Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Shred unnecessary papers or old credit cards with this cross-cut shredder that can shred up to 5 sheets of paper at a time.
Overall rating:
3.647 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 102 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
17
76%of customers recommend this product. 
(
78 out of 102
)
Customer reviews for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Review 1 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Worked great for a year now with little problems!

on August 10, 2015
Posted by: Seijin2008
Had for a year now and still shreds paper fine. Shredder lightly sits in it's 'trash can'. This results in a big mess if tipped over due to it's high center of gravity, but shreds great none-the-less.
My Best Buy number: 0572728203
My Best Buy number: 0572728203
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/

on August 5, 2015
Posted by: MrsLc
Works well and gets the job done. Easy to operate.
My Best Buy number: 2859264039
My Best Buy number: 2859264039
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

small compact

on July 15, 2014
Posted by: Meto
from LA CA
The price I paid is to much for a black waste basket.
I wanted a daily working shredder not a intermittent one.
My Best Buy number: 228245467
What's great about it: The days the Shredder choose to work
What's not so great: The Shredder works when it want to not when i need it to work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Value for Price
1 out of 5
1
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Modest priced shredder good for home use.

on June 21, 2014
Posted by: charlevoix
from mequon, wi
For the price, this shredder has performed as expected. It is a bit noisier than other brands (e.g., Fellowes) previously used and the opaque basket does not allow external viewing of shred capacity. The cutter is a bit cumbersome for smaller hands to remove from basket as compared to other shredders used in the past.
Although it is labeled as 'crosscut' it is a straight cut. While it doesn't influence my satisfaction, it seems to be a mis-representation.
My Best Buy number: 2594936932
My Best Buy number: 2594936932
What's great about it: Allows inadvertent staple.
What's not so great: Cutter a bit clunky to remove from basket.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3
Reliability
3 out of 5
3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Very good for price

on June 8, 2014
Posted by: zyn1
from BR, LA
Has enough power to shed heavy paper. Also, it's good at shredding credit cards.
My Best Buy number: 2656742006
My Best Buy number: 2656742006
What's great about it: Strong shreding mechanism
What's not so great: Does not hold much shredded paper
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4
Reliability
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2

Not a good shredder

on May 31, 2014
Posted by: champ1948
from Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Returned to store. Was not at all what I wanted. I thought it would cut paper smaller than what it does. Not good security for your paper work.
My Best Buy number: 2691747417
My Best Buy number: 2691747417
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: hard to use
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Value for Price
3 out of 5
3
Effectiveness
2 out of 5
2
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2
Reliability
2 out of 5
2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Shreds more quietly than most.

on April 4, 2014
Posted by: frozenman
from Edison, NJ
All things considered, it does a good job. Easy to use.
My Best Buy number: 2024630300
My Best Buy number: 2024630300
What's great about it: Good price runs smoothly
What's not so great: I thought the bucket would be bigger
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

works well

on March 27, 2014
Posted by: louie
from priorlakemn
I have worked with this printer for a week and I have gotten alot of work done from past years. I have much paper to shred from 7 years back that I keep for income taxes. I keep it in a corner of the kitchen so it is handy when I bring in the mail I can take care of the junk mail right away.
My Best Buy number: 2344746811
My Best Buy number: 2344746811
What's great about it: does a good job
What's not so great: makes more paper
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4
Reliability
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

The shredder works well.

on March 8, 2014
Posted by: POETWRITER
from State College, PA
THE SHREDDER WORKS WELL, SHREDDING PAPER AND CARDS EFFICIENTLY.
My Best Buy number: 1015499261
My Best Buy number: 1015499261
What's great about it: iT DOES WHAT IT'S SUPPOSED TO DO
What's not so great: NOTHING
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

good scanner..works well

on March 7, 2014
Posted by: atwtfangh
from rochester, mi
Its a good scanner, and it scans a good amount of paper at a time.
My Best Buy number: 0091612212
My Best Buy number: 0091612212
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Great!

on March 3, 2014
Posted by: jnc1004
from Orange, CA
We were cleaning house and going through the filing drawers and needed a shredder. This shredder worked perfectly! We didn't need anything big and fancy; this shredder is great for those documents that ever once in a while you have and need to shred! It's nice and sharp, works very well, we have no complaints.
My Best Buy number: 0570570033
My Best Buy number: 0570570033
What's great about it: Easy to use, effective
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Great little shredder

on March 2, 2014
Posted by: Jesterstone
from VA
Overall this is a great personal shredder, you would not want to use this as a business shredder.
My Best Buy number: 1013948464
My Best Buy number: 1013948464
What's great about it: Very compact
What's not so great: Cannot take multiple sheets
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

No problems yet

on February 28, 2014
Posted by: thundreberd
from Richmond, IN
Seems to shred 2 or 3 papers just fine. Got a great deal so for the money it's working out fine. Just would prefer a metal catch can instead of plastic. ( makes it a little top heavy.)
My Best Buy number: 2678612776
My Best Buy number: 2678612776
What's great about it: Got it on deal of the day. Big discount
What's not so great: Plastic catch can
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4
Reliability
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

good shredder for home use

on February 28, 2014
Posted by: AbbyNk
from montclair, nj
Its very easy to use and the price is good for it.
My Best Buy number: 1037018105
My Best Buy number: 1037018105
What's great about it: simple and easy to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Good cross cutter

on February 21, 2014
Posted by: jkb3122
from Des Moines, IA
I purchased one of these for my father whose shredder completely quit. When I observed the operation and speed it shredded, I got one for myself. This is a great cross cut shredder for home use. It is quick and will easily do up to four sheets How many sheets it will do depends on the thickness of the sheets.. It does not overheat doing many shreds back to back. The shred is a bit larger than some, but I am satisfied with the size. For the price, I think it is a great product. It will also shred plastic cards. If a staple is in the paper it does not jam or balk although I try to remove staples before shredding.
What's great about it: quick
What's not so great: fairly large cuts
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

great product

on February 18, 2014
Posted by: express78
from edinburg, texas
have no problem tears up credit cards too and its quick
My Best Buy number: 0950050568
My Best Buy number: 0950050568
What's great about it: fast
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

A great shredder

on February 16, 2014
Posted by: Dalerob
from Jackson,tn.
I purchased this shredder to replace the one I had. It does a lot better job than the one I had.
What's great about it: Shreds paper real easy. Real good price
What's not so great: Nothing. I like everything about it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

noisy, but does the job

on February 15, 2014
Posted by: 2012pete
from boston
bought this for my wife, Works fine as long as anyone does not overload it, trashes the old bills fine.
My Best Buy number: 2377392597
My Best Buy number: 2377392597
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: bit noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Easy shredder to use

on February 15, 2014
Posted by: JB25
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
A great little shredder for home use. Does not take up a lot
Of space and shreds quickly. Does a good job for the money.
My Best Buy number: 2172789059
What's great about it: Easy set up, easy use. Small, doesn't take up much space
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - 5-sheet Cross-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Good shredder for price

on February 14, 2014
Posted by: NewRetiree2013
from Worcester, MA
This shredder was purchased for personal use. I have not had any issues - works great - even shredded credit card with no problems! Very happy with this shredder and would recommend for home use. Great price too.
My Best Buy number: 2718700647
My Best Buy number: 2718700647
What's great about it: Works great - even shreds credit cards!
What's not so great: Noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Showing 1-20 of 102 results 
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>