Customer Reviews Collected from Dell.com
Dell - XPS Ultrabook 13.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 128GB Solid State Drive - Silver
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 199 reviews
5 stars
93
4 stars
67
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
12
81% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
161 out of 199
)
Customer Reviews for Dell - XPS Ultrabook 13.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 128GB Solid State Drive - Silver
The World Catching Up To Dell
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DCWjr
on 08/30/2012
This is a laptop, with a few updates, that Dell should've brought to market about now, plus-or-minus a year's time.
My first 1340 -- indeed, the 1340 on the keyboard of which this review is being written -- was acquired in 2009. Recently, I acquired a second for a backup because the first (this one) is still running strong. (It makes sense if dwelled upon)
A few hassles, though relatively minor by most standards, have occurred over my ownership period, most notably a too-slow driver-update process (something Dell could speed for all machines -- my family has at least a dozen laptops and a couple or three desktops, and Dell's apparent lack of efficiency in updating its driver base is endemic) and thus the reason for an absent fifth rating star, above.
Compact already, the 1340 was so close to being an "Ultra" after the Ultras came on the scene that there seemed little logic in replacing the 1340 on its size, alone.
While the 1340's Intel Core Duo processor isn't exactly cutting edge, it's very capable nonetheless for most of my needs, including Adobe CS6.
Added were an SSD to each of my 1340 machines, providing boot times of fewer than 11 seconds in each and, of course, similar efficiencies in program loading, execution and data movement.
The 1340's human interfaces -- a backlit keyboard with a wonderful tactile feeling; separate audio/video buttons above the keyboard, and a well-located, good feeling, responsive mousepad -- are as good or better than found in any laptop I've owned.
With a standard battery (remember, SSD) I can easily fly coast-to-coast without a recharge. As importantly, whenever someone decides to recline into my zone, my computer stays out and working due to its size.
Though going on 4-years old, this machine's cutting-edge design still is in the forefront of design, with a slotload DVD, accessible headset (2) and line-in (microphone) on the front edge, there is no spinning of this machine from side to side in frantic searches for the little plug-in holes.
USB (2.0) and 1394 ports on the sides, a SSD/Sony Pro slot up front, and an express slot on the side, one doesn't need to further "accessorize" the 1340. It even has an HDMI port.
Overall, so good is this machine that another was purchased to extend overall usability, if nothing else -- and Dell needs to build a few more, too.
Pros: business/journalism
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
xps m1330
Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BBOP
on 10/03/2011
pros - its small compact.
cons - it gets too hot, too slow even with 4gb ram, keyboard went out every 3 months, i had the li ion 9 cell battery it lasted less than a year, the laptop was replaced more than 3 times in less than a year, the laptop crashed resulting in loss of data numerous times, i needed techs to come out and fix it and to send it in to dell for them to fix it numerous times. i spent more time without the laptop working than with the laptop working.
THIS PRODUCT IS NOT WORTH THE AMMOUNT OF MONEY OR TIME THAT YOU WOULD NEED TO SPEND JUST TO KEEP IT WORKING.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Great Company, Great Services, So-So Product...
Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: TechTraveler
from Detroit
on 05/18/2011
I've had the Studio XPS 13 up and running for less than a month now. However, prior to using it I had to install a newer BIOS version and had to have Tech Support replace mother board and a few other items. I'm hoping it doesn't start heating up again....
Pros: Travel, desktop replacement
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Very Happy
Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Coastie52
from Florida
on 02/17/2011
I bought this laptop for my husband. This laptop is just the right size. Just everything about it is great (keyboard, face recognition, my husband needed some help he called tech support and he is very, very happy with the laptop. We have an XPS 17" for almost 6 years now and we were very happy with that laptop but it was time for a new one.
Pros: web seaching, studying
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
solid workhorse
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ramsespride
from North Jersey
on 02/17/2011
I bought this refurb Studio XPS 13 to replace the Inpsiron 13 I previously owned. I needed something with a little more RAM, a faster processor, bigger hard drive and a better graphics card. The XPS 13 definitely delivered and had a few nice extras (backlit keyboard, dedicated media control buttons, edge to edge screen). The computer boots up under two minutes, runs the latest video games (Call of Duty: Black OPs) and software. Plus, it's light, which makes it easy to take anywhere without sacrificing performance. The batter life is little shorter than my Inspiron 13, but that had a 9 cell (much heavier) and the XPS only has a 6 cell. By finessing the power usage controls, I can squeeze over 5.5 hours of continuous running time. The LED screen is much brighter than my old LCD CCFL screen and has a wider viewing angle. My favorite thing about this computer is it's awesome array of ports. This baby can connect to anything. It has a Display Port, HDMI, Firewire, 2xUSB, ESATA, VGA and an Ethernet port. No matter where you are or what you need to connect to, this laptop has you covered. Finally, many of the newer 13 inch laptops on the market have taken out the optical drive to cut down on weight. I still need to use CD's and DVD's on my laptop (and burn them) and don't want to have to deal with an external drive. I got a great deal on this laptop and will hold onto for at least 4 more years.
Pros: Travel, work, entertainment
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Nice Laptop
Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Awesomeluv
from Ghana
on 08/27/2010
i like the laptop but my ration is low
Pros: video, programming, games
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Don't Buy
Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: corbingiles
from seneca, MO
on 07/24/2010
Pros---None
Cons--Everything.I've had this computer for a year and have had nothing but problmes with it. I even sent it back to Dell to be repaired and it still runs horrible. I couldn't use it for any of my classes last semester and now I'm going to have the same problem this semester.I will never buy another dell again and i will never recommend it to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
Sacrafice for portability
Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: wind
from Sacramento, Ca
on 01/30/2010
I actually bought the older version which is not available anymore. Anyways, I had it for almost 4 years now and it is still works in good condition.
Pro: Awesome design, portability (light weight), no hassle carrying around, cool features (touch buttons instead of press), slide in CD instead of the holder comes out, and easy to configure (reboot, recover, etc.).
Cons: Poor battery life, some problems with tough pad, heat-up too quick, and poor speaker volume.
Overall, I enjoyed it and like it very much. It is my first laptop and I will definitely buy a laptopn from Dell again in a few more years.
Pros: college, business/work, entertainment
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting Dell.com
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>