Looking for Answers about Sony - Digital Voice Recorder?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - Digital Voice Recorder

Don't miss a moment of a meeting or lecture with this recorder that features built-in stereo microphones for clear audio. The scene select feature allows for easy recorder setup.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions
 | 
45 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Sony - Digital Voice Recorder

Question

Will this recorder allow me to pause, rewind a short distance, then record over my last sentence or two and continue recording the same file?

1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chris
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think that question has been answered earlier?? And I believe that the answer is YES.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DrDinTN
 from
Hendersonville, TN
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the Sony ICDAX412 Digital Voice Recorder allows overwriting recording from a selected point in the file.

Refer to page # 37 in the below provided Manual to view the steps for overwriting a recording from a selected point.
http://www.docs.sony.com/release/ICDAX412_EN.pdf
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the Sony ICD-PX312 be recharged from the USB cord connected to a PC

I read where it will take rechargeable batteries but can't find any details about recharging the batteries with the unit.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jeepster89YJ
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't think so, as it cannot be recharged on the AX412. ONLY rechargeable batteries can be recharged, not the ones that come with it & one must use an external recharger.

The USB is to utilize the power from the computer instead of using the batteries, since there is NO A/C adapter. I wish that all things could have A/C adapters. I HATE rechargeable & battery powered. The first do NOT last long in my experience & the latter are "BAD" for the environment.

Btw, this was stated in an earlier question... the answer to your question, not my opinion above.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DrDinTN
 from
Hendersonville, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The batteries inserted cannot be charged in the Voice Recorder (ICDPX312) itself. It is required to use any External battery charger for charging the rechargeable batteries.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need to record interviews over the phone. Will I be able to with this?

1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BigK
 from
San Francisco
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Absolutely, I record over the phone also. Works beautifully.
While making the call, make sure to put yourself on speaker. The voice recorder will pick up everything clearly.

Hopes this helps on your purchase.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
medgen111
 from
Levittown, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can use the ECM-TL1 headphone-type electret condenser microphone (not
supplied) to record sound from a telephone or a cell phone.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does Sony mfg a digital voice recorder that allows you to turn off unit and next time turn on will pick off where yoiu left off;

require voice recorder for a partially sighted person.--cannot see screen on recorder to reset where concluded before turned off unit. There are 20 million partially sighted that have been ignored by technology. Would it be so difficult for , e.g. Sony designers to offer an optional audio commands to operate unit???
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HAL
 from
Studio City, CA
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes, I love that feature
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Classes
 from
Gulfport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the feedback, Sony will definitely take that into consideration for future products.

Regarding your question about a feature that allows you to pick up where you left off from a previous recording after turning it off, this model actually has an option like that. It's called the Add/Overwrite feature. However, this does not automatically pick up the file from where you left off. When you turn the unit back on, you have to select the file and then choose the add option. You can check details about the feature on page 72 of the manual. The link is provided below.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/ICDAX412_EN.pdf
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How far from the device works best?

I want to use this recorder at a Reunion. I want to record the "sharing of memories". How close to the device will the speakers need to be?
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
about 20 feet for me
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Classes
 from
Gulfport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can change the recording settings depending on the type of use.

1. Meeting - To record in a variety of situations, such as recording in a conference room.
2. Voice Notes - To record dictation with a microphone in front of your mouth.
3. Interview - To record human voice at a distance of 1 to 2 meters (40 to 80 in.).
4. Audio IN - To record from external equipment, such as a portable CD/MD player or a tape recorder, connected to the IC recorder via an audio output connector (stereo mini-jack). Also used for dubbing.

You may also refer to page 32-33 of the operating manual using the link below.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/ICDAX412_EN.pdf
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

AC Adaptor?

Does this come with or work with an AC adaptor instead of batteries? I do see you can get rechargeable batteries, but I can't find any info anywhere regarding an AC adaptor plug-in.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lara
 from
Seattle
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does not come with an AC adaptor. It comes with batteries. The batteries work surprisingly well!
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
YayGeologyGoRaiders
 from
Lubbock, Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony ICDAX412 Digital Voice Recorder does not have the option to connect an AC Adapter. It works with LR03 AAA Alkaline Batteries (supplied) and NH-AAA-B2KN Rechargeable Batteries (not supplied).
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the included software come as a CD and does it allow me to trim and edit the audio?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The supplied Sound Organizer software allows you to transfer the files that you have recorded using the IC recorder to your computer to manage and edit them. You can also transfer MP3 files and podcast files stored on your computer to the IC recorder.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this recorder work with voice to print software? Can I transcribe voice recordings?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike009
 from
Detroit
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello Mike, You can use the voice recognition software Dragon NaturallySpeaking which is compatible with Sound Organizer( included on the Supplied CD ROM) to perform voice recognition for a file and convert the voice to text.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

does this recorder record in stereo?

does this recorder record in stereo?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
yes with the SRFM37W Built-in stereo microphones are integrated For clear, crisp sound recordings.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this model come with the feature "dictation correction function" like the model from Sony ICDPX312 ?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Digital Voice Recorder
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes - the ICD-AX412 has that same dictation correction feature which enables the user to press the record button during playback and overwrite the recording, correcting the original recording.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>