Looking for Answers about Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive

Use this external double-layer DVD� RW/CD-RW drive to back up your important documents and files on single- and double-layer DVD media. The slot-loading device allows easy access to media and is compatible with select Windows operating systems.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions
 | 
28 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(9 Reviews)9

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive

Question

Will this device work well with a netbook having Windows 7 starter?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GTgrad
 from
Atlanta, GA
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes. I am running Windows 7 Starter on my Toshiba NB305-N442BL
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FE517
 from
Syracuse, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work with a macbook pro?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
blu
 from
jersey
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

Can I download Antivirus software to a Toshiba net book with this external drive?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Should not be a problem, but I wonder why you wouldn't choose to download AV SW straight from the Internet?
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FE517
 from
Syracuse, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Dell mini is this compatable, and will it play movies including blue ray?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The included software is fully compatible. I think the documentation implies it would play BlueRay, but I haven't tried it.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BIGREDRASA
 from
Plattsmouth, NE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work with hp elitebook 2740p tablet pc running windows 7?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
I would assume this should work with no problem. It utilizes a standard USB 2.0 interface. You will need 2 USB ports on your PC that are next to each other.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FE517
 from
Syracuse, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this devise to download software

I have an older Dell labtop with Window XP. Can I download software using this devise for applications such as Quicken?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
I would assume so, because I believe that the USB 2.0 is backward compatible with previous USB versions.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FE517
 from
Syracuse, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i watch dvd's on this?

Wanting to purchase if I can also watch movies and listen to cd's as well as burn and write them. My notebook didn't come with a cd/dvd drive and I would like to find one.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you insert a PC game and be able to play it?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, as long as the PC game is one of the following formats:

Double-Layer DVD±RW/CD-RW
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i burn music to another cd?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, this drive will read and/or write the following formats:

CD-ROM, CD-R, CD-RW, DVD-ROM, DVD-R, DVD-RAM, DVD-RW,
DVD+RW, DVD+R, DVD+R DL, DVD-R DL
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a way to connect this device to a USB 1.0 port?

It states 2.0 but a computer software game package needs a DVD 4x. Current system doesn't have one. Could this device play the game through an external DVD drive attached to a usb port with a hub to convert the USB 1.0 to 2.0???? Also does best buy have the parts to accomplish this?????
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - 8x External USB 2.0 Double-Layer DVD� RW/CD-RW Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
It should work just fine. USB 2.0 is backwards compatible with USB 1.1. It will just revert to USB 1.1 speeds instead of 2.0 speeds.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>