Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Model: DX-TADPCON
SKU: 9997798
UPC: 600603129544
This adapter and converter unit features a built-in surge protector to keep your devices and appliances safe from foreign electricity spikes while you travel abroad. The design fits electrical outlets in most countries for convenient use.
Average Customer Rating:
2.949 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 39 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
10
59% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
23 out of 39
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit
Review 1 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Worked as intended

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jeffk24
from Texas
on 01/24/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Great adaptability
What's not so great: Some times was tight to plug in. But not a big issue.
Purchased mainly for the transformer to go from 220v to 110v and not fry my electronics while traveling over seas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0048270885
My Best Buy number: 0048270885
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Convenient for travel to multiple countries

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Melzar
from Plainfield,IL
on 01/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
I had previously used adaptors with lots of pieces which I kept losing. This allows for travel in different countries without trying to figure out which pieces to bring where.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2178699048
My Best Buy number: 2178699048
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

GREAT FOR TRAVEL

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BESTMECHANICAL
from SEAGOVILLE, TX
on 11/04/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: PORTABLE
GREAT PRODUCT FOR GOING OUT OF THE COUNTRY! EASY TO USE
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0315585759
My Best Buy number: 0315585759
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Sort of worked

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JosephN
from Killeen, TX
on 10/18/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: It doesn't work for flat irons
I purchased this for my fiance to take to Italy. She primarily wanted to use it for her flat iron. When we tried to use it, it only sort of worked. The flat iron would come on but would barely get warm. It did not heat up completely. Not sure why.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0034814215
My Best Buy number: 0034814215
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Great adapter pack

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JimRock714
on 10/11/2013
I needed to convert eu to us adapters and this worked perfectly. What's better is I could even take it on my trip to Australia later on in the year! Very diverse and ainple
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0101845142
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Expensive and confusing product

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: camera33
from Chicago, IL
on 10/11/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
We bought the converter because we knew it was necessary for some devices. Didn't end up needing to use it much, and I'm glad since it had a warning that it could only be used for an hour at a time. That is not very helpful in using electronic devices.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2112149844
My Best Buy number: 2112149844
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

just what we needed

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tinah
from Parker, CO
on 10/05/2013
What's great about it: price and easy to use
We needed for a trip to Bosnia and it was easy to use, not too expensive and what we needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0044705046
My Best Buy number: 0044705046
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Fair but only for one connect

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: gorgeousbusinesswoman
from Long Beach, CA
on 09/27/2013
What's great about it: it works
What's not so great: only one item
Converter works but is bulky and unbalanced and will only accommodate one item for charging. I have three items and would have to bring three of these beasts along, takes up too much space and is not balanced so it has to be supported.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2788054299
My Best Buy number: 2788054299
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

easy to use

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: billyt0808
from upstate sc
on 09/23/2013
What's great about it: it works!
What's not so great: loose connections with some optons
works as represented, good price and ease of use. i recommend this item for people traveling out of the country. worked well in south africa.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2913405781
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Compact to travel

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Slotfinder
from Michigan
on 09/16/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Compact
What's not so great: Pricey
As a frequent international traveler, it is great to not have to worry about your electric mini-appliances working overseas. This adapter/converter does it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2516898737
My Best Buy number: 2516898737
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Useful if a little bulky

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Madserano
from Riverside, CA
on 09/13/2013
This adapter is pretty good for what its meant to do, its just really bulky, and doesn't really hang very solid from a plug because of the weight
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2587941202
My Best Buy number: 2587941202
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Not greatest

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: nrbtherock
from Texas
on 09/01/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Worked till it broke
What's not so great: Prongs broke after using two weeks in Chile
I was needing both a converter and adapter, but this one did not hold up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2497508649
My Best Buy number: 2497508649
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Only one input!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Hagdog
from San Diego, CA
on 08/23/2013
What's great about it: Works just fine
What's not so great: Only one input
It works fine, but it's REALLY bulky, feels like it's going to fall apart, hard to plug your chord into it, and it is BULKY! I would get a smaller, more versatile version if I bought one again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0571048289
My Best Buy number: 0571048289
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

A little heavy

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Steppi
from San Francisco, CA
on 08/09/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Compact
What's not so great: Heavy
So far, it's been holding up, but some of the parts seem a bit flimsy. We shall see...
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2192277031
My Best Buy number: 2192277031
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Better to have more than less

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Showv
from Michigan
on 08/09/2013
What's great about it: It's everything you need
What's not so great: It's bulky
I like it and was glad to have it. It will be useful in my future travels not just when I come to this one place. It is kind of annoying that its so big and bulky but it gets the job done right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1025136941
My Best Buy number: 1025136941
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

too heavy and cumbersome for travel

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: painter123
from Studio City, CA
on 07/22/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's not so great: too heavy
Found this to be too heavy and cumbersome for travel - and expensive.
Didn't really need the converter part, so I returned this item and found
much better deals in a travel/luggage store that just carries the individual adapters.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2843572249
My Best Buy number: 2843572249
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

not a good buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: cmbestbuy1
from georgia
on 07/19/2013
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything
I recently purchased this for a trip and fully relied on it working to charge my electronics. After a long flight I get to the hotel open up the converter only to find it would not work because the plastic clip that slides out whichever of the universal plugs you need broke. So I had to buy a regular converter while traveling so I ended up returning it. I would recommend trying it out before you travel. I would imagine if it hadn't broke it would of been fine but, for the money you can buy way better converters.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2878256213
My Best Buy number: 2878256213
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Easy to use

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: bbsd1
on 07/14/2013
Easy to use when traveling. Downside is that you can only use for a short time and plugged devices get very hot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2818800537
My Best Buy number: 2818800537
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

Good for traveling overseas

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BSpike
from Walnut Creek CA
on 07/12/2013
What's great about it: Universal and light
What's not so great: A little hard to get plugs to stick
I recently traveled to Europe and didn't have any adapters. I purchased this one and one other adapter converter. I ended up using this one more often because it was easy to use and light weight so it wouldnt continue to fall out of the wall socket, like my other one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0085329027
My Best Buy number: 0085329027
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex - Adapter and Converter Unit

good adaptor

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Minneapolis, MN
on 06/17/2013
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: a little bulky
Worked well while on the road internationally without any problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1051524262
My Best Buy number: 1051524262
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>