. they don't help. finaly I went the one in clovis and they even match price with walmart. I will allways go the one in clovis.
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1
Features
1 out of 5
1
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Abesolutely the best HDTV!

on April 3, 2012
Posted by: robox1187
from Sacramento, CA
Internet Connectable?No
So far, this is the 3rd Dynex I've purchased. I absolutely love this brand and its quality. Super easy to install and turn on. Real high quality picture. I don't have cable, so I only watch local tv and even then everything is awesome. The only downfall is that it only has 1 component connection, so I have to alternate it between my Wii and DVD player, since they are not hdmi, but other than that its amazing!
What's great about it: Real LED-LCD picture and easy to use
What's not so great: It only have 1 component input, so I have to alternate my dvd/wii since they are not hdmi
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5
Features
5 out of 5
5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2

You get what you pay for.

on March 20, 2012
Posted by: Anonymous
from Idaho Falls, ID
Internet Connectable?No
I purchased this TV thinking it was a good value. WRONG! I got it home and turned it on, it had a dead pixel right out of the box. Also, the speakers are AWFUL. They make everything sound super flat and the 1080p looks like garbage even at the highest settings. I own 2 Samsungs and 1 vizio for my home and this Dynex doesn't even come close. It was going to be used primarily for my business. Glad I didn't let any of my client see it.
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: the picture, the sound, the lack of connections, the quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1
Features
3 out of 5
3
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Awesome LED HD TV

on March 15, 2012
Posted by: Cybermax19
from Fl
Internet Connectable?No
Great set for quality at an awesome price. Perfect picture, good sound, easy to set up and use. I highly recommend this set to friends and family. If you want to connect to the internet buy a blue ray player that does it for you and save alot of money.
What's great about it: Picture and Price
What's not so great: Not A Thing..........
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5
Features
5 out of 5
5
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Great picture, but viewing angle is too narrow

on March 10, 2012
Posted by: backtomiami
from Ashburn, VA
Internet Connectable?No
PROS
Picture was great, but only if you're sitting right in front of this TV. Form factor (black bezel) looks great for a minimalist setup. Fast moving images were not blurred or pixelated.
CONS
Picture becomes too bright and washed out when sitting off-center, sitting at the end of the couch.
OVERALL
I noticed other LCD TVs on the market with much wider viewing angles, so I returned this TV. Unless the only chair you sit in is a lazy boy planted right in front of the TV, I would consider other TVs.
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good price, nice form factor
What's not so great: Small viewing angle
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3
Features
4 out of 5
4
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Great TV for the price

on March 8, 2012
Posted by: Customer8375
from Fairfield County, CT
Internet Connectable?No
This is the second Dynex TV that I have bought. The value you get with Dynex is great. The picture quality on this TV is amazing. When I bought this TV in December, it only cost me about half of what it is listed for now so make sure to wait for the sales. My only complaints are with inputs. It only has two HDMI inputs, no VGA input, and only coaxial digital out, not optical. If you have a computer, make sure it has HMDI output, but even then this TV does not have enough HDMI inputs.
What's great about it: Price, Picture Quality
What's not so great: Only 2 HDMI Ports, No VGA Ports, No optical audio out
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3
Features
2 out of 5
2
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2

OK TV for the price

on March 8, 2012
Posted by: mes1957
from Montclair, NJ
Internet Connectable?No
I was looking for a 2nd TV for the big game without having to spend a lot of money. This was the cheapest. While the video quality is decent, the audio is not. I am planning on adding some speakers if I can.
What's great about it: Good Price
What's not so great: Sound is pretty bad, video quality is so-so.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1
Features
2 out of 5
2
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex™ 42" Class - LED - 1080p - 60Hz - HDTV
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Great product for the money.

on March 8, 2012
Posted by: walleyehunter
from Sioux falls, SD
Internet Connectable?Don't Know
This is a great buy for a limited budget. Lacks a little in sound but is adaquate for me.
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3
Features
3 out of 5
3
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Showing 1-20 of 66 results 
1 2 3 4 >>