Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Best Buy
Shredders or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver

Guard your personal information with this shredder that diamond-cuts documents or credit cards to protect against identity theft.
Overall rating:
3.053 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
11
58%of customers recommend this product. 
(
22 out of 38
)
Customer reviews for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Review 1 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

It would be alright if didnt break down so much.

on August 4, 2013
Posted by: TeenytinyTara2
from Arizona
I wasn't to thrilled with this product. I should have upgraded to something more substantial and better quality. When you by cheaper products this is what happens when you are cheap.
My Best Buy number: 1048647806
My Best Buy number: 1048647806
What's great about it: Not to much.
What's not so great: It is very loud,and sometimes doesnt know when to shred.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Value for Price
2 out of 5
2
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1
Reliability
1 out of 5
1
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Great Shredder ~ Love it!

on August 2, 2013
Posted by: LivingWater
from Mansfield, PA
This shredder shreds papers to a small diamond shaped confetti. Private information is shredded beyond recognition. Since it shreds to such a small size, the confetti falls to the bottom of the can without springing up and getting stuck in the teeth of the shredder.
My Best Buy number: 0907171353
My Best Buy number: 0907171353
What's great about it: It shreds completely; nothing gets stuck in the teeth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Noisy!

on June 28, 2013
Posted by: lmgutierrez
from Bridgeport, CT
The product definetly does as promised but is super loud.
What's great about it: Shred up to four or five pages at once.
What's not so great: Sounds like you just started your lawmower.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Value for Price
3 out of 5
3
Effectiveness
3 out of 5
3
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4
Reliability
4 out of 5
4
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Good for the price

on June 22, 2013
Posted by: BusierDad
from Buffalo, NY
Worked great of the box. When the basket got close to full I pushed the shredded paper down to get the last few sheets left to fit. The paper pushed the back of the plastic basket out. This caused the safety contact to open and the shredder wouldn't work. It took a few minutes to figure out the problem and now it works again. Just don't try to compress the shredded paper to try to get more in. I guess a metal basket would solve this but then the price would probably have to go up.
My Best Buy number: 2579856910
My Best Buy number: 2579856910
What's great about it: turn on it on and feed it in
What's not so great: plastic basket
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3
Reliability
3 out of 5
3
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

That is nice

on May 3, 2013
Posted by: Lookaway
from Newport News, VA
This product is very nice and easy to use. I love this product
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Wish it would cut smaller.

on April 20, 2013
Posted by: december50
from Poteet,TX
This paper shredder does not cut the paper into as small of pieces as I would like. Some things might still be readable.
My Best Buy number: 2854966563
My Best Buy number: 2854966563
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

Shredder was DOA

on April 19, 2013
Posted by: aggrocrag
from Spokane, WA
Had this shredder shipped to my home, opened it up, plugged it in and got nothing. The light wouldn't even illuminate. Returned to store where BB employee said she's seen a few others returned with the same issue. Buy at your own risk.
My Best Buy number: 0964471205
What's great about it: couldn't tell you
What's not so great: never turned on
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Value for Price
1 out of 5
1
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1
Reliability
1 out of 5
1
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

Absolutely not worth the trouble.

on April 4, 2013
Posted by: Anonymous
This machine is no good! Before it broke with very light use; it would only shred a very minimal amount of sheets unlike its advertisement. Store was no help on replacing the machine and the parts store-- a best buy company, says they do not offer replacement parts for this model even though they continue to sell these machines as of this posting. The plastic gears on the inside of this shredder are cheap and will break and/or strip out shortly after any warranty period.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

good bang for the buck

on March 22, 2013
Posted by: pdireland
from Washington
Aside from bogging down slightly on credit cards and CDs it works great. Frankly I didn't buy it to eat credit cards and Cd's, but rather for the shredding of financial documents.
It's been about 2 months since our last paper shredder died and this chewed through the desk-engulfing backlog in about an hour, without jamming once.
I'll admit, I did get lazy a few times toward the end, and stuffed unopened envelopes into it as well, easily exceeding it's posted sheet limit. It bogged down when I did that, but still plowed on, didn't jam or clog one time.
What's great about it: does what I need a paper shredder to do, plus some
What's not so great: so far nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

Shredder does what I need it to do

on March 15, 2013
Posted by: weltmoney
from KY
This shredder does exactly what I need it to do. It was easy to set up and use right from the start. It has no trouble with 6-8 pages nor has it had any trouble with any credit cards or CDs. I would recommend it for home use
What's great about it: Easy to use, good price
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Shredder has been good so far.

on February 8, 2013
Posted by: Freshman1
from Charlotte, NC
I really have no complaints so far of this shredder. I had years of accumulated mail that needed shredding and it got the job done. Only once did it over heat and had shut down, but it's obvious why it did so. I was woroing that shredder nonstop. I let it sit for about 30 minutes to continue on. Worth the monies paid.
What's great about it: Does the job.
What's not so great: Cut off just once since I've had it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

great shredder

on January 30, 2013
Posted by: spookywoman
from springfield
love it-my shredder does it all-cd's,credit cards, cross cut-very happy
What's great about it: does cross cutting
What's not so great: color
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

EZ to use

on January 29, 2013
Posted by: frogfamily2
from santa rosa, ca
I'm very happy with this product. It was a great price for the unit. It's efficient, so ez to use, and does a great job. It's just the right size. Plus, I got free delivery for this product.
What's great about it: Quick, efficient, can fit lots of paper in at once, shreds fine
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

It does what I need it to do.

on January 28, 2013
Posted by: justjen1234
from janesville
*** It shreds my paper! :-) It's not to noisy. ***
What's great about it: Easy set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4

Good shredder for home use

on January 25, 2013
Posted by: pop47
from South Louisiana
I use this for shredding unwanted mail and think the shredded pieces could be smaller
What's great about it: Setup was easy
What's not so great: noisy
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

very good for the price

on January 19, 2013
Posted by: 4by4now16
from Phoenix,AZ
light weight, easy to empty and cuts up 8 sheets at a time. turns self off and low noise level .
What's great about it: easy to use,light weight.
What's not so great: no problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5

excellent product for the $

on January 19, 2013
Posted by: labish
from florida
can't go wrong with this shredder. worth the preice
What's great about it: always works well with ease
What's not so great: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3

Pretty good shredder

on January 15, 2013
Posted by: ShredderGuy
from Columbus, OH
It shreds good and I'd buy another shredder just like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2

Good while working

on December 14, 2012
Posted by: Elena123
from PA
The shredder stop working after 6 months of ownership, I just shred regular mail, nothing heavy. First it started with a weird noise on the motor, and then suddenly stop working, I can hear the motor running, but it doesn't shred anymore. Also, the paper get stuck on the blades very often, I never put more than 3 pages at a time.
I think is better buy a better shred than buy this cheap one, it will be more expensive on the long run.
What's not so great: PAper get stuck
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - 8-sheet Diamond-Cut Paper Shredder - Black/Silver
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1

Terrible Shredder

on December 6, 2012
Posted by: KansasPr
This shredder was a waste of my money, I just wish I had used it more in the first 30 days.. As said before, if you don't put in the paper just right, it tends to jam easily, with paper between the teeth. After shredding about 200 pages, it just clogged up so badly that the teeth bent. After that it was worthless. I now am looking for a replacement and was surprised to see it still for sale. Stay away from this shredder, it's very unreliable, you may just be back getting a replacement or money back.
What's great about it: Easy to understand
What's not so great: Everything else
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Value for Price
1 out of 5
1
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3
Reliability
1 out of 5
1
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Showing 1-20 of 38 results 
1 2 >>