Customer Reviews Collected from Nikonusa.com
Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 660 reviews
5 stars
516
4 stars
98
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
23
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
618 out of 660
)
Customer Reviews for Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
  • Featured
Unexpectedly love this camera more than any other!
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Andy E
from Milwaukee, WI
on 11/23/2011
After borrowing a friend D90 a bunch of times, i knew i wanted my own. After checking out a local camera shop I was torn between the D90 and D5100. I did a lot of research and decided on the D5100 as my camera.
I really liked the D90 everytime i used it, but now after using the D5100 i would never look back. Its easy to use, has a ton of cool features, and the swivel screen LCD display comes in handy more times than you'd ever imagine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Do-able. I guess, it gets the job done.
Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: 559Sold
on 03/27/2014
Takes very good pictures compare to some higher end models of other brands. Video quality is a BIG NO NO. The video quality is too choppy and not very smooth when compared to other brand. Not recommending this camera because there are two newer model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
ANXIOUS TO LEARN MORE
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NOVICE
from NEW ENGLAND
on 01/10/2014
HAD A NIKON DIGITAL BEFORE AND LOVED IT -- NOW WANTED TO TRY THE NEW DIGITAL SLR -- HADN'T USED MY OLD NIKON SLR SINCE I GOT THE DIGITAL---NOW I HAVE 3 OF THEM TO PLAY WITH
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Wow ! this is a great machine....
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nikonnovice
from Gaborone, Botswana
on 01/08/2014
I have always been taking single click photos... this camera has immediately increased my interest in photography and brings an urge to learn more which i am very sure will happen with Nikon... Cheers to the Nikon team.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Its a professional series.
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RENJITH
from Attingal, Kerala, India
on 01/05/2014
In my small experience regarding the photography I recommend Nikon is the best because it’s a user friendly compact and professional with high quality picture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
New to DSLR
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DaNewDSLROwner
on 12/14/2013
I am new to the DSLR world. While I took several photography classes in High School it was during the 35mm days. I did a lot of research before purchasing this camera. I needed a body that I could use while I build a lens portfolio (Want to upgrade to a more Mid level or Semi-Pro body in a few years). Nikon and the D5100 offers me that. Right off I am very impressed with how quick the camera is ready to take pictures. I have yet to click the on switch, lift the camera to my eye and not have it ready to go. The picture and auto-focus is amazing. Plus I love the ability to prioritize one item I control and have the rest be auto (P S A M settings). It is great for times that I don't have 3 min to set everything up.
What I learned during my reading online is that between this and the Canon T3i (the other camera I considered) is that this one in almost every review I read takes better pictures. It is a little weaker in the Movie category, but I am buying a camera not a camcorder. As a reinforcement to this I posted several pictures online for family to see and my sister in law (a canon T4i owner) asked what software I was using to get the pictures to turn out so good. In fact, I was not using anything just full auto mode.
I wish the body was a little taller because I have large hands and my pinkie finger dangles, but other than that it is a great camera. I can not wait to see what I can do as I build my lens portfolio.
I have 5 wonderful children and the pictures I have been capturing of them is priceless.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Nikon D5100
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: heavyone
on 12/09/2013
Nikon's vary angel screen makes it happen for a great DSLR. The Nikon D5100 takes great shots of sports. I like the D7000, as it is more user friendly and has some cool features built in but other then that, the D5100 is the one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Excellent features
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Piccollo
from Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
on 12/08/2013
I always want it to buy a camera like this one...so when my camera got robbed months ago, I was looking forward to get my hands on a Nikon product, so I looked thru many options and finally decided.
Now, I am working to get used to the camera and improve a lot of techniques that for sure I will find in this awesome product...
I will be uploading some of my photos soon...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
1 2 3 4 5 ... 83 next>>