Looking for Answers about HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

This monitor features a 3,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio and 5 ms response time for clear, detailed images. The 250 cd/m� brightness helps ensure that your movies, games and graphics come to life.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions
 | 
65 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(158 Reviews)158

Questions & Answers for HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black

Question

Does this model have built in speakers?

5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
No speakers built in. You can get all different levels of speakers almost anywhere. Buy what you need for your particular needs.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Oldobie
 from
Milwaukee,WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
no speakers with this monitor.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It does not
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
It does not have built in speakers.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BLACKNIGHT716
 from
Northern KY
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a MacBook Pro bought August 2008.

I want to get a LED monitor because my monitor is fading. It is a 21inch monitor. Can this monitor work with my mac book pro; i do a lot of illustrations and photo manipulative work. Is this the a good monitor for that?
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
What resolution do you use on your 21 inch monitor?
What input do you use on the 21 inch monitor?
Does your 21 inch monitor have speakers?

I own model HP 2311x.
It's a 23" LED backlit LCD monitor.
It has a native resolution of 1920 x 1080.
It does not have speakers.
It has three inputs: HDMI, DVI-D and VGA.
It comes with DVI-D and VGA cables.
It does not include a HDMI cable.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gpm
 from
clemmons, nc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It works with my 5 year old MacBook just great.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This monitor has a 1920 x 1080 resolution and a DVI-D with HDCP input and VGA input ports. It will work fine with your Mac and will be great for illustration and photo manipulation.
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the height of the monitor from desk to top?

My monitor needs to fit in a space from desk to an overhead cabinet of 16.75 inches Will this model fit?
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
CVB
 from
Carbon county
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
With the enclosed stand it is just a hair under 16 1/2 inches
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Oldobie
 from
Milwaukee, WI.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Assembled the hp 2311x stands sixteen and three eights inches high.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
H x W x D: (16.3 x 21.9 x 6.2 inches)
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this monitor have a built in camera?

4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No built in camera, buy a really good web cam and you will not be disappointed. We use ours to SKYPE with our out of state grandson and the picture we get on our monitor is fantastic. They are using a Hi-Def web cam and you can't beleive how well the picture looks on this monitor.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
oldobie
 from
Milwaukee,WI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No...Very few monitors have builtin cameras. You probably wouldn't like the one they would choose anyway. Your best bet is to buy a monitor you like and a web cam separately. This way both components will be more what you want.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Graystone
 from
Mesa, AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, this monitor does not have a built-in camera.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this mac compatable?

4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jp
 from
michigan
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I bought a Mac mini and the 2311x monitor on 11/21/2012. Used the HDMI to DVI adaptor that came with the Mac, hooked it to the DVI cable that came with the monitor, and plugged it into the DVI port on the monitor. The screen came up immediately, and it's working fine.

I don't know why the "HP Guru" would say that the monitor wasn't compatible with the Mac; it certainly is. I didn't make any calibration adjustments on the Mac, and the picture is still great. In essence, it was "plug and play". Best Buy had this monitor on clearance at a local store for $132. I bought it since it has all three video inputs available, the DVI cable was included, and the HDMI might be a future option if needed. It took the sales people at Best Buy a while to locate the monitor, but they persisted and found a couple high up on a shelf behind other monitors. I give them credit for taking the time to find the clearance model i was looking for.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cwa
 from
New York
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Apparently so. Quoting another reviewer:
"The trick is to change the contrast from 80 down to about 50 — that makes all the harshness go away. Also, if you are using a Mac (such as a Mac Mini), be sure to go into the Settings, then Display, then the Color tab and then Calibrate, follow the easy instructions and make sure you use a 2.2 gamma (if that's not already the default — whatever you do, do NOT use a 1.8 gamma!). If you do those simple things then the display will look great."
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This monitor is not MAC compatible.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this monitor have a HDMI cable supplied?

Is a HDMI cable needed?
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jim
 from
Oregon
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No HDMI cable included. Just DVI and VGA

HDMI is not required, of course, just a nice option, keep in mind these monitors do not have speakers so any sound signals would be ignored.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
indigowing
 from
Alaska
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This monitor comes with one VGA cable and one DVI-D cable. It does not include an HDMI cable in the box. It does not require an HDMI cable to work, but does include an HDMI port for adding an HDMI cable.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

where do I plug in external speakers on HP2011x monitor

4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It doesn't have a hook up - speakers are plugged in your computer.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AthruZ
 from
ROCKAWAY TWP
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is no way to connect speakers to the monitor. You will just need to plug your speakers directly into your computer.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jwhit612
 from
Greenville SC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The HP Pavilion 2011x Monitor does not have a port for connecting external speakers. You will need to connect speakers to an attached PC.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get sound to the monitor with an older HP computer with no DVI?

4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
The quick answer is "you don't." There are no speakers on this monitor and even if there were, the DVI cable you are using doesn't carry sound anyway - need an HDMI to carry sound and video assuming your computer has a dedicated HDMI output. You need to get some stand alone speakers and just run the cable from your sound port to your speakers. No worries unless you want sound that will knock your socks off. If you only want to hear anything from your computer, you can pick up speakers for $15 or less and they'll have the cable you need (plug into your sound card or audio out port - probably a green port on the back of your computer). Unless you are looking for concert quality sound, cheap speakers should take care of your needs. Besides, I've never seen a review where someone praised the quality, bass, volume, and clarity of monitor speakers.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
StevenDC
 from
Wash D.C.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
To the best of my knowledge, this monitor does not have built-in speakers.... You will need to purchase stand-alone speakers.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BmoreLatino
 from
Baltimore, MD
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You can't without HDMI. Maybe look for 3.5 mm audio jack in the monitor
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mr T
 from
Tacoma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Power requirements

Can this monitor be used with 240V input and what is the wattage in use and in sleep mode.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
33 watts when in use, 0.6 watt in sleep mode. You have to specifically order the 240V AC version of the monitor which will then have the power supply to match your needs. The power supply is dedicated to either 120V AC or to 240V AC. There is no "switch" to allow you to use it on both.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Power source - AC/DC adapter:

Input rating: 100 to 240V~

frequency: 50~60Hz
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Toshiba Satellite 135 Notebook purchased in 2007. I believe that it only accepts a VGA monitor cable.

Will I be able to benefit from an LED monitor's features other than the increased size? I am thinking of purchasing a 23" HP Flat Panel LED, since my eyesight is not what it used to be. Also, what happens to the notebook's monitor after I plug in the external one? Does it remain on or turn off automatically?
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - 23" Flat-Panel LED HD Monitor - Glossy Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
While the size of fonts and such would appear larger than a laptop screen at the same resolution, you would get almost no other benefit as the VGA plug produces poor quality viewing on LCD monitors. This is also a 23" widescreen so that is comparitivee to about a 18" standard screen. I wouldn't waste your money buying a new digital LCD widescreen for just a VGA analog laptop unless it too is widescreen with a HD resolution. You might find a portible used CRT would look better but then if it's 23", it probably weighs a ton! It might be time for a new laptop with either an HDMI port or a DVI port.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Graystone
 from
Mesa, AZ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Your primary benefit is the increased size. Beyond that, your display options are based on the capabilities for external display of your Toshiba notebook PC, not the HP monitor.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>