Nikonusa.com Customer Reviews Collected from Nikonusa.com
Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 741 reviews
5 Stars
572
4 Stars
109
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
14
1 Star
30
92%of customers recommend this product. 
(
683 out of 741
)
Customer Reviews for Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
nice
on April 5, 2011
Posted by: ozzie
its combination between d5000 and d90 ..........................................................
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Atlast an awesome gadget...
on April 5, 2011
Posted by: REX
from Manhattan, NY
I guess its worth waiting for such a long time. This camera is one awesome stuff I'm gonna go for it. My first slr id D5100. Done!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Quite good camera
on April 5, 2011
Posted by: NikonAmateur
I like good matrix (already known from D7000 model i suppose), new 3inch display 921k dots, and 1080p movies.
I don't like small viewfinder - 0.78x magnification.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
pui
on April 5, 2011
Posted by: gatih
what's wrong of this product, i can't use my old lens on it~ is's difficult to put a focus motor inside???
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Great for video, travel light, dark interiors
on April 5, 2011
Posted by: PauloFeitosa
from Curitiba, Brasil.
I liked very much my D5000 (check my D5000's and D7000's reviews), and simply love the D7000 that replaced it - but I'm so impressed with this new D5100!
It's being hyped for quite a while, and we already knew that it would be an updated D5000, but the main differences make it so good, that it might be *better* than a D7000 in at least two cases: video, and travelling light.
The D5100 is a hot rod: a great sensor in a small body. Killer combination for travelling light, and taking pictures in dark and discrete places like churches' and museums' interiors. You're all set for most trips with just the kit lens: It's a very good all arounder.
Pros:
1. Horizontally swiveling back display. The D5000's swiveled vertically, making it difficult to see while on a tripod or taking pictures of yourself. Now you can frame yourself perfectly, and use tripods with no fear.
2. Same outstanding sensor of the D7000. Simply the best sensor in any Nikon bellow US$7000. Specially incredible under very very low light.
3. New, enhanced video mode. It's actually better than the D7000's, not just for the new in camera effects, but for the ability to do movies at ISO 102,400 (if you don't mind the noise - still better than losing the shot). To put it simple, at the time of this review, the D5100 is the best Nikon DSLR for video - at any price. Attach an external microphone, and you'll also have professional quality stereo audio.
Cons:
1. Still no 30fps @ 1080p. <:-(
2. Could have an internal stereo microphone.
3. Lack of internal CLS commander internal flash.
I understand that some of the D7000 goodies like in-body focusing motor (necessary to focus the excellent Nikkor 10.5mm, only DX fisheye lens at the time of this review, and one of the main reasons I bought my D7000) and the 100% pentaprism viewer would have made the D5100 as large and heavy as the D7000, missing it's point.
But I would like to see an internal flash with CLS commanding capability (I love to hand held Nikon Speedlites), a value that probably wouldn't increase neither size or weight by very much - if at all.
The D5100 is a significant upgrade over the great D5000. May lack some of the D7000's in-body resources, but has the same sensor, in a smaller and lighter body, making it an excellent camera to travel, and take discrete pictures in dark interiors. It has a much improved video mode (although it still lacks 30FPS @ 1080p), and a very practical horizontally swiveling display, making it the best Nikon DSLR for video at time of this review.
Accessories I recommend:
Nikon CF-DC2 Semi-soft case
Nikon ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Could not be any better!Excellent design.
on April 6, 2011
Posted by: Jack AUA
from Aruba
Great camera ever made!At the heart of the image...stands competition to no other brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Awesome Camera!
on April 7, 2011
Posted by: John Park
from Cypress, CA
This camera is totally worth it. It's a mixture of a 3100 and 5000, but for sure totally better! It provides an awesome fps and a great amount of megapixels! Hope you buy this camera!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
This product is the best amatir Camera
on April 7, 2011
Posted by: Hitachi
from Tangerang
This Nikon D5100 has a large pixel and speed continous available for amateur photographer
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Showing 1-8 of 741 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 93 >>