Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Model: RF-HD25
SKU: 8330237
UPC: 600603112669
Turn your old internal hard drive into an external hard drive with this enclosure kit designed to accommodate a 2.5" PATA/EIDE hard drive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
87% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
13 out of 15
)
Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure
Review 1 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Perhaps one of the best products to keep quality.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TRI0N
from Morro Bay, CA
on 07/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Design. Its beyond anything out there with the cheap plastic mumbo.
What's not so great: Can't find anything wrong. It does what its designed to do.
This product is easy. If you're a pro, you shouldn't even need to look at anything. Novice: Grab the back end of the unit where the USB to IDE/PATA Bridge is and lift it up. It has a self-explanitory easy connection diagram under the bottom base (red) mounting plate. ;P
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Great 2.5" HD Enclosure

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Preacherboy03
from Coronado, CA
on 06/20/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, Great cooling system
What's not so great: It requires 2 USB ports to power HD, firewire is much faster than USB 2.0
This is a great device for what it's worth. I absolutely recommend this enclosure for those seeking to add addition HD space to their PC, Laptop or Network. However, there are two draw-backs to this rocketfish enclosure (1) it requires the addition power source. So one USB port is insufficient to utilize the HD and enclosure. (2) I would prefer a firewire connection for data transfer over USB.
Great setup, it's quick and easy. The drive was up within a matter of minutes as soon as I figured out that I need to utilize the addition power source. I've been transferring data for the past 1 hour and the drive is cool! Amazing cooling system (without fan).
Highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

good hardware bad software

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bsmenot
from tulssa
on 03/12/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: simple solution to a crashed laptop
What's not so great: back on track software does not work on vista!
This is a cool solution to a crashed laptop. simply drop in the hard drive and usb to another work station to recover/move files.
Don't even bother to attempt the roxio back on track software that is provided. simply locks up/displays error codes for which there is no support from Roxio. Do not plan on using the software provided but it is not needed if just want to re-cover or move files.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Fantastic Results

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jonathon59
from Watertown, WI
on 01/07/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Set-Up is a bit confusing at first when you don't like to read instruction manuals. Worked Well for us!
We began to receive corrupt files Windows messages when attempting to start up a critical laptop unit that had not yet been backed up.
The last time that this happened, I took the laptop (another unit) to a local computer store for them to attempt to retrieve data from the hard drive. I was told that they couldn't find any data and when I got the machine back from them, it was in far worse shape then when I gave it to them and it cost me $100.
When the 2nd unit failed I called Best Buy, spoke with a member of the Geek Squad and was told about ths enclosure. I purchased one that day, was able to get the damaged hard drive in it and was able to see it, along with all of the data using the Explore functionality on my laptop. I was able to move all of the essential data to another device - day saved! I was even able to move program files with ease. I am now going to purchase the larger unit to use in our computer lab when our desktop units die. It's sure going to beat having to reload everything from scratch! I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a fanastic tool for their IT Toolkit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: momont1986
from Moscow, Id
on 10/18/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to install, portable, easy to use
What's not so great: None right now
I really enjoy having this external hard drive case. I mainly use it for documents and backing up my files.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Easy & Awesome!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: robertho
on 09/18/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup
What's not so great: None
I bought this for a friend who had an laptop that died and she wanted the pictures and documents off the hard drive. It literally took me less than 5 minutes to install the drive and retrieve the data! The case is a very stylish and sturdy aluminum with built-in cooling fins. All the necessary cables, tools , software and instructions are included.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

i have the coolest looking hdd on the block

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ninjarella
from cerritos
on 08/07/2008
What's great about it: if looks could kill,price is good,STURDY built(all metal)
What's not so great: might sound stupid but BLUE led is too bright.
ok,so it uses allen screws,it adds to the style and it comes with the tool,screws just wouldnt have looked right.AND it comes with a case.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Great notebook drive enclosure!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HomeTheatreJunkie
from New Port Richey, Fl
on 06/30/2008
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Small, good looking, no extra power supply!
What's not so great: Not a quick change enclosure.
It comes with everything you need to get up and running. Just follow the instructions and you will have it together in a few minutes.
I upgraded my notebook hard drive and needed to get my old files onto the new drive, this worked flawlessly. The bonus is that after transfering all my files I re-formatted the old drive and now I have a great compact, portable, external hard drive for backups. It doesn't need a separate power supply either, it uses a dual plug USB cable to get all the power it needs. I like it better than my old external hard drive because it is much more compact and since it doesn't need any other power source, I can run backups anywhere, anytime.
This thing looks great too, the online picture doesn't do it justice. It has black front and back panels with red anodized aluminum cooling fins (that multi-task as finger grips), a blue activity light, and a one touch backup button. It comes with a carrying case that holds everything you need: drive enclosure, USB cable, even a cleaning cloth.
Now then, the one possible downside is that the case is not designed for quick changing of drives. So I wouldn't recommend this kit if that is what you want to do with it. The enclosure is built well and seems to be sturdy. It is assembled with allen screws and padding so the drive doesn't rattle around inside. So if you are upgrading your notebook hard drive and want to get a little more life out of your old drive or if you just want a great looking, convenient, cool enclosure for a new backup drive this is a perfect kit for you.
I would buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

disappointing

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: janet1120
on 03/25/2008
This product only works, if your computer was not password protected, otherwise you will not be able to retrieve your information.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Pretty good case

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: twinkie57
from Chicago IL
on 03/11/2008
What's great about it: No external power is needed; that was a suprise. Really small for travel and multi-use hard drives.
What's not so great: Case is complex (sort of); Allen wrench screws are not fun and never will be!
I work in the IT field and I have notebook hard drives come in all the time, so this is nice and small to have to just plug a hard drive into it and be able to get the data off quickly, especially when you dont need an AC adapter to plug into it also.
The case is kind of confusing, but for my situation I will probably never use the rest of the case, I will only use the bottom part of it and that is not confusing at all.
There is a blue LED light on it and if you look into it you will be blinded for a few moments, I am not sure why they want this so bright?
All in all though it is a nice little device to have and it has saved a ton of work for me and the other members of our service department.
The pricing could be a little cheaper also, but my company paid for it and it looked better than the Dynex one they had in the store for $15 cheaper.
No complaints here about the functionality of it though; it is a nice little device and I hope to use it for years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Price has increased

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Speargun
from Ocala, FL
on 12/14/2007
What's great about it: Lightweight portable included case & cables
What's not so great: Price
I bought this 10-9-07 for $29.99. Now, 12-14-07 it's priced at $51.99!!
Other than the price, I would highly recommend the Rocketfish external drive case. I was going to buy another, but $52 is just too much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

OK quality, Too expensive

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: jcims
from Marysville, OH
on 10/23/2007
What's great about it: Looks good, full documentation
What's not so great: Too expensive, missed design opportunities
Arguing about the price for this product is like arguing about the price of a ride in the ambulance. When you need it you pay for it. Unfortunately, it appears to be functionally equivalent to other models that can be had for half the price.
It does what it says it does, and looks good doing it, so no disappointments there. It includes the required allen wrench to disassemble, but thumbscrews would have been 100% more practical. The drive fits snugly and doesn't rattle, but the padding included to keep it all snug is a little cheap.
If you can get it for $25 or less, and don't anticipate swapping drives frequently, it's a good deal. Unfortunately I paid twice that and have two drives that need recovered, so I'm fairly disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Excellent Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: lawhun
from Sunbury, OH
on 10/10/2007
What's great about it: Simple to install existing hard drive into it, easy instructions and fast setup time.
What's not so great: Packaging
The product was easy to follow the included instructions and I had my laptop hard drive in the enclosure within a couple of minutes. XP recogizes the device and all is good to go. I had a new drive letter and access to the old laptop drive within minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Good item

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MJMJ
on 09/10/2007
Worked as advertised. Made our old and marginally good hard drive a back up, at least long enough to get the old data off of it. Putting a new hard drive in it, and then we will back up everything all the time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rocketfish™ 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure

Amazing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Esoterin
from Spokane, WA
on 08/26/2007
I have used many external enclosures, and this is one of the best, much better than enclosures twice this price. It is Vista compatible, it is VERY sturdy, good power cable, and Keeps my HD at a very cool temperature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.