Customer Reviews Collected from Dell.com
Dell - UltraSharp 27" Widescreen Flat-Panel IPS LED HD Monitor
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 63 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
1
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
54 out of 63
)
Customer Reviews for Dell - UltraSharp 27" Widescreen Flat-Panel IPS LED HD Monitor
  • Featured
I tried the rest - this is the best
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ninjo
from Midwest USA
on 10/26/2012
In recent weeks I have ordered one Dell monitor after another in the search for the display that would best utilize my new Alienware Aurora R4 computer. I gave the new 27" Dell LED monitor a go. However current LED displays burn my eyes no matter how much I dial the brightness down (so I found). Major eyestrain for me.
I tried the u2411 next. It was too small.
Finally I ordered the u2711 and its LCD screen technology. Eyestrain gone. It is hands-down the best monitor I have ever owned. Superlative in every way. The "1.07 billion colors" really shine through. People gasp in awe when they see my monitor at work in a video game setting or blu-ray movie. At my home workstation I hear a lot of "Wow!" when people stop by.
As for the often mentioned anti-glare coating: sure, it manifests itself as a mildly noticeable, softly gritty rainbow-colored sheen on the screen and is most evident when you have a white background. However you get accustomed to it quickly. It is a very small price to pay for all of the upside the u2711 brings.
This is going to be my main monitor for the next several years, proudly. If you are on the fence about this purchase I say "Go for it." I am quite glad I did.
Pros: Gaming, photo editing, Video Editing
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Dell.com:By AnthonyAforDellCustomer Reviews10/30/2012
Hey Ninjo,

It's important to have a high quality monitor for the highest quality gaming!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Ultra Sharp U2711 Monitor. I am glad to hear that you found the perfect monitor for your Alienware gaming needs.

We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
  • Featured
Absolutely Amazing!
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kremzeek
from Arizona
on 05/06/2010
As you might have deducted from reading other reviews online the U2711 monitor by Dell is simply put one of the best large screen monitors on the market and the best monitor I have personally owned to date. Despite the large price tag, rarely these days can I say you get what you pay for but this is one of those rare instances I can say this monitor is worth every shinny penny I spent on it. By far the picture clarity and color accuracy are unparallel to any LED monitor on the market I have used or tested. Also desktop real estate is ridiculous at its native resolution of 2560x1440. Especially with Windows 7, having multiple applications open side by side and being able to view them in entirety without have to scroll on different windows panes makes my productivity so much better. And for you avid gamers like myself this monitor is serious business, personally destroying your opponents in games like Warcraft never looked so sweet. Overall if you have any reservations about buying this beast mainly because of its price point I say throw caution to the wind and I promise you will not be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Anti-glare coating is badly distracting
Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: beandog
from Utah, USA
on 03/08/2013
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
I bought this monitor from Dell about a year ago, and at the time the anti-glare coating was annoying, but since I'd just blown close to a grand on a monitor, I told myself it would be OK. A year later, I badly wish I'd chosen a different monitor. The colors are great, the features and inputs are great, it's built solidly, but that darn coating is just unbearable.
I'd love to swap it for an identical monitor without that coating. I'd pay $100 to do so.
Pros: inputs, features, color quality, resolution
Cons: terrible anti-glare coating
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Dell.com:By DonaldDforDellCustomer Review03/19/2013
Hello beando,

Sorry to hear you do not like the Matte finish on the Ultra Sharp U2711. This is the same model display I use on a daily basis. This is not a coating, it is the actual finish to the screen. Multi media displays have the slick gloss finish. Many people prefer the matte finish, because the gloss finish has a problem with reflecting your background and own image on the screen.

As it turns out, we do not have a trade in program and any identical displays are going to have the same finish. Checkout the S Series Ultrasharps like the S2740L.

Hope that helps!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Awesome but not chic
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bobby83
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
on 02/24/2013
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
If you're looking for a super attractive monitor that's 27 inches, then you might want to consider the S series. If you're looking for a professional monitor that has great color reproduction, a high resolution panel and you don't care about the super attractive aesthetics, look here.
In December, Dell hooked me on their monitors with the s2340m (now discontinued in favor of the s2340l). Prior to bringing it home, I'll admit I had never even paid attention to an IPS vs TN panel, but when it first turned on, it was clear that IPS is the way to go. The colors were beautiful and pictures seemed to pop to life. I now refuse to go back to TN panels for my own use.
Having to know more about IPS panels, I became obsessed with studying monitor offerings and reading reviews. Everywhere I looked the U2711 stood out, it has excellent color reproduction in the Adobe RGB spectrum, quality color processing and overall specs which greatly rose above the 2340m, which I already found amazing. So I took the leap when I stumbled across a great deal for this monitor from Dell.
Upon unboxing, I can say I was a little shocked. This thing is HUGE. And I don't mean the screen size. I mean the width, the stand, everything about it screams 'this is professional'. Coming from the slim s2340m, this thing looks like a brute. The s2340m is glossy and extremely thin vs the u2711 which is solid and thick. It makes a statement sitting on a desk.
After turning it on, the colors and resolution were incredible. Multiple display presets are already available and a custom option is available if you want to calibrate it further (which I recommend when not gaming or watching movies). However, please note that the anti-glare coating Dell puts on these monitors does leave a rainbow pixelated effect on white backgrounds that is definitely noticeable. I read about this from other users and It was very annoying the first day, but since then (even typing now) I don't notice it as much and it barely bothers me. I do wish Dell would use an anti-glare coating that wouldn't produce this effect on this quality of a monitor, this panel would be flawless without it. (Hence the 4 stars)
So there you have it, if you're looking for something slim and sexy, look at the S series. They have amazing aesthetics and most models have an IPS panel that will no doubt impress. If you're looking for a monitor that means business, is going to give you some of the best colors you've seen on a display and enough resolution to multitask in multiple apps without a second monitor, this is the one for you.
Pros: awesome colors, high resolution, immersive
Cons: rainbow pixelation on white backgrounds
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Absolutely Exquisite
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DavidRe
from Sausalito, CA
on 01/23/2013
I have been using the U2711 for nearly two years it has been and is a daily amazing experience. The colors are stunning; no eyestrain; i.e. no migraines! I use this monitor for graphic design and product review the clarity in the details makes it worth owning. I spent allot of time comparing other options this monitor came out far ahead especially in dollars for value! I use this monitor on a Dell XPS I7 desktop with a 1.8 gig graphics card
Enjoy!
Pros: graphic design, streaming, product review
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Outstanding Monitor
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: acecats21
from Spartanburg,SC
on 11/20/2012
The resolution and color depth are awesome. Have two U2410's and they are also outstanding. What really impressed me the most with this monitor is the 5.1 audio. Sounds I've never heard before with the built in audio on my motherboard, Asrock Extreme4 AMD. Using the audio from my video card, AMD Firepro V4900, through the Display Port. And it ROCKS! Great sound along with the resolution and color! Blu-ray movies look and sound great with the 5.1 audio! I'm impressed! Never cared for Dell computers or laptops, but the monitors are great! I bought three others before the U2711.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Dell.com:By VikramNforDellCustomer Reviews11/22/2012
acecats21,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the U2711 Monitor!

This is definitely an outstanding monitor and I'm glad that you are enjoying the mind blowing experience it has to offer.

Thanks for choosing Dell!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Not Recommended for Photo Editing
Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: photoeditorB
on 11/14/2012
1.The monitor looks great, feels great – stylish, classy – feels like it is great quality
2.Resolution works perfect with the Monitor Cable provided in the box – full resolution and it is very very sharp.
3.Colors – huge problem with the colors.
a.Two inches on the left hand side of the monitor are much cooler tonality than the rest of the monitor and two inches in the right is slightly cooler tonality than the rest of the monitor as well.
b.The monitor is strong on Magenta, but there is no Magenta control. The monitor only has Red control and Red is made of Magenta and Yellow, so when trying to take out Magenta by lowering the Red, you end up taking yellow out and it turns into blue. I have calibrated so many monitors, but this one simply can’t be calibrated. I had to go into the video card settings and play around there, but at this point I am at 80% success rate. We will try to work with it in the next few days to see if it is usable.
c.The overall colors of the monitor would naturally look fantastic for ALL amateurs/consumers because they are bright and VERY vibrant. It is a pleasure to brows on it or watch anything, but in regards to editing photos – you need true colors and this monitor does not have true colors. The worst part is that there is no saturation control like on the rest of the monitors in this and even lower price range. I was able to go to the video card settings again and lower the “digital vibrancy” on it.
4.Overall – if I have to buy this monitor for my photo editing, I would NEVER buy it again, but for ANY other applications I would strongly recommend it.
Pros: photo editing
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from Dell.com:By GinaVforDellCustomer Reviews11/15/2012
Hello photoeditorB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the UltraSharp U2711. Sorry to hear that this monitor is not fitting your primary needs. This monitor does ship with factory-tuned Adobe RGB and sRGB modes to minimize the need for further color calibration; however it sounds like you are having some very specific concerns, which are not typical for this model, that we would like to look into.

We do have a group of experts on the Dell Community Forums as well as other Social Media sites, such as Twitter and Facebook, which can assist you with troubleshooting to help find the root cause.

• Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
• Support tab on Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)
• Or on Twitter @DellCares (http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ).

We want you to know that we are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs. We also appreciate your candid feedback. I hope that we can turn this around for you.

Have a great day and we look forward to hearing from you on our Forums!
- Gina
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
The anti-glare coating kills the image quality
Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: BenPhoto
on 10/28/2012
The anti-glare coating makes this screen always appear dirty. It kills image sharpness and local contrast.
I own a 27" iMac which has a similar IPS panel. I sat them side by side and attached with a Mini Display Port to Display Port cable and verified that it's running at its native resolution. Compared to the iMac the image quality is pretty mediocre. My intended usage was professional photo editing and I found this monitor unsuitable. Even the basic UI features are softened by this effect.
Pros: photo editing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from Dell.com:By AnthonyAforDellCustomer Reviews10/30/2012
Hey BenPhoto,

I am sorry to hear that the Dell UltraSharp U2711 Monitor was not as you expected. The Anti-glare coating is designed to diffuse light and reflection which is ideal for environments where light conditions may vary- like in an office or other public places.

Our new 2013 S Series Monitors feature a glossy-finished screen which may be more suitable for your photo editing needs. Check them out here: http://bitly.com/R7gv9a

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you choosing Dell.
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>