Looking for Answers about NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black

Wireless Connectivity-Wirelessly connect notebooks and wireless printers as well as networked home theater devices.Avoid long stringing cables. Freedom to place your home entertainment center anywhere and still connect to the Internet.Universal-works with any network-enabled device. No need to buy a Wi-Fi adapter that only works with one type of device.Option to power by USB port means no exposed wire hanging from the TV.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions
 | 
128 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
out of
5
(469 Reviews)469

Questions & Answers for NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black

Question

WiFi Adapter

If my blue ray player has built in WiFi do I need a separate adapter for my tv.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
If your bluray player has wifi built in, then you should not need a wireless adapter for the box. Their will be an Internet settings that you should be able to access from a settings menu on the box to run a setup to link the box to your home wifi.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kboyd825
 from
West Jordan, UT
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If the blu-ray player has built in wifi, you do not need this adapter.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
DC4TEGGZ
 from
Moscow, Pa
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No you do not.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
That depends. Some blu-ray players have limited Internet content (Netflix, Vimeo, etc.) while others have browsers that let you go anywhere on the Internet. Similarly, some TVs have limited Internet options, others have full browsers.

Do you want to use the Internet options on your TV (assuming you have them), and are they different or have more options than what is available on the blur-ray player? If yes, then you'll need the separate adapter. The player will only let you access what IT is capable of on the Internet, not what the TV is capable of.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tomczar
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes; you still need to connect your HDTV to your home network using an external adapter. Would recommend the Netgear wireless adapter. Instructions are clear and should be up and running in 15 minutes.
 
Products from my answer
NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
4.3 out of 5(468)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I am going to say yes for one reason. Firmware update of your TV. You could watch Internet feed via the Blu-Ray(BR) on your TV by choosing the BR input on the tv. However you are going to want to update the firmware on your tv automatically, otherwise you will forget to do it. Most flat screens need these updates. The first time you update it may take 20-30 minutes, be patient. Purchase the dongle for your tv, or the Netgear Universal Adapter (I have both). Netgear product below will plug into the LAN port on your TV and make it WIFI capable. Otherwise a USB receiver will do the job.
 
Products from my answer
NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
4.3 out of 5(468)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
delta1
 from
Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Buy the one recommended for your TV
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Yes
 from
TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to have a ethernet cord to acsess wifi?

Can I use this for my Xbox 360 ?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is advertised to work
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
goju00
 from
St. Louis, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The wifi adapter comes with an ethernet cable to connect the wifi adapter to the Smart TV , Blu-Ray Player , DVR, or Gaming console that has an ethernet port.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
DC4TEGGZ
 from
Moscow, Pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Check the back of the xbox unit. If it has the ethernet port you can use this. I would reccomend the Microsoft wifi adapter instead, I didnt like this netgear.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Check the back of the XBOX unit, if it has the Ethernet port, then your all set. I would use the Microsoft wifi adapter instead. I didnt like this netgear one too much.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
you would need to connect the device to your xbox through an Ethernet cord. most best buys still carry the wireless xbox adapter for about the same money
 
Products from my answer
Microsoft - Wireless N Network Adapter for Xbox 360
4.4 out of 5(274)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lordwillbure
 from
texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Think of Wi-Fi adapters like a radio; they can use and read the radio waves, but need to be plugged in by a solid power cord to work.

The Ethernet cable is the power cord in this metaphor. Your Wi-Fi router must be connected by a cable to your Internet source. This is an Ethernet cable if you're connecting to a modem, or either a coaxial cable or phone cable, if you have a modem/router combination and are using either a cable line or phone line for your Internet access.

Xbox 360s by default have Wi-Fi adapters internally, but if it's not working, then this should do the trick to hook up to an existing Wi-Fi network (I'm assuming you have one in place). This comes with an Ethernet cable, so that won't be a problem. It won't take the place of a router or a modem, though, so you will need a Wi-Fi network set up before plugging this into the 360.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tomczar
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Yes
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i am looking for the device to watch netflix and not have to use the playstation game system to do so

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
If tv has wifi this should work great
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Broody
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. It has a wireless connection
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
pisces28
 from
Greenville, nc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Get an Apple TV or Google Chrome, both basically plug and play and work great!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Spankycub
 from
Massachusetts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Just did a review on an Apple TV it's a nice option
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MisterTex
 from
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Apple TV love it...
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cmj3
 from
Simi Valley, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
This is the unit you want and need.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RScottKC
 from
Independence, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Try Apple TV
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JEBoehlert
 from
Iowa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will it extend out from rv to rv wifi in a park?

I want to buy for my Rv. When we are camping and the camp ground offers free wifi sometimes it is hard to get into our rig if we are to far away. Wanted something that will increase the range so I can get it in with 5 bars. Will this work?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rver
 from
Buckeye, Az
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
It should i can go from my house to trash is about about 300 yards or so with no problems
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Broody
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Not quite the device you are looking for. This device will only convert a wireless signal into a wired connection to be used on one device. Does not extend range in anyway.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
itguy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This device connects one ethernet cable to WiFi.
If that will work for you, then it might be just the thing.

I suspect that what you want instead is a "network range extender", which listens to WiFi, and lets you see the stronger WiFi.
Maybe the Netgear WN3000RP. I'd look for a unit that has the ability to use a USB as a power source, so I could power it with a common USB adapter in my RV.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClarDold
 from
Northern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You could use it to improve wireless reception. It has one ethernet port, so you'd need to run a network cable from it to wnat you want on the wireless network, or a hub if you want more than one device on it. I find it very stable connecting to my wireless network which is a floor up.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Nultech
 from
Honolulu
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
No. This is a bridge which is designed to convert the wireless signal into a wired signal for use with an Ethernet cable. It is not a repeater. However, before you go looking for a repeater, you should know that the repeater would have to be within range of the original signal and then it would repeat (rebroadcast) the signal from that point to an extended range. You may not be able to place a repeater within range of the original signal as it may need to go someplace like another camper's site. Your best bet in these cases is to register early at the campground and request a site close to the original transmitter of the wireless signal.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MisterEd
 from
New Jersey
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The A6210 does have a "high gain antenna", which also flips up to receive a better signal. I have noticed when I do flip it up the signal does improve, however I can not say exactly how much better. I think in your case, this will depend more on the quality and strength of the transmitted signal and which band is being used (wireless-N 2.4Ghz or wireless-AC 5.0Ghz). Also, the number of other interferences (other networks, cell phones, Bluetooth devices, microwaves,..ect) around you will effect your reception. My suggestion would be, get as close to the wireless router/transmitter as possible.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MyReview
 from
The Villages, Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
You may need something a little more stronger than what I have. That's a question for Geek Sqaud
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bubba
 from
Charlotte, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it work with xbox 360?

1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Broody
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As far as I know, all you need is an ethernet port(telephone jack looking thing but bigger). and plug it the wall. The little device will pick up your wifi signal and there you go. So to answer your question, YES it should work
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GamerFreak
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, If your xbox came with a Lan port (RJ45 port) but you need to be sure that your wifi router or access point is near to give you better signal, but the best option is Network WiFi adapter for Microsoft Xbox 360
 
Products from my answer
Image - Wireless N Network WiFi Adapter For Microsoft Xbox 360 w/ All-in-One Card Reader - Black
2 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
Agptek - Wireless A/B/G N Network Networking WiFi Adapter for Microsoft Xbox 360 Xbox360 - Multi
 
 
 
 
 
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AVexpert
 from
Boca Raton
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yep, and better than the MS wireless adapter BY FAR!!!
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Inov8r
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
It worked beautifully on my XBoxOne.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClarDold
 from
Northern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
it should, its just a portable cat5 network interface connected to your network via wireless. Im using it fir my ps3 slim works perfectly, no longer have to string a 60 foot cable across the room.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
seascape195
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Yes, it will.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with Dish Network VIP722K DVR?

Is it possible to use the Netgear Universal WI-Fi Adapter with the VIP722K HD DVR from Dish Network?
5 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Haverty
 from
Topeka, KS
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't see why not, I used it on my Directv HD Dvr's without a problem.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
crash6800
 from
WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have dish network and we use the 2Wire router/modem that came with the service.

I tried two separate times with two separate Wi-Fi adapters to connect the internet to my DVR box. Neither time could I get this adapter set up with the modem. It would find the modem, but always fail to connect.

I recommend saving yourself the time and spend another 60 bucks on a hard-line adapter that plugs into the wall electrical outlets.

PS - I didn't know this until I got the DVR connected to the internet - you do not need a phone line ran into the box if you get an Ethernet cable with internet access plugged into it. I.E. - You don't need both.

Good luck and I hope this helps!
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LegalEagle85
 from
Houston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This will work. Easy Set-up.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
According to the product Manual on Dish's website (http://www.dishnetwork.com/downloads/product_brochures/722_brochure.pdf), the 722 DVR does have a RJ45 Lan port/jack for "Future Use." In theory, it will work with the Netgear adapter but you should contact Dish Customer Service to see if the Lan port is functional now or ever.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Columbus, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
yes
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MannyinOrlando
 from
Orlando
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, I currently have one attached to my VIP722 HD DVR and it works perfectly. I used my laptop to set up the Netgear Universal WI-Fi Adapter, I then attached the Netgear Universal WI-Fi Adapter's to the ethernet port of the Dish receiver and used the USB port on the back of the receiver to power the adapter. I was able to configure the dish receiver to use it just like a broadband connection.

It has been working flawlessly for about 3 months now.
5 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BigJimSlade
 from
Columbus, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need one for tv and one for computer?

5 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
This wireless adapter can be used with one device at a time. I normally have it connected to the XBox 360 but I will switch it over to the Bluy Ray when needed. The wireless adapter can be thought of as the "wire" that connects a single device to your internet router if you had a wire longer enough to replace it. Use it as you would a long network cable. In your case you would get one for the computer. I'm not sure how your TV connects to the internet. If the TV connects through the computer then you only need one for the computer. If the TV connects directly to the internet you could get one for your TV and another for the computer if both have to use the internet at the same time. I think you just need one for your computer if it is located in a remote location in your house and you have a wireless router.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
westow3
 from
Chicago
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You need a wireless router, sold separately, to connect between your broadband modem and computer. However, you only need one Netgear adapter for your TV. You will only be able to access files such as music/photos from your computer and access online content such as Netflix and YouTube depending on the Internet access your TV has. My LG 42LD550 TV, for example, gives me access to computer's Photos and Music files, NetFlix, VuDu, YouTube and a few other online services. However, there is no Internet browser for surfing the internet on my TV.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Columbus, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Only if the computer doesn't have a wireless adapter, or is not hardwired into a wireless router. If it is not hardwired into the router, you will still need a wireless router to create th network in the first place.

Also, make sure your tv is compatible with it, as different tvs are compatible with different models.
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TiberiusReign
 from
Brevard County, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
THe product is designed to extend your home network via wireless connection and provide a wired output. If you have a wireless router,. you will only need one device.
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pklem
 from
Suffolk, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I have a Netgear GS605 Gigabit switch attached to the Netgear Universal WI-Fi Adapter and able to provide internet service to all 3 pcs with no problems.
5 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BigJimSlade
 from
Columbus, OH
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No, you can just switch your ethernet cable to the device that you want to use at a given time
5 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gamecockbri
 from
Charlotte, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Netgear wireless router. Would this adapter serve as the transceiver at the DVR for DirecTV's On Demand service for downloading movies etc?

Would save programs to the DVR hard drive so would speed be an issue?
5 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I use it as a wireless connector for DirecTV DVR, and it works quite nicely, very fast, and downloads a full movie in a few minutes, and I am only using a Wireless G router. Might be faster if I were using a Wireless N router.

You need a wireless connection to a high speed Internet service, of course.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
AlexNetherton
 from
Asheville NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If your DirecTV DVR box has an Ethernet/LAN jack, the Netgear Adapter will allow it to stream Internet content such as Netflix. However I doubt you will be able to save programs to your DVR due to licensing protection from the content providers.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Columbus, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes. I bought it expressly for that purpose. Works great.
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sully024
 from
Minneapolis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
it would but the speed would be limiting for HD movies if you have such a device. Suggest the powerline adapters for this.
 
Products from my answer
Belkin Powerline HD Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit
3.6 out of 5(66)
 
 
 
 
 
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MannyinOrlando
 from
Orlando
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, this worked great for me and was able to start downloading movies to my DVR right away
5 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gamecockbri
 from
Charlotte, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
my directv sat receiver does not have wifi or wireless networking built in. it has 2 Ethernet ports on the back tho. if your router is close enough to run a network cable connect it between the router and the receiver. if you know your internet connection is good and on demand is still not working try using the other Ethernet port on the back of your receiver.
5 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BC
 from
Moore, OK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with a Blue Ray Player and if so how?

4 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it will as long as you have a decent wireless network and a LAN port on the Blue Ray player. You follow directions to get the adapter onto your network and then after it is on the network you plug the adapter into the LAN port on the Blue Ray and then do the network setup on the Blue Ray menu.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
crash6800
 from
WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. Just connect the wireless adapter to the network port on your Blue Ray with a network cable. I have a Sony Blue Ray and it connected easy and quickly updated the software in the player.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
westow3
 from
Chicago
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It should, mine does. Need more info to help you out.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes if your player has the option for a wired connection. After the adapter is properly configured for network use, connect it to the wired input on your player then set up your player according to the manufacturer's instructions.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GSailor
 from
Connecticut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, but you have to use a patch cable and plug directly into a computer and set up the device.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Edgewood253
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes this will work with any product...
4 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

internet source coming through neighbors router

So I recently canceled my internet to save $ and my upstairs neighbor is allowing me to use their wifi signal. I have dish network and want to buy a slingbox to use. So this wireless adapter is what I would use then?
Thanks

Scott
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
maple grove, mn
on NETGEAR - Ieee 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It may be worth a try. I've used Dish's Sling solutions before, and it really-really needs a good fast (wired) Internet connection. There are way too many variables involved with a wireless connection to say for sure whether or not it will work, and Dish's Sling implementations can be a bit finicky as well.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NeoWolfWitch
 from
Broomfield, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. This box would work for that but you might need to work with your neighbor as far as passwords and things of that nature during the setup process. Since the wireless router is not directly in your home, I'm not sure how the signal strength will be and this could cause an unreliable connection during streaming.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kboyd825
 from
West Jordan, UT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Funny you should ask. The sticker on the box says "works great with slingbox".
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
DC4TEGGZ
 from
Moscow, Pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
As long as your Slingbox has the Ethernet port on the back then your fine.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
That should be more than enough for what your trying to do. Before I would buy it i would check with your neighbor about bandwidth and network usage. some isp's limit your bandwidth or usage. make sure that he or she is cool with it and that they dont have an over loaded router.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lordwillbure
 from
austin, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
If it pairs to their network.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>