Looking for Answers about Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV

This Blu-ray player comes with Google TV built in. You can surf the Internet on your TV screen just like you would on a computer - check e-mail, update Facebook, check your fantasy football stats and more. Built-in wireless connectivity lets you access movies, photos, music and more online. With picture-in-picture, you can even surf the Web while you watch TV or movies. Learn more about Google TV products Smart Blu-ray PlayerGet a world of instant entertainment with this smart Blu-ray player. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.CinemaNow
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions
 | 
188 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
out of
5
(269 Reviews)269

Questions & Answers for Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV

Question

Do you have to pay montly for using this sony internet connectable?

To use internet services is there an extra fee that I have to pay monthly?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
philly165
 from
Minneapolis,Minnesota
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
As long as you already have wi-fi in your home there are no fees to connect or stay connected
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Ksmithreview
 from
Portland, ME
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No; it is an added feature to my existing wi-fi network in my home.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
GWilson
 from
Flint, MI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I hook this unit up to my 720p hd tv

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes you can
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
latnplboy
 from
Brooklyn
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The NSZGT1 can auto detect the maximum resolution of the Television it is connect to, and select the correction setting. Additionally, you can manually change the resolution setting by going to the settings menu.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN YOU USE A PRINTER WITH NSZGT1

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
We could not get our wireless printer to work with this system.
Even the professsional couldn't get it to work.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
1hunny
 from
Richmond, Virginia
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately, NSZGT1 Internet Google TV does not support a Printer.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

If you purchase the Sony Internet TV, is it necessary to get the sony internet blu-ray disc player also?

Trying to purchase graduation gifts and this was on the wish list in addition to the Sony Internet Tv.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DawgFan
 from
Georgia
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is not necessary to purchase both, they have the same Google feature. Only difference is that the Bluray Player obviously plays the Bluray movies, but the web search options are the same.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BBY4me
 from
Grand Rapids, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Google Internet TV feature on TV and Blu-ray player works the same way. The Internet Blu-ray player is not required with the Internet Television. You can just purchase a regular Blu-ray player.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the "google TV" software the same and has the same features as that on the Logitech Revue?

3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Before this week's heralded, major Google TV software update, the software on this Sony device and the Logitech Revue was almost exactly the same.

One major difference on this device is the beautiful integration of the Blu-Ray/DVD disc player. For example:

When using a Logitech Revue, if you have a Blu Ray or DVD player, you have to set down the Logitech remote, pick up your TV's remote, switch input to your Blu-Ray/DVD player, set down your TV remote, pick up your Blu Ray/DVD player's remote, watch the movie, pick up your TV's remote, switch back to Google TV as the input, set down your TV's remote, pick up your Logitech remote, and go back to using Google TV.

With this Sony device, you simply insert a disc into the player and it automatically switches over to playing the disc. To return to Google TV or regular TV, just use the "Home" button on the Sony remote. I'm really happy to have been able to put *all* my other remotes away and just use this one very functional all-in-one remote.

Since the major Google TV software update, only Sony devices have it so far. Google says the Logitech update is coming "soon". So, for this current, hopefully brief moment in time, the Sony device has much more advanced software than the Logitech Revue.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MadisonTechnophile
 from
Madison, Wis.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Google TV delivers a new experience by bringing the TV and internet together. Using your existing cable or satellite service and at no additional cost, Google TV gives you access to more entertainment options and simplifies the process of finding what you’re looking. Plus, you can enjoy both TV and web content at the same time, on the same screen. To see more cool features of the Internet Television, please visit Sony’s eSupport website.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Since the Blu-Ray unit can be hooked up to multiple TVs, why not move Google internet around to many rooms? Why buy the TV option for only one TV?

4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Nook
 from
Bethesda, Maryland
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The NSZGT1 is only designed to be connected to one TV at a time- there is one HDMI output.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Of course a Blu-Ray player or any other set top box can only be connected to one tv at a time. Many people have one big screen tv and are only concerned about advanced features like Netflix etc for that main setup.

This unit is what it is. It goes in between your cable box or sat box and your tv. It then brings it all together by giving you one advanced remote that allows you to watch live tv, operate your dvr, use Google TV features such as internet search, Netflix, Youtube, etc. It has it's detractors but I am pretty impressed.

Two things I really like; 1. Any movies or video I acquire on my computer, I just put in My Videos folder and it's instantly available of our tv through this system. 2. Many options will provide you with Netflix content and perhaps as well as this, but this unit does do it well. We watched a movie last night on Netflix and I was stunned at the quality of an internet streamed video.

I know that I answered more than your question but hope someone finds it helpful.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
shacky
 from
The North
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

can i connect a mouse

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The NSZGT1 has 4 USB inputs (3 rear, 1 front) that can be used to connect a USB mouse and keyboard.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, but the controller has a built in mouse that is pretty easy to use.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Gem1849
 from
Miami Lakes, FL
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Sony Google TV Blue Ray disk player be connected to a Slingbox?

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
with the Sony there is no need for a Sling box but if the slingbox has HDMI cables I don't see why not you'd have to set up the Slingbox through the Sony internet connection though
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cauzing
 from
Summerville, SC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony Internet TV Bluray player is equipped with HDMI connection for input and output. The added device (sling box) would need to have an available HDMI connection in order to be used. This is the main requirement for using the SITV Bluray play with such devices.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

logetech have option to add camera why sony doesn't????

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can add a camera and lot's of other USB hardware
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jskins
 from
Lehigh Valley PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for your post.

skype is currently not an available option

Supported File Formats:

The following file formats are supported by the Internet TV device via the USB port:

AAC/MPEG-4 AAC
H.264/MPEG-4 AVC
MP3 (MPEG1 audio layer)
JPG
GIF
PNG

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Supported Sony® Devices

The following USB devices are supported by the Internet TV device via the USB port.

a (alpha) DSLR Cameras

DSLR-A350
DSLR-A380
DSLR-A550
DSLR-A700

Cyber-shot® Cameras

DSC-G3
DSC-H10
DSC-HX1
DSC-HX5V
DSC-S730
DSC-S930
DSC-T2
DSC-T50
DSC-T500
DSC-T70
DSC-T700
DSC-T900
DSC-TX5
DSC-TX7
DSC-W120
DSC-W190
DSC-W320
DSC-W350
DSC-W370
DSC-WX1

Memory Stick® Reader/Writer

MSAC-UAH1

PSP™ (PlayStation Portable)

PSP-1000
PSP-2000
PSP-3001
PSPgo

TransferJet™ Station

TJS-1

Micro Vault® USB Storage

USM-16GL
USM-16GLX
USM-2GHX
USM-4GJ
USM-4GLX(A)
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a way to disable it?

I'm buying this as a Christmas Present for my Husband. Is there a way to turn it off and watch tv thru the satelite after installation without messing the installation up?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jennifer
 from
Texas
on Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
When setting up this device, you integrate your satellite TV (or cable) into the device. There's no need or reason to "disable" the device. You simply watch TV using the device, and I for one *love* the included all-in-one remote.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MadisonTechnophile
 from
Madison, Wis.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you set up the network the Blu ray player will have internet access at all times. to disconnect from the internet either unplug the LAN Cable or remove the wireless Key information from network settings within the Google Player. at that point your Google TV will simply perform as a Blu-ray player.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>