Looking for Answers about Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless

Easily organize your groceries in this spacious 26.3 cu. ft. side-by-side refrigerator that features MicroEtch spill-resistant shelves and gallon door storage. Product specs and dimensions (PDF)
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions
 | 
9 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
out of
5
(18 Reviews)18

Questions & Answers for Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless

Question

ice maker

is it amke crushed ice ?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jweda
 from
worcester, ma
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Jweda:

Refrigerator GSS26C4XXY offers crushed and cubed ice through the dispenser.

Hopefully this information is beneficial to you. Thank you for your inquiry regarding our Whirlpool appliances!
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

New Unit Makes Clunking Noise during Cooling as if Motor or Pump is about to Fail

After waiting 4 days for delivery, my new unit failed to cool at all in 24 hours. I called Whirlpool tech support who recommended I have Best Buy exchange the unit. The second unit arrived another 6 days later: yesterday. It is cooling but too welll: the freezer is set to 0 but the actual temp is-20; the fridge is set to 37 but actual temp is about 32. Worse, this second unit is making a noise that sounds similar to a bearing about to fail in a motor or apump going bad. I am likely to return this unit and just get a total refund. My confidence in this model(and the Whirlpool brand) is shattered..., unless someone can convince me that the temp should normalize sometime beyond the 24 hours I was told about, and that the troubling noise will go away, too. Any advice beyond a link to an online troubleshooting guide? Thank you.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for your inquiry regarding Whirlpool refrigerator model GSS26C4XXY.

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you are experiencing with your APPLIANCE! For your convenience we have product troubleshooting available at Whirlpool.com under the Service and Support tab. For further assistance please call our Customer Support line 866-698-2538.

Thank you for your inquiry regarding our Whirlpool appliances!
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

water leaks from freezer door

my side by side refrigerator on the freezer leaks water on the bottom of the door every four or more days? why
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for your inquiry regarding Whirlpool refrigerator model GSS26C4XXY.

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you are experiencing with your refrigerator. For your convenience we have product troubleshooting available at Whirlpool.com under the Service and Support tab. For further assistance please call our Customer Support line 866-698-2538.

Thank you for your inquiry regarding our Whirlpool appliances!
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

where is the water filter located

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for your inquiry regarding Whirlpool refrigerator model GSS26C4XXY.

The filter is located in the refrigerator compartment, near the ceiling, toward the front of the door.

Thank you again for your inquiry. We appreciate and value your business!
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get the grill off below the door for cleaning?

I recently bought a home with a Whirlpool Gold, but there is no owner's manual
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for your inquriy regarding Whirlpool refrigerator model GSS26C4XXY.

Below, I have listed the link you may use to view the use and care guide for model GSS26C4XXY.

https://www.whirlpool.com/digitalassets/MLPDF/User%20Instructions%20%28SP%29%20-%20W10297006.pdf

Thank you again for your inquiry. We appreciate and value your business!
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the input voltage on this refrigerator?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Customer,

This refrigerator, model GSS26C4XXY, will require a 115 volt, 60 Hz., AC only, 15- or 20-amp fused, grounded electrical supply.

Thank you for your interest in a Whirlpool refrigerator!
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ice maker problem

I have a Whirlpool Gold side by side refrigerator. I have had this for about 6 months. The icemaker has worked fine until a few days ago when it stopped making ice. We have checked all connections and there doesn't seem to be any problems. Any suggestions?
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Customer:

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you are experiencing with your refrigerator! For your convenience we have product troubleshooting available at Whirlpool.com/Owner_Center under Product Help. For further assistance please call our Customer Support line 800-698-2538.

Thank you for your inquiry regarding our Whirlpool appliances!
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Poor Performance In-Door Ice Maker

I am reading reviews on this refrigerator (Whirlpool Gold GSS26C4XXY) that indicate that many people are having problems with the in-door ice maker having a slow capacity at making ice. Some people have indicated that the water line to the ice maker freezes up, so the ice maker does not make any ice. One reviewer described this as an undisclosed known defect in the in-door ice maker. Have there been any design changes to correct this problem? I am interested in buying the Whirlpool Gold GSS26C4XXY refrigerator, but not with a known defect in the ice maker system (if it has not been corrected).

Also, is Whirlpool Gold the new name for Maytag products?

Also, does the Whirlpool Gold GSS26C4XXY refrigerator use adaptive defrost? Is it the same adaptive defrost control that Maytag used several years ago? I have a Maytag refrigerator with adaptive defrost control that fails about every 3 years. It acts like there is a timer in the adaptive defrost control mechanism that has the adaptive defrost control fail after so many hours of operation, so that a service call will be necessary and the part will have to be replaced. I have had to replace the adaptive defrost control twice so far in my Maytag refrigerator.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Valued Consumer:

Model GSS26C4XXY is still fairly new so there are no “undisclosed known defects in the in-door ice maker” on this or any other model. The ice maker is quite small because of the redesign of completely enclosing the area; it holds only 6 cubes at a time. The container can hold approximately 4 lbs at a time and makes approximately 219 smaller ice cubes in 24 hr. It does include a feature however that can speed the ice production but the bucket still only holds approximately 4 lbs at a time. These ice cubes will fit into a sports bottle much easier than those of other side by side units.

The new models that have the ice maker on the top of the freezer door such as models WSF26C2EX, GSF26C4EX, GSS26C4XX, GSS30C6EY, GSC25C4EY (counter depth) and GSC25C6EY (counter depth).

If there are any issues that our authorized servicers will advise our engineers of, a solution will be created. We could not say whether a model you bought today would still have this issue. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Whirlpool Gold is not Maytag. Maytag is Maytag. It is its own brand.

Model GSS26C4XXY does include (ADS) Adaptive Defrost System. This monitors when the compressor is running and defrosts only when necessary, resulting in improved food preservation and energy savings.

Thank you for your interest in our Whirlpool refrigerator.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How many watts does this refrigerator need?

I want to buy a transformer and need to know how many watts this refrigerator consumes to know how big a transformer I need. Thanks
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - Gold 26.3 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Valued Consumer:

On most refrigerators, the compressor will have about 1.2 to 2.6 running amps. Multiply by 2 and this will give you the start up amps.
It will have 900 running watts, maximum 1800.

Thank you for your interest in a new Whirlpool dryer.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1