Nikonusa.com Customer Reviews Collected from Nikonusa.com
Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18–55mm VR Lens - Black
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 647 reviews
5 Stars
514
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
8
1 Star
17
95%of customers recommend this product. 
(
614 out of 647
)
Customer Reviews for Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18–55mm VR Lens - Black
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Extremely Pleased D5100 owner
on November 6, 2012
Posted by: dGottfried
from Alberta, Canada
I'm new to DSLRs and to Photograhy as a serious hobby. I've done some over the years with point and shoots and still use my iPhone now quite a bit. But nothing compares in my mind like having more control over your shots.
I did quite a bit of research before I picked this camera. Once I narrowed it down to the fact I wanted a Nikon product over other manufacturers it was a case between D3100/D5100 or D7000. I felt that D3100 was an a good choice but it's guide mode would have been less than useful to me within a few months. The D7000 very much interested me, but a lot of the features were well above my need now (possibly ever) so it boiled down to the D5100 having the same sensor as the D7000 and the nifty swiveling LCD for weird angles.
When I purchased the unit it came with an 18-105mm lens which I still use a lot. I've since purchased the 50mm f/1.8G for portraits/street and the 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G for wildlife. I'm having a ball with this camera and would recommend it to anyone getting into photography as a hobby.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Great lightweight/compact DSLR
on May 24, 2011
Posted by: dave1812
from San Jose, CA
Despite the fact my first D5100 had a defect, I'm very impressed with it (my replacement camera is due to arrive today). Image quality is a step up from the D3100 which I also currently own. The articulating screen is a godsend for taking pictures from either low or high angles and the resolution of that LCD is great. It is visible in broad daylight.
The HDR feature isn't something that one should expect miracles from, but it DOES improve images taken under extremely contrasty lighting. One must be careful not to move between HDR exposures, of course, as the camera has to merge images together to create a single HDR photo file.
I'm not thrilled with Nikon's decision to replace the drive lever with the Live View lever, but that design choice isn't a deal-breaker for me.
The fact that the D5100 has bracketing (which the 3100 lacks) is one of the reasons I've upgraded. One can also use as wireless remote that the 3100 can't utilize.
The pentamirror viewfinder doesn't provide a very large view for critical focus, but with careful adjustment of the diopter setting, I can fairly well discern proper focus in good lighting conditions. A large VF image would be most welcome, but it is what it is--it's not a top of the line DSLR. A pentaprism would increase bulk, weight, and cost.
Menus take quite some time getting used to. I thought owning a D3100 for a few months would have given me more insight as to where things would be on the menu structure of the D5100, but I must say there are so many options on the latter that there's a steep learning curve. Anyone wanting to shoot an important event should spend some time learning the ins and outs of the menus prior to the event, as there is only one customizable Fn button to assign a function. There is also a "My Menu" option, for placing one's favorite actions all in one place, but sadly it doesn't allow for the placing of certain functions.
Exposure delay of one second is useful as a replacement for the non existent "mirror up" feature.
Shutter lag, while not "world class", is decent.
Having all (but one) of the buttons on the right side of the LCD has not been the hassle that I expected it to be. I got used to the placement quite quickly, coming from the more "balanced" layout of buttons on the D3100. I am NOT worried about the Delete button being "too close" to other buttons as some reviewers have complained.
I'd recommend this camera to anyone wanting a Nikon DSLR in the DX format, that doesn't want to carry one of their heavier cameras (ala the 7000) around. The 5100 has the very same 16.2 MP sensor as the 7000.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Great alternative to the D5200
on March 16, 2013
Posted by: AndyC
from Long Island, New York, USA
I have been using a P510 and this was my first DSLR. I learned a lot on the P510 including shooting in Shutter and Aperture priority but found that cameras limitations and decided it was time.
I was going to get a D5200 and skip the 3100 and 3200 altogether. After some research I realized that the differences between the two with the most important being the additional autofocus points on the 5200 (11 vs 39) and the megapixel difference (16 vs 24) were not significant enough to spend the extra money on my first DSLR.
This camera so far has been great, the picture quality is fantastic and the menus are easy to use although slightly different than I had with my previous Nikon so there is a bit or a learning curve. I love the control I know have over the picture settings and the creativity it allows me.
I would highly recommend this camera to anyone looking at the 3100, 3200 or 5200.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Fantastic camera for under the tropical canopy
on October 22, 2012
Posted by: Herpetologe
from Thailand
I bought the Nikon D5100 after my Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ30 bridge camera had its motherboard destroyed, presumably from too much moisture in moist tropical forests; a colleague's Canon Rebel did not function properly after the same series of trips to the field. Within weeks of purchasing the D5100, it survived the moisture that accompanies torrential tropical downpours; even though, it is not weather sealed. The sensor is fantastic in low light conditions that are found under the multiple layers of canopy found in the tropics; it even performed better than a D300 when using the same lens (AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED). Enough cannot be said about the picture quality that the sensor can produce, with pictures that are usually sharp at 100% resolution at maximum Large/Fine settings. The D5100 is lightweight and with the new Nikkor DX specific lightweight lenses, they do not become a burden to carry when conducting field work for extended time and distances. After a year and more than 2000 pictures, including many published photographs and a couple cover photographs, it is has proven to be an outstanding camera for the money. My only criticism is that it is not weather sealed, which causes me to be overly cautious and concerned during wet weather conditions; however, information about its lack of weather sealing is available through Nikon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Outstanding intermediate level camera, great value.
on February 14, 2012
Posted by: Strong Nikon Fan
from CentralConnecvticut
I have been a member of the Nikon family for over 30 years, initially with film cameras. My first digital was a d60 in 2008, then I moved to a d3100 in 2010. I was very pleased with that but wanted to move up to a higher level product at a reasonable price level. I read all the reviews (including ones for other manufacturers' cameras) but in the end it was clear to me: the d5100 had everything I wanted and needed for the level of photography that I'm at and where I am likely to remain (by choice). I don't earn my living with photography, but do consider myself an advanced hobbyist who really enjoys taking pictures of people, events and landscapes for my own amusement and my friends' amazement. The d5100 does all that and more for a great price.
In particular, what I like about it includes the better (than the d3100) sensor, the additional shooting modes that really increase my capacity to create great pictures, the easy-to-use controls, the ability to use an infra-red remote (that should have been on the d3100), and the light weight. I use three lenses: the kit 18-55mm, the fixed f1.8 35mm, and the heavier 70-300mm zoom, which do a great job on sharpness and clarity of the images.
Since I moved from a d3100 it did not take long to know how to use the d5100. For me, shooting in the P mode generally works the best, and I mostly use matrix metering and AF-A mode. The built-in flash is good but I prefer to use the very capable but (relatively) inexpensive SB-400 external flash unit. Auto ISO also works well for me, although I do play with it sometimes but find it's best not to go over 3200.
While I am aware of the old and true saying that people take pictures, not cameras, I would add to that that having a wonderful camera with the features of the d5100 really helps this particular person take great pictures!
I am very pleased with the d5100 which combines an excellent mix of reasonable cost, ease of use, and very high quality images.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Great value, probably the best entry-level DSLR
on May 30, 2011
Posted by: Erkisi
from Istanbul
After lots of thinking and research, I chose this model of Nikon over the Canon T2i / D550. The body felt better than Canon, and I had heard that this DSLR is also superior to the T2i in terms of picture quality.
One thing to complain is that this DSLR doesnt have an in-built autofocus motor, which means that you can use AF only with lenses that have an AF motor, particularly the DX lenses work best with the D5100
Also, Full HD shooting at low light isn't really spectacular, but when lighting is good, HD video quality is great, almost as good as Canon 550d, if not the same. Canon would be a better choice only if video recording is your one and only concern, but if so why are you getting a DSLR at the first place anyway? Get a camcorder if recording is your main purpose...
I really have nothing else to criticize, picture quality is truly amazing, 3 inch flip-out screen is gorgeous and vivid, noise levels are good, battery life is good
Overall I am very very pleased with it, I absolutely have no regrets choosing the D5100 over Canon T2i. Infact, I can still return it and get the T2i instead, but I really don't want to :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Added features
on September 8, 2012
Posted by: ish
New photographers would find it easy.. though it has got many added features.. u need to learn though... there a lot to explore
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Perfect entry level DSLR.
on March 18, 2013
Posted by: Its knee-kon not "nykawn".
Was torn between this and the D3200 for a while. Finally decided on this D5100, and I think I made the right choice, as far as entry level DSLR's go. Takes amazing photos with kit lens, even better one when paired with an FX lens like the 50mm 1.8g I just bought for it. Also, very easy to use in manual mode. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Showing 1-8 of 647 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 81 >>