Overall Customer Rating
4.8 out of 5
4.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28  reviews)
Value for Price
4.6 out of 5
4.6
Performance
4.8 out of 5
4.8
Convenience
4.8 out of 5
4.8
Display
4.7 out of 5
4.7
(28 Reviews)
100%of customers recommend this product. 
(
28 out of 28
)
0 Questions & 0 AnswersAsk the manufacturer, the community, fellow shoppers and Best Buy staff. Share your answers.
Overall Customer Rating
4.8 out of 5
4.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28  reviews)
Value for Price
4.6 out of 5
4.6
Performance
4.8 out of 5
4.8
Convenience
4.8 out of 5
4.8
Display
4.7 out of 5
4.7
(28 Reviews)
100%of customers recommend this product. 
(
28 out of 28
)
0 Questions & 0 AnswersAsk the manufacturer, the community, fellow shoppers and Best Buy staff. Share your answers.

Customer Image Gallery

Customer Image Gallery

Filter Reviews By:
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
  • or
Use the Filters above to narrow which reviews are shown.
Sort by:Review This Product
Search Reviews
Sort by:
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
New Sony VAIO laptop SR520 w/Windows 7
on November 17, 2009
Posted by: Warren55
 
Please wait while more information about Warren55 is loaded.
Additional information about Warren55 could not be loaded.
from Williamsburg, Va.
I bought this laptop to replace my VAIO TT190 which Sony no longer makes. It has a very easy to read backlit LED screen. Lots of space on the 500gb harddrive, 4gb memory and the new 64 bit Windows 7 professional software. Also comes with the fingerprint reader and the Mac powerbook style keyboard.
What's great about it: Lightweight, snappy
What's not so great: does not have dedicated graphics card, backlit keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Display
5 out of 5
5
Performance
5 out of 5
5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Solid performer
on November 22, 2009
Posted by: mgargi
 
Please wait while more information about mgargi is loaded.
Additional information about mgargi could not be loaded.
from Corinth TX
I was drawn to this laptop by its light weight and stylish looks. I travel a lot so I was very happy to trade screen size for a lighter product. The chicklet style keyboard is easy to use and I really like it. Windows 7 Professional works like a champ and I have learned a lot from the built in tutorial. The Core 2 Duo is fast and my applications run well.
For me, battery life isn't a big deal. My iPhone doesn't last as long as stated either so I have become accustom to expecting less battery life than what is advertised. The price point for this laptop is a little high. One reason is that it runs Windows Professional 64 bit. I shopped for derivative products before deciding to buy. I didn't find a better deal but suspect it won't be long until others pick up on this feature set. Be aware that the optional docking station does NOT come with a power adaptor. Why anyone would not want a power adaptor for a docking station is a big mystery to me!
What's great about it: It is light weight, has WIFI and Bluetooth, great display and great keyboard
What's not so great: Optional docking station did NOT come with a charger. Battery life is just OK
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Display
5 out of 5
5
Performance
5 out of 5
5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
almost a home run
on November 23, 2009
Posted by: Tom14580
 
Please wait while more information about Tom14580 is loaded.
Additional information about Tom14580 could not be loaded.
from NY
This note book is replacing a 5 year old Sony 15" notebook that was great, but heavy and over time really slow. This one has beat all of my expectations handily except in battery run time. I don't know how Sony can sell a notebook this small with only a 2 hour +/- run time. Not cool....
What's great about it: light weight, fast, great display
What's not so great: battery run time is horrible
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Display
5 out of 5
5
Performance
5 out of 5
5
Convenience
3 out of 5
3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
My best computer yet!
on November 26, 2009
Posted by: Adjuster
 
Please wait while more information about Adjuster is loaded.
Additional information about Adjuster could not be loaded.
from Madison, Wisconsin
Moved over form the Dell Vostro of which I had for two years and might say that I am very happy with my decison so far. They have really come a long way in computer development.
Like everyone else, yes, I would like to have a longer lasting battery but I'm not too upset about it. (I got money set aside for that). Besides, 4 1/2 hours of off plug is good enough for what I would think, anyone could master up.
This is a amazing machine and I can't wait to see what the future holds.
Very light weight, clean, a great value and did I mention fast? Hold on world, here I come!
What's great about it: Very easy to work with. Fast operation.
What's not so great: Battery life, but not that important... Thats why we get the plug right?
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Display
5 out of 5
5
Performance
5 out of 5
5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Excellent Laptop
on November 27, 2009
Posted by: THEREALWUN
 
Please wait while more information about THEREALWUN is loaded.
Additional information about THEREALWUN could not be loaded.
from AURORA, CO
This laptop is excellent. I was a little concerned about the battery life remarks. After making optimal adjustments to the battery settings, I am getting approx 3 and a half hours of battery life. The feel of this laptop is phenomenal. After purchasing an HP earlier this year and being so disgusted I passed it on to my daughter. This is a keeper. The weight will help, since i am on the road quite a bit. I was worried about the size of the screen, not an issue at all. I am really impressed with this laptop. The only issue I have is it is hard to find in stores. The price at 899 is ok , however, being very frugal, I was reluctant to drop almost a 1000 bucs on a pc. This is absolutely the laptop to own if you are on the go, and don't want to compromise performance due to size. A go getter for sure!!!
What's great about it: Size, Feel, weight, Windows 7 and Screen
What's not so great: price, limited usb ports
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Display
5 out of 5
5
Performance
5 out of 5
5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
very good laptop, below average battery
on November 27, 2009
Posted by: Mousab
 
Please wait while more information about Mousab is loaded.
Additional information about Mousab could not be loaded.
from Chicago
I bought this about 4 weeks ago, it runs very smoothly, but I noted even running on power saver mode, that the battery does not last 3 hours, and Sony says it runs 4 hours. For the price that you would pay for this one, it is expected to give you better battery life.
What's great about it: fast, operate easily
What's not so great: battery life is not as described, heats up fairly quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
4 out of 5
4
Display
5 out of 5
5
Performance
4 out of 5
4
Convenience
4 out of 5
4
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Excellent under $1,000 laptop
on November 27, 2009
Posted by: BulletBob
 
Please wait while more information about BulletBob is loaded.
Additional information about BulletBob could not be loaded.
from Stamford, CT
I originally was given an HP laptop in the $1,000 price range and returned it for this Sony model after some extensive research. The HP was big, bulky, had Windows 7 Home, and it was heavy - although it did have a 15 inch screen and 6G Ram out of the box.
Portability, functionality, power, and price/value are very important to me in a laptop. I've owned many company issued laptops over the years including a 2.2lb Sony back in 1998. This Sony laptop is even better since it is more sturdy - although it is a little heavier at 4.2lbs. It's got a great screen, keyboard, is small in size - great for commercial airplane travel and use on the plane, and it comes with Windows 7 Professional. Of all the laptops available in this price range, I would jump on this one in a second for the aforementioned reasons.
What's great about it: Light, great keyboard, screen, size
What's not so great: Sound system is average, but I don't care
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Display
5 out of 5
5
Performance
5 out of 5
5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
amazing laptop
on December 4, 2009
Posted by: burner99
 
Please wait while more information about burner99 is loaded.
Additional information about burner99 could not be loaded.
from israel
first thank you best buy , the product come in 2 days and in between you let me that it's on his way .
the laptop is tiny and light , keyboard are very comfortable, the windows 7 start with 90 process and still it's up very quickly about 18-sec.
the fan is so quiet,you can think it's not there .also i so a movie for an hour and half and the laptop stay cool .
i would buy it again
thanks
Yaniv
What's great about it: fast and beautiful
What's not so great: display, but still not bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
Value for Price
5 out of 5
5
Display
3 out of 5
3
Performance
5 out of 5
5
Convenience
5 out of 5
5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
  • 2021-11-29 T17:39:28.102-06:00
  • bvseo_pps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_9556269, prod, sort_default
Showing 9-16 of 28 results 
<< 1 2 3 4 >>