Looking for Answers about Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter

Easy SetupConnect your computer to your modem or router without cables. Just plug the adapter into your computer's USB port and insert the setup CD, and you're ready to connect to the Internet from anywhere in your home.SpeedGet wireless speeds ideal for surfing, emailing and instant messaging-up to 150Mbps.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions
 | 
120 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.366 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(558 Reviews)558

Questions & Answers for Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter

Question

Chipset

What is the name of the wireless chipset that this uses?
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Depends on the version. They have 2/3 of them (one is a nano type adapter)

RTL8188, RTL8191/8192SU
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
alientango
 from
Houston, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
lsusb claims it has a Realtek RTL8188SU
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jjmcd
 from
Midland, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a dual band router. One band is 2.4 ghz and the other is 5 ghz. Will this adapter be able to pick up the 5 ghz band signal on my laptop?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't believe it performs up to 5ghz would recommend a more "beefier" one.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SethS
 from
Wichita, ks
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. The Belkin N150 is a single band (2.4ghz) only adapter. you will need a Dual Band adapter.

Regards,
Belkin Support
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

2 answers The wireless card is going out on my laptop. Is this a good option instead of a new laptop?

I currently have a Toshiba laptop and I don't want to have to replace it. I am thinking that the network card on my laptop is now going out but I still need the laptop for school on top of that I need the internet to do homework for classes, so I am kind of in a bind to get my laptop back connected to the net.
5 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Cassie
 from
Galt,CA
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Belkin N150 adapter is definitely less expensive than purchasing a new laptop but the decision is ultimately up to you.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
if you are sure the wireless card in your laptop is the problem, then this is an easy affordable solution to your problem, instead of spending all the money on a new laptop and having to deal with setting it up and transferring files and everything
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

laptop conections

we have a laptop from best buy. the home I live in has no internet conection or wireless router. what should I do?
4 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Get a router, duh.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Snakester
 from
Earth :3
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You would first need to obtain an internet service provider and then a wireless router to supply internet to your laptop.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work on a Wii ?

4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GUS
 from
WNY
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Unfortunately no. The Belkin N150 adapter is only compatible with windows based PC's.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
no, but this would not be necessary for the nintendo wii has wireless capabilities built in already
4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can this product catch wireless router from far range?

4 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Like most wireless adapters the range is dependent upon the broadcasting range of your router.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It depend on what you mean by "far range".
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work using an older Dell tower along with a wifi router?

4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Belkin N150 adapter is compatible with Windows XP Service pack 3 and higher. Please refer to your operating system version for compatibility.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it work even if i dont have internet at home ( mexico)

frecuently wifi find a lot of signals but the most of them are bloked...
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Fedramir
 from
reynosa
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Belkin N150 does require a wireless internet signal that you can connect to to be used.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This will work with any standard Open or Secured network. You can connect to any open network without a password. You will need to know the password to be able to connect to a Secured network. This is true for any wireless adapter.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chiaridad
 from
Clifton, NJ, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this on a sony blu ray?

A blu ray that's internet ready
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I believe this only works with the major OS's (Mac OS X, Windows, Ubuntu, etc., etc.)
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Snakester
 from
Earth :3
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately no. The Belkin N150 adapter is only compatible with windows based PC's.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this WEP or WPA Encrypted?

4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kirk
 from
Harrisburg
on Belkin - IEEE 802.11n USB - Wi-Fi Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Belkin N150 supports both WEP and WPA encryption.

Regards,
Belkin Support
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BelkinStaff
 from
Playa Vista
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this device DOES support WEP and WPA encryption. I use it with WEP enabled Belkin router.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chiaridad
 from
Clifton, NJ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>