Looking for Answers about NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge?

Customer Questions & Answers for
NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge

Wireless Connectivity-Wirelessly connect notebooks and wireless printers as well as networked home theater devices.Avoid long stringing cables. Freedom to place your home entertainment center anywhere and still connect to the Internet.Universal-works with any network-enabled device. No need to buy a Wi-Fi adapter that only works with one type of device.Option to power by USB port means no exposed wire hanging from the TV.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions
 | 
64 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.315 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Questions & Answers for NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge

Question

Will this connect a Sony Wireless LAN ready TV ?I have a 2010 Sony

I have a 2010 SONT EX4B / 40 BRAVIA LCD TV.
Model # KDL 40EX40B
It has never been used with the Internet before.
Original equipment called for buying a SONY UWA-BR100 USB Wireless LAN Adapter for SONY WiFi. This product is no longer available from Sony.

Will the NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge serve the same purpose, and allow me to use the Internet capibilities for my SONY Bravia TV?
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Alan
 from
Winchendon, MA>
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

i am looking for the device to watch netflix and not have to use the playstation game system to do so

6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. It has a wireless connection
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
pisces28
 from
Greenville, nc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Get an Apple TV or Google Chrome, both basically plug and play and work great!
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Spankycub
 from
Massachusetts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Just did a review on an Apple TV it's a nice option
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MisterTex
 from
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Apple TV love it...
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cmj3
 from
Simi Valley, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This is the unit you want and need.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RScottKC
 from
Independence, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Try Apple TV
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JEBoehlert
 from
Iowa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a CCTV dvr that has the LAN cable connection how can I make it wifi so I can connect to my wireless router

Is there a module I can buy to make my dvr wifi capable
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rjanks
 from
North port fl.
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
This unit will work. It has a wired lan cable connection in the box. That is the way I connected my Panasonic big screen.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RScottKC
 from
Independence, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This netgear bridge will do that for you as long as the DVR has its network capability already working. I have used this to connect a couple of old DirecTv dvrs to my network. But DirecTV deactivates the network ports and I had to update my DVR software to get them to work at all. IF your DVRs are made to network already then.....

All this bridge needs for initial set up is a connection to a computer already connected to your network.

I hope this answered your question.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
texasbuck
 from
fort Worth Texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This product should fit the bill, however you will need to configure it first using a desktop or laptop computer. Once configured, you should be able to plug it into the DVR and connect to the network.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JSLakes
 from
Franklin, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I had a similar need with my older smart TV and bought the NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge. It works like a champ and I never have to mess with it or think about it. There are other, similar products as well. That's just the one they had on the shelf at the time. Basically, it will look like a wireless device to your router and like a wall outlet to your DVR, so everyone is happy.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ovillain
 from
Ovilla, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I use a NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge on my Yamaha receiver and it works real well with my netgear router. Configuring it for a secure network is a little tricky but if you have a little networking knowledge you it is pretty simple. If you have a router that has a pin it's even simpler as the bridge will auto cofigure the setup and get you up really quick. I don't use this function and manually configure my network. But if you have a lan port on your dvr and it will use a wireless network then this should work. But make sure that's not a lan port for configuring the dvr as it may not be what you are hoping it will be. Good luck.
 
Products from my answer
 
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cous261
 from
Perry, Fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Any wireless bridge will do this, as long as your device has a network jack. A wireless bridge connects to your WiFi network, and then connects it to the attached network device.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NeoWolfWitch
 from
Broomfield, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

whether NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge is compatible for tatasky HD+

NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge will work for Tatasky HD+
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Keshu
 from
Mapusa Goa
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
no
2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
lwc1
 from
poughkeepsie ny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It should work with that standard, yes.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

internet source coming through neighbors router

So I recently canceled my internet to save $ and my upstairs neighbor is allowing me to use their wifi signal. I have dish network and want to buy a slingbox to use. So this wireless adapter is what I would use then?
Thanks

Scott
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
maple grove, mn
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It may be worth a try. I've used Dish's Sling solutions before, and it really-really needs a good fast (wired) Internet connection. There are way too many variables involved with a wireless connection to say for sure whether or not it will work, and Dish's Sling implementations can be a bit finicky as well.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NeoWolfWitch
 from
Broomfield, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. This box would work for that but you might need to work with your neighbor as far as passwords and things of that nature during the setup process. Since the wireless router is not directly in your home, I'm not sure how the signal strength will be and this could cause an unreliable connection during streaming.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kboyd825
 from
West Jordan, UT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Funny you should ask. The sticker on the box says "works great with slingbox".
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DC4TEGGZ
 from
Moscow, Pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
As long as your Slingbox has the Ethernet port on the back then your fine.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
That should be more than enough for what your trying to do. Before I would buy it i would check with your neighbor about bandwidth and network usage. some isp's limit your bandwidth or usage. make sure that he or she is cool with it and that they dont have an over loaded router.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lordwillbure
 from
austin, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
If it pairs to their network.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to have a ethernet cord to acsess wifi?

Can I use this for my Xbox 360 ?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is advertised to work
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
goju00
 from
St. Louis, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The wifi adapter comes with an ethernet cable to connect the wifi adapter to the Smart TV , Blu-Ray Player , DVR, or Gaming console that has an ethernet port.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DC4TEGGZ
 from
Moscow, Pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Check the back of the xbox unit. If it has the ethernet port you can use this. I would reccomend the Microsoft wifi adapter instead, I didnt like this netgear.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Check the back of the XBOX unit, if it has the Ethernet port, then your all set. I would use the Microsoft wifi adapter instead. I didnt like this netgear one too much.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
you would need to connect the device to your xbox through an Ethernet cord. most best buys still carry the wireless xbox adapter for about the same money
 
Products from my answer
 
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lordwillbure
 from
texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Think of Wi-Fi adapters like a radio; they can use and read the radio waves, but need to be plugged in by a solid power cord to work.

The Ethernet cable is the power cord in this metaphor. Your Wi-Fi router must be connected by a cable to your Internet source. This is an Ethernet cable if you're connecting to a modem, or either a coaxial cable or phone cable, if you have a modem/router combination and are using either a cable line or phone line for your Internet access.

Xbox 360s by default have Wi-Fi adapters internally, but if it's not working, then this should do the trick to hook up to an existing Wi-Fi network (I'm assuming you have one in place). This comes with an Ethernet cable, so that won't be a problem. It won't take the place of a router or a modem, though, so you will need a Wi-Fi network set up before plugging this into the 360.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tomczar
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Yes
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WiFi Adapter

If my blue ray player has built in WiFi do I need a separate adapter for my tv.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
If your bluray player has wifi built in, then you should not need a wireless adapter for the box. Their will be an Internet settings that you should be able to access from a settings menu on the box to run a setup to link the box to your home wifi.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kboyd825
 from
West Jordan, UT
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If the blu-ray player has built in wifi, you do not need this adapter.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DC4TEGGZ
 from
Moscow, Pa
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No you do not.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DavidP71
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
That depends. Some blu-ray players have limited Internet content (Netflix, Vimeo, etc.) while others have browsers that let you go anywhere on the Internet. Similarly, some TVs have limited Internet options, others have full browsers.

Do you want to use the Internet options on your TV (assuming you have them), and are they different or have more options than what is available on the blur-ray player? If yes, then you'll need the separate adapter. The player will only let you access what IT is capable of on the Internet, not what the TV is capable of.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tomczar
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes; you still need to connect your HDTV to your home network using an external adapter. Would recommend the Netgear wireless adapter. Instructions are clear and should be up and running in 15 minutes.
 
Products from my answer
 
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I am going to say yes for one reason. Firmware update of your TV. You could watch Internet feed via the Blu-Ray(BR) on your TV by choosing the BR input on the tv. However you are going to want to update the firmware on your tv automatically, otherwise you will forget to do it. Most flat screens need these updates. The first time you update it may take 20-30 minutes, be patient. Purchase the dongle for your tv, or the Netgear Universal Adapter (I have both). Netgear product below will plug into the LAN port on your TV and make it WIFI capable. Otherwise a USB receiver will do the job.
 
Products from my answer
 
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
delta1
 from
Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Buy the one recommended for your TV
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Yes
 from
TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Hi will this wireless adapter work with my Sony LED EX420

I have recently bought a new Sony Led it has 1 usb port and 2 Lan port .
1) Is it compatible with the Sony LED EX420 model (as sony only recommends its own WIfi dongle?
2) Are the number of ports I mentioned above enough to run the NG WI fi adapter and Skype web Cam?

Thanks in advance
Warm Regards
Also
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Eshu
 from
India
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm not familiar with that particular hardware but as long as the LAN jacks are standard it should work fine. Your device will just think it is plugged into the wall. The adapter can just be plugged into a wall power outlet too so it won't need your USB port for power.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ovillain
 from
Ovilla, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
this device on its own would only be capable of supporting one device unless you can find each device's mac address and assign them static ip's through your router. i think it would be more trouble than what its worth.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lordwillbure
 from
texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I know no reason why it wouldn't work. It provides an Ethernet connection to the TV, which is all the dongle would do. I used it on a Panasonic Viera. The manual said I should use Panasonic's adapter, but this generic one is fine.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bitbender
 from
Rochester, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a wireless modem for my dsl that is in a separate room than my desktop. What do I need as a wireless adapter for my direct tv?

2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I bought this product for my directv DVR so we could connect to the internet and get on demand shows. It works fine for us!
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
KJA55
 from
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Netgear wireless USB adapter worked very well to connect your HDTV receiver to your home network. You don' t have to have your PC/Laptop or wireless router in the same room. YOu can configure the Netgear device at your desktop and then plug it into the HDTV. Works great. Good luck!
 
Products from my answer
 
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cdgerm86
 from
Austin, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
If you're asking if the Netgear adapter Model #WNCE2001-100NAS / SKU #1002457 will work for Directv, the answer is yes, at least for the Directv R22 DVR. I qualify this because I have had other difficulties trying to media share videos from my pc to Directv via Music, Photos and More and still have yet to figure it out. The Directv tech forums indicate solutions for HD receivers but my R22 may not work the same way, being classified as a 'hybrid'. Anyway nothing has worked in that department and I've wasted a lot of time on it. But the good news for you is that the Netgear adapter does work for networking and downloading Directv Cinema movies from the internet! I wonder if you need a wireless router though, like I have, or will your wireless modem do the same trick? The only problem I had is that I didn't think I could set it up myself so I paid Best Buy to home network and secure my stuff but I've read reviews from others who said they had no problems installing the Netgear on their own. Once it works it's really cool!
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jimred00
 from
Kansas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with a Blue Ray Player and if so how?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - IEEE 802.11n 300 Mbps Wireless Bridge
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it will as long as you have a decent wireless network and a LAN port on the Blue Ray player. You follow directions to get the adapter onto your network and then after it is on the network you plug the adapter into the LAN port on the Blue Ray and then do the network setup on the Blue Ray menu.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
crash6800
 from
WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. Just connect the wireless adapter to the network port on your Blue Ray with a network cable. I have a Sony Blue Ray and it connected easy and quickly updated the software in the player.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
westow3
 from
Chicago
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It should, mine does. Need more info to help you out.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes if your player has the option for a wired connection. After the adapter is properly configured for network use, connect it to the wired input on your player then set up your player according to the manufacturer's instructions.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
GSailor
 from
Connecticut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, but you have to use a patch cable and plug directly into a computer and set up the device.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Edgewood253
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes this will work with any product...
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Mo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>