Looking for Answers about Sony - Digital Voice Recorder?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - Digital Voice Recorder

Don't miss a moment of a meeting or lecture with this recorder that features built-in stereo microphones for clear audio. The scene select feature allows for easy recorder setup.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions
 | 
46 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(51 Reviews)51

Questions & Answers for Sony - Digital Voice Recorder

Question

Will this recorder allow me to pause, rewind a short distance, then record over my last sentence or two and continue recording the same file?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chris
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think that question has been answered earlier?? And I believe that the answer is YES.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
DrDinTN
 from
Hendersonville, TN
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the Sony ICDAX412 Digital Voice Recorder allows overwriting recording from a selected point in the file.

Refer to page # 37 in the below provided Manual to view the steps for overwriting a recording from a selected point.
http://www.docs.sony.com/release/ICDAX412_EN.pdf
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Sony ICD-PX312 be recharged from the USB cord connected to a PC

I read where it will take rechargeable batteries but can't find any details about recharging the batteries with the unit.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Jeepster89YJ
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't think so, as it cannot be recharged on the AX412. ONLY rechargeable batteries can be recharged, not the ones that come with it & one must use an external recharger.

The USB is to utilize the power from the computer instead of using the batteries, since there is NO A/C adapter. I wish that all things could have A/C adapters. I HATE rechargeable & battery powered. The first do NOT last long in my experience & the latter are "BAD" for the environment.

Btw, this was stated in an earlier question... the answer to your question, not my opinion above.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
DrDinTN
 from
Hendersonville, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The batteries inserted cannot be charged in the Voice Recorder (ICDPX312) itself. It is required to use any External battery charger for charging the rechargeable batteries.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How far from the device works best?

I want to use this recorder at a Reunion. I want to record the "sharing of memories". How close to the device will the speakers need to be?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
about 20 feet for me
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Classes
 from
Gulfport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can change the recording settings depending on the type of use.

1. Meeting - To record in a variety of situations, such as recording in a conference room.
2. Voice Notes - To record dictation with a microphone in front of your mouth.
3. Interview - To record human voice at a distance of 1 to 2 meters (40 to 80 in.).
4. Audio IN - To record from external equipment, such as a portable CD/MD player or a tape recorder, connected to the IC recorder via an audio output connector (stereo mini-jack). Also used for dubbing.

You may also refer to page 32-33 of the operating manual using the link below.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/ICDAX412_EN.pdf
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

AC Adaptor?

Does this come with or work with an AC adaptor instead of batteries? I do see you can get rechargeable batteries, but I can't find any info anywhere regarding an AC adaptor plug-in.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lara
 from
Seattle
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does not come with an AC adaptor. It comes with batteries. The batteries work surprisingly well!
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YayGeologyGoRaiders
 from
Lubbock, Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony ICDAX412 Digital Voice Recorder does not have the option to connect an AC Adapter. It works with LR03 AAA Alkaline Batteries (supplied) and NH-AAA-B2KN Rechargeable Batteries (not supplied).
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need to record interviews over the phone. Will I be able to with this?

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BigK
 from
San Francisco
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Absolutely, I record over the phone also. Works beautifully.
While making the call, make sure to put yourself on speaker. The voice recorder will pick up everything clearly.

Hopes this helps on your purchase.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
medgen111
 from
Levittown, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can use the ECM-TL1 headphone-type electret condenser microphone (not
supplied) to record sound from a telephone or a cell phone.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does Sony mfg a digital voice recorder that allows you to turn off unit and next time turn on will pick off where yoiu left off;

require voice recorder for a partially sighted person.--cannot see screen on recorder to reset where concluded before turned off unit. There are 20 million partially sighted that have been ignored by technology. Would it be so difficult for , e.g. Sony designers to offer an optional audio commands to operate unit???
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HAL
 from
Studio City, CA
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes, I love that feature
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Classes
 from
Gulfport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the feedback, Sony will definitely take that into consideration for future products.

Regarding your question about a feature that allows you to pick up where you left off from a previous recording after turning it off, this model actually has an option like that. It's called the Add/Overwrite feature. However, this does not automatically pick up the file from where you left off. When you turn the unit back on, you have to select the file and then choose the add option. You can check details about the feature on page 72 of the manual. The link is provided below.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/ICDAX412_EN.pdf
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

For the Digital Recorder ICD-AX412 can I turn the voice activated recorder off and record normally, with continual recording even in the silence?

3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
energy medicine
 from
new york
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
You can disable the voice activated recording feature and the Digital Recorder will continue to record until you run out of space.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

recording radius?

What is the recording radius of this product?
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Mic Sensitivity Sets the microphone sensitivity and has 3 settings based on your recording needs.

High:
To record a sound far away from the IC recorder or a low
sound, such as recording in a spacious room (displayed as “Mic with 3 bars ” in the window).

Medium:
To record the sound of a normal conversation or meeting,
such as recording in a meeting space or during interview
(displayed as “Mic with 2 Bars ” in the window).

Low:
To record dictation with a microphone in front of your
mouth, a sound near the IC recorder, or a loud sound
(displayed as “Mic with 1 Bar ” in the window).
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

editing recordings

can I easily edit or add to previous dictations (like going back on existing recording and rerecord a part of it?) if not, can you suggest a recorder that will allow me to do so?
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes with the "Add/Overwrite" Function. This Allows you to add a recording to a previously recorded fileor an overwrite recording during playback.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a socket for an external mic in this recorder

is there a socket for an external mic with this recorder?
If not, is there another Sony recorder which has one?
thanks
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
yes the ICDAX412 has an External microphone jack.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>