Looking for Answers about Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Enjoy your favorite movies in high-definition with this Blu-ray player that features full 1080p playback and DVD upscaling for stunning image clarity and detail. To build a complete 3D home theater system, you'll need to purchase a 3D TV, active shutter 3D glasses designed for the TV and high-speed HDMI cable. We also recommend an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products. Smart Blu-ray Player Get a world of instant entertainment with this smart Blu-ray player. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Pandora YouTube Twitter
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions
 | 
116 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.306 out of 5
4.3
out of
5
(383 Reviews)383

Questions & Answers for Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Question

Do systems with built-in Wi-Fi need a special USB internet adapter for connnection to my wireless internet system?

There were none on-stock in every store I checked.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Joe
 from
San Antonio, Texas
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The S580 does not need anything extra to connect. The ones that need the extra usb item are call "WIFI Ready". WiFi Built in means it has everything you need to connect.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rfp99
+17points
17out of 17found this answer helpful.
answer 2
NO USB wireless LAN adapter needed for the BDPS580 Blu-ray Player.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the new Sony BDP S580 work with Amazon Video on Demand

Need confirmation whether the new Sony BDP S580 will or will not work with Amazon on Demand Video I have received confliciting feedback so far.
Many thanks
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The S580 does have Amazon on demand.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rfp99
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Amazon on demand is one of the BDPS580 Internet Video Services.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Model BDPS580 says "WiFi built in" but then lists an adapter is needed for WiFi?

Why would I need a wireless adapter if it's supposed to be WiFi built in?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The BDPS580 has built-in WiFi capability. It is not necessary to use a USB wireless adapter to access the wireless content. Please consult the marketing specification for the unit for any additional details.
http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/model-documents.pl?mdl=BDPS580&LOC=3
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I just installed and set-up my BDP-S580. It includes built-in Wifi, so no adpater was required. The unit instantly found my network, and connected immediately after I entered the WEP key. No issues at all.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HappyEngineer
 from
West Linn, OR
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Wifi problem, is it my blue ray player or router? cont...

Continued from above question...

None of the other apps will pickup the internet either. I don't have a cord long enough to try to hard wire it. I was able to get the internet when I first got the blue ray player but when I tried again the connection is failing. Nothing has changed and my laptop still picks up the wireless signal. I don't think the problem is netflix or my router, I think I need to return the player.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I reset my router to factory settings and problem solved, so far.

Thanks!!
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jesse
 from
Rochester
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You may need to reset your router and your Blu-ray Player. If you are still having the same issue, check to see if you have the latest firmware on both the Blu-ray player (you may need to download it from the Sony eSupport site to a disc) and the router. A wireless interference is also a possibility. If you are still having network connectivity issues after this give Sony Support a call and they will be happy to assist you: http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/contact-land.pl?mdl=BDPS580
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Have you registered your product via the Sony Website? If so did you do all of the activation processes? If it does pick up your wireless lan then try doing an upgrade.
Video Answer:
(click on the play button to start movie)
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SONYLUVA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the Sony BDP S580 work with Hulu or HuluPlus?

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
coachbrian
 from
21801
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Just checked mine and I don't see HULU but HULUPLUS is there.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NewHDTVOwner
 from
Florida
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The BDPS580 Blu-ray disc player support Hulu Plus.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Why am I reading so many bad reviews concerning NETFLIX connections?

I have read that the Sony BDPS580 is unreliable in connecting to NETFLIX for streaming movies. Some say the player worked for a month, then quit. Shipping costs to repair a faulty machine under warranty is something I have already experienced with a SONY product.
I love the quality of the picture from regular DVD's on a SONY BDP... but don't want to buy another pig in a poke.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sonynut
 from
97402
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Using since last 3 months .Netflix working GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! Never any problem.After new software upgrade it is Amazing!
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
libram
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Do you have a range extender for your wifi? That will make a big difference in signal quality and your player's ability to stay connected.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

I can only see 5 netflix movies but I have more in queue

I have approx. 8 movies in my netflix queue but when I go to my queue with this bluray I can only see 5 movies and can not access the other movies. Can you only see a certain amount of movies, or is there a limit on Netflix? I believe I should be able to view all the movies I have in instant even if it is 20 movies
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Please go to your Netflix account using your computer and verify your Instant Queue. Ensure the other 3 movies are not in Saved Instant which is located on the very bottom of Instant Queue, those will not show on your Instant Queue list. You can have over 100 movies on your Queue and they will all show on your Sony device Instant Queue list.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Are you able to search Netflix or just view what is in your que using the Sony bdp-s580

This is presented by one of your customer in the Review Section.

"First you can not search for movies on Netflix, your only allowed to see the ones you have already in your quenue."

Is this accurate?
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tom W
 from
Tampa
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
One of the reviewers post (on 5/11/2011) there was an upgrade added so you can now search on Netflix.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
lummysdad
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
YOu can only select items in your netflix queue. No searching...
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Netflix Interface only allows you to view list of movies already on your queue.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I had Netflix connection problems with a Sony S570 last year and had to return it. Is the problem fixed?

3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jose
 from
Ohio
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I was never able to connect to netflix with this one so my answer is a resound no. Look for a different brand.
 
Products from my answer
Panasonic 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.5 out of 5(255)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
armybeans
 from
tacoma wa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Sony Blu-ray players Stream Netflix in HD, if you have a low bandwith, if it drops too low to handle HD streaming it will buffer. ensure you have good bandwith and ping rate.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this an active or passive 3D player? If not, what Sony models are passive (Theater)?

2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bob
on Sony 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is no difference between Active and Passive on the Player side of things. Only on the TVs end. This payer will work with any brand of Passive or Active 3D Televisions.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Player does not dictate Active Shutter or Passive, that falls to the 3D television of choice. If you connect this 3D Blu-ray player to a Passive 3D television it will be a 3D image. if you connect this 3D blu-ray player to an Active Shutter 3D television it will also produce a 3D image. the Television is what discerns Active or Passive Viewing.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>