Looking for Answers about HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver

Only at Best Buy HP ENVY TouchSmart Sleekbook m7-j020dx Laptop: See the fine details on this generous Full HD touch screen, whether you're playing games, streaming movies, editing videos or just browsing the Internet. With ample memory and storage space, this laptop does not sacrifice portability for performance. Learn more about the New Windows ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions
 | 
48 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.606 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(345 Reviews)345

Questions & Answers for HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver

Question

HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop, Model: m7-j020dx

the pic is for an Acer laptop, but the product description is HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver, Model m7-j020dx, SKU: 1739149

Which is wrong? The pic or the description? They certainly don't go together
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Maybe they have updated the page, but the pictures shown are the HP ENVY TouchSmart 17.3 now.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
clockwiseqllc
 from
Mobile, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I apologize for the misprint on the Best Buy web site, I have contacted the proper people to get this misprint fixed. The model is the HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop, Model: m7-j020dx that is for sale.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the differences between M7-J020DX and M7-J010DX?

What are the differences between the two HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive models? Their specs look identical to me.

1) Model: m7-j010dx || SKU: 9349042 || $1,029.99
2) Model: m7-j020dx || SKU: 1739149 || $999.99
 
Products related to my question
HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
4.4 out of 5(293)
 
 
 
HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
4.6 out of 5(345)
 
 
 
 
 
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I had that same question, I contacted the Tech's at Best Buy and we went over and compared all specs and features, We couldnt find any difference?I bought the model m7-j020x, mainly because it was the 1st one I decided on?
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
R2550
 from
Bishop,Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It has to do with the memory.

The later model (m7-j020dx) has 8GB of DDR3L and the earlier model has 8GB of DDR3.

DDR3L means that it's "Low Voltage" memory. Since it uses lower voltage and requires lower voltage shift to transition it prolongs the life of the module, decreases heat output and can positively affect battery usage.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
mrwebguy
 from
FL
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I found three differences.

They are the Display dimensions, the laptop dimensions, and the battery power

M7-J010DX:
Display: 17.3-inch diagonal HD+ BrightView LED-backlit display (1600 x 900)
Dimensions: 1.13 in (min H) / 1.28 in (max H) x 16.38 in (W) x 10.8 in (D)
Weight: 7.04lbs
Power: 6-cell 62WHr 2.8 Ah lithium-ion battery

M7-J020DX:
Display: 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit touchscreen display (1920 x 1080)
Dimensions: 1.16 in (min H) / 1.32 in (max H) x 16.38 in (W) x 10.83 in (D)
Weight: 7.07 lb
Power: 6-cell 47WHr 2.2 Ah lithium-ion battery
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Spartanburg, South Carolina
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this laptop include things like Microsoft office?

5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it comes preloaded with Microsoft office 365 for 1 month, its $9.99 a month or $99.99 for a year if you want to extend it.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
R2550
 from
Bishop,Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. Microsoft Office is purchased separately.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Mysticalm
 from
Fayetteville, AR
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No it doesn't office is an additional purchase.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
parduccI
 from
brick new Jersey
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
This HP PC does not come standard with Microsoft Office.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get 1 with windows 7

Don't like windows 8 at all.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Fred
 from
brooksvill fl
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have not seen this model anywhere online that comes with Windows 7. You could always get a Windows 7 license and install it yourself.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
mrwebguy
 from
FL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC is warranted as configured. This HP PC has Microsoft Windows 8 operating system. I recommend contacting Microsoft for any downgrade possibilities.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this come with blu-ray?

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
No.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Pauliep63
 from
Medford, NY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Valasa
 from
PDX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This device does not come with a Blu-ray player.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
KatBBY
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I do apologize but no it does not come with blu-ray.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Ad mentions speech recognition software. This is not listed on spec sheet???

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This does have speech recognition. I've already set mine up, and works fine.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Campos12
 from
Cincinnati, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Mine came with Windows Speech Recognition. I haven't used it, but it appears to come as standard with this HP model.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
OkieByTheBay
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I saw a voice recognition icon with it too. i dont see it anymore. i just bought it and that was one of the aspects i based my purchase on.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I apologize but I am not seeing this on the website. It does not come with speech recognition software, that is a program that has to be purchased separately and installed. We could be running a promotion where you can get a discount on the software for purchasing the laptop.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Optical Drive

There are two types of Blu-ray drives available as options for the Envy 17 at HP.com. Can I buy one of those drives from HP.com and swap it for the optical drive that comes with this laptop?
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the optical drive is not easy to remove, but it is replaceable. So, technically, you can purchase the Blu-Ray drive and then swap it out.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
clockwiseqllc
 from
Mobile, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
smartone4u
 from
Atlanta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this laptop have a bay for a second hard drive?

4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but you will need the ribbon cable to hook it up.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
OkieByTheBay
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC supports two hard drives.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

What version of windows 8 is on it? Is it 64 bit?

4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes the laptop comes with windows 8 64bit. You can upgrade to windows 8.1 64bit for free.

I also discovered that the widows 8 product key is stored in the BIOS. So you can install a fresh copy of windows 8 without needing to enter a product key.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
RubenFixit
 from
Berthoud, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it comes preloaded with Windows 8/64 bit, and comes with 8.1 upgrade.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
R2550
 from
Bishop,Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Mine came with Windows 8.0. After you have had it on for a few hours it will allow you to update to Windows 8,1 at no cost.

It is 64 bit.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
OkieByTheBay
 from
Florida
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Pauliep63
 from
Medford, NY
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This HP PC has the Microsoft Windows 8 (64-bit) operating system.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I play my xbox 360 on the HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive Model #m7-j07020dx?

4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm not sure what you mean by "play my xbox 360 on the HP" but this HP comes with windows 8 and has xbox 360 smart glass and other xbox features like sending media to play on the xbox directly from the laptop.

If you are asking if you can use the laptop has and HDMI input so you can use the display as a monitor then the answer is no.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
RubenFixit
 from
Berthoud, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, its bluetooth enabled
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
R2550
 from
Bishop,Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This HP PC has an HDMI port that should connect to your Xbox 360.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>