Looking for Answers about HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer

Print, fax, scan and copy from virtually any computer on your network with this all-in-one printer that features wireless technology and a 2.4" touch-screen display for printing from the Web without a PC.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions
 | 
85 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.962 out of 5
4
out of
5
(106 Reviews)106

Questions & Answers for HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer

Question

How much are the ink cartridges? What would be the cost per page for a color or black ink copy?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
This printer uses the HP 940 and 940XL series ink cartridges. These ink cartridges are priced from $21.99 to $38.99 each depending on the color and size.

The cost per page of this printer also ranges from approximately 1.7 cents per page to 3.1 cents per page depending on which ink cartridges are used.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

Print from iPad?

Can I use this to print from my iPad? In fact, can I even print anything from my iPad? I've never see anything about printing from an iPad?
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pistolsmith
 from
Bunker hill, WV
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes! I print using the ePrint function. I didn't want to download any iPrint apps because they're usually hit and miss, but ePrint works every time. Basically, your printer has it's own email address and you send the document or message to the printer and it prints. It's pretty cool. Very easy to use.

I used it to print a paper for my tutoring session when the computer lab was too busy. I also let my roommate use it, with the promise that she splits the price of ink.

My roommate uses it too, but she has a PC. No compatibility issues so far :)
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TrendyCollegeGrl
 from
Cincinnati, Ohio
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This multifunction printer has HP ePrint functionality, which will allow you to e-mail a document directly to the printer and it will print it out.

This multifunction printer is also compatible with the HP iPrint Photo Software for the iPad. For more information on this software, you can visit the following website:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01616126&tmp_track_link=ot_recdoc/c01619067/en_us/c01616126/loc:1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this printer automaticaly print two sided documents?

3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This printer does print 2-sided documents. I'm not sure if it's automatic or if you have to adjust the settings, but I saw an in store demonstration of this feature.
 
Products from my answer
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TrendyCollegeGrl
 from
Cincinnati, Ohio
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this printer has automatic duplex (double-sided) printing.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use the feeder for scaning documents?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. The feeder scans up to 35 pages (face up). It will also scan directly to a computer file if you want it to or you can fax the documents.
 
Products from my answer
HP 500-Count Multipurpose Paper
 
 
 
HP 564 Ink Cartridge Combo Pack - Cyan/Magenta/Yellow
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TrendyCollegeGrl
 from
Cincinnati, Ohio
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the ADF (Automatic Document Feeder) is designed to be used for scanning.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Photosmart vs Officejet for color photo printing

How do the Office jet printers (e.g. 8500A) compare to the Photosmart printers when it comes to printing photos on photo paper?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rpwoodjr
 from
Virginia
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I printed the same picture on a PhotoSmart web ($99), PhotoSmart Premium ($149), Officejet 6500w ($199), and Officejet 8500A ($249). This is my impression:

Even though the PhotoSmart web uses a 2-ink system (black and tri-color), compared to the 5-ink system of the PhotoSmart Premium the pictures were very similar. I think the bonus of the 5-ink system is that you can replace one color at a time as needed instead of wasting ink. The ink for both is priced VERY nicely. I did prefer the separate photo tray on the PhotoSmart Premium for convenience issues.

When compared to the 6500w, the picture quality was once again very much the same. But once again, it was a bit of a pain to have to remove the plain white paper, set the paper size to 4x6 photo, and load the photopaper into the tray. Also, you don't get the full range of photo editing capabilities offered on the PhotoSmarts.

The 8500A had a noticeable difference in photo quality. While it was still nice and detailed, the picture appeared muted and less glossy (even though it was on the same advanced glossy photo paper).

My own personal favorite photo printer? The HP Photosmart Compact Printer model A636. It takes the 110 tri-color ink catridge, is portable, and prints fantastic photos on 4x6 and 5x7 paper.
 
Products from my answer
HP Photosmart e-All-in-One Wireless
4.2 out of 5(587)
 
 
 
HP Photosmart Premium Wireless e-All-In-One Printer
3.8 out of 5(208)
 
 
 
HP Photosmart Compact Photo Printer
4.4 out of 5(47)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TrendyCollegeGrl
 from
Cincinnati, Ohio
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
In general, HP Photosmart printers provide a wider range of colors and higher resolution printing than HP Officejet printers. However, HP Officejet printers will still print excellent photos.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to replace the printheads and how often?

3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the print heads on this model must be replaced over time. Of course, the time before replacing depends upon how many pages you print. Typically, it will be a couple of years in a home setting.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the printer compatible with snow leopard?

Are there any functions of the printer that don't work if you are using snow leopard? Can you connect via ethernet and wifi both or do you need to choose?

Does the printer use less ink than the new photosmart all in one?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
yes, this printer is compatible with Mac OSX 10.6 (snow leopard). I'm running that on my Macbook.

All functions supported. The scanning works best when you go to Preferences > Printers > Scanner and then open the scanner. I have not had good experiences with using the HP software scanner option.

In general the "officejet" is made more for business use so they are made to last longer and be less of an ink hog. I personally own a hp officejet 6500 wireless model and my parents own the the 8500
wireless officejet printer. None of us have any issues to report.

I believe the ethernet and wifi connection is possible. I do recall seeing a ethernet connection on the back of the 8500. I also know that it's all how you set up the printer on the specific Mac/PC that you want to use this printer with too. If you see my review (it will be up in 72 hours), I mentioned the setup process is easy. The setup was easy for Mac and PC.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
vintagetechsw
 from
South East USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it accept 8x14" paper, print good color photos?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The model I bought Office Jet Pro 8500A does not scan or fax legal size paper, but I believe it will print as the tray can be adjusted to hold that paper size. Color photos are good quality.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
clangston
 from
Pearland, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this printer will accept 8.5" x 14" paper and will print excellent photos.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the 8500a be hooked up using a hard wired network and not wirelessly?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can use it hard wired and/or wirelessly.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
clangston
 from
Pearland, TX
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this printer includes USB and Ethernet connectivity for connecting to a PC or network.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is different between the hp all in one printers pro 8500a wireless and the pro plus 8500a wireless

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Officejet Pro 8500A Wireless All-In-One Printer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The pro plus can fax and scan legal size documents.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
clangston
 from
Pearland, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The "plus" model has a larger touchscreen display, more internal memory, and a larger automatic document feeder than the standard 8500a wireless printer.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>