Looking for Answers about HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum

This laptop features a double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive with Blu-ray Disc support for creating customized CDs and DVDs or watching your favorite movies in brilliant detail. The TrueVision webcam lets you video chat with friends. Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions
 | 
32 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
out of
5
(3 Reviews)3

Questions & Answers for HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum

Question

does it have 2 hard dives

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the HP Envy 17 3D has two (2) 500GB hard drives. But be aware, when received, only (1) of the hard drives is activated and you must manually activate your second 500GB hard drive to receive your full 1 TB hard drive capabilities. It is really easy to do, but you just have to know how to do it and where to go. Refer to my review on the computer about this when it is posted by Bestbuy on the HP Envy 17 3D review page.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this PC has two 500 GB hard drives in a RAID 0 configuration.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this come with the 3d glasses?

 
Products related to my question
HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
3.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Shibby
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the HP Envy 17 3D does indeed come with 3D glasses and also comes with two installed demos. One of the animation movie "MegaMind" and one of the 2010 NBA All-Star game.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this PC includes one pair of 3D active shutter glasses.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

When is this laptop going to be on sale again and can you test 3d laptops at a bestbuy store?

I want to buy this laptop from bestbuy because I get a better deal buying it from bestbuy's website instead of hps's website. I would also like to try out a 3d laptop at the store to get a feel of what i am going to get.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dom
 from
Valley Forge, PA
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Keep checking the Bestbuy site on a daily basis for this laptop. When I bought it, from the Bestbuy website, it originally said it was Sold Out Online, but on hour later is was available again. And I've noticed that trend a lot on this specific laptop. So just keep checking, because as they become available they will sell. When I check on a daily basis I see both Sold Out Online, and Available throughout the day, so don't give up! I bought the computer and it is amazing, let me tell you. As for testing the 3D at a Bestbuy store, if and only if they have this computer out on display will you be able to check out the 3D at a store, and since this laptop is only available online right now, you are not going to be able to go to a store and check it out. But I've seen it on my laptop, and it does look great!
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the graphics memory GDDR5 or GDDR3?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
After a lot of investigation I am pretty certain it is GDDR5.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
adoublearonn
 from
Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850 graphics adapter actually has two GPUs that use GDDR5 and GDDR3 graphics memory. For more information on this graphics adapter, you can visit the following website:

http://www.amd.com/us/products/notebook/graphics/ati-mobility-hd-5800/Pages/hd-5850-specs.aspx
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

When will this laptop be available?

I am looking to purchase this laptop ASAP, but needs to be from bestbuy so I can use my card for financing but its been sold out for sometime.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Keep checking the online store! The day I bought this laptop from the Best Buy website, it said it was Sold Out Online, but later on that same day it was Available, and then again Sold Out. I was able to catch it when it was available and buy it. Through out the day, it will be available as Best Buy receives stock, problem is, they are selling fast. So make sure you check the Best Buy website multiple times a day and you will find it available, and grab it before anyone else does like I did.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Its available now.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how long does the battery last?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The HP Envy 17 3D comes with (2) batteries. One is a 6-cell battery and one is a 9-cell battery. Because of the computing power and large screen of this laptop, the battery life goes quickly. But you can also use power save mode to reduce the demands on the computer and the brightness of the screen. I have not tested battery life, it depends on the users usage of the laptop and what you are doing, but just light usage I would assumethe battery will last a couple hours without a problem.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Depends on which battery used. According to HPs website, the 6 cell lasts 2.5 hours and the 9 cell lasts 3.75 hours. Both are included with this model.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jimbo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does It Have A Microphone?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Minnesota
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it has a built in Micro-phone as well as a built-in web cam.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this PC features a built-in webcam with an integrated digital microphone.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this laptop going to be back in stock soon?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Karen
 from
San Diego, CA
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Keep checking the online store! The day I bought this laptop from the Best Buy website, it said it was Sold Out Online, but later on that same day it was Available, and then again Sold Out. I was able to catch it when it was available and buy it. Through out the day, it will be available as Best Buy receives stock, problem is, they are selling fast. So make sure you check the Best Buy website multiple times a day and you will find it available, and grab it before anyone else does like I did. And remember, right now this is an Online only laptop.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Just came back into stock as of Jan 12, 11 (I ordered one)
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Damundai
 from
Spokane, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this write Blu-ray discs?

Looking for a laptop that can create blu-ray discs w/media from my HD camcorder. Suggestions?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
No, this PC does not include a Blu-ray writer. The Blu-ray Disc-enabled DVD±RW/CD-RW drive will play Blu-ray discs, but will only burn DVDs and CDs.

At this time, Hewlett-Packard does not have a laptop PC available through Best Buy that includes a built-in Blu-ray writer. You will need to use an external USB Blu-ray writer with a current HP notebook PC.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this the beats laptop

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP ENVY Laptop / Intel® Core™ i7 Processor / 17.3" Display / 6GB Memory - Aluminum
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, this laptop, the HP Envy 17 3D, comes with BeatsAudio. I have it, and let me tell you it sounds great!
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMoJoRising
 from
Cleveland, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, Beats Audio and Triple Bass Reflex subwoofer
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2