Nikonusa.com Customer Reviews Collected from Nikonusa.com
Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 741 reviews
5 Stars
572
4 Stars
109
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
14
1 Star
30
92%of customers recommend this product. 
(
683 out of 741
)
Customer Reviews for Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Unexpectedly love this camera more than any other!
on November 23, 2011
Posted by: Andy E
from Milwaukee, WI
After borrowing a friend D90 a bunch of times, i knew i wanted my own. After checking out a local camera shop I was torn between the D90 and D5100. I did a lot of research and decided on the D5100 as my camera.
I really liked the D90 everytime i used it, but now after using the D5100 i would never look back. Its easy to use, has a ton of cool features, and the swivel screen LCD display comes in handy more times than you'd ever imagine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3
Do-able. I guess, it gets the job done.
on March 27, 2014
Posted by: 559Sold
Takes very good pictures compare to some higher end models of other brands. Video quality is a BIG NO NO. The video quality is too choppy and not very smooth when compared to other brand. Not recommending this camera because there are two newer model.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
ANXIOUS TO LEARN MORE
on January 10, 2014
Posted by: NOVICE
from NEW ENGLAND
HAD A NIKON DIGITAL BEFORE AND LOVED IT -- NOW WANTED TO TRY THE NEW DIGITAL SLR -- HADN'T USED MY OLD NIKON SLR SINCE I GOT THE DIGITAL---NOW I HAVE 3 OF THEM TO PLAY WITH
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Wow ! this is a great machine....
on January 8, 2014
Posted by: Nikonnovice
from Gaborone, Botswana
I have always been taking single click photos... this camera has immediately increased my interest in photography and brings an urge to learn more which i am very sure will happen with Nikon... Cheers to the Nikon team.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Its a professional series.
on January 5, 2014
Posted by: RENJITH
from Attingal, Kerala, India
In my small experience regarding the photography I recommend Nikon is the best because it’s a user friendly compact and professional with high quality picture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
New to DSLR
on December 14, 2013
Posted by: DaNewDSLROwner
I am new to the DSLR world. While I took several photography classes in High School it was during the 35mm days. I did a lot of research before purchasing this camera. I needed a body that I could use while I build a lens portfolio (Want to upgrade to a more Mid level or Semi-Pro body in a few years). Nikon and the D5100 offers me that. Right off I am very impressed with how quick the camera is ready to take pictures. I have yet to click the on switch, lift the camera to my eye and not have it ready to go. The picture and auto-focus is amazing. Plus I love the ability to prioritize one item I control and have the rest be auto (P S A M settings). It is great for times that I don't have 3 min to set everything up.
What I learned during my reading online is that between this and the Canon T3i (the other camera I considered) is that this one in almost every review I read takes better pictures. It is a little weaker in the Movie category, but I am buying a camera not a camcorder. As a reinforcement to this I posted several pictures online for family to see and my sister in law (a canon T4i owner) asked what software I was using to get the pictures to turn out so good. In fact, I was not using anything just full auto mode.
I wish the body was a little taller because I have large hands and my pinkie finger dangles, but other than that it is a great camera. I can not wait to see what I can do as I build my lens portfolio.
I have 5 wonderful children and the pictures I have been capturing of them is priceless.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Nikon D5100
on December 9, 2013
Posted by: heavyone
Nikon's vary angel screen makes it happen for a great DSLR. The Nikon D5100 takes great shots of sports. I like the D7000, as it is more user friendly and has some cool features built in but other then that, the D5100 is the one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Excellent features
on December 8, 2013
Posted by: Piccollo
from Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
I always want it to buy a camera like this one...so when my camera got robbed months ago, I was looking forward to get my hands on a Nikon product, so I looked thru many options and finally decided.
Now, I am working to get used to the camera and improve a lot of techniques that for sure I will find in this awesome product...
I will be uploading some of my photos soon...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Nikonusa.com
Showing 1-8 of 741 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 93 >>