Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Model: DX-PS08DC09
SKU: 9168278
UPC: 600603122637
Guard your personal information with this shredder that diamond-cuts documents or credit cards to protect against identity theft.
Average Customer Rating:
3.053 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 38 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
58% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
22 out of 38
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Review 1 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

It would be alright if didnt break down so much.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TeenytinyTara2
from Arizona
on 08/04/2013
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Effectiveness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Not to much.
What's not so great: It is very loud,and sometimes doesnt know when to shred.
I wasn't to thrilled with this product. I should have upgraded to something more substantial and better quality. When you by cheaper products this is what happens when you are cheap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 1048647806
My Best Buy number: 1048647806
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Great Shredder ~ Love it!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LivingWater
from Mansfield, PA
on 08/02/2013
What's great about it: It shreds completely; nothing gets stuck in the teeth.
This shredder shreds papers to a small diamond shaped confetti. Private information is shredded beyond recognition. Since it shreds to such a small size, the confetti falls to the bottom of the can without springing up and getting stuck in the teeth of the shredder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0907171353
My Best Buy number: 0907171353
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Noisy!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: lmgutierrez
from Bridgeport, CT
on 06/28/2013
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Effectiveness
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Shred up to four or five pages at once.
What's not so great: Sounds like you just started your lawmower.
The product definetly does as promised but is super loud.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Good for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BusierDad
from Buffalo, NY
on 06/22/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Effectiveness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: turn on it on and feed it in
What's not so great: plastic basket
Worked great of the box. When the basket got close to full I pushed the shredded paper down to get the last few sheets left to fit. The paper pushed the back of the plastic basket out. This caused the safety contact to open and the shredder wouldn't work. It took a few minutes to figure out the problem and now it works again. Just don't try to compress the shredded paper to try to get more in. I guess a metal basket would solve this but then the price would probably have to go up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2579856910
My Best Buy number: 2579856910
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

That is nice

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lookaway
from Newport News, VA
on 05/03/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Effectiveness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing
This product is very nice and easy to use. I love this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Wish it would cut smaller.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: december50
from Poteet,TX
on 04/20/2013
This paper shredder does not cut the paper into as small of pieces as I would like. Some things might still be readable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2854966563
My Best Buy number: 2854966563
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Shredder was DOA

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: aggrocrag
from Spokane, WA
on 04/19/2013
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Effectiveness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: couldn't tell you
What's not so great: never turned on
Had this shredder shipped to my home, opened it up, plugged it in and got nothing. The light wouldn't even illuminate. Returned to store where BB employee said she's seen a few others returned with the same issue. Buy at your own risk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0964471205
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Absolutely not worth the trouble.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 04/04/2013
This machine is no good! Before it broke with very light use; it would only shred a very minimal amount of sheets unlike its advertisement. Store was no help on replacing the machine and the parts store-- a best buy company, says they do not offer replacement parts for this model even though they continue to sell these machines as of this posting. The plastic gears on the inside of this shredder are cheap and will break and/or strip out shortly after any warranty period.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

good bang for the buck

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pdireland
from Washington
on 03/22/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Effectiveness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: does what I need a paper shredder to do, plus some
What's not so great: so far nothing
Aside from bogging down slightly on credit cards and CDs it works great. Frankly I didn't buy it to eat credit cards and Cd's, but rather for the shredding of financial documents.
It's been about 2 months since our last paper shredder died and this chewed through the desk-engulfing backlog in about an hour, without jamming once.
I'll admit, I did get lazy a few times toward the end, and stuffed unopened envelopes into it as well, easily exceeding it's posted sheet limit. It bogged down when I did that, but still plowed on, didn't jam or clog one time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Shredder does what I need it to do

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: weltmoney
from KY
on 03/15/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Effectiveness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, good price
This shredder does exactly what I need it to do. It was easy to set up and use right from the start. It has no trouble with 6-8 pages nor has it had any trouble with any credit cards or CDs. I would recommend it for home use
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Shredder has been good so far.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Freshman1
from Charlotte, NC
on 02/08/2013
What's great about it: Does the job.
What's not so great: Cut off just once since I've had it.
I really have no complaints so far of this shredder. I had years of accumulated mail that needed shredding and it got the job done. Only once did it over heat and had shut down, but it's obvious why it did so. I was woroing that shredder nonstop. I let it sit for about 30 minutes to continue on. Worth the monies paid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

great shredder

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: spookywoman
from springfield
on 01/30/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Effectiveness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: does cross cutting
What's not so great: color
love it-my shredder does it all-cd's,credit cards, cross cut-very happy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

EZ to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: frogfamily2
from santa rosa, ca
on 01/29/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Effectiveness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick, efficient, can fit lots of paper in at once, shreds fine
I'm very happy with this product. It was a great price for the unit. It's efficient, so ez to use, and does a great job. It's just the right size. Plus, I got free delivery for this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

It does what I need it to do.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: justjen1234
from janesville
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Effectiveness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up.
*** It shreds my paper! :-) It's not to noisy. ***
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Good shredder for home use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pop47
from South Louisiana
on 01/25/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Effectiveness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Setup was easy
What's not so great: noisy
I use this for shredding unwanted mail and think the shredded pieces could be smaller
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

very good for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 4by4now16
from Phoenix,AZ
on 01/19/2013
What's great about it: easy to use,light weight.
What's not so great: no problems
light weight, easy to empty and cuts up 8 sheets at a time. turns self off and low noise level .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

excellent product for the $

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: labish
from florida
on 01/19/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Effectiveness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reliability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: always works well with ease
What's not so great: nothing
can't go wrong with this shredder. worth the preice
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Pretty good shredder

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ShredderGuy
from Columbus, OH
on 01/15/2013
It shreds good and I'd buy another shredder just like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Good while working

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Elena123
from PA
on 12/14/2012
What's not so great: PAper get stuck
The shredder stop working after 6 months of ownership, I just shred regular mail, nothing heavy. First it started with a weird noise on the motor, and then suddenly stop working, I can hear the motor running, but it doesn't shred anymore. Also, the paper get stuck on the blades very often, I never put more than 3 pages at a time.
I think is better buy a better shred than buy this cheap one, it will be more expensive on the long run.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Terrible Shredder

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KansasPr
on 12/06/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Effectiveness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reliability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Easy to understand
What's not so great: Everything else
This shredder was a waste of my money, I just wish I had used it more in the first 30 days.. As said before, if you don't put in the paper just right, it tends to jam easily, with paper between the teeth. After shredding about 200 pages, it just clogged up so badly that the teeth bent. After that it was worthless. I now am looking for a replacement and was surprised to see it still for sale. Stay away from this shredder, it's very unreliable, you may just be back getting a replacement or money back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>