Looking for Answers about Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV

This Blu-ray player comes with Google TV built in. You can surf the Internet on your TV screen just like you would on a computer - check e-mail, update Facebook, check your fantasy football stats and more. Built-in wireless connectivity lets you access movies, photos, music and more online. With picture-in-picture, you can even surf the Web while you watch TV or movies. Learn more about Google TV products Smart Blu-ray PlayerGet a world of instant entertainment with this smart Blu-ray player. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.CinemaNow
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions
 | 
188 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
out of
5
(269 Reviews)269

Questions & Answers for Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV

Question

Can the Sony Google TV Blue Ray disk player be connected to a Slingbox?

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
with the Sony there is no need for a Sling box but if the slingbox has HDMI cables I don't see why not you'd have to set up the Slingbox through the Sony internet connection though
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cauzing
 from
Summerville, SC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony Internet TV Bluray player is equipped with HDMI connection for input and output. The added device (sling box) would need to have an available HDMI connection in order to be used. This is the main requirement for using the SITV Bluray play with such devices.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

If you purchase the Sony Internet TV, is it necessary to get the sony internet blu-ray disc player also?

Trying to purchase graduation gifts and this was on the wish list in addition to the Sony Internet Tv.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
DawgFan
 from
Georgia
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is not necessary to purchase both, they have the same Google feature. Only difference is that the Bluray Player obviously plays the Bluray movies, but the web search options are the same.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BBY4me
 from
Grand Rapids, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Google Internet TV feature on TV and Blu-ray player works the same way. The Internet Blu-ray player is not required with the Internet Television. You can just purchase a regular Blu-ray player.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

logetech have option to add camera why sony doesn't????

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can add a camera and lot's of other USB hardware
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jskins
 from
Lehigh Valley PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for your post.

skype is currently not an available option

Supported File Formats:

The following file formats are supported by the Internet TV device via the USB port:

AAC/MPEG-4 AAC
H.264/MPEG-4 AVC
MP3 (MPEG1 audio layer)
JPG
GIF
PNG

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Supported Sony® Devices

The following USB devices are supported by the Internet TV device via the USB port.

a (alpha) DSLR Cameras

DSLR-A350
DSLR-A380
DSLR-A550
DSLR-A700

Cyber-shot® Cameras

DSC-G3
DSC-H10
DSC-HX1
DSC-HX5V
DSC-S730
DSC-S930
DSC-T2
DSC-T50
DSC-T500
DSC-T70
DSC-T700
DSC-T900
DSC-TX5
DSC-TX7
DSC-W120
DSC-W190
DSC-W320
DSC-W350
DSC-W370
DSC-WX1

Memory Stick® Reader/Writer

MSAC-UAH1

PSP™ (PlayStation Portable)

PSP-1000
PSP-2000
PSP-3001
PSPgo

TransferJet™ Station

TJS-1

Micro Vault® USB Storage

USM-16GL
USM-16GLX
USM-2GHX
USM-4GJ
USM-4GLX(A)
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

can u hook a web cam to it

3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The NSZGT1 will not work with a webcam.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No...
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gem1849
 from
Miami Lakes, FL
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

we have cisco wireless now, can we use that? also we only have an antenae for tv..will that work?

3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This unit takes component or HDMI inputs. I setup my Cisco vpn wireless router on WPA2-PSK with ease.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
derkooh
 from
Phoenix, AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The NSZGT1 has built-in WiFi so you can easily connect the unit to your existing network. The unit does not have a built in tuner or antenna input.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to pay montly for using this sony internet connectable?

To use internet services is there an extra fee that I have to pay monthly?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
philly165
 from
Minneapolis,Minnesota
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
As long as you already have wi-fi in your home there are no fees to connect or stay connected
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ksmithreview
 from
Portland, ME
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No; it is an added feature to my existing wi-fi network in my home.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GWilson
 from
Flint, MI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you play an ipod touch, nano, iphone through it

Is there an ipod jack or an input or other besides usb.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No IPod jack
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
1hunny
 from
Richmond, Virginia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The NSZGT1 cannot play an iPod device via the USB, however, you can connect a FAT32 USB storage device to play or view your favorite MP3s, Videos and pictures.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

App market??

When will the android app market be available for Google Tv?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
A limited version of Android App Marketplace was released to Sony devices this week. Google says it will be released to Logitech devices "soon".
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MadisonTechnophile
 from
Madison, Wis.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
We currently have no update when the Android app would be available.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need HDMI or can I use this with component cables? I realize I won't get Blue-Ray Quality but wanted to check and see if I need HDMI to use unit

2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The only outputs are HDMI and USB.

You ought to be able to use an HDMI-to-<whatever> converter cable if you don't have an HDMI input on your TV or need/want to use some other input than HDMI for whatever reason.

For example, I have an HDMI-to-monitor cable for another use, which would seemingly work just fine if needed.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MadisonTechnophile
 from
Madison, Wis.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The NSZGT1 will only function with HDMI cables. There are no other video connections provided on the unit for connection to a television.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have my Tv mounted on the wall with my components in a closet behind the TV

I am very interested in purchasing this unit but if it does not offer BlueTooth or cannot receive a signal behind a wall I am not sure what options I have. Today I use a Harmony remote with infrared extender. does this device have an extender?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
steve
 from
Los Angeles
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
the sony google TV blu ray player is controlled by its QWERTY remote control using RF. you can NOT control this device with an IR extender as. Would be nice.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
youhavetobekiddingme
 from
San Diego, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The SITV will not transfer signals through walls without some possibility of signal lost, but will support IR blasters.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>