Looking for Answers about Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White

This washer features a 3.6 cu. ft. capacity that accommodates large loads to save time and energy. The 12 cycle settings provide versatile wash options for custom laundry care.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions
 | 
56 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.151 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(365 Reviews)365

Questions & Answers for Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White

Question

what is the difference between high efficiency washers and standard washers?

3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think the only real difference is that the spinning is way faster. I have found that due to the faster spinning, my clothes don't take as long to dry- maybe even half the time they used to take!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Healthwoman
 from
Kansas
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Dear Valued Consumer:

High efficiency washers similar to the WTW4950XW you are interested in, conserve water usage. Government regulations specify that these types of washers only use a specific amount of water.

Thank you for your interest in our Whirlpool washer.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does this leave residue on my clothes? (You can see it on black items)

I just bought this washer and am upset because you can not mix the detergent with the water BEFORE putting in clothes. Therefore, whatever you place on top of the detergent leaves residue on the clothes. You can NOT see it on the lighter colored clothes, of course, but , you see it on blacks. I have had to rinse both loads of the black that I just washed.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There are only 2 reasons I can think of, that might cause this to happen.

You must be using High Efficiency (HE) labeled laundry soap. I do recommend liquid over powder. More soap does not make cleaner clothes. It is better to use less than you need, than more than you need.

This washer is very particular regarding soap as it only uses just enough water for the size of the load of laundry. I would also make sure to spread the laundry soap around the entire drum as you pour it in, not just in a pile.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ferra99
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Dear Customer:

I'm sorry to hear about the residue issue you are experiencing with your washer! For your convenience we have product troubleshooting available at Whirlpool.com/Owner_Center under Product Help. For further assistance please call our Customer Support line 800-698-2538.

Thank you for your inquiry regarding our Whirlpool appliances!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model has the center agitator or not?

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No center agitator on this Whirlpool, but i sure don't miss it! cleans great and more room.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Healthwoman
 from
Kansas
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Dear Valued Consumer:

Model WTW4950XW does not include a normal agitator. It has a wash plate at the bottom of the basket.

Thank you for your interest in our Whirlpool washer.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this is Tier II Energy Star washer?

I cannot seem to find the MEF & WF information about this washer. I would like to apply for a rebate from the gas company....
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Niky T.
 from
Tucson, AZ
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This unit is energy star rated and qualifies for most electric company rebates.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Dear Nicky T:

This washer, model WTW4950XW, is rated as a CEE Tier 3 appliance. Specific rating information is available at EnergyStar.gov.

Thank you for your interest in a Whirlpool washer!
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

For washer model #WTW4950XW, what is the MEF (Modified Energy Factor), WF (Water Factor) and Cubic Feet?

2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Customer,

This washer, model WTW4950XW, has a capacity of 3.6 cubic feet, a MEW rating of 2.48 and a WF rating of 3.64.

Thank you for your interest in a Whirlpool washer!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

do I need to purchase additional hoses for this product? If so what kind?

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
customer
 from
colorado springs
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The washer does need the hot and cold water hoses. These typically cost $10-$15 depending on the length.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ferra99
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Dear Valued Consumer:

You will need to purchase inlet (fill) hoses for model WTW4950XW. These are the hoses that you connect from your hot and cold water sources to the washer.
The part number is 8212641RP for 5 ft commercial grade washer hoses.

Thank you for your interest in our Whirlpool washer.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

general

how does a washer clean good without an agigator
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gordo
 from
dfw texas
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This whirlpool washer cleans great without an agitator. It uses the same high RPM technology to get the wash done that the high efficiency front loaders use. I've never had such clean clothes!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Healthwoman
 from
Kansas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hello, Gordo!

Our newer High Efficiency top loading washers will use an Impeller-Wash Plate system instead of the agitator. This system helps create different wash movements throughout the cycle to clean your clothing while using less water and less energy. Attached is a link to a video which will show you how the new Impeller-Wash Plate system works compared to the traditional models with the agitator.

Thank you for your interest in a Whirlpool washer!
Video Answer:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Clothes movement in an HE top-loading washer.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Stainless wash basket -- is that really useful?

I was seeing the stainless basket as being advertised as a durability feature. But, from my experience, it is the 'wear items' that will break on the machine -- rust is never a problem. Why not have a stainless pump or a fiber reinforced drive coupler or a more durable switch in the cover? They would not break as often and we'd all save money.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The advantage to a stainless steel basket for instance, on model WTW4950XW is that it will be more durable than any other material. Metal buttons, zippers and other items on clothing today can be rough on the basket of a washer. This is the reason that some models include a tougher basket such as stainless steel.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the outer dimensions of this washer?

Whirlpool 3.6 cu. ft. 12-cycle high efficiency washer - white
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lesli
 from
Charlotte
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Valued Consumer:

The outer dimensions of model WTW4950XW are shown below:
27 ½ wide
27 deep
36 front height
43 back height

Thank you for your interest in our Whirlpool washer.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the spin cycle speed

what is the spin cycle speed
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tom
on Whirlpool - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Dear Customer,

The high spin speed for this model is 800 rpm.

We appreciate your interest in Whirlpool appliances!

Thank you.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamWhirlpool
 from
Benton Harbor, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>