Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black

Toshiba Satellite C55-A5302 Laptop: Video chat with friends and family, watch movies in high-definition, organize your digital photos and more with this Toshiba laptop. An HDMI port lets you connect to your HDTV or a second monitor to share content on another screen. Learn more about the New Windows ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions
 | 
79 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.119 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(522 Reviews)522

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black

Question

Which operating system does this come with

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This laptop comes with Windows 8
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AGuyUDontKnow
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This model comes with Windows 8, and you can upgrade to Windows 8.1 for free through the Microsoft store app on the Start Screen.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Windows 8 (64 bit)
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JeffT9000
 from
Joplin, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
It has Windows 8 operating system.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Quickbooks

I need to purchase a new laptop for my husbands business I don't need anything fancy just capable of running QuickBooks I have 2013 version of QuickBooks. The computer we have is about to fall apart we have had it for so long. Will this handle what I need it for?
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chick
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
This laptop will handle business stuff very well.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rybob7
 from
Anaheim, CA
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You need to look at the computer requirements for the particular QuickBooks you have (located on the box or paperwork). This lap top has 6gb of Ram (upgradeable to 16gb), which is more than enough Ram for a normal or consumer user. Ram is what is needed in order to run several programs at one time. So look to see how much RAM is needed for your program. If only 2gb is needed, then you should be good. The hard drive on this model is 500gb, so see how much hard drive space you will need with QuickBooks. If it takes, for example 200gb, then you've used up 200gb of 500gb of hard drive space, which might not leave much room for storing your work or adding additional programs onto this laptop. There is a 750gb Toshiba available, but I cannot recall how much ram it has.

In saying this, I am not a computer expert and I have never ran QuickBooks on a computer. I have been around computers for most of my young adult/adult life and I know what Ram is and what its for and what a hard drive is. I would strongly suggest contacting Intuit and finding out directly from the horses mouth if this particular computer would be sufficient for their QuickBooks program. It surely is a great price for what it offers. :) Good Luck.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tina14
 from
Oklahoma
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, you would be able to use QuickBooks on this laptop.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

updates

does the 8.0 windows upgrade to 8.1 without additional cost on this product?
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it does
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is no additional cost to upgrade to Windows 8.1. It is a free update.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
KDogg03
 from
East Brunswick, NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This computer updates to windows 8.1 at no cost, the update takes about and 1 hour and 15 minutes. I would recommend you plug the laptop to a ac outlet while the update takes place. At first the update does not show up in the windows store. You have to check for normal windows updates first by going into control panel clicking on system and security and than click on check for updates under windows update, the updates takes about an 1 hour so once again have the computer in the wall. Than shut down and turn back on the computer once the normal updates are completed. Than check in the windows store and the windows 8.1 update should show.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rybob7
 from
Anaheim, CA
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

options

does this come with a mouse
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
This laptop features a touchpad that you can use as a mouse. If you prefer to use a traditional, external mouse, you can connect one via a USB port.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
no
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
taylorstailors
 from
birmingham,alabama
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No mouse was included with my purchase.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pbla9595
 from
Birmingham, AL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

headphone/mic jack

does this have headphone/mic jacks
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
iggerz
 from
USA
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
michsimo
 from
Port Charlotte, FL
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, there is a headphone jack and mic jack on the front right side of the laptop. :)
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tina14
 from
Oklahoma
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, it does.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I download iTunes on this laptop?

9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can download iTunes on this computer.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rybob7
 from
Anaheim, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely, it has huge disk drive and tons of memory to spare
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lrs1
 from
Miami Beach
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This laptop does work with iTunes.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is $299 a cyber week deal or normal price

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Best Buy shows this as $279 today, 1/13/14
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
EmmaJay
 from
San Jose, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Normal Price
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AGuyUDontKnow
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, that was the actual retail price!
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JeffT9000
 from
Joplin, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this play age of empires II

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
My 3 year old Toshiba with a single core celeron 900 runs Age of Empires 2. This computer will have no problems at all.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'd recommend checking the recommended system requirement for the particular software package you wish to install, and then compare them to the specifications on the laptop.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this computer come with a recovery disk?

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
-1point
2out of 5found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This laptop does not come with recovery disks, however you can make your own.

From the Windows 8 start screen type "Recovery." This will let you choose the Recovery Media application. Launch that application and it will give you the option of creating recovery disks (if the laptop shipped with a DVD drive) or creating a recovery thumb drive.

If you need to reimage the machine and you haven't created recovery media, you can do so by holding down the zero key while the laptop is completely turned off and then pressing the power button. This will force it to boot to a recovery partition, which will then allow you to reimage the entire machine. This assumes the original hard drive is in the machine and all the data is intact.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, it does not. Most computer manufacturers stopped including recovery discs a number of years ago. In their place, owners are instead provided either a hidden recovery partition or pre-installed software utilities that allow for the creation of recovery discs when the computer is first run through startup. Physical recovery discs can, however, be ordered through Toshiba directly or created upon request at your local Best Buy store for an additional fee.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I watch Netflix on this laptop?

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
My 3 year old Toshiba with a single core celeron 900 runs Netflix with some minor skipage. I suspect this computer will have no problems at all (internet connection permitting).
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This laptop will support Netflix. Performance is most likely to be dependent on the quality of your connection to the Internet.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>