sony.com Customer Reviews Collected from sony.com
Sony - Internet Player with Google TV
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Star
18
44%of customers recommend this product. 
(
21 out of 48
)
Customer Reviews for Sony - Internet Player with Google TV
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Sony Google TV Great unit, Excellent remote
on August 23, 2015
Posted by: merrington
Gives your TV the ability to access the internet, watch movies with Netflix, Amazon Prime, Vudu, Crackle, and Google Play, play games, check your Facebook or Twitter, Plex Media Player, and a whole lot more by just installing the app. Excellent device, works really good but it does have a few bugs here and there. Nothing really annoying though. Every once in a while you might have to restart the unit but not that often. It's great for watching movies, or YouTube videos, or for controlling your cable/satellite box. I love using it for controlling the satellite box as the visual channel guide is much better than the traditional on-screen guides. Excellent feature is the voice search, touch pad remote and a full qwerty keyboard. I think most complains about this device is because people try using it for everything that their computer, tablet, or phone can do but really it is just for simple web browsing, checking email, social networking, and watching videos. It would be nice if Sony and Google made a better effort to support the unit, as in giving you the ability to download flash player updates. But if you want internet access through your TV, then this is the unit for you. I would recommend this!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
No more updates
on May 25, 2015
Posted by: Laporte
This product is no longer updated. It is now a piece of junk. Sony should give us a credit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Works great
on May 10, 2015
Posted by: Johnnybear
from Canton Nc
It works great. My whole family use it for everything from surfing the web to watching movies shows and videos on Netflix and Youtube. I have one in the living room and one in my man cave.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
Junk
on October 13, 2014
Posted by: DjDuctape
from 43206
I had an Smp-n200 media box previously to this one and for $140 less than the Nsz-gs8 is was 100 times better! This device can not connect to a wireless network and when it does, the connection is terrible and drops out consistently. When playing media from a usb or hard drive the audio becomes out of sync with the video. DO NOT PURCHASE!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
love it
on September 8, 2014
Posted by: drwalker
from sioux falls
I receive this as a gift and I have been enjoying this for about 9 months and only thing I wish it have is hulu plus app but other then that I have nothing else to complain about this and I have sony tablet and it work great with nsz gs8 and I have a network harddrive and plays pics, music, video with no problems
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3
SONY you are incredibly selfish!
on July 26, 2014
Posted by: brie987
from Brooklyn
This box should have had an update OVER A YEAR AGO!!! The software should be Android 4.xx by now why, why, why are you dragging your feet! Oh, perhaps I know why $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$! Dont get me wrong this is a very capable box, with Plex this box will play nearly every/anything, well at 720p but that is pretty good. But this box is being dated and bogged down by not being updated to Android 4.x. I am ready to just toss this box and like some other commenters just plug in the old laptop and never buy another SONY product again, which Im perfectly fine with. Very sad as, again this is a very very capable little box, getting to be a bit slow but nothing an OS update can deal with. COME ON SONY STOP DRAGGING YOUR CHEAP A** AND UPDATE THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
So good I bought a second one
on June 19, 2014
Posted by: chanda73
from guntown, ms
Very easy setup, fast download, access to more content than I was even expecting. We loved the first one so much I bought a second one to use in another area.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3
Sony vs Logitech
on June 17, 2014
Posted by: heynnema
from Lakeport, CA.
I replaced my Logitech Revue with this Sony Google TV, and I expected a lot. The plusses... it's a little faster than the Logitech. The minusses... the keyboard/controller. The Logitech has a full size keyboard/controller. But... the BIG disappointment is that there are as few apps in the Google Play Store, maybe even fewer, than the Logitech Revue. It also has the same operating system version of 3.2, and I hoped that Sony would have come out with newer, based on the fact that it's still being sold and supported by Sony.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Showing 1-8 of 66 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>